DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/14/24 and 4/25/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 48 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 48, the claim recites “a crane tower”. It is clear that “a crane tower” is referring to the crane tower introduced in the preamble of the claim. Antecedence should be reflected (i.e. “the crane tower”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 73 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 73, the phrase "for example" in lines 11, 21 and 29 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 48-55, 57-70, 72 and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vorhies et al., US 2010/0044330.
Regarding claim 48:
Vorhies discloses a method of extending a crane tower (46) along a wind turbine tower (10), the crane tower being supported upon the wind turbine tower, the wind turbine tower including a foundation (12), the method comprising the steps of:
providing, on the wind turbine tower:
the crane tower (modules 46) to be extended along at least a portion of the wind turbine tower (refer to Figs. 5A and 5B), the crane tower comprising one or more crane tower sections (each is labeled 46) and a crane (56) at or near an upper end thereof;
support means (48, 50, 52); and
at least one lifter (28a-d);
locating the crane tower (module 46) in a base position (Figs. 4 and 5), in which a lower end of the crane tower is arranged at or near a crane tower base (28) which is supported upon the wind turbine tower (the foundation 12 of the wind turbine tower shown in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2);
operating the lifter (28a-d) to elevate the crane tower away from the crane tower base toward an elevated position (refer to Fig. 4), thereby creating space for one or more crane tower extension sections (additional modules 46) to be inserted at or near the crane tower base;
supporting the crane tower in the elevated position using the support means (the advancer 28a-d, pin driver 70 and the module frame 48, 50, 52) inserted beneath);
arranging one or more crane tower extension sections in the created space (additional modules 46 inserted into the space as shown in Figs. 2 and 4); and
adding the one or more crane tower extension sections to a lower end of the elevated crane tower, thereby extending the crane tower (refer to Figs. 5-5B depicting the crane tower increasing in height).
Regarding claim 64:
Vorhies discloses an apparatus configured to be provided on a wind turbine tower, the apparatus comprising:
at least one crane tower section (46) to extend at least partially around a wind turbine tower section (14);
a crane (56) configured to be coupled to and supported upon an upper end of the at least one crane tower section;
a support structure (48, 50, 52) to extend at least partially around a wind turbine tower section;
a lifter (28a-d) for advancing a crane tower including the at least one crane tower section and the crane away from or towards a first, base position along a wind turbine tower;
means for supporting the crane tower in a second position (the advancer 28a-d, pin driver 70 and the module frame 48, 50, 52) inserted beneath); and
at least one crane tower extension section to extend at least partially around a wind turbine tower section;
wherein the lifter is configured to advance the crane tower, in a first mode, away from the first, base position toward the second position to create space for inserting the at least one crane tower section into the created space, and the at least one crane tower extension section is configured to be arranged in the space and connected to the crane tower in order to extend the crane tower.
Regarding claim 67:
Vorhies discloses a method of extending a crane tower (sections 46) along a wind turbine tower (14), the method comprising the steps of:
providing a crane tower to be extended along at least a portion of a wind turbine tower, the crane tower comprising one or more crane tower sections (46) configured to extend around the wind turbine tower, and a crane (56) at or near an upper end thereof, and providing support means (48, 50, 52) and at least one lifter (28a-d);
locating the crane tower (module 46) in a base position (Figs. 4 and 5) in which a lower end of the crane tower is arranged at or near a crane tower base;
operating the lifter (28a-d) to elevate the crane tower away from the crane tower base toward an elevated position, thereby creating space for one or more crane tower extension sections to be inserted at or near the crane tower base;
locating and supporting the crane tower in the elevated position using the support means (the advancer 28a-d, pin driver 70 and the module frame 48, 50, 52 inserted beneath);
arranging one or more crane tower extension sections (46) in the created space; and
adding the one or more crane tower extension sections to a lower end of the elevated crane tower, thereby extending the crane tower:
the one or more crane tower extension sections configured to extend around the wind turbine tower (refer to Fig. 5b).
Regarding claims 70 and 73:
Vorhies discloses a method of constructing a wind turbine tower, the method comprising the steps of:
providing a crane tower (comprised of sections 46) to be extended along at least a portion of the wind turbine tower under construction, the crane tower comprising one or more crane tower sections and a crane (56) at or near an upper end thereof;
and providing support means (48, 50, 52) and at least one lifter (28a-d);
the wind turbine tower including a foundation (12);
locating the crane tower (module 46) in a base position (Figs. 4 and 5) in which a lower end of the crane tower is arranged at or near a crane tower base and in weight bearing relationship upon a crane tower base, the weight of the crane tower at least partially transmitted to the partially constructed portion of the wind turbine tower, through the crane tower base;
using the crane tower in work mode, operating the crane (56) to locate and position a wind turbine tower section (16) in longitudinal orientation above an upper end of a partially constructed portion (14) of the wind turbine tower, the wind turbine tower section (16) in longitudinal orientation being lowered vertically into the upper end of the crane tower (refer to Fig. 5A, it is lifted, inserted and lowered vertically therein into the upper end of the crane tower);
operating the lifter (28a-d) to elevate the crane tower away from the crane tower base toward an elevated position, thereby creating space for crane tower extension sections (46) to be inserted at or near the crane tower base;
locating and supporting the crane tower in the elevated position, locking the crane tower to the support means (the framing), the weight of the crane tower at least partially transmitted to the partially constructed portion of the wind turbine tower through the support means
arranging one or more crane tower extension sections (46) in the created space in an area around the partially constructed portion of the wind turbine tower; and
adding the one or more crane tower extension sections to a lower end of the elevated crane tower, thereby extending the crane tower;
locating the lengthened crane tower in the base position, in which a lower end of the lengthened crane tower is arranged at or near and in weight bearing relationship upon the crane tower base (the lowest section), the weight of the lengthened crane tower at least partially transmitted to the partially constructed portion of the wind turbine tower, to the foundation thereof, through the crane tower base; and
using the lengthened crane tower in work mode, operating the crane to locate and position a further wind turbine tower section in longitudinal orientation above an upper end of the previously connected tower section of the wind turbine tower, and connecting the further wind turbine tower section to the upper end.
Regarding claim 49:
Vorhies wherein the one or more crane tower sections are configured to extend around the wind turbine tower and the one or more crane tower extension sections are configured to extend around the wind turbine tower (refer to Figs. 5B and 5C).
Regarding claim 50:
Vorhies discloses wherein the one or more crane tower sections and the one or more crane tower extension sections are elongated sections to extend longitudinally along the crane tower (Fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 51:
Vorhies discloses wherein the method further comprises connecting at least two parts to assemble the one or more crane tower sections (refer to Fig. 6, showing the connection).
Regarding claim 52:
Vorhies discloses wherein the method further comprises:
locating the lengthened crane tower in the base position, in which a lower end of the lengthened crane tower is arranged at or near the crane tower base;
operating the lifter to elevate the lengthened crane tower away from the crane tower base toward an elevated position, thereby creating space for further extension tower sections to be inserted at or near the crane tower base;
locating and supporting the lengthened crane tower in the elevated position;
arranging one or more further extension sections in the created space in an area around the wind turbine tower; and
adding the one or more further extension sections to a lower end of the elevated crane tower, thereby further lengthening the crane tower (refer to Figs. 5-5B).
Regarding claim 53:
Vorhies discloses comprising the steps of:
locating the lengthened crane tower in the base position, in which a lower end of the lengthened crane tower is arranged at or near the crane tower base; and
using the crane on the lengthened crane tower to perform a lifting operation (refer to Fig. 5A)
Regarding claim 54:
Vorhies discloses wherein the weight of the crane tower at least partially is transmitted to the wind turbine tower, through the crane tower base (to the foundation).
Regarding claim 55:
Vorhies discloses wherein the foundation of the wind turbine tower is a ground supported foundation.
Regarding claim 57:
Vorhies discloses wherein the support means comprises a support frame (Fig. 5C) which extends circumferentially at least partially around a portion of the wind turbine tower, and the method includes connecting at least two components to assemble the support frame (Refer to Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 58:
Vorhies discloses wherein the lifter comprises a carriage (28a-d) arranged to travel longitudinally to move the crane tower from the base position to the elevated position.
Regarding claim 59:
Vorhies discloses wherein the lifter is arranged to extend circumferentially at least partially around a portion of the wind turbine tower (Figs. 2 and 5C).
Regarding claim 60:
Vorhies discloses wherein the support means comprises a support frame which extends in a circumferential direction at least partially around a portion of the wind turbine tower, and the lifter is arranged to extend circumferentially at least partially around an outside of the support frame, whereby a lower end crane tower section of the crane tower being elevated is arranged in abutment upon an upward facing surface of the support frame, and is engaged by the carriage, the carriage being movable up/down along the support frame.
Regarding claim 61:
Vorhies discloses wherein the weight of the support means is at least partially transmitted to the wind turbine tower, through the crane tower base (via the foundation) .
Regarding claim 62:
Vorhies discloses wherein supporting the crane tower in the elevated position, comprises locking the crane tower to the support means (frame 46 via 70).
Regarding claim 63:
Vorhies discloses which further comprises operating the crane to:
locate and position a wind turbine tower section in longitudinal orientation above an upper end of a previously installed tower section of the wind turbine tower, and connecting the wind turbine tower section to the upper end (refer to Figs. 5A and 5B).
Regarding claim 65:
Vorhies discloses wherein the at least one tower extension section is configured to advance the crane tower, in a second mode, away from the second position toward the first, base position (reversal of operation).
Regarding claim 66:
Vorhies discloses wherein the crane is configured to suspend a wind turbine tower section in vertical orientation above an upper end of the crane tower (Fig. 5A).
Regarding claim 68:
Vorhies discloses which further comprises arranging parts for forming the one or more crane tower extension sections in the created space, assembling the one or more crane tower extension sections by connecting the parts (Fig. 4 via 70).
Regarding claim 69:
Vorhies discloses wherein the crane has a crane base at an upper end of the one or more crane tower sections and a boom extending from the crane base.
Regarding claim 72:
Vorhies discloses wherein the crane tower, support means, and the lifter are arranged on the wind turbine tower (the foundation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 56 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vorhies et al., US 2010/0044330 in view of Azizi et al., US 2022/0307478.
Regarding claim 56:
Vorhies does not disclose wherein the wind turbine tower is an offshore wind turbine tower.
Azizi discloses a wind turbine tower that may be on or off shore (para. 0040).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to construct the tower erection system of Vorhies offshore as suggested by Azizi in order to construct the tower in a place that is unpopulated and has consistent winds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 71 and 74-75 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The most relevant prior art to Vorhies et al., US 2010/0044330 fails to disclose wherein the crane base has an opening for receiving a wind turbine tower section therethrough and the method includes lowering the wind turbine tower section in longitudinal orientation vertically through the opening of the crane tower base into the upper end of the crane tower and toward the upper end of the crane tower (claim 71) or wherein the crane is configured to suspend a wind turbine tower section in vertical orientation above an upper end of the crane tower (claim 74). Rather, Vorhies discloses the crane suspending a wind turbine tower section in vertical orientation below an upper end of the crane tower, such that the wind tower turbine section is then passed to inside of the crane tower through lateral/translational movement. Modifying the prior art of Vorhies to include the method and structure set forth by claims 71 and 74 would require improper hindsight reconstruction and would also compromise the intended functionality of the device of Vorhies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRENT W HERRING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633