DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In view of the preamble of claim 1, it seems that the preamble of claim 9 forgot to recite the claimed invention such that the preamble of claim 9 does not identify what the claimed invention is. Therefore, the examiner suggests the applicant to change “a first conductor, wherein” in claim 9, line 3 to -- a first conductor, the ring-shaped coil spring comprising --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kompa et al (US 9,909,636 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Kompa discloses a ring-shaped coil spring 100, the ring-shaped coil spring 100 being mounted around a conductor 170, the ring-shaped coil spring 100 comprising at least one ring-shaped spring 110 for increasing a contact load to the conductor 170, the at least one ring-shaped coil spring 100 being mounted along an inner circumferential side in coils 102 of the ring-shaped coil spring 100, wherein a load for compression inward in a radial direction by the at least one ring-shaped spring 110 can be adjusted by changing a number of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110 (see Fig. 7A showing one spring and see Fig. 10A showing two springs), by changing materials (see column 6, lines 50-63) of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110, by changing ring diameters (see column 5, lines 26-52) of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110, or by changing a number of turns (see column 6, lines 45-55) of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Kompa discloses a ring-shaped coil spring 100, (claim 9) the ring-shaped coil spring 100 being mounted around a second conductor 170 formed so as to be inserted and connected to a first conductor 156, wherein at least one ring-shaped spring 122 is mounted along an outer circumferential side in coil 102 of the ring-shaped coil spring 100 so as to increase a contact load to the first conductor 152, wherein a load for compression outward in a radial direction by the at least one ring-shaped spring 110 can be adjusted by changing a number of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110 (see Fig. 7A showing one spring and see Fig. 10A showing two springs), by changing materials (see column 6, lines 50-63) of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110, by changing ring diameters (see column 5, lines 26-52) of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110, or by changing a number of turns (see column 6, lines 45-55) of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110; and (claim 10) wherein another ring-shaped spring 124 than the at least one ring-shaped spring 122 is mounted along an inner circumferential side in the coils 102 of the ring-shaped coil spring 100, so as to increase a contact load to the second conductor 170.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakauchi et al (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0266120 A1) in view of Kompa et al (US 9,909,636 B2).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Nakauchi discloses a ring-shaped coil spring, (claim 7) the ring-shaped coil spring C1-C3 being mounted around a conductor 5, the ring-shaped coil spring C1-C3 for increasing a contact load to the conductor 5; (claim 8) wherein the conductor 5 is a contactor that clamps and fixes two conductors 2 and 50 (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Nakauchi discloses a ring-shaped coil spring B1, (claim 9) the ring-shaped coil spring B1 being mounted around a second conductor 2 formed so as to be inserted and connected to a first conductor 1.
However, Nakauchi does not disclose the ring-shaped coil spring comprising (claim 9) at least one ring-shaped spring for increasing a contact load to the conductor, the at least one ring-shaped spring being mounted along an inner circumferential side in coils of the ring-shaped coil spring, wherein a load for compression inward in a radial direction by the at least one ring-shaped spring can be adjusted by changing a number of the at least one ring-shaped spring, by changing materials of the at least one ring-shaped spring, by changing ring diameters of the at least one ring-shaped spring, or by changing a number of turns of the at least one ring- shaped spring; and (claim 10) wherein another ring-shaped spring 124 than the at least one ring-shaped spring 122 is mounted along an inner circumferential side in the coils 102 of the ring-shaped coil spring 100, so as to increase a contact load to the second conductor 170.
On the other hand, Kompa discloses a ring-shaped coil spring 100 comprising (claim 9) at least one ring-shaped spring 110 for increasing a contact load to the conductor 170, the at least one ring-shaped coil spring 100 being mounted along an inner circumferential side in coils 102 of the ring-shaped coil spring 100, wherein a load for compression inward in a radial direction by the at least one ring-shaped spring 110 can be adjusted by changing a number of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110 (see Fig. 7A showing one spring and see Fig. 10A showing two springs), by changing materials (see column 6, lines 50-63) of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110, by changing ring diameters (see column 5, lines 26-52) of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110, or by changing a number of turns (see column 6, lines 45-55) of the at least one ring-shaped spring 110; and (claim 10) wherein another ring-shaped spring 124 than the at least one ring-shaped spring 122 is mounted along an inner circumferential side in the coils 102 of the ring-shaped coil spring 100, so as to increase a contact load to the second conductor 170.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the ring-shaped coil spring taught by Nakauchi such that it would have a ring-shaped spring mounted along an outer circumferential side and another ring-shaped spring mounted along an inner circumferential side in coils of the ring-shaped coil spring as taught by Kompa to increase a contact load to the conductor from both outer and inner circumferential sides in coils of the ring-shaped coil spring.
Regarding claims 11-14 reciting, “A switchgear comprising the ring-shaped coil spring of switchgear” according to one of claims 7-10, both Nakauchi and Kompa do not disclose the ring-shaped coil spring being used in a switchgear.
Only the other hand, it is clear from teachings from both Nakauchi and Kompa that the ring-shaped coil spring can be used other than switchgear because Nakauchi and Kompa disclose two different types of electrical connectors using the ring-shaped coil spring. Therefore, it is clear that the ring-shaped coil spring is not limited just to be used with the switchgear only but can be used with many different types of electrical connectors.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the ring-shaped coil spring taught by either Nakauchi and Kompa such that it would be used in a switchgear as taught by the instant invention because the ring-shaped coil spring is not limited to be used with the switchgear only but can be used with many different types of electrical connectors. Electrical connectors taught by both Nakauchi and Kompa also use the ring-shaped coil spring.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Kompa discloses a canted coil spring. It seems that the applicant is arguing that the canted coil spring does not correspond to the recited coil spring of Claims 7, 9 and 10.
The examiner disagrees with the applicant because the claim limitations of claims 7, 9 and 10 simply recite, “ring-shaped coil spring”. The drawings of Kompa clearly show the coil spring 100 having a ring-shaped spring. Therefore, the coil spring of Kompa is a ring-shaped coil spring, which meets the ring-shaped coil spring recited in claims 7, 9 and 10.
The applicant further argues that both Kompa and Nakauchi do not disclose or suggest the newly added limitations in claims 7 and 9.
The examiner disagrees with the applicant because Kompa clearly teaches and discloses all the newly added limitations recited in claims 7 and 9. See all the paragraphs pointed out in the above rejections that correspond to all the newly added limitations recited in claims 7 and 9.
In conclusion, Kompa and Nakauchi clearly disclose all the limitations recited in the amended claims 7-14 filed on 08/07/2026.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/hmh/
/Hae Moon Hyeon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831