DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the 18/683627 application originally filed February 14, 2024.
Amended claims 1-15, filed February 14, 2024, are pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 7-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-4, 7-9, 12, 13 and 15, the phrase “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 13 and 14 provides for the use of at least one human milk oligosaccharide as foam enhancing agent or foam booster, but, since the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/process, it is unclear what method/process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed recitation of a use, without setting forth any steps involved in the process, results in an improper definition of a process, i.e., results in a claim which is not a proper process claim under 35 U.S.C. 101. See for example Ex parte Dunki, 153 USPQ 678 (Bd.App. 1967) and Clinical Products, Ltd. v. Brenner, 255 F. Supp. 131, 149 USPQ 475 (D.D.C. 1966).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trinh et al. (US 5,540,853) hereinafter “Trinh” in view of Dekany (US 2016/0113952).
Regarding Claims 1-12 and 15
Trinh discloses in column 1 lines 14-25, perfume in personal cleansing and cosmetic products provides olfactory aesthetic benefit and/or serves as a signal of cleanliness. These are especially important functions of these personal care products. Personal care products generally include "rinse-off" products, such as soaps, liquid soaps, shampoos, hair conditioners, etc., which are applied to, e.g., skin or hair and then rinsed off from the skin or hair, and "leave-on" products, such as skin moisturizers, sun screen products, deodorants, hair sprays, mousse, etc., which are applied and are normally allowed to remain on, e.g., skin or hair.
Trinh discloses in column 1 lines 47-54, to provide personal cleansing compositions containing enduring perfumes which are effectively retained and remain on the skin or hair for a long lasting aesthetic benefit with minimum amount of material, and not lost and/or wasted in the cleaning and drying steps. It is also an object to provide perfumes that are non-irritating insofar as that is possible.
Trinh discloses in column 2 lines 12-31, personal treatment compositions such as deodorants, perfumes, colognes, suntan lotions, skin softening lotions, etc., which are meant to leave relatively large amounts of material on the skin, are especially improved by use of these enduring perfume compositions, since they minimize the amount of material in contact with the skin.
Trinh discloses in column 6 lines 54-67, numerous examples of other surfactants are disclosed. They include anionic surfactants, nonionic surfactants, cationic surfactants, amphoteric surfactants, zwitterionic surfactants, and mixtures thereof. They include alkyl sulfates, alkylpolyethyleneglycol sulfates, alkyl sulfonates, alkyl glyceryl ether sulfonates, anionic acyl sarcosinates, methyl acyl laurates, N-acyl glutamates, acyl isethionates, alkyl sulfosuccinates, alkyl phosphate esters, ethoxylated alkyl phosphate esters, trideceth sulfates, protein condensates, mixtures of ethoxylated alkyl sulfates and alkyl amine oxides, betaines, sultaines, and mixtures thereof. Included in the alkylpolyethyleneglycol sulfate surfactants are the alkyl ether sulfates with 1 to 12 ethoxy groups, especially ammonium and sodium lauryl ether sulfates.
Trinh discloses in column 14 lines 5-18, personal cleansing compositions that are normally rinsed, like shampoos and personal skin cleansers, comprises from about 0.01% to about 95% of a surfactant system. This surfactant system comprises anionic, nonionic, cationic, and/or zwitterionic type surfactants as described hereinbefore. For non-shampoo surfactant systems the surfactant system typically comprises at least one surfactant selected from the group consisting of soap, acylglutamates, alkyl sarcosinates, alkylpolyethyleneglycol sulfates, alkylglyceryl ether sulfonates, and/or acyl isethionates.
Trinh further discloses in column 14 lines 39-67 and column 15 lines 1-30, soap surfactant systems including compositions can comprise at least about 2% by weight of the surfactant system is soap. Preferably the alkali metal soap is C10 -C22, preferably C12 -C18, more preferably C12 -C14 (cocoate, laurate, PKO) sodium, potassium, ammonium, triethanolammonium, and/or magnesium soap. Preferably these soaps have saturated alkyl chains. These soaps are preferably prepared by the in situ saponification of the corresponding fatty acids, but they can also be introduced as preformed soaps. The addition of C10 -C22 soap also decreases any "slippery feel" caused by any synthetic surfactant that is present. A soap based liquid composition comprises: (A) from about 5% to about 20% by weight of potassium C8 -C22 fatty acid soap (includes stearic acid, lauric acid and myristic acid) ; (B) from about 0.1 to about 7% C8 -C22 free fatty acid; (C) from about 8% to about 35% of a polyol selected from the group consisting of: glycerin, glycerol, propylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, ethyl hexanediol, hexylene glycol, and other aliphatic alcohols; and mixtures thereof; (D) from about 0.5% to about 15% petrolatum preferably having an average particle size of from 45 microns to about 120 microns; and
(E) from about 0.5 to about 5% glycol ester selected from the group consisting of glycol monoesters and diesters of fatty acids with a chain length from about 10 to about 22, and mixtures thereof, typically formulated as a liquid which additionally comprises from about 35% to about 70% water, wherein the ratio of said soap plus any synthetic surfactant, which is optionally added, to said free fatty acids plus glycol ester is preferably from about 1:1 to about 15:1 and more preferably from about 3:1 to about 12:1; wherein said liquid has a viscosity of from about 500 cps to about 60,000 cps at about 26.7° C.; and wherein the fatty acid of (A) and (B) have an Iodine Value of from zero to about 15. The fatty acid matter of the above soap based liquid composition typically has an IV of from zero to about 15, preferably below about 10, more preferably below about 3. The compositions can contain fatty acids derived from essentially saturated hydrocarbon chain lengths of from about 8 to about 22 carbon atoms. These fatty acids can be highly purified individual chain lengths and/or crude mixtures such as those derived from fats and oils. In general, the higher the proportion of longer chain length fatty acids, the poorer the lather, but the greater the pearlescent appearance and mildness of the product. The above soap based liquid composition can contain from about 8% to about 35% of a polyol selected from the group consisting of: glycerin, glycerol, propylene glycol, polypropylene glycol, polyethylene glycol, ethyl hexanediol, hexylene glycol, aliphatic alcohol; and mixtures thereof; and preferably contains 10-30% of said polyol, preferably glycerol.
Trinh discloses in column 15 lines 55-57, the level of water in the above soap based liquid composition is typically from about 35% to about 70%.
Trinh discloses in column 15 lines 64-67, the liquid soap is called a dispersoid because at least some of the fatty matter, at the levels used herein, is insoluble. The above soap based liquid composition is phase stable, even after storage.
Trinh further discloses in column 29 lines 8-20, other ingredients are selected for the various applications. E.g., alcohols, hydrotropes, colorants, and fillers such as talc, clay, calcium carbonate and dextrin can also be used. Cetearyl alcohol is a mixture of cetyl and stearyl alcohols. Preservatives, e.g., trisodium etidronate and sodium ethylenediaminetetraacetate (EDTA), generally at a level of less than 1% of the composition, can be incorporated in the cleansing products to prevent color and odor degradation. Antibacterials can also be incorporated, usually at levels up to 1.5%. Salts, both organic and inorganic, can be incorporated into the compositions of the present invention. Examples include sodium chloride, sodium isethionate, sodium sulfate, and their equivalents.
It is to be noted, Trinh discloses the addition of antibacterials but fails to specifically teach the claimed one or more human milk oligosaccharide selected from the group consisting of 2'-fucosyllactose, 3-fucosyllactose, difucosyllactose, lacto-N-fucopentaose I, lacto-N- neotetraose and lacto-N-tetraose as well as mixtures thereof.
However, it is known in the art to add known human milk oligosaccharides to a shampoo composition for the skin as a microbiota treatment, as taught by Dekany.
Dekany discloses in paragraph 0110, when the mixture of oligosaccharides is added to the pharmaceutically acceptable carriers a dosage in the form of for example, but not limited to tablets, powders, granules, suspensions, emulsions, infusions, capsules, injections, liquids, elixirs, extracts and tincture can be made, which especially useful when the gut microbiota is treated. For skin microbiota treatment, a solution, gel (e.g. water-based), cream, emollient, foam, ointment, lotion, shampoo or spray can be used. The most suitable formulas for the treatment of the oral cavity can be solid formulations such as lozenges, lollipops, troches, dragees, chewable gums, solid candies, granular solids such as powders, chewable tablets or pills, orally dispersible tablets or pills, orally dissolvable tablets, pills or capsules, and the like, as well as liquid or semi-solid formulations such as solutions, suspensions, pastes, creams, lotions, and emulsions. To the above formulas, if needed, probiotics, e.g. lacto bacteria, Bifidobacterium species, prebiotics such as fructooligosaccharides and galactooligosaccharides, proteins from casein, soy-bean, whey or skim milk, carbohydrates such as lactose, saccharose, maltodextrin, starch or mixtures thereof, lipids (e.g. palm olein, sunflower oil, safflower oil) and vitamins and minerals essential in a daily diet can also be further added.
Dekany further discloses in paragraph 0054, these preferred compounds of formula 1 are core milk oligosaccharides that can be found in mammalian or human milk. The human core milk oligosaccharides containing N-acetyl-lactosamine and/or lacto-N-biose are listed in Table 1, including lacto-N-tetraose (LNT) and lacto-N-neotetraose (LNnT).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771