Claims 1-20 have been cancelled. Claims 21-40 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Netherlands 2029878 has been received.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the system is configured to perform the method according to claim 21” in claim 38.
“the system is configured to monitor: one analyte of interest; or multiple analytes of interest…monitored” in claim 39.
“the system in configured to monitor multiple analytes of interest” in claim 40.
“the system is further configured to perform multiple method in parallel…monitored” in claim 40.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is vague. In step (c) the recitations of “the effective volumetric binding site concentration (Cb,ch) in the measurement chamber” and “the effective equilibrium dissociation constant (Kd) lack antecedent support.
Claim limitations:
• “the system is configured to perform the method according to claim 21” in claim 38.
• “the system is configured to monitor: one analyte of interest; or multiple analytes of interest…monitored” in claim 39.
• “the system in configured to monitor multiple analytes of interest” in claim 40.
• “the system is further configured to perform multiple method in parallel…monitored” in claim 40.
invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Claims do not clearly set forth the structures necessary for carrying out the functions being claimed for the system in claims 38-40. Therefore, claims 38-40 are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 38 does not recite limitations that further limit the method steps recited in claim 21. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Malmqvist et al (US Patent 5,492,840; herein referred to as Malmqvist).
Malmqvist discloses a surface plasmon resonance sensor system for measuring simultaneously several properties of one biomolecule as well as simultaneously measuring the concentrations of a plurality of biomolecules in a sample (Abstract). The system comprises a sensor unit consisting of a substrate with a metal film that supports sensing surface functionalized with different biomolecules, a liquid handling unit with conduit for conveying reagents and sample over each sensing surface of the sensor unit, an optical instrumentation unit to apply incident light to each sensing surface and detect reflected radiation, and an evaluation unit to convert measured reflected radiation to rate constants (association or dissociation) or concentration of molecules in the sample (Cols. 2-3).
With respect to claim 38, the sensor unit is considered to read on a measurement chamber with an effective volume and binding sites on each of the sensing surfaces. The liquid handling unit has a conduit that transports sample to the sensor unit. While claim 38 depends from claim 21, the method steps of claim 21 do not further limit the components of the claimed system and thus are not accorded any weight.
With respect to claim 39, the system of Malqvist can monitor one molecule or simultaneously measures the concentration of a plurality of molecules in a sample.
With respect to claim 40, Malmqvist simultaneously measures the concentration of a plurality of molecules in a sample which is considered to being done in parallel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-37 are free of the prior art because the prior art fails to teach a method for monitoring an analyte of interest with the at least one exchange modulation cycle as set forth in claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patents 4,381,291; 5,171,695; 5,432,099; 5,807,755; 5,834,319; and 5,837,551 discloses assay methods that involve fractional occupancy of binding sites but fail to teach the exchange modulation cycle(s) as set forth in claim 21.
/CHRISTOPHER L CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677
6/27/2026