DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
Figure 1a should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Reference characters should not share the same lead lines (note Figs. 2, 4, 6 and 7a). The lead lines for the different parts should be directed to the different parts to be in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(p).
The lead lines for reference characters 6 and 9 in Fig. 2 should contact the corresponding parts.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “6” in Fig. 4 has been used to designate both what appears to be a retaining structure of the axle end 7 and a retaining structure of the deflective arm 15.
Each distinct part, including modified parts, should be labeled with a distinct reference character to be in compliance with 37 CFR 1.84(p). Note at least the following informalities:
The part represented by reference character 2 in the embodiment shown in Figs. 2-4 is distinct from the part represented by this same reference character in at least the prior art embodiment shown in Fig. 1a.
The part represented by reference character 2 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 5 is distinct from the part represented by this same reference character in at least the embodiment shown in Figs. 2-4.
The parts represented by reference characters 2 and 7 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 6 is distinct from the parts represented by these same reference characters in at least the embodiment shown in Figs. 2-4.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Each occurrence of the term “axel” should be replaced with the term -- axle -- to correct an apparent typographical error.
Specific claim numbers (note line 3 on page 4) should not be referenced in the specification inasmuch as the claims are subject to amendments and renumbering during prosecution.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-9 and 11, each occurrence of the term “axel” in these claims should be replaced with the term -- axle -- to correct an apparent typographical error.
Regarding claims 2-13, the preamble “Mecanum wheel” in each of these claims should be replaced with -- The mecanum wheel -- for clarity.
Regarding claim 3, the term “xel” should be replaced with the term -- axle -- to correct an apparent typographical error.
Regarding claim 6, the term “Wheel” should not be capitalized.
Regarding claim 12, the number “18” should be deleted for clarity.
Regarding claim 14, the term “compnses” should be replaced with the term -- comprises -- to correct an apparent typographical error.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “a mecanum wheel according to claim 1,” should be replaced with a phrase, such as -- the mecanum wheel according to claim 1, and -- for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “an xel” (note: best understood as being “an axle”) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “an xel” refers to “an axel” previously set forth in independent claim 1 or if it is distinct therefrom as implied by the claim construction.
Regarding claim 4, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the end surface”.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “a roller” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether “a roller” refers to “a plurality of rollers” previously set forth in independent claim 1 or if it is distinct therefrom as implied by the claim construction.
Regarding claim 5, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the bottom of the recess”.
Regarding claim 12, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the outward facing largely vertical end surface”.
Regarding claim 13, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the outward facing inner side of the axial end” and “the axial end”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yada et al. (WO 2021/039324 A1; hereinafter “Yada”).
Regarding claim 1, Yada discloses a mecanum wheel 7 comprising: a plurality of rollers 5 each with a rolling surface (at radially outer surface of 42 as shown in Fig. 4) and an axle 41 with axle ends (unlabeled, but best shown in Fig. 4) protruding from each side of the rolling surface in the longitudinal direction of the roller (Fig. 4) and having an axial stopper surface (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 4 below) largely perpendicular to the axle (Fig. 4), a wheel frame 4 for mounting the rollers with mounting units (inclined portions 36), arranged for holding respective axle ends (unlabeled respective ends of 41) of each roller (Fig. 4), wherein each mounting unit comprising: a mounting unit recess 45 with an opening (opening at surface of 36 for 45 as shown in Fig. 4) for inserting an axle end (Fig. 4), wherein the mounting unit recess interacts with the respective axle end for structurally locking the roller against movements relative to the wheel frame in directions having a component radially inwards of the mecanum wheel (evident from Fig. 4), a mounting unit stopper surface (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 4 below) largely perpendicular to the axle interacting with the axial stopper surface for locking the roller against movements relative to the wheel frame in directions along the axis of the roller (evident from Fig. 4), a rebounding roller retaining structure 71 positioned at least partly inside an insertion path of the respective axle end (Fig. 6; sixth full paragraph on page 6 of the English language machine translation) causing resistance when the axle end is pushed or pulled past the roller retaining structure into, and out from, a resting position in the mounting unit recess, thus preventing unintended release of the roller caused by forces having a component directed radially outward of the mecanum wheel (evident from Fig. 6 and the sixth full paragraph on page 6 of the English language machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, Yada further discloses the axle is fixed to the rolling surface of the roller (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Yada further discloses the rollers have an axle around which the rolling surface is rotating (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Yada further discloses the rebounding roller retaining structure is a narrow neck 71 positioned partly inside the opening of the recess to receive the axle end of a roller allowing the axle end to be pushed past the narrow neck and rest in the bottom of the recess (Fig. 6; sixth full paragraph on page 6 of the English language machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Yada further discloses the narrow neck comprises a resilient material (sixth full paragraph on page 6 of the English language machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, Yada further discloses the mounting unit recess is a U-shape structure 45 for receiving the axle end (Figs. 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 11, Yada further discloses the end surface of both axle ends of each roller comprises a gripping zone (labeled in reproduced and annotated Fig. 4 above) for robotic removal (i.e., capable of robotic removal) of the roller from the roller mounting units (evident from Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Yada further discloses the axial stopper surface is the outward facing largely vertical end surface of the axial end interacting with an inward facing vertical stopper surface on an outer side of the recess constituting the mounting unit stopper surface (as evident from reproduced and annotated Fig. 4 above).
Regarding claim 13, Yada further discloses the axial stopper surface is a flange at the outward facing inner side of the axial end interacting with an inward facing vertical inner rim of the recess constituting the mounting unit stopper surface (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Yada further discloses a rolling device 2 for movement along a surface wherein the rolling device comprises: a housing 3 arranged for attachment to the device, the mecanum wheel 7, and driving means 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 4, 9 and 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615