DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-10 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-10, has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On pages 2-3, Applicant argues that the combination of Miyashita and Abe does not teach the claimed invention because Abe fails to teach or otherwise suggest the reducing noise contained in a current for taste modification would improve the taste-modifying effect.
In response to applicant’s remark that Abe is non- analogous to taste modifying effect. Applicant's attention is directed to MPEP § 2141.01 (a) I, where stated: The examiner must determine what is "analogous prior art" for the purpose of analyzing the obviousness of the subject matter at issue. "In order to rely on a reference as a basis for rejection of an applicant's invention, the reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned." In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 1446, 24 USPQ2d 1443, 1445 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Deminski, 796 F.2d 436, 230 USPQ 313 (Fed. Cir. 1986); In re Clay, 966 F.2d 656, 659, 23 USPQ2d 1058, 1060-61 (Fed. Cir. 1992) ("A reference is reasonably pertinent if, even though it may be in a different field from that of the inventor's endeavor, it is one which, because of the matter with which it deals, logically would have commended itself to an inventor's attention in considering his problem."); Wang Laboratories Inc. v. Toshiba Corp., 993 F.2d 858, 26 USPQ2d 1767 (Fed. Cir. 1993); and State Contracting & Eng'g Corp. v. Condotte America, Inc., 346 F.3d 1057, 1069, 68 USPQ2d 1481, 1490 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (where the general scope of a reference is outside the pertinent field of endeavor, the reference may be considered analogous art if subject matter disclosed therein is relevant to the particular problem with which the inventor is involved).
In this case, as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 12/16/2025, the rejection relied upon Miyashita to discloses a control voltage for taste presentations (Miyashita: [0043]-[0045], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5-6: Since the human body is an electrical conductor, the left hand H and the tongue T are electrically connected to each other via the body part B. In the case of this embodiment, the body part B consists of the human body part that extends from the tongue T through the throat, upper body, and left upper limb to the fifth finger f5. In this way, an electric circuit is formed between the first electrode 4 and the second electrode 6, so that a current flows from the second electrode 6 toward the first electrode 4), except the control voltage as the electric stimulus generation unit comprises a noise reduction unit configured to reduce a noise component in the current.
However, it has been known in the art of circuitry design to implement wherein the electric stimulus generation unit comprises a noise reduction unit configured to reduce a noise component in the current, as suggested by Abe, which dsicsleos wherein the electric stimulus generation unit comprises a noise reduction unit configured to reduce a noise component in the current (Abe: Abstract, [0031]-[0033], [0049]-[0051], and FIG. 1-2: The oscillator includes a reference signal source circuit that has a reference signal source outputting a reference signal and converts the output reference signal into a control voltage, a filter that includes a variable resistance and a capacitance and removes noise in the control voltage, a transistor that converts the control voltage which has passed through the filter into a control current and outputs the control current, a core circuit that is driven by the control current and generates an output signal, and an output terminal that outputs the generated output signal).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Miyashita and Abe, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the taste presentation circuit of Miyashita to include wherein the electric stimulus generation unit comprises a noise reduction unit configured to reduce a noise component in the current, as suggested by Abe. The motivation for this is to remove noises in a voltage/current source as a known implementation circuitry design.
Further, Applicant argues that the art fails to disclose or suggest the features of the dependent claims. Taking claim 2 as an example, this claim recites that after starting to supply the current, the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to change a current direction such that a polarity of the first electrode and the second electrode is reversed.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 12/16/2025, the rejection relied upon Miyashita to clearly disclose after starting to supply the current, the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to change a current direction such that a polarity of the first electrode and the second electrode is reversed (Miyashita: [0043]-[0045], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5-6: The polarity of the voltage in the power supply device 3 is preset to the polarity of cathode presentation or the polarity of anode presentation, depending on the necessity of electric taste presentation. The polarity of cathode presentation is the polarity that applies a negative voltage to the beverage 11 from the first electrode 4, and a negative voltage is output to the first terminal 3A and a positive voltage is output to the second terminal 3B. In this case, the first electrode 4 becomes a cathode and the second electrode 6 (not shown) becomes an anode. The polarity of anode presentation is the polarity that applies a positive voltage from the first electrode 4 to the beverage 11, and a positive voltage is output to the first terminal 3A and a negative voltage is output to the second terminal 3B. In this case, the first electrode 4 becomes an anode and the second electrode 6 (not shown) becomes a cathode.).
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita et al. (Miyashita – JP 2021045399 A) in view of Abe et al. (Abe – US 2016/0285465 A1). The rejections in this instant application are based on the English translation of JP 2021045399 A publication by computer.
As to claim 1, Miyashita discloses a taste presentation device, comprising:
a first electrode ( Miyashita: FIG. 1 the second electrode 6) and a second electrode (Miyashita: FIG. 1 the first electrode 4), configured to allow an electric circuit to be formed between a food or drink to be taken by a user (Miyashita: [0039], [0041], [0048]-[0051], FIG. 1 the second electrode 6, and FIG. 5: The second electrode 6 applies the output voltage from the power supply device 3 to the subject when it comes into contact with the subject's hand wearing the glove 2. 438 The second electrode 6 is electrically insulated from the first electrode 4, and can be placed anywhere on the inner surface of the glove 2 if it can come into contact with the left hand of the examinee when the examinee puts on the glove 2) and a body of the user (Miyashita: [0034]-[0035], [0037], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1 the first electrode 4, and FIG. 5: The subject P completes electrode placement using the electric taste presentation device 1 by holding the cup 10 so that the first electrode 4 on the tip side of the second finger comes into contact with the conductive material in the cup 10…The first electrode 4 is in contact with the conductive material of the cup 10, as shown by the solid line, and the cup 10 and the beverage 11 are electrically connected to each other.); and
an electric stimulus generation unit (Miyashita: FIG. 1 the power supply 3) configured to supply a current for generating an electric stimulation between the first electrode and the second electrode (Miyashita: [0043]-[0045], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5-6: Since the human body is an electrical conductor, the left hand H and the tongue T are electrically connected to each other via the body part B. In the case of this embodiment, the body part B consists of the human body part that extends from the tongue T through the throat, upper body, and left upper limb to the fifth finger f5. In this way, an electric circuit is formed between the first electrode 4 and the second electrode 6, so that a current flows from the second electrode 6 toward the first electrode 4).
Miyashita does not explicitly disclose wherein the electric stimulus generation unit comprises a noise reduction unit configured to reduce a noise component in the current.
However, it has been known in the art of circuitry design to implement wherein the electric stimulus generation unit comprises a noise reduction unit configured to reduce a noise component in the current, as suggested by Abe, which dsicsleos wherein the electric stimulus generation unit comprises a noise reduction unit configured to reduce a noise component in the current (Abe: Abstract, [0031]-[0033], [0049]-[0051], and FIG. 1-2: The oscillator includes a reference signal source circuit that has a reference signal source outputting a reference signal and converts the output reference signal into a control voltage, a filter that includes a variable resistance and a capacitance and removes noise in the control voltage, a transistor that converts the control voltage which has passed through the filter into a control current and outputs the control current, a core circuit that is driven by the control current and generates an output signal, and an output terminal that outputs the generated output signal).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Miyashita and Abe, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the taste presentation circuit of Miyashita to include wherein the electric stimulus generation unit comprises a noise reduction unit configured to reduce a noise component in the current, as suggested by Abe. The motivation for this is to remove noises in a voltage/current source as a known implementation circuitry design.
As to claim 2, Miyashita and Abe discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the device of claim 1, wherein, after starting to supply the current, the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to change a current direction such that a polarity of the first electrode and the second electrode is reversed (Miyashita: [0043]-[0045], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5-6: The polarity of the voltage in the power supply device 3 is preset to the polarity of cathode presentation or the polarity of anode presentation, depending on the necessity of electric taste presentation. The polarity of cathode presentation is the polarity that applies a negative voltage to the beverage 11 from the first electrode 4, and a negative voltage is output to the first terminal 3A and a positive voltage is output to the second terminal 3B. In this case, the first electrode 4 becomes a cathode and the second electrode 6 (not shown) becomes an anode. The polarity of anode presentation is the polarity that applies a positive voltage from the first electrode 4 to the beverage 11, and a positive voltage is output to the first terminal 3A and a negative voltage is output to the second terminal 3B. In this case, the first electrode 4 becomes an anode and the second electrode 6 (not shown) becomes a cathode).
As to claim 3, Miyashita and Abe discloses the limitations of claim 2 further comprising the device of claim 2, wherein the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to start supply the current in a state of a cathodal stimulation in which the second electrode serves as a cathode, and thereafter to change the current direction so as to switch to a state of an anodal stimulation in which the second electrode serves as an anode (Miyashita: [0043]-[0045], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5-6: Since the human body is an electrical conductor, the left hand H and the tongue T are electrically connected to each other via the body part B. In the case of this embodiment, the body part B consists of the human body part that extends from the tongue T through the throat, upper body, and left upper limb to the fifth finger f5. In this way, an electric circuit is formed between the first electrode 4 and the second electrode 6, so that a current flows from the second electrode 6 toward the first electrode 4).
As to claim 7, Miyashita and Abe discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the device of claim 1, wherein the first electrode is in contact with the body of the user (Miyashita: [0039], [0041], [0048]-[0051], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5: The second electrode 6 applies the output voltage from the power supply device 3 to the subject when it comes into contact with the subject's hand wearing the glove 2. 438 The second electrode 6 is electrically insulated from the first electrode 4, and can be placed anywhere on the inner surface of the glove 2 if it can come into contact with the left hand of the examinee when the examinee puts on the glove 2), and the second electrode is in contact with the food or drink (Miyashita: [0034]-[0035], [0037], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5: The subject P completes electrode placement using the electric taste presentation device 1 by holding the cup 10 so that the first electrode 4 on the tip side of the second finger comes into contact with the conductive material in the cup 10…The first electrode 4 is in contact with the conductive material of the cup 10, as shown by the solid line, and the cup 10 and the beverage 11 are electrically connected to each other.).
As to claim 8, Miyashita and Abe discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the device of claim 1, wherein the noise reduction unit is configured to reduce a noise component originating from a power source (Abe: Abstract, [0031]-[0033], [0049]-[0051], and FIG. 1-2: The oscillator includes a reference signal source circuit that has a reference signal source outputting a reference signal and converts the output reference signal into a control voltage, a filter that includes a variable resistance and a capacitance and removes noise in the control voltage, a transistor that converts the control voltage which has passed through the filter into a control current and outputs the control current, a core circuit that is driven by the control current and generates an output signal, and an output terminal that outputs the generated output signal).
As to claim 9, Miyashita and Abe disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the device of claim 1, wherein the electric stimulus generation unit comprises a booster circuit (Miyashita: [0043]-[0045], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5-6), and
wherein the noise reduction unit is configured to reduce a noise component corresponding to an internal oscillation frequency (Abe: Abstract, [0031]-[0033], [0049]-[0051], and FIG. 1-2: The oscillator includes a reference signal source circuit that has a reference signal source outputting a reference signal and converts the output reference signal into a control voltage, a filter that includes a variable resistance and a capacitance and removes noise in the control voltage, a transistor that converts the control voltage which has passed through the filter into a control current and outputs the control current, a core circuit that is driven by the control current and generates an output signal, and an output terminal that outputs the generated output signal) in the booster circuit (Miyashita: [0039], [0041], [0048]-[0051], FIG. 1 the second electrode 6, and FIG. 5: The second electrode 6 applies the output voltage from the power supply device 3 to the subject when it comes into contact with the subject's hand wearing the glove 2. 438 The second electrode 6 is electrically insulated from the first electrode 4, and can be placed anywhere on the inner surface of the glove 2 if it can come into contact with the left hand of the examinee when the examinee puts on the glove 2 and Abe: Abstract, [0031]-[0033], [0049]-[0051], and FIG. 1-2).
As to claim 10, Miyashita discloses a taste presentation method, comprising:
supplying a current for generating an electric stimulation between a first electrode and a second electrode (Miyashita: [0043]-[0045], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5-6: Since the human body is an electrical conductor, the left hand H and the tongue T are electrically connected to each other via the body part B. In the case of this embodiment, the body part B consists of the human body part that extends from the tongue T through the throat, upper body, and left upper limb to the fifth finger f5. In this way, an electric circuit is formed between the first electrode 4 and the second electrode 6, so that a current flows from the second electrode 6 toward the first electrode 4), the first ( Miyashita: FIG. 1 the second electrode 6) and second electrode (Miyashita: FIG. 1 the first electrode 4) allowing to allow an electric circuit to be formed between a food or drink to be taken by a user (Miyashita: [0039], [0041], [0048]-[0051], FIG. 1 the second electrode 6, and FIG. 5: The second electrode 6 applies the output voltage from the power supply device 3 to the subject when it comes into contact with the subject's hand wearing the glove 2…The second electrode 6 is electrically insulated from the first electrode 4, and can be placed anywhere on the inner surface of the glove 2 if it can come into contact with the left hand of the examinee when the examinee puts on the glove 2) and a body of the user (Miyashita: [0034]-[0035], [0037], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1 the first electrode 4, and FIG. 5: The subject P completes electrode placement using the electric taste presentation device 1 by holding the cup 10 so that the first electrode 4 on the tip side of the second finger comes into contact with the conductive material in the cup 10…The first electrode 4 is in contact with the conductive material of the cup 10, as shown by the solid line, and the cup 10 and the beverage 11 are electrically connected to each other.).
Miyashita does not explicitly disclose wherein the supplying further comprises reducing a noise component in the current.
However, it has been known in the art of circuitry design to implement wherein the supplying further comprises reducing a noise component in the current, as suggested by Abe, which dsicsleos wherein the supplying further comprises reducing a noise component in the current (Abe: Abstract, [0031]-[0033], [0049]-[0051], and FIG. 1-2: The oscillator includes a reference signal source circuit that has a reference signal source outputting a reference signal and converts the output reference signal into a control voltage, a filter that includes a variable resistance and a capacitance and removes noise in the control voltage, a transistor that converts the control voltage which has passed through the filter into a control current and outputs the control current, a core circuit that is driven by the control current and generates an output signal, and an output terminal that outputs the generated output signal).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Miyashita and Abe, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the taste presentation circuit of Miyashita to include wherein the supplying further comprises reducing a noise component in the current, as suggested by Abe. The motivation for this is to remove noises in a voltage/current source as a known implementation circuitry design.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita et al. (Miyashita – JP 2021045399 A) in view of Abe et al. (Abe – US 2016/0285465 A1) and further in view of Aboulsoud (Aboulsoud – US 2021/0370063 A1).
As to claim 4, Miyashita and Abe disclose the limitations of claim 3 further comprising the device of claim 3, wherein the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to change the current direction such that the cathodal stimulation in which a predetermined current set value is held is implemented for a holding time, and that the anodal stimulation is implemented after the holding time (Miyashita: [0043]-[0045], [0048]-[0055], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5-7: The polarity of the voltage in the power supply device 3 is preset to the polarity of cathode presentation or the polarity of anode presentation, depending on the necessity of electric taste presentation. The polarity of cathode presentation is the polarity that applies a negative voltage to the beverage 11 from the first electrode 4, and a negative voltage is output to the first terminal 3A and a positive voltage is output to the second terminal 3B. In this case, the first electrode 4 becomes a cathode and the second electrode 6 (not shown) becomes an anode. The polarity of anode presentation is the polarity that applies a positive voltage from the first electrode 4 to the beverage 11, and a positive voltage is output to the first terminal 3A and a negative voltage is output to the second terminal 3B. In this case, the first electrode 4 becomes an anode and the second electrode 6 (not shown) becomes a cathode), except for the claimed limitations of the holding time of 0.1 seconds or longer.
However, it has been known in the art of circuitry design to implement the holding time of 0.1 seconds or longer, as suggested by Aboulsoud, which discloses the holding time of 0.1 seconds or longer (Aboulsoud: [0010], [0066], [0068], and FIG. 5: In weeks 1-6 of the stimulation treatment protocol, a 350-650 ms pulse length and 30-70 ms interpulse break with a polarity switch after every 4th 350-650 ms pulse occurs, 2-4 mA current pulse magnitude, and with current running back and forth between electrodes F3 and F4 for the first 5 minutes of treatment to induce sub-threshold tonic depolarizations of neurons with a low valued voltage gradient along the forceps minor. In the second 5 minute segment of the stimulation treatment protocol, a 350-650 ms pulse length, 30-70 ms interpulse break with no polarity switch, 2-4 mA current magnitude, between electrodes F4 and C3 occurs for 1-15 seconds, prior to switching contralaterally to run for 1-15 seconds between electrodes F3 and C2 with frontal electrodes are anode and hind motor cortex electrodes are cathode to induce a high value voltage gradient along the corticospinal tracts and the corpus callosum).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Miyashita, Abe, and Aboulsoud, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the taste presentation circuit of Miyashita and Abe to include the holding time of 0.1 seconds or longer, as suggested by Aboulsoud. The motivation for this is to selectively choose a timing period for an appropriate stimulation treatment.
As to claim 5, Miyashita and Abe discloses the limitations of claim 2 except for the claimed limitations of the device of claim 2, wherein the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to change the current direction such that a reversal of the polarity is completed within a reversal time of 0.5 seconds or shorter.
However, it has been known in the art of circuitry design to implement wherein the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to change the current direction such that a reversal of the polarity is completed within a reversal time of 0.5 seconds or shorter, as suggested by Aboulsoud, which discloses wherein the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to change the current direction such that a reversal of the polarity is completed within a reversal time of 0.5 seconds or shorter (Aboulsoud: [0010], [0066], [0068], and FIG. 5: In weeks 1-6 of the stimulation treatment protocol, a 350-650 ms pulse length and 30-70 ms interpulse break with a polarity switch after every 4th 350-650 ms pulse occurs, 2-4 mA current pulse magnitude, and with current running back and forth between electrodes F3 and F4 for the first 5 minutes of treatment to induce sub-threshold tonic depolarizations of neurons with a low valued voltage gradient along the forceps minor. In the second 5 minute segment of the stimulation treatment protocol, a 350-650 ms pulse length, 30-70 ms interpulse break with no polarity switch, 2-4 mA current magnitude, between electrodes F4 and C3 occurs for 1-15 seconds, prior to switching contralaterally to run for 1-15 seconds between electrodes F3 and C2 with frontal electrodes are anode and hind motor cortex electrodes are cathode to induce a high value voltage gradient along the corticospinal tracts and the corpus callosum).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Miyashita, Abe, and Aboulsoud, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the taste presentation circuit of Miyashita and Abe to include wherein the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to change the current direction such that a reversal of the polarity is completed within a reversal time of 0.5 seconds or shorter, as suggested by Aboulsoud. The motivation for this is to selectively choose a timing period for an appropriate stimulation treatment.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyashita et al. (Miyashita – JP 2021045399 A) in view of Abe et al. (Abe – US 2016/0285465 A1) and further in view of Jin et al. (Jin – US 2023/0297157 A1).
As to claim 6, Miyashita and Abe disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the device of claim 1, wherein, when starting to supply the current, the electric stimulus generation unit is configured to gradually increase a current value in such a manner that a rate of change in the current value is restricted (Miyashita: Abstract, [0098], and FIG. 17: the waveform generator 43b may intermittently generate a sawtooth pulse like voltage signal. In this case, if the resistance of the electric circuit is constant, a sawtooth pulsed current flows intermittently, for example, as shown by the polygonal line l03 in FIG. 17 (b). In FIGS. 17 A and 17B, the duty ratio of each voltage pulse is fixed as an example, but the duty ratio of each pulse may change over time. Also, the amplitude of each pulse may change over time. A plurality of waveforms of the voltage signal generated by the waveform generator 43b may be prepared, and the subject may be able to select one using the operation unit 8) except for the claimed limitations of the current value is restricted to 0.1 mA/ms or lower.
However, it has been known in the art of circuitry design to implement the current value is restricted to 0.1 mA/ms or lower, as suggested by Jin, which discloses wherein the current value is restricted to 0.1 mA/ms or lower (Jin: Abstract, [0100]-[0104], and FIG. 5: the power regulator can switch to the first current rate of change. The adjustment range corresponding to the threshold value of 0.05mA/ms. Alternatively, another threshold may be set in the power consumption regulator, and the threshold is slightly smaller than the first current change rate threshold of 0.1 mA/ms and greater than the first current change rate threshold of 0.05 mA/ms).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Miyashita, Abe, and Jin, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the taste presentation circuit of Miyashita and Abe to include the current value is restricted to 0.1 mA/ms or lower, as suggested by Jin. The motivation for this is to selectively choose a timing period for an appropriate stimulation treatment using a known alternative current rate.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Ranasinghe et al., US 2023/0405321 A1, discloses methods and systems for augmenting and/or simulating flavors.
Lozano, US 2017/0121166 A1, discloses simulator system for different liquid flavors.
Conclusion
All claims are drawn to the same invention claimed in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685