DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 25 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 2, the phase “a optical lens device” should be “an optical lens device”; and
Claim 25 should be depended on claim 26 instead of claim 24 because “a prism” is not cited in claims 1, 8 and 24.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claim 13, the claim limitations, “the effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet fg1/f<1” are considered to be indefinite. The claim limitations “the effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet fg1/f<1” appear to contradict to claim 1. For example, claim 1 cited “0.65<fg1/f<5.6”. The Examiner unclear fg1/f<1 includes value less than 0.65 or not. Therefore, it is indefinite.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the above limitation as - - “the effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet 0.65<fg1/f<1” - -.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,6-8,10,13,14,23 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamura US 2013/0286276.
Regarding claim 1, Kawamura discloses an optical lens device, in at least figs.1A-1C,5A-5C and 8A-8C and 21 comprising a first lens group (G1), a second lens group (G2), and a third lens group (G3, or G3 with G4, or G4) that are arranged from an object side to an image side, wherein the first lens group has positive focal power (f1=11.9329, para.630), the second lens group has negative focal power (f2=-7.29442, para.630), the third lens group has focal power (para.630), the second lens group is configured to move relative to the first lens group in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (para.419), and an effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and an effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 (para.630, f can be 3.830 to 18.385, fg1/f =11.9329/9.801=1.217, or 0.65<fg1/f<3.11, and para.634 and para.637).
Regarding claim 2, Kawamura discloses the effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet 0.65<fg1/f<1 (para.630, f can any number between 9.801 to 11.385, so that fg1/f can be 0.65<fg1/f<1.217).
Regarding claim 3, Kawamura discloses an effective focal length fg2 of the second lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet −3.5<fg2/f<0 (para.630, fg2/f =-7.29442/9.801).
Regarding claim 4, Kawamura discloses a total track length (TTL) of the optical lens device and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet TTL/f<2.1 (para.637, TTL/f=55.2272/26.433=2.08).
Regarding claim 6, Kawamura discloses a spacing AT12 between the first lens group and the second lens group on an optical axis and a spacing AT23 between the second lens group and the third lens group on the optical axis meet 0.1<AT12/AT23<4.76 (para.630, AT12/AT23=4.183/(3.964+3.252) at standard).
Regarding claim 7, Kawamura discloses the second lens group and the third lens group each comprise a plurality of lenses; and a sum ct2 of center thicknesses of lenses in the second lens group and a sum ct3 of center thicknesses of lenses in the third lens group meet ct2/ct3≤1.3 (para.630, ct2/ct3=(0.55+1.448)/(2.538+0.4+2.689), para.634, ct2/ct3=(0.5+0.4+1.199)/(1.12+1.97+0.4+1.5)=2.099/4.99=0.42).
Regarding claim 8, Kawamura discloses the third lens group (G3 with G4) comprises four lenses (L6-L9), and in the four lenses, in a direction from the object side to the image side, both the first lens and the fourth lens have focal power (see figs.1A-1C), the second lens has negative focal power (see figs.1A-1C), and the third lens has positive focal power (see figs.1A-1C); and a sum f′ of effective focal lengths of the third lens and the fourth lens and an effective focal length fg2 of the second lens group meet −1.2<fg2/f′<8.5 (-7.29442/(6.28561-8.77606)= (-7.29442/-2.49045=2.929); and/or a sum R2 of curvature radiuses of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the second lens and a sum R3 of curvature radiuses of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the third lens meet −1.5<R2/R3<12.5.
Regarding claim 10, Kawamura discloses the second lens group comprises two lenses (L6 and L7), the two lenses are cemented together (see figs.5A-5C), and the two lenses are spherical lenses (see figs.5A-5C).
Regarding claim 13, Kawamura discloses a camera module, in at least figs.19-21, 1A-1C,5A-5C and 8A-8C, comprising a photosensitive element (149, para.578 and 672) and an optical lens device (141), the photosensitive element is disposed on an image side of the optical lens device, wherein the lens device comprises a first lens group (G1), a second lens group (G2), and a third lens group (G3, G4 or G5) that are arranged from an object side to an image side, wherein the first lens group has positive focal power (f1=11.9329, para.630), the second lens group has negative focal power (f2=-7.29442, para.630), the third lens group has focal power (para.630), the second lens group is configured to move relative to the first lens group in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (para.419), and an effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and an effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 (para.630, f can be 3.830 to 18.385, fg1/f =11.9329/9.801=1.217, or 0.65<fg1/f<3.11, and para.634 and para.637).
Regarding claim 14, Kawamura discloses an electronic device, in at least figs.19-21,1A-1C,5A-5C and 8A-8C, comprising a housing (see figs.19-21) and the camera module according to claim 13, wherein the camera module is mounted on the housing (see figs.19-21).
Regarding claim 23, Kawamura discloses the second lens group comprises two lenses (L6 and L7), the two lenses are cemented together (see figs.5A-5C), and the two lenses are spherical lenses (see figs.5A-5C).
Regarding claim 29, Kawamura discloses the second lens group and the third lens group each comprise a plurality of lenses; and a sum ct2 of center thicknesses of lenses in the second lens group and a sum ct3 of center thicknesses of lenses in the third lens group meet ct2/ct3≤1.3 (para.630, ct2/ct3=(0.55+1.448)/(2.538+0.4+2.689)).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10, 13, 14, 23-24 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoyama US 20170184825.
Regarding claim 1, Yokoyama discloses an optical lens device, in at least figs.7-9C and 13, comprising a first lens group (L1), a second lens group (L2), and a third lens group (L3, L4, or LR) that are arranged from an object side to an image side, wherein the first lens group has positive focal power (see figs.7 and 13), the second lens group has negative focal power (see figs.7 and 13), the third lens group has focal power (see figs.7 and 13), the second lens group is configured to move relative to the first lens group in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (see figs.7 and 13), and an effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and an effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 (para.101, fg1/f=10.37/8.79, or 10.37/19.30=0.537<fg1/f<10.37/4.08=2.542, para.93 and 99, 9.72/19.30=0.5<fg1/f<9.72/4.08=2.38).
Regarding claim 2, Yokoyama discloses the effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet 0.65<fg1/f<1 (para.101, 0.65<fg1/f<1 because f can be between 8.79 to 19.30, or para.93 and 99 because f can be between 9.34 to 19.30).
Regarding claim 3, Yokoyama discloses an effective focal length fg2 of the second lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet −3.5<fg2/f<0 (para.101, fg2/f=-3.58/4.08, or para.93 and 99).
Regarding claim 4, Yokoyama discloses a total track length (TTL) of the optical lens device and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet TTL/f<2.1 (para.101, TTL/f=32.32/19.30, para.93 and 99).
Regarding claim 6, Yokoyama discloses a spacing AT12 between the first lens group and the second lens group on an optical axis and a spacing AT23 between the second lens group and the third lens group on the optical axis meet 0.1<AT12/AT23<4.76 (para.101, 93 and 99).
Regarding claim 7, Yokoyama discloses the second lens group (L2) and the third lens group (L4 or LR) each comprise a plurality of lenses; and a sum ct2 of center thicknesses of lenses in the second lens group and a sum ct3 of center thicknesses of lenses in the third lens group meet ct2/ct3≤1.3 (para.101 and fig.7, ct2/ct3=(0.3+0.3+0.94)/(2.23+2.74+0.29), para.93 and 99 and fig.13).
Regarding claim 8, Yokoyama discloses the third lens group comprises four lenses (9-12), and in the four lenses, in a direction from the object side to the image side, both the first lens and the fourth lens have focal power, the second lens (10) has negative focal power, and the third lens (11) has positive focal power; and a sum f′ of effective focal lengths of the third lens and the fourth lens and an effective focal length fg2 of the second lens group meet −1.2<fg2/f′<8.5 (para.101, fg2/f′=-3.58/(19.11-5.4) and para.93 and 99); and/or a sum R2 of curvature radiuses of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the second lens and a sum R3 of curvature radiuses of an object-side surface and an image-side surface of the third lens meet −1.5<R2/R3<12.5 (para.101, R2/R3=(-6.88-10.21)/(7.13+14.55), and para.93 and 99).
Regarding claim 10, Yokoyama discloses the second lens group comprises two lenses (4 and 5), the two lenses are cemented together (see figs.7 and 13), and the two lenses are spherical lenses (see figs.7 and 13).
Regarding claim 13, Yokoyama discloses a camera module, in at least figs.7-9C, 13 and 14, comprising a photosensitive element (para.31) and an optical lens device (see figs.7 and 13), the photosensitive element is disposed on an image side of the optical lens device, wherein the lens device comprises a first lens group (L1), a second lens group (L2), and a third lens group (L3, L4, or LR) that are arranged from an object side to an image side, wherein the first lens group has positive focal power (see figs.7 and 13), the second lens group has negative focal power (see figs.7 and 13), the third lens group has focal power (see figs.7 and 13), the second lens group is configured to move relative to the first lens group in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (see figs.7 and 13), and an effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and an effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 (para.101, fg1/f=10.37/8.79, or 10.37/19.30=0.537<fg1/f<10.37/4.08=2.542, para.93 and 99, 9.72/19.30=0.5<fg1/f<9.72/4.08=2.38).
Regarding claim 14, Yokoyama discloses an electronic device, in at least figs.7-9C, 13 and 14, comprising a housing (see fig.14) and the camera module according to claim 13, wherein the camera module is mounted on the housing (see fig.14).
Regarding claim 23, Yokoyama discloses the second lens group comprises two lenses (4 and 5), the two lenses are cemented together (see figs.7 and 13), and the two lenses are spherical lenses (see figs.7 and 13).
Regarding claim 24, Yokoyama discloses the second lens group comprises two lenses (4 and 5), the two lenses are cemented together (see figs.7 and 13), and the two lenses are spherical lenses (see figs.7 and 13).
Regarding claim 29, Yokoyama discloses the second lens group (L2) and the third lens group (L4 or LR) each comprise a plurality of lenses; and a sum ct2 of center thicknesses of lenses in the second lens group and a sum ct3 of center thicknesses of lenses in the third lens group meet ct2/ct3≤1.3 (para.101, ct2/ct3=(0.3+0.3+0.94)/(2.23+2.74+0.29) and para.93 and 99).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 14, 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu US 2022/0390815.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses an optical lens device, in at least figs.33 and 34, comprising a first lens group (GR), a second lens group (E2, or E2 with E3), and a third lens group (E3-E5, or E4-E5) that are arranged from an object side to an image side (see figs.33 and 34), wherein the first lens group has positive focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the second lens group has negative focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the third lens group has focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the second lens group is configured to move relative to the first lens group in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (para.58, a movable group can be move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis), and an effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and an effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 (para.120 and table 1, fg1/f=30.38/14.87=2.043).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu discloses an effective focal length fg2 of the second lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet −3.5<fg2/f<0 (para.120 and table 1, fg2/f=-6.72/14.87=-0.452).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu discloses a total track length (TTL) of the optical lens device and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet TTL/f<2.1 (TTL/f =17.587/14.87).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu discloses a spacing AT12 between the first lens group and the second lens group on an optical axis and a spacing AT23 between the second lens group and the third lens group on the optical axis meet 0.1<AT12/AT23<4.76 (AT12/AT23=2.136/2.855).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses the second lens group (E2 with E3) and the third lens group (E4 with E5) each comprise a plurality of lenses; and a sum ct2 of center thicknesses of lenses in the second lens group and a sum ct3 of center thicknesses of lenses in the third lens group meet ct2/ct3≤1.3 (see fig.34, ct2/ct3<1).
Regarding claim 11, Hsu discloses the first lens group comprises a curved prism (GR), the curved prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see figs.33 and 34), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface, and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34).
Regarding claim 13, Hsu discloses a camera module, in at least figs.33, 34 and 23-28, comprising a photosensitive element (para.98) and an optical lens device (see figs.33 and 34), the photosensitive element is disposed on an image side of the optical lens device (see figs.33 and 34), wherein the lens device comprises a first lens group (GR, or GR with E1), a second lens group (E2, or E2 with E3), and a third lens group (E3-E5, or E4-E5) that are arranged from an object side to an image side (see figs.33 and 34), wherein the first lens group has positive focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the second lens group has negative focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the third lens group has focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the second lens group is configured to move relative to the first lens group in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (para.58, a movable group can be move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis), and an effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and an effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 (para.120 and table 1, fg1/f=30.38/14.87=2.043).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu discloses an electronic device, in at least figs.33, 34 and 23-28, comprising a housing (see figs.23-26) and the camera module according to claim 13, wherein the camera module is mounted on the housing (see figs.23-26).
Regarding claim 26, Hsu discloses the first lens group comprises a curved prism (GR), the curved prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see figs.33 and 34), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface, and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34).
Regarding claim 29, Hsu discloses the second lens group (E2 with E3) and the third lens group (E4 with E5) each comprise a plurality of lenses; and a sum ct2 of center thicknesses of lenses in the second lens group and a sum ct3 of center thicknesses of lenses in the third lens group meet ct2/ct3≤1.3 (see fig.34, ct2/ct3<1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura US 2013/0286276 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Kawamura discloses an entrance pupil diameter (EPD) of the optical lens device and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device (para.630).
Kawamura does not explicitly disclose f/EPD≤2.1. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to f/EPD≤2.1 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have f/EPD≤2.1 in the optical lens device of Kawamura for the purpose of optimizing the balance between optical power distribution, aberrations, and package size.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura US 2013/0286276 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsu US 2022/0390815.
Regarding claim 11, Kawamura discloses the first lens group comprises a prism (P), the prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see fig.21), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see fig.21), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface (see fig.21).
Kawamura does not explicitly disclose the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, comprises the prims (GR) is a curved prism (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34 and para.88) for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements (para.88) and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality (para.55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Kawamura for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality.
Regarding claim 12, Kawamura discloses the prism is a glass prism (para.505), the first lens group further comprises at least one lens (L3) disposed on an image side of the emergent surface, and a lens (L3) closest to the prism in the at least one lens.
Kawamura does not explicitly disclose the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens for the purpose of making simple in manufacture (para.88).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Kawamura for the purpose of making simple in manufacture.
Claim(s) 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura US 2013/0286276 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hsu US 2022/0390815.
Regarding claim 26, Kawamura discloses the first lens group comprises a prism (P), the prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see fig.21), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see fig.21), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface (see fig.21).
Kawamura does not explicitly disclose the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, comprises the prims (GR) is a curved prism (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34 and para.88) for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements (para.88) and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality (para.55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Kawamura for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality.
Regarding claim 25, Kawamura discloses the prism is a glass prism (para.505), the first lens group further comprises at least one lens (L3) disposed on an image side of the emergent surface, and a lens (L3) closest to the prism in the at least one lens.
Kawamura does not explicitly disclose the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens for the purpose of making simple in manufacture (para.88).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Kawamura for the purpose of making simple in manufacture.
Claim(s) 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura US 2013/0286276 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hsu US 2022/0390815.
Regarding claim 27, Kawamura discloses the first lens group comprises a prism (P), the prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see fig.21), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see fig.21), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface (see fig.21).
Kawamura does not explicitly disclose the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, comprises the prims (GR) is a curved prism (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34 and para.88) for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements (para.88) and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality (para.55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Kawamura for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality.
Regarding claim 28, Kawamura discloses the prism is a glass prism (para.505), the first lens group further comprises at least one lens (L3) disposed on an image side of the emergent surface, and a lens (L3) closest to the prism in the at least one lens.
Kawamura does not explicitly disclose the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens for the purpose of making simple in manufacture (para.88).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Kawamura for the purpose of making simple in manufacture.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama US 20170184825 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Yokoyama discloses an entrance pupil diameter (EPD) of the optical lens device and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device (para.101).
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose f/EPD≤2.1. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to f/EPD≤2.1 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have f/EPD≤2.1 in the optical lens device of Yokoyama for the purpose of optimizing the balance between optical power distribution, aberrations, and package size.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama US 20170184825 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsu US 2022/0390815.
Regarding claim 11, Yokoyama discloses the first lens group comprises a prism (PR), the prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see fig.13), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see fig.13), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface (see fig.13).
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, comprises the prims (GR) is a curved prism (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34 and para.88) for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements (para.88) and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality (para.55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Yokoyama for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality.
Regarding claim 12, Yokoyama discloses the prism is a glass prism (para.30), the first lens group further comprises at least one lens (L1p) disposed on an image side of the emergent surface, and a lens (L1p) closest to the prism in the at least one lens.
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens for the purpose of making simple in manufacture (para.88).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Yokoyama for the purpose of making simple in manufacture.
Claim(s) 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama US 20170184825 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hsu US 2022/0390815.
Regarding claim 26, Yokoyama discloses the first lens group comprises a prism (PR), the prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see fig.13), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see fig.13), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface (see fig.13).
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, comprises the prims (GR) is a curved prism (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34 and para.88) for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements (para.88) and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality (para.55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Yokoyama for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality.
Regarding claim 25, Yokoyama discloses the prism is a glass prism (para.30), the first lens group further comprises at least one lens (L1p) disposed on an image side of the emergent surface, and a lens (L1p) closest to the prism in the at least one lens.
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens for the purpose of making simple in manufacture (para.88).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Yokoyama for the purpose of making simple in manufacture.
Claim(s) 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama US 20170184825 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Hsu US 2022/0390815.
Regarding claim 27, Yokoyama discloses the first lens group comprises a prism (PR), the prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see fig.13), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see fig.13), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface (see fig.13).
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, comprises the prims (GR) is a curved prism (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34 and para.88) for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements (para.88) and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality (para.55).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the prims is a curved prism and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Yokoyama for the purpose of allowing more control variable for eliminating aberrations thereof and reducing the required number of lens elements and enlarging the aperture stop and improving the image quality.
Regarding claim 28, Yokoyama discloses the prism is a glass prism (para.30), the first lens group further comprises at least one lens (L1p) disposed on an image side of the emergent surface, and a lens (L1p) closest to the prism in the at least one lens.
Yokoyama does not explicitly disclose the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens.
Hsu discloses the first lens group, in at least figs.33 and 34, the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens for the purpose of making simple in manufacture (para.88).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lens closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens as taught by Hsu in the optical lens device of Yokoyama for the purpose of making simple in manufacture.
Claim(s) 1-7,11-14, 15, 26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu US 2022/0390815.
Regarding claim 1, Hsu discloses an optical lens device, in at least figs.33 and 34, comprising a first lens group (GR with E1), a second lens group (E2 with E3), and a third lens group (E4-E5) that are arranged from an object side to an image side (see figs.33 and 34), wherein the first lens group has positive focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the second lens group has negative focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the third lens group has focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the second lens group is configured to move relative to the first lens group in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (para.58, a movable group can be move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis), and an effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and an effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet fg1/f=5.403/14.87=0.36 (para.120 and table 1).
Hsu does not explicitly disclose 0.65<fg1/f<1. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 in the optical lens device of Hsu for the purpose of optimizing the balance between optical power distribution, aberrations, and package size.
Regarding claim 2, Hsu discloses the effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device (para.120).
Hsu does not explicitly disclose 0.65<fg1/f<1. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.65<fg1/f<1 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.65<fg1/f<1 in the optical lens device of Hsu for the purpose of optimizing the balance between optical power distribution, aberrations, and package size.
Regarding claim 3, Hsu discloses an effective focal length fg2 of the second lens group and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet −3.5<fg2/f<0 (para.120 and table 1, fg2/f=-6.72/14.87=-0.452).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu discloses a total track length (TTL) of the optical lens device and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet TTL/f<2.1 (TTL/f =17.587/14.87).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu discloses an entrance pupil diameter (EPD) of the optical lens device and the effective focal length f of the optical lens device (para.120).
Hsu does not explicitly disclose f/EPD≤2.1. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to f/EPD≤2.1 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have f/EPD≤2.1 in the optical lens device of Hsu for the purpose of optimizing the balance between optical power distribution, aberrations, and package size.
Regarding claim 6, Hsu discloses a spacing AT12 between the first lens group and the second lens group on an optical axis and a spacing AT23 between the second lens group and the third lens group on the optical axis meet 0.1<AT12/AT23<4.76 (AT12/AT23=0.05/0.131=0.382).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu discloses the second lens group and the third lens group each comprise a plurality of lenses; and a sum ct2 of center thicknesses of lenses in the second lens group and a sum ct3 of center thicknesses of lenses in the third lens group meet ct2/ct3≤1.3 (see fig.34, ct2/ct3<1).
Regarding claim 11, Hsu discloses the first lens group comprises a curved prism (GR), the curved prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see figs.33 and 34), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface, and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34).
Regarding claim 12, Hsu discloses the prism is a glass prism (para.176), the first lens group further comprises at least one lens (E1) disposed on an image side of the emergent surface, and a lens (E1) closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens (para.88).
Regarding claim 13, Hsu discloses a camera module, in at least figs.33, 34 and 23-28, comprising a photosensitive element (para.98) and an optical lens device (see figs.33 and 34), the photosensitive element is disposed on an image side of the optical lens device (see figs.33 and 34), wherein the lens device comprises a first lens group (GR with E1), a second lens group (E2 with E3), and a third lens group (E4-E5) that are arranged from an object side to an image side (see figs.33 and 34), wherein the first lens group has positive focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the second lens group has negative focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the third lens group has focal power (see figs.33 and 34 and table 1), the second lens group is configured to move relative to the first lens group in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis (para.58, a movable group can be move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis), and an effective focal length fg1 of the first lens group and an effective focal length f of the optical lens device meet fg1/f=5.403/14.87=0.36 (para.120 and table 1).
Hsu does not explicitly disclose 0.65<fg1/f<1. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 through routine experimentation and optimization, in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The Applicant has not disclosed that the range is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected/significant result, or are otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another range. Indeed, it has been held that mere range limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 0.65<fg1/f<5.6 in the camera module of Hsu for the purpose of optimizing the balance between optical power distribution, aberrations, and package size.
Regarding claim 14, Hsu discloses an electronic device, in at least figs.33, 34 and 23-28, comprising a housing (see figs.23-26) and the camera module according to claim 13, wherein the camera module is mounted on the housing (see figs.23-26).
Regarding claim 25, Hsu discloses the prism is a glass prism (para.176), the first lens group further comprises at least one lens (E1) disposed on an image side of the emergent surface, and a lens (E1) closest to the prism in the at least one lens is a spherical lens (para.88).
Regarding claim 26, Hsu discloses the first lens group comprises a curved prism (GR), the curved prism comprises an incident surface, an emergent surface, and a reflective surface (see figs.33 and 34), an included angle between the reflective surface and the emergent surface is an acute angle (see figs.33 and 34), the incident surface is connected between the reflective surface and the emergent surface, and the incident surface is a convex surface, and/or the incident surface is an aspherical surface (see figs.33 and 34).
Regarding claim 29, Hsu discloses the second lens group (E2 with E3) and the third lens group (E4 with E5) each comprise a plurality of lenses; and a sum ct2 of center thicknesses of lenses in the second lens group and a sum ct3 of center thicknesses of lenses in the third lens group meet ct2/ct3≤1.3 (see fig.34, ct2/ct3<1).
Contact Information
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chuang US 20220390710 (fig.13, 14 and 19 and para.78 can be primary reference or secondary reference for claims 11, 12, 25-28 as well).
/JIA X PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871