DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed May 5, 2026. The amendments have been entered. Claims 1-11, 15-41 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 11, 15, 21-24, 34-38, 40, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Shimoda et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2015/0110382).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 16, 23, 24, 34, 41, Shimoda et al. disclose (Figs.) a detector module for an optoelectronic image capture system, comprising: a main module body (14, 40); and at least one optoelectronic element (image sensor IC 46) arranged on and/or integrated in the main module body; wherein the at least one optoelectronic element includes at least one line (Fig. 3) with a plurality of pixels ([0051] “a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements”); wherein the main module body includes a carrier surface (40) on which the at least one optoelectronic element is arranged; wherein the main module body includes at least one portion (Fig. 12; side of 14; space where 60a resides) which is substantially perpendicular to the carrier surface and which receives at least one electronic circuit (60a), and/or to receives at least one printed circuit board; and the at least one portion is defined by a recess (the space where 60a resides) and/or pocket into which the at least one electronic circuit and/or printed circuit board is inserted. Shimoda et al. further disclose (Fig. 2) a plurality of optoelectronic elements (46) arranged and/or integrated directly on the main module body, which are arranged substantially in one direction (left/right), one behind the other (in a line). The sensor of Shimoda et al. having at least one spectral channel ([0078]), is connected to the main module body (since it is on the main body, it is connected to the main body), the optoelectronic element inherently including a readout circuit ([0078] “reading operation”). The terms “for an aircraft”, “for a spacecraft” or “a spacecraft” is intended use and does not add patentable weight as it does not further serve to structurally limit the invention.
Regarding claim 7, Shimoda et al. disclose (Fig. 1) the main module body is designed in several parts (10A, 10B), at least one part or each part has at least one optoelectronic element ([0084]).
Regarding claims 11, 35, 36, since the optoelectronic device of Shimoda et al. is flat, as understood, it forms a substantially planar/common image field or focal surface or focal plane arrangement or focal area as claimed.
Regarding claims 15, 21, 22, Shimoda et al. disclose (Fig. 2; [0050]) a circuit board (40) connected electrically (for driving) to the at least one optoelectronic element. Shimoda et al. further disclose a further circuit board (60b) arranged substantially perpendicular to the circuit board (40) connected to an electrically conductive contact point (64) via soldering ([0094]) as claimed.
Regarding claims 37, 38, Shimoda et al. disclose (Fig. 1) a plurality of detector modules (10A, 10B) next to one another or arranged along a line (up/down line).
Regarding claim 40, Shimoda et al. also disclose (Fig. 1) an optical system (38) focusing on the at least one optoelectronic element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda et al. in view of Kageyama et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0193014).
Regarding claims 3, 4, Shimoda et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Shimoda et al. do not disclose a plurality of elements configured as claimed. Kageyama et al. teach (Figs.) a detector module having a plurality of optoelectronic elements which are arranged in a longitudinal direction and one behind the other and overlap in their end areas or are adjacent or spaced apart, is planar as claimed. As understood, the capture system is in a focal plane arrangement. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Shimoda et al. in view of Kageyama to obtain a larger detection area without missing areas between each line sensor as known and predictable.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 25, 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda et al. in view of Renshaw et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0295722).
Regarding claims 8, 10, 25, 27-29, Shimoda et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Shimoda et al. do not disclose a main body, curved element or cooling apparatus as claimed. Renshaw et al. teach the main module body is designed in to be arcuate (Fig. 5), curved sensor elements (Fig. 2) and a heat sink (50) or cooling lines ([0037] metal patterns) as claimed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such elements and configurations in the apparatus of Shimoda et al. in view of Renshaw et al. to increase the field of view of the sensor, provide effective thermal cooling or heating or provide a more compact design to improve the device as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 9, 26, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda et al. in view of Sutton et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2012/0162483).
Regarding claims 9, 26, Shimoda et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Shimoda et al. do not disclose a central portion, an angled portion or different thicknesses as claimed. Sutton et al. also disclose (Figs. 5) the main module body has a central portion and at least one portion angled with respect to the central portion, forming different material thicknesses as claimed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Shimoda et al. to increase the field of view for a nonplanar object as taught, known and predictable.
Regarding claim 39, Barkan et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Barkan et al. do not specifically disclose a curved or convex or concave surface. Sutton et al. teach (Figs.) an optoelectronic device having curved or convex or concave surface. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Barkan et al. in view of Sutton et al. to increase the field of view of the device as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda et al.
Regarding claims 17-19, Shimoda et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Shimoda et al. further disclose ([0118]) electrical connection (solder) between a circuit (60a) and another circuit (40) at a side face or side surface of the circuit. Shimoda et al. does not specifically disclose the circuit being connected to the optoelectronic element at a contact point. However, directly connecting a circuit to an optoelectronic circuit (e.g. IC) is well known. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a connection in the apparatus of Shimoda et al. to conventionally and effectively connect IC as known and predictable.
Regarding claim 20, Shimoda et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Shimoda et al. do not specifically disclose the traces of the circuit board. However, circuit board having traces and perpendicular traces are well known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such traces in the apparatus of Shimoda et al. to conventionally and properly connect circuitry for proper operation of the device as known and predictable.
Claim(s) 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda et al. in view of Renshaw et al. and Hofmann (U.S. Patent 7,044,212)
Regarding claims 30-32, Shimoda et al. in view of Renshaw et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Shimoda et al. and Renshaw et al. do not specifically disclose different cross-sections or tapered lines. Hoffman further teaches (Figs. 4a, 4b) lines having different cross sections or tapered conically as claimed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Shimoda et al. in view of Renshaw et al. and Hofmann to improve cooling efficiency as taught (col. 5, lines 7-20), known and predictable.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda et al. in view of Imai et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0118112)
Regarding claim 33, Shimoda et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Shimoda et al. do not specifically disclose providing different thermal conductivities. Imai et al. teach ([0182]-[-183]) providing a main body from materials of different thermal conductivities. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Shimoda et al. in view of Imai et al. to reduce temperature differences and reduce condensation as taught, known and predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878