DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to amendments and remarks filed January 7, 2026. Claims 1-11, 14-41 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 14-19, 21-24, 34, 40, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Barkan et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2008/0179552).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 6, 14-19, 21-24, 34, 40, 41, Barkan et al. disclose (Figs. 5A, 5B) a detector module for image capture, particularly for an optoelectronic image capture system for an aircraft (intended use), comprising a main module body (17) and at least one optoelectronic element (46) arranged on and/or integrated in the main module body, wherein the at least one optoelectronic element has at least one line with a plurality of pixels, such as a pixel line. Barkan et al. also disclose a carrier surface (surface where 46 is mounted; not labelled); at least one portion of the main body substantially perpendicular (cover 26) to the carrier surface to receive one electric circuit (62 or 60); a soldered connection or electrical connection ([0033]); a further circuit board (16) as claimed. The sensor of Barkan et al. having at least one spectral channel ([0025] ELIS 1024 CSP has broad visible spectrum response), is connected to the main module body, the optoelectronic element inherently including a readout circuit. Barkan et al. also disclose an optical system (44) for focusing as claimed. The terms “for a spacecraft” or “a spacecraft” is intended use and does not add patentable weight as it does not further serve to structurally limit the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan et al.
Regarding claim 20, Barkan et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Barkan et al. do not specifically disclose the traces of the circuit board. However, circuit board having traces and perpendicular traces are well known in the art. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such traces in the apparatus of Barkan et al. to conventionally and properly connect circuitry for proper operation of the device as known and predictable.
Claim(s) 2-4, 11, 35-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan et al. in view of Kageyama et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0193014).
Regarding claims 2-4, 11, 35-38, Barkan et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Barkan et al. do not disclose a plurality of elements configured as claimed. Kageyama et al. teach (Figs.) a detector module having a plurality of optoelectronic elements which are arranged in a longitudinal direction and one behind the other and overlap in their end areas or are adjacent or spaced apart, is planar as claimed. As understood, the capture system is in a focal plane arrangement. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Barkan et al. in view of Kageyama to obtain a larger detection area as desired, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan et al. in view of DePuydt et al. (U.S. Patent 5,635,718).
Regarding claim 7, Barkan et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Barkan et al. do not disclose the main module body is designed in parts as claimed. DePyudt et al. teach (Figs.) the main module body (18) is designed in several parts as claimed. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Barkan et al. in view of DePyudt et al. to obtain a larger detection area as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 25, 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan et al. in view of Renshaw et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2018/0295722).
Regarding claims 8, 10, 25, 27-29, Barkan et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Barkan et al. do not disclose a main body, curved element or cooling apparatus as claimed. Renshaw et al. teach the main module body is designed in to be arcuate (Fig. 5), curved sensor elements (Fig. 2) and a heat sink (50) or cooling lines ([0037] metal patterns) as claimed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such elements and configurations in the apparatus of Barkan et al. in view of Renshaw et al. to increase the field of view of the sensor, provide effective thermal cooling or heating or provide a more compact design to improve the device as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 9, 26, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan et al. in view of Sutton et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2012/0162483).
Regarding claims 9, 26, Barkan et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Barkan et al. do not disclose a central portion, an angled portion or different thicknesses as claimed. Sutton et al. also disclose (Figs. 5) the main module body has a central portion and at least one portion angled with respect to the central portion, forming different material thicknesses as claimed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Barkan et al. to increase the field of view with a simpler manufactured device as taught, known and predictable.
Regarding claim 39, Barkan et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Barkan et al. do not specifically disclose a curved or convex or concave surface. Sutton et al. teach (Figs.) an optoelectronic device having curved or convex or concave surface. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Barkan et al. in view of Sutton et al. to increase the field of view of the device as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan et al. in view of Imai et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0118112)
Regarding claim 33, Barkan et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Barkan et al. do not specifically disclose a plurality of detector modules. Imai et al. teach ([0182]-[-183]) providing a main body from materials of different thermal conductivities. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Barkan et al. in view of Imai et al. to reduce temperature differences and reduce condensation as taught, known and predictable.
Claim(s) 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkan et al. in view of Renshaw et al. and Hofmann (U.S. Patent 7,044,212)
Regarding claims 30-32, Barkan et al. in view of Renshaw et al. disclose the claimed invention as set forth above. Barkan et al. and Renshaw et al. do not specifically disclose different cross-sections or tapered lines. Hoffman further teaches (Figs. 4a, 4b) lines having different cross sections or tapered conically as claimed. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such a configuration in the apparatus of Barkan et al. in view of Renshaw et al. and Hofmann to improve cooling efficiency as taught (col. 5, lines 7-20), known and predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 7, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the carrier surface is not clearly depicted or described in Barkan and therefore such a limitation cannot be readily ascertained from Barkan. Examiner disagrees. After further scrutiny of Barkan, Fig. 4 shows the optoelectronic element (46) is arranged to a carrier surface (at least a back surface of element 42). The carrier surface/back surface being parallel to the lens. As such, there is a portion of the main body that is perpendicular to the carrier surface as set forth above. Still further, the carrier surface may read on the casing 42 of Barkan as the optoelectronic element (46) is arranged within it. Thus, any surface of the casing 42 that is perpendicular to the portion (26) of the main body can read on the carrier surface, as the optoelectronic element is arranged on the casing 42. Examiner notes that the optoelectronic element cannot be “floating” within casing 42 and must be arranged on it. Therefore, Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive and this rejection is proper.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the other claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878