DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 and 14-21 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 21 are currently amended claims.
No claims are newly presented.
Claim 13 was previously cancelled.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants’ definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-10, 14-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hicok et al. (US 20190265703 A1) in view of Choi (KR 20180053797 A) (the combination of which will be referenced as “combination Hicok” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Hicok teaches a vehicle interaction system to allow passenger interaction with a public transport vehicle, the system including:
a) a processing system; (Hicok: ¶ 159; system includes a central or other dispatch server) b) a passenger client device configured to: (Hicok: ¶ 159; smartphones, tablets, or laptops, able to request and schedule rides from the system.) i) determine a selected vehicle stop in accordance with user input commands; (Hicok: ¶ 170; Mobile device (1000) preferably includes a display map (1031) showing the presence of the traveler (1032) and the local area. TMA preferably allows the user to select the closest stop (pickup location) by providing input such as, for example, touching an area of a display corresponding to a virtual button (1040). The system will identify the closest pickup location and display it on the screen) ii) provide a selected vehicle stop to the processing system; and, (Hicok: ¶ 174; system schedules a shuttle based on the desired number of passengers (1044), departure location (1033), and destination) iii) notify the passenger when the vehicle is approaching the selected vehicle stop; and, (Hicok: ¶ 225; When Shuttle 1 arrives at location B, AI Dispatch may send a notification to Client 1 indicating the arrival of Shuttle) c) a vehicle terminal configured to: (Hicok: ¶ 296; Controller (100) also receives inputs from an instrument cluster (84) and can provide human-perceptible outputs to a human operator via human-machine interface (“HMI”) display(s)) . . .
To the extent Hicok is silent about or does not teach: . . . i) determine one or more passenger requirements in accordance with a requirements indication from the processing system; II) receive a selected vehicle stop notification from the processing system; Iii) determine when the vehicle is approaching the selected stop by monitoring a current vehicle location; and, iii) in response to a positive determination selectively control at least part of the operation of the vehicle; in accordance with the passenger requirements.; Choi does teach:
. . . i) determine one or more passenger requirements in accordance with a requirements indication from the processing system; (Choi: ¶ 009; Control means 300 for receiving the signal of the smartphone 200 for the disabled and driving each part of the notification device) (Choi: ¶ 034; the traffic management server, the traffic management server authenticates the disabled person) II) receive a selected vehicle stop notification from the processing system; Iii) determine when the vehicle is approaching the selected stop by monitoring a current vehicle location; (Choi: ¶ 019; When the disabled person using the wheelchair enters the information of the riding and getting off stops, the input information is transmitted from the smartphone 200 for the disabled to the control means 300 in the low-floor bus, and the control means 300 And the safety distance securing display panel 500 are driven and controlled.) and, iii) in response to a positive determination selectively control at least part of the operation of the vehicle; in accordance with the passenger requirements. (Choi: ¶ 013; riding signal lamp, a red traffic light is illuminated when there is a passenger with a disability to ride at the stop, and the red light, If there is a disabled passenger to board the next stop, the orange traffic light will light up. If there is a disabled passenger to board the next stop, the blue traffic light will light up. If there is a passenger with a disability to get off at the next stop, the orange traffic lights will light up, and if there is a passenger with a disability to get off at the next stop, the blue traffic lights will light up.)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Hicok because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of preventing bus drivers from failing to see a disabled bus passenger under difficult conditions (Choi: ¶ 008).
Regarding claim 2, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
wherein the vehicle terminal is configured to control at least one: (Hicok: ¶ 160; In-Cabin Client provides multiple interfaces) a) a door opening duration, or opening/closing instruction to the door; (Hicok: ¶ 130; if that person runs up to the door of the vehicle, the sensors may detect this, and the controller may open the door to allow the person to board) (Hicok: ¶ 128; automatically opening the passenger compartment door to allow passengers to enter and exit the vehicle.) b) a door opening location; (Hicok: ¶ 130; if that person runs up to the door of the vehicle, the sensors may detect this, and the controller may open the door to allow the person to board) c) a vehicle suspension height; (Hicok: ¶ 128; vehicle may automatically lower the door entrance) d) a vehicle acceleration; (Hicok: ¶ 294; (100) sends command signals to operate vehicle brakes (60) via one or more braking actuators (61), operate steering mechanism via a steering actuator (62), and operate propulsion unit (56) which also receives an accelerator/throttle actuation signal (64).)
e) a vehicle deceleration; (Hicok: ¶ 136; controller would be responsible for both stopping the vehicle) f) a vehicle velocity; (Hicok: ¶ 131; vehicle may automatically adjust speed) g) a vehicle stopping duration; (Hicok: ¶ 129; vehicle may delay moving to the next stop if an additional passenger is running toward the vehicle) . . . i) vehicle lighting; (Hicok: ¶ 134; controller may cause such lights to automatically flash whenever the school bus has stopped) j) vehicle camera; (Hicok: ¶ 127; cameras may then detect that one or more passengers have entered) k) vehicle routing parameters; and, (Hicok: ¶ 231; the vehicle is informed of the desired destination of each passenger, the vehicle is capable of performing route optimization) . . .
Regarding claim 3, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Choi further teaches:
wherein the processing system is configured to: determine the one or more passenger requirements; based on at least one of: a) a passenger profile; and b) an indication of at passenger requirements received from the passenger client device. (Choi: ¶ 012; the smartphone 200 for the disabled user can use the low-floor bus app only for the smartphone for the disabled who inputs the registration number of the welfare card as a smartphone used only by a disabled person registered as a disabled person in the local government)
Regarding claim 5, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
a) obtain a list of available vehicle stops from the processing system; b) present the list of available vehicle stops to the passenger; and, c) determine a selected stop in accordance with user input commands. (Hicok: ¶ 170; Mobile device (1000) preferably includes a display map (1031) showing the presence of the traveler (1032) and the local area. TMA preferably allows the user to select the closest stop (pickup location) by providing input such as, for example, touching an area of a display corresponding to a virtual button (1040). The system will identify the closest pickup location and display it on the screen)
Regarding claim 8, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
wherein the passenger client device is configured to: a) determine a passenger location; and, (Hicok: ¶ 229; application may include a GPS or other geolocator that transmits the coordinates or other identifying information corresponding to the current location of the passenger.) b) obtain a list of available vehicle stops from the processing system using the passenger location. (Hicok: ¶ 170; Mobile device (1000) preferably includes a display map (1031) showing the presence of the traveler (1032) and the local area. TMA preferably allows the user to select the closest stop (pickup location) by providing input such as, for example, touching an area of a display corresponding to a virtual button (1040). The system will identify the closest pickup location and display it on the screen)
Regarding claim 9, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 8. Hicok further teaches:
a) receive a passenger location indication from the passenger client device; and, (Hicok: ¶ 229; application may include a GPS or other geolocator that transmits the coordinates or other identifying information corresponding to the current location of the passenger.) b) determine available vehicle stops at least in part using the passenger location. (Hicok: ¶ 170; Mobile device (1000) preferably includes a display map (1031) showing the presence of the traveler (1032) and the local area. TMA preferably allows the user to select the closest stop (pickup location) by providing input such as, for example, touching an area of a display corresponding to a virtual button (1040). The system will identify the closest pickup location and display it on the screen)
Regarding claim 10, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
wherein the processing system is configured to: a) determine vehicle routing information; and, (Hicok: ¶ 188; system schedules a shuttle based on the desired number of passengers (2044), departure location (2033), and destination) b) provide an indication of the vehicle routing information to the passenger client device. (Hicok: ¶ 192; system also preferably notifies the user's mobile device (1000) via text when the ride is some threshold time (e.g., 15 minutes) or distance away) (Hicok: ¶ 189; mobile device preferably displays the estimated pickup time (2034) at the pickup location (2033), as well as a planned travel route)
Regarding claim 14, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
in response to a positive determination, the vehicle terminal is configured to provide a vehicle approaching indication to at least one of: a) the processing system; and, (Hicok: ¶ 194; Manager Client (4000) includes a Status Map tab (4020), which displays a map (4031) of all shuttles in an area selected) b) the passenger client device. (Hicok: ¶ 225; When Shuttle 1 arrives at location B, AI Dispatch may send a notification to Client 1 indicating the arrival of Shuttle)
Regarding claim 15, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
the processing system is configured to: a) receive a vehicle approaching indication from the vehicle terminal when the vehicle is approaching a selected stop; and, (Hicok: ¶ 194; Manager Client (4000) includes a Status Map tab (4020), which displays a map (4031) of all shuttles in an area selected) b) provide a vehicle approaching notification to the passenger client device. (Hicok: ¶ 177; system also preferably notifies the mobile device (1000) via text when the ride is a (configurably) specified time (e.g., 15 minutes, 5 minutes, etc.) away,)
Regarding claim 16, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
the vehicle terminal is configured to: a) determine if a passenger is or has completed boarding or departing the vehicle; and, b) in response to a positive boarding or departing determination, at least one of: i) generate an alert for a vehicle driver; and, ii) selectively control at least part of the operation of the vehicle. (Hicok: ¶ 130; interior facing sensors observe the newly boarded passenger and wait until she is seated safely before controlling the vehicle to begin moving.)
Regarding claim 17, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
the passenger client device is configured to: a) determine if a passenger is or has completed boarding or departing (Hicok: ¶ 229; mobile application may include a GPS or other geolocator that transmits the coordinates or other identifying information corresponding to the current location of the passenger. . . route planner uses such optimization to generate the route based on the passengers that are currently on board the vehicle) in accordance with user input commands; and, (Hicok: ¶ 231; passenger may have hailed the vehicle using a mobile application that specifies the passenger's pick-up location as well as the passenger's desired destination location. In usage contexts in which the vehicle is informed of the desired destination of each passenger, the vehicle is capable of performing route optimization to most efficiently get each of the passengers to their desired destination.) b) provide a passenger boarding or departing notification to at least one of: i) the vehicle terminal; and, (Hicok: ¶ 032; able to detect, based on perception of the passenger, whether the passenger needs a reminder (e.g., the passenger is about to miss their stop because they are paying too much attention to a phone screen)) ii) the processing system. (Hicok: ¶ 229; route planner uses such optimization to generate the route based on the passengers that are currently on board the vehicle, the ones that need to be picked up, and the ones that need to be discharged. The resulting new global route is then implemented, and the vehicle dynamically navigates along the new route.)
Regarding claim 19, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
the selected stop is at least one of: a) a boarding stop; and, b) a destination stop. (Hicok: ¶ 129; vehicle may have already permitted all passengers to disembark at a particular stop and may have already picked up all passengers who are waiting at the stop)
Regarding claim 20, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok further teaches:
wherein the vehicle terminal is configured to control at least part of the operation of the vehicle by sending control instructions to a vehicle control system. (Hicok: ¶ 230; Planning and control are used to effectuate the navigation of the vehicle along the planned route by for example actuating steering, braking, propulsion, and other aspects of the vehicle operation in order to cause the vehicle to drive the planned route. An incoming request handler is used to receive incoming requests from new passengers, dynamically generate new routes, optimize those routes, and provide them to the navigation system.)
Regarding claim 21, Hicok teaches a vehicle interaction method to allow passenger interaction with a public transport vehicle, the method including:
a) in a passenger client device: (Hicok: ¶ 159; smartphones, tablets, or laptops, able to request and schedule rides from the system.) i) determining a selected vehicle stop in accordance with user input commands; (Hicok: ¶ 170; Mobile device (1000) preferably includes a display map (1031) showing the presence of the traveler (1032) and the local area. TMA preferably allows the user to select the closest stop (pickup location) by providing input such as, for example, touching an area of a display corresponding to a virtual button (1040). The system will identify the closest pickup location and display it on the screen) ii) providing a selected vehicle stop to a processing system; and, (Hicok: ¶ 174; system schedules a shuttle based on the desired number of passengers (1044), departure location (1033), and destination)
iii) notifying the passenger when the vehicle is approaching the selected vehicle stop; and, (Hicok: ¶ 225; When Shuttle 1 arrives at location B, AI Dispatch may send a notification to Client 1 indicating the arrival of Shuttle) b) in a vehicle terminal: (Hicok: ¶ 296; Controller (100) also receives inputs from an instrument cluster (84) and can provide human-perceptible outputs to a human operator via human-machine interface (“HMI”) display(s)) . . .
To the extent Hicok is silent about or does not teach: . . . i) determining one or more passenger requirements in accordance with a requirements indication from the processing system; ii) receiving a selected vehicle stop notification from the processing system; iii) determining when the vehicle is approaching the selected stop by monitoring a current vehicle location; and in response to a positive determination, selectively controlling at least part of the operation of the vehicle in accordance with the passenger requirements.; Choi does teach:
. . . i) determining one or more passenger requirements in accordance with a requirements indication from the processing system; (Choi: ¶ 009; Control means 300 for receiving the signal of the smartphone 200 for the disabled and driving each part of the notification device) (Choi: ¶ 034; the traffic management server, the traffic management server authenticates the disabled person) ii) receiving a selected vehicle stop notification from the processing system; (Choi: ¶ 019; When the disabled person using the wheelchair enters the information of the riding and getting off stops, the input information is transmitted from the smartphone 200 for the disabled to the control means 300 in the low-floor bus, and the control means 300 And the safety distance securing display panel 500 are driven and controlled.)iii) determining when the vehicle is approaching the selected stop by monitoring a current vehicle location; and in response to a positive determination, selectively controlling at least part of the operation of the vehicle in accordance with the passenger requirements. (Choi: ¶ 013; riding signal lamp, a red traffic light is illuminated when there is a passenger with a disability to ride at the stop, and the red light, If there is a disabled passenger to board the next stop, the orange traffic light will light up. If there is a disabled passenger to board the next stop, the blue traffic light will light up. If there is a passenger with a disability to get off at the next stop, the orange traffic lights will light up, and if there is a passenger with a disability to get off at the next stop, the blue traffic lights will light up.)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Choi with the teachings of Hicok because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of preventing bus drivers from failing to see a disabled bus passenger under difficult conditions (Choi: ¶ 008).
Claims 4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination Hicok as applied to claims 1 and 5 respectively above and in further view of Keen et al (US 20210150434 A1) . As regards the individual claims:
Regarding claim 4, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. To the extent Hicok is silent about or does not teach:
wherein-the passenger requirements at least one of: a) include details of impairments of the passenger; and b) specify how the vehicle is to be controlled for the passenger; Keen does teach:
wherein-the passenger requirements at least one of: a) include details of impairments of the passenger; (Keen: ¶ 045; ride-hailing request, which may be generated by the user on the user device 104, may be an on-demand request or a request to transport the user . . . may include a user identifier and/or user profile) (Keen: ¶ 0046] The user profile may have one or more settings, descriptions, features or other indicators which indicate that the user has a specific disability, impairment or handicap. For example, the user profile may indicate that the user has difficulty hearing, seeing, walking, standing or other impairment.) and b) specify how the vehicle is to be controlled for the passenger. (Keen: ¶ 051; platform 102 updates the schedule to include time to pickup the user, load and unload the user to enter and exit the vehicle, respectively, including deploying a ramp or lift) (Keen: Clm. 3; wherein the one or more mobility features includes a wheelchair platform, lift or ramp and the one or more corresponding disability settings indicate that the user has a walking disability.)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Keen with the teachings of Hicok because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of reducing long wait times for paratransit users (Keen: ¶ 0056).
Regarding claim 6 as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 5. Hicok does not explicitly teach:
a) determine one or more passenger requirements; and, b) determine available vehicle stops at least in part using the one or more passenger requirements; however, Keen does teach:
a) determine one or more passenger requirements; and, (Keen: ¶ 045; ride-hailing request, which may be generated by the user on the user device 104, may be an on-demand request or a request to transport the user . . . may include a user identifier and/or user profile) (Keen: ¶ 0046] The user profile may have one or more settings, descriptions, features or other indicators which indicate that the user has a specific disability, impairment or handicap. For example, the user profile may indicate that the user has difficulty hearing, seeing, walking, standing or other impairment.)). b) determine available vehicle stops at least in part using the one or more passenger requirements. (Keen: ¶ 027-028; paratransit providers may accept or deny the ride-hailing requests, which result in deviations in the scheduled route to transport the users from the unscheduled pickup location to the unscheduled destination . . . processor 116a executes instructions stored within the memory 114a to process the user pickup request, match users with corresponding ride-sharing vehicles of the paratransit providers and/or reconfigure the scheduled routes of the ride-sharing vehicles of the paratransit providers. The network access device 118a communicates with the other components, such as the user device 104 and/or the driver device 106, via the network 110.)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Keen with the teachings of Hicok because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of reducing long wait times for paratransit users (Keen: ¶ 0056).
Regarding claim 7, as detailed above, combination Hicok in view of Keen teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 6. Choi further teaches:
determine one or more passenger requirements based on at least one of: a) a passenger profile; and, b) an indication of passenger requirements received from the passenger client device. (Choi: ¶ 012; the smartphone 200 for the disabled user can use the low-floor bus app only for the smartphone for the disabled who inputs the registration number of the welfare card as a smartphone used only by a disabled person registered as a disabled person in the local government)
Claims 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over combination Hicok as applied to claims 10, 1, and 1 respectively above, and further in view of Taveira et al. (US 20220204050 A1).
Regarding claim 11, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 10. Hicok does not explicitly teach:
wherein the passenger client device is configured to: a) obtain vehicle routing information from the processing system; b) present vehicle routing information to the passenger; and, c) determine a selected vehicle route in accordance with user input commands; however, Taveira does teach:
wherein the passenger client device is configured to: a) obtain vehicle routing information from the processing system; b) present vehicle routing information to the passenger; and, c) determine a selected vehicle route in accordance with user input commands. (Taveira: ¶ 125; one or more determined routes may be presented on a display . . . server or network entity may determine the routes to be presented to the passenger . . . a user selection of one of the presented routes (e.g., a user touch input on a corresponding icon or element presented on the display screen) may cause the vehicle to drive to the venue along the route selected).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Taveira with the teachings of Hicok because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of better managing "unexpected conditions (e.g., traffic jams, hazardous road conditions, sudden weather changes, etc.) [which] preclude the autonomous vehicle from "timely completing a route. (Taveira: ¶ 003).
Regarding claim 12, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok teaches:
. . . b) at least one of: i) provide the selected vehicle stop notification to the vehicle terminal using the selected vehicle route indication: and, (Hicok: ¶ 236; Driver UX may include a setting that requires safety driver confirmation in certain scenarios (stop signs, traffic lights, unprotected turns, shuttle stops).) i) determine available vehicle stops at least in part using the selected vehicle route. (Hicok: ¶ 224; Client 1 may accept or reject the proposal, cancel the request, or submit a new request. When Client 1 selects a proposal, AI Dispatch notifies Shuttle 1 of the path and the proposed actions. In this case, the actions comprise picking up the requesting passenger, at location B, and dropping off Bob at location X. AI Dispatch sends the <Route for Shuttle 1> to Client1, and shuttle proceeds to location B, possibly making other pickups and drop-offs along the way.)
Hicok does not explicitly teach: wherein the processing system is configured to: a) receive a selected vehicle route indication from the passenger client device; and . . .; however, Taveira does teach:
wherein the processing system is configured to: a) receive a selected vehicle route indication from the passenger client device; and . . . (Taveira: ¶ 125; a user selection of one of the presented routes (e.g., a user touch input on a corresponding icon or element presented on the display screen) may cause the vehicle to drive to the venue along the route selected).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Taveira with the teachings of Hicok because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of better managing "unexpected conditions (e.g., traffic jams, hazardous road conditions, sudden weather changes, etc.) [which] preclude the autonomous vehicle from" timely completing a route. (Taveira: ¶ 003).
Regarding claim 18, as detailed above, combination Hicok teaches the invention as detailed with respect to claim 1. Hicok does not explicitly teach:
the system includes vehicle beacons and wherein the passenger client device is configured to communicate using the vehicle beacons with at least one of: however, Taveira does teach:
the system includes vehicle beacons and wherein the passenger client device is configured to communicate using the vehicle beacons with at least one of: (Taveira: ¶ 071; transceivers 210 may be configured to operate according to . . . Bluetooth). a) the processing system; and, b) the vehicle terminal. (Taveira: ¶ 071; transceivers 210 may facilitate the exchange of communications (such as signals and messages) between the route selection system 200, [and / or] the vehicles 120,)
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Taveira with the teachings of Hicok because doing so would result in the predicable benefit of better managing "unexpected conditions (e.g., traffic jams, hazardous road conditions, sudden weather changes, etc.) [which] preclude the autonomous vehicle from "timely completing a route. (Taveira: ¶ 003).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 4, 6-7 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that
Hicok does not disclose or teach a vehicle terminal configured to "determine one or more passenger requirements in accordance with a requirements indication from the processing system" as recited by amended claim 1. The Examiner previously cited Hicok paragraph [0128] for the passenger requirements elements of former claims 3 and 4. However, Hicok paragraph [0128] describes the vehicle itself detecting a special needs person using its onboard sensor suite and deep neural networks - for example, "If the vehicle detects a special needs person, the vehicle may automatically lower the door entrance and if necessary, to deploy a ramp." Hicok, paragraph [0128]. In Hicok, the passenger requirements are determined entirely locally by the vehicle based on what its sensors perceive at the moment of the passenger's arrival. No "requirements indication from the processing system" is involved. Critically, nowhere in Hicok does the processing system (Al Dispatch) send passenger requirements information to the shuttle. (Applicant’s Arguments filed May 26, 2026, pg. 8).
Newly applied prior art Choi (KR 20180053797 A) teaches a system in which an elderly or wheelchair-bound passenger can request service via their phone specifying their additional boarding needs. Choi teaches that the phone transmits the request to a server where it is validated against a passenger profile maintained by local government, and then the server forwards the request to the appropriate bus on near the requestor’s location and that when the bus approaches the appropriate stops a series of automatic lights and control mechanisms activate to prepare the bus and the driver to accommodate the elderly or wheelchair-bound passenger. Consequently arguments and amendments with respect to claims 1, 3 and 21 are, respectfully, not persuasive.
Applicant also argues:
Amended claim 4 specifies that the passenger requirements "include details of impairments of the passenger" and/or "specify how the vehicle is to be controlled for the passenger." Neither of these features is disclosed in Hicok, where passenger needs are detected locally by vehicle sensors rather than being communicated from the processing system based on a passenger profile or passenger client device input. In particular, information such as details of visual or cognitive impairments - as encompassed by amended claim 4 - originates with the passengers themselves and cannot be derived from any onboard sensor, further underscoring the distinction over Hicok's sensor-based approach. (Applicant’s Arguments filed May 26, 2026, pg. 10).
Newly applied prior art Keen (US-20210150434-A1) teaches a system in which a paratransit system allows users to create a profile in which specific details related to their special needs can be stored. This profile is used to select a vehicle and to inform the driver how the vehicle will need to be controlled when conducting a pickup. Therefore arguments and amendments with respect to claim 4 are, respectfully, not persuasive.
Applicant also argues:
Claims 6-7 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Hicok in view of Rakah . . . Neither. . . remedies the deficiencies of Hicok discussed above. Rakah was cited for teaching passenger preference parameters (e.g., maximum walking distance) used to determine available vehicle stops. See Rakah, paragraphs [0393]-[0394]. This relates to stop selection criteria, not to the vehicle terminal determining passenger requirements from the processing system or controlling vehicle operations in accordance with those requirements as recited by amended claim 1. Taveira was cited for route selection and Bluetooth transceiver functionality. See Taveira, paragraphs [0071], [0125]. Neither of these teachings addresses the vehicle terminal receiving passenger requirements from the processing system and controlling the vehicle accordingly. (Applicant’s Arguments filed May 26, 2026, pg. 11).
Newly applied prior art Keen’s teaching of a system of considering passenger disability requirements as claimed in claim 6 while newly applied prior art Choi teaches a passenger profile. Therefore arguments and amendments with respect to claims 6-7 are, respectfully, not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Ran (US 20200020227 A1) which discloses a transit management system, which facilitates transit vehicle operations and control for connected automated transit vehicles (CATVs) systems.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663