DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicants' communication filed on February 14, 2024. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-30 are currently presented in the instant application.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on February 14, 2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) as a whole recite(s) a mental processes. The claim(s) recite receiving information and acquiring information by a generic computer. Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The limitation of “determining a target unmanned aircraft system service supplier (USS) based at least in part on information indicating a location of a user equipment (UE),” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by a network device,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by a network device” language, “determining” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually determining the recited information. Similarly, the limitation of “transmitting, to a current USS associated with the UE, a notification, wherein the notification indicates that a context associated with the UE is to be transferred from the current USS to the target USS,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “by a network device” language, “transmitting” in the context of this claim encompasses the user speaking or sharing the recited information. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a network device to perform both the determining and transmitting steps. The network device in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic terminal device performing a generic computer function of determining and transmitting information) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a network device to perform both the determining and transmitting steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim(s) 22-30 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 21. That is, Claims 22-30 fail to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and fail to amount to significantly more or an inventive concept for the same reasons set for the in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pub No.: US-20240267817-A1 (herein “Ijaz”).
Claims 1 and 16
Consider claim 1, Ijaz teaches an unmanned aircraft system service supplier (USS) device (see Ijaz Fig. 10, note USS 1 1010) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (see Ijaz [0257] note memory); and one or more processors (see Ijaz [0257] note processor), coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive a first notification indicating that a user equipment (UE) is moving out of an area associated with the USS device (see Ijaz Fig. 8, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 13, [0171], [0182]-[0185], [0219]-[0220] note when the UAV moves out of the coverage range of the serving USS 1 1360 receiving an indication, QoS Degradation indication 861, from the PLMN component, UAS-NF 130 of PLMN 1040, and in response to the indication initiating handoff from the serving USS 1 1360 to a target USS 2 1370, handoff 1361);
determine a target USS device based at least in part on the first notification (see Ijaz Fig. 9, Fig. 13, [0220] note handoff 1361 from first USS 1 1360 to USS 2 1370); and
transmit, to an unmanned aircraft system network function (UAS-NF), a second notification, wherein the second notification indicates that the UE is reallocated to the target USS device (see Ijaz Fig. 9, Fig. 13, [0221] note handoff notification 1362).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 1.
Claims 2 and 17
Consider claim 2, Ijaz teaches wherein the target USS device is determined based at least in part on a current location of the UE, and wherein the current location of the UE is indicated in the first notification (see Ijaz Fig. 9, Fig. 13, [0182]-[0183], [0219]-[0220] note UAV moves out of the coverage range of the serving USS it can have some connection issue).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 2.
Claims 3 and 18
Consider claim 3, Ijaz teaches wherein a context associated with the UE is provided to the target USS device based at least in part on determining the target USS device (see Ijaz Fig. 13, [0220], [0224], [0228] note GPSI, PDU session information, and UAV IP address) .
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4 and 19
Consider claim 4, Ijaz teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a context associated with the UE to the target USS device (see Ijaz Fig. 13, [0220], [0224], [0228] note GPSI, PDU session information, and UAV IP address).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5 and 20
Consider claim 5, Ijaz teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit a context associated with the UE to the UAS-NF, wherein the UAS-NF provides the context to the target USS device (see Ijaz [0221] note Handoff Notification with GPSI, CAA level, UAV ID, and USS2 information).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 5.
Claims 6 and 21
Consider claim 6, Ijaz teaches a network device (see Ijaz Fig. 10, note UAS-NF 1030) for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory(see Ijaz [0257] note memory); and one or more processors (see Ijaz [0257] note processor), coupled to the memory, configured to:
determine a target unmanned aircraft system service supplier (USS) based at least in part on information indicating a location of a user equipment (UE) (see Ijaz Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 13, [0171], [0182]-[0185], [0219]-[0220] note when the UAV moves out of the coverage range of the serving USS 1 1360 receiving an indication, QoS Degradation Indication 861, from the PLMN component, UAS-NF 130 of PLMN 1040, and in response to the indication initiating handoff from the serving USS 1 1360 to a target USS 2 1370, handoff 1361); and
transmit, to a current USS associated with the UE, a notification, wherein the notification indicates that a context associated with the UE is to be transferred from the current USS to the target USS (see Ijaz Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 13, [0182]-[0185], [0220] note when the UAV moves out of the coverage range of the serving USS 1 1360 transmitting an indication from the PLMN component, UAS-NF 130 of PLMN 1040, and in response to the indication initiating handoff from the serving USS 1 1360 to a target USS 2 1370, handoff 1361).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 1.
Claims 7 and 22
Consider claim 7, Ijaz teaches wherein a context associated with the UE is provided to the target USS based at least in part on the current USS receiving the notification (see Ijaz Fig. 13, [0220], [0224], [0228] note GPSI, PDU session information, and UAV IP address).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 7.
Claims 8 and 23
Consider claim 8, Ijaz teaches wherein the notification indicates a network address associated with the target USS (see Ijaz Fig. 13, [0220], [0224], [0228] note GPSI, PDU session information, and UAV IP address).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 8.
Claims 9 and 24
Consider claim 9, Ijaz teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive, from the current USS, a context associated with the UE based at least in part on the current USS receiving the notification (see Ijaz Fig. 13, [0221] note handoff notification 1362 with GPSI, CAA-level UAV Id, and USS2 information); and
transmit the context to the target USS (see Ijaz Fig. 13, [0223], [0228] note the Handoff Ack may be forwarded to USS2 and the Handoff Notification response with GPSI, PDU Session Info, and UAV IP address).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 9.
Claims 10 and 25
Consider claim 10, Ijaz teaches wherein the target USS is determined based at least in part on the location of the UE and an identifier associated with the UE (see Ijaz Fig. 9, Fig. 10, Fig. 12B, Fig. 13, [0171], [0182]-[0185], [0211], [0219]-[0220] note when the UAV moves out of the coverage range of the serving USS 1 1360 receiving an indication, QoS Degradation Indication 861, from the PLMN component, UAS-NF 130 of PLMN 1040, and in response to the indication initiating handoff from the serving USS 1 1360 to a target USS 2 1370, handoff 1361. The UAS NF receives the GPSI, CAA-level ID, Authentication Msg, UUAA Result, USS 2 IP, and Token 1 for the UAV and stores the USS 2 info) .
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 10.
Claims 11 and 26
Consider claim 11, Ijaz teaches wherein the notification includes a general public subscription identifier (GPSI) associated with the UE (see Ijaz [0210], [0221], [0224] note GPSI).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 11.
Claims 12 and 27
Consider claim 12, Ijaz teaches wherein the information indicating the location of the UE is received from a wireless node based at least in part on the network device subscribing to a service associated with receive presence monitoring events associated with the UE from the wireless node, wherein the wireless node is included in a wireless network associated with the network device (see Ijaz [0187], [0197], [0245] note USS 1 performs the subscription to service from the network for location updates).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 12.
Claims 13 and 28
Consider claim 13, Ijaz teaches wherein the wireless node includes an access and mobility management function (AMF) or a gateway mobile location center (GMLC) (see Ijaz Fig. 13, note AMF 1320).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 13.
Claims 14 and 29
Consider claim 14, Ijaz teaches wherein the network device receives serving information associated with the current USS and the target USS, and wherein the target USS is determined based at least in part on the serving information (see Ijaz Fig. 13, [0211], [0219] note the UAS-NF stores USS1 information as well as USS2 information, where the stored information allow the UAS-NF to enable the authorized USSs to start query location of the UAV before, during, or after handoff).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 14.
Claims 15 and 30
Consider claim 15, Ijaz teaches wherein the network device includes an unmanned aircraft system network function (UAS-NF) (see Ijaz Fig. 10, note UAS-NF 1030).
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected for at least the same reason(s) set forth in claim 15.
Contact Information
/MARCUS HAMMONDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647