Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horihata et al. (PG Pub. 2021/0171754).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 10-11, Horihata et al. teach a fiber for artificial hair with the fiber comprising a vinyl chloride polymer and an aromatic vinyl polymer (considered to be the vinyl based copolymer) wherein the vinyl chloride polymer is a homopolymer [Abstract and 0012 and 0028]. Horihata et al. teach the fiber shrinks at 120 degrees Celsius 25% [0062]. Given this teachings along with Horihata et al. teaching such a similar fiber made of such similar composition in such similar amounts, the claimed heat shrinkage rate (including as defined in the claim) is necessarily inherent to the fiber of Horihata et al.
Regarding claim 3, a content of the vinyl chloride polymer is in the claimed range and a content of the aromatic vinyl polymer is in the claimed range [claims 2 and 3].
Regarding claims 4-5, the aromatic vinyl polymer has a styrene based compound (styrene) and methacrylonitrile as monomer units [0031].
Regarding claims 6 and 12, a proportion of the monomer units of the styrene based compound is in the claimed range by mass and a proportion of the monomer unit of the (meth)acrylonitrile is in the claimed range by mass on the basis of the entire aromatic vinyl polymer [0032].
Regarding claim 7, Horihata et al. teach a fiber bundle for artificial hair comprising the fiber for artificial hair according to claim 1 [0080]. Further, given the teachings of ‘970 in use of a wig and the artificial fiber for hair and the level of knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been more than obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the artificial fiber in a bundle which is merely a collection of multiple fibers in order to use the bundle in a wig or other commonly known uses of artificial hair fibers in the art and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, Horihata et al. teach the claimed fiber bundle and also teaches further a fiber different from the fiber for artificial hair can be used. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the different fiber in the fiber bundle and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, Horihata et al. teach a hair decoration product (wig) comprising the fiber bundle for artificial hair of claim 7 [Abstract and 0012].
Regarding claim 14, Horihata et al. teach the aromatic vinyl polymer has (meth)acrylonitrile as a monomer unit and a proportion of the monomer unit of the (meth)acrylonitrile is in the claimed range by mass on the basis of the entire aromatic vinyl polymer [0032].
Regarding claim 15, Horihata et al. teaches the aromatic polymer has a (meth)acrylonitrile as a monomer unit and a proportion of the monomer unit of the (meth)acrylonitrile is in the claimed range by mass on the basis of the entire aromatic vinyl polymer [0032].
Regarding claims 16-17, the total amount of the monomer unit of the styrene based compound and the monomer unit of the (meth)acrylonitrile is in the claimed range by mass on the basis of the entire aromatic vinyl polymer [0032].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horihata et al. (PG Pub. 2021/0171754).
Regarding claim 7, Given the teachings of ‘970 in use of a wig and the artificial fiber for hair and the level of knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been more than obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the artificial fiber in a bundle which is merely a collection of multiple fibers in order to use the bundle in a wig or other commonly known uses of artificial hair fibers in the art and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, Horihata et al. teach the claimed fiber bundle and also teaches further a fiber different from the fiber for artificial hair can be used. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the different fiber in the fiber bundle and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 9, Horihata et al. teach a hair decoration product (wig) comprising the fiber bundle for artificial hair of claim 7 [Abstract and 0012].
Regarding claim 13, Horihata et al. teach the aromatic vinyl polymer has a styrene based compound as a monomer unit and a proportion of the monomer unit of the styrene based compound is 85% by mass on the basis of the entire aromatic vinyl polymer. It is apparent, however, that the instantly claimed proportion of the monomer unit of the styrene based compound and that taught by Horihata et al. are so close to each other that the fact pattern is similar to the one in In re Woodruff , 919 F.2d 1575, USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) or Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed.Cir. 1985) where despite a “slight” difference in the ranges the court held that such a difference did not “render the claims patentable” or, alternatively, that “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough so that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties”. For example the present claim includes amounts of 85.0001% which would not render a patentable difference.
In light of the case law cited above and given that there is only a “slight” difference between the proportion of the monomer unit of the styrene based compound disclosed by Horihata et al. and the proportion of the monomer unit of the styrene based compound disclosed in the present claims and further given the fact that no criticality is disclosed in the present invention with respect to the proportion of the monomer unit of the styrene based compound, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the proportion of the monomer unit of the styrene based compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the proportion of the monomer unit of the styrene based compound disclosed in Horihata et al., and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Example 1 of Horihata which teaches an annealing temperature at 120 degrees Celsius as being exemplary of the comparative examples of the present specification and therefore argues Horihata does not disclose the claimed shrinkage. Horihata is relied upon for all that is taught and is not limited to particular embodiments. Horihata teaches annealing temperatures of 110-140 degrees Celsius in 0058. Paragraph 0058 states “ Then, the undrawn fiber is subjected to drawing by 2 to 4 times using a drawing machine (under atmospheric air, at 90 to 120° C.) Subsequently, heat treatment is performed so that the fiber length becomes 0.5 to 0.9 times, using a heat treatment machine (under atmospheric air, at 110 to 140° C.). Accordingly, the size of the fiber is adjusted to 64 to 69 dtex, thereby giving a fiber for artificial hair.” Therefore, it is clear the shrinkage rate claimed is inherent to Horihata.
Applicant is invited to amend the claims over the cited art.
Art Not Used but Relevant
PG Pub. 2021/0246294 teaches an artificial hair comprising vinyl chloride and an aromatic vinyl polymer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shawn Mckinnon/Examiner, Art Unit 1789