DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Amendments to the claims have been recorded.
Applicant’s Arguments
The 101 and 112 rejections have been withdrawn based on Applicants amendments.
Applicant argues are fully addressed with the new rejections made to the newly provided amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 15-16. 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sloan US 5,332,958.
1. A control system for a vehicle, the control system comprising one or more controllers, wherein the control system is configured to:
in a first, default operating mode, deactivate an ancillary vehicle function in dependence on a powertrain of the vehicle entering a deactivated state responsive to a vehicle-off event; and Fig. 7 ignition switch key in the off [default mode responsive to a vehicle-off event]. Vehicle key position: accessory; off; on; crank or start.
in a second operating mode triggered by a user request, enable the ancillary vehicle function to be used while the powertrain is in the deactivated state responsive to the vehicle-off event, Fig. 7 ignition switch in accessory position [triggered by a user request turning the key, to accessory deactivated state responsive to a vehicle-off event].
in dependence on monitored energy availability of a battery of the vehicle being greater than a depletion limit of the battery, Col. 10 line 25; means for monitoring the battery voltage indicative of remaining [greater than] battery energy
wherein the depletion limit of the battery is dependent on one or more monitored variable parameters. Col. 10 line 25; monitoring the battery voltage [one] and battery energy [or more]
2. The control system of claim 1, wherein the one or more monitored variable parameters are indicative of at least one of:
capacity of the battery; voltage or energy from claim 1.
internal resistance of the battery; or
temperature of the battery. Col.1 line 25 as well as a function of the battery temperature.
3. The control system of claim 2, wherein the depletion limit is configured to rise in dependence on at least one of:
capacity of the battery falling; Col. 10 line 25; means for monitoring the battery voltage indicative of remaining [greater than] battery energy
internal resistance of the battery rising;
temperature of the battery being below a first threshold; or Col. 10 line 25; means for monitoring the battery voltage indicative of remaining [first threshold greater than] battery energy
temperature of the battery being above a second threshold. Col.1 line 25 as well as a function [threshold] of the battery temperature [second threshold].
4. The control system of claim 1, wherein the depletion limit comprises an engine-start reserve. Col.7 line 37; the battery voltage VB is less than the cut off voltage V.sub.CUT, indicative that the battery has just sufficient energy capacity for subsequent engine ignition.
5. The control system of claim 1 wherein the control system is configured to transition from the second operating mode to the first operating mode in dependence on the depletion limit of the battery being reached. Col.7 line 40; step 128 branches to step 112 where the short term timer is initiated. Steps 112, 114, 116 and 118 then initiate the short term timer in the fashion previously described to impose a time delay, e.g. two minutes, between the time that the battery voltage falls below the battery cut off level and the time that the battery disconnection actually occurs in order to permit engine ignition. Also see Fig.5 118 off [first mode].
6. The control system of Fig. 5 #112, short timer enables? 114 enable short timer, 116 short timer elapsed?
7. The control system of claim 6, wherein the second operating mode is configured to pause the timer such that the ancillary vehicle function is enabled beyond the predetermined amount of time while the powertrain is in the deactivated state. Fig. 5 #112 pauses timer [beyond a predetermined amount of time while the powertrain is deactivated state {i.e. accessories key setting] #116. Also, C10L5; the electrical load comprises at least two separate banks of electrical loads or accessories. In this case, the device compares the battery voltage with at least two separate cut off voltages, each of which varies as a function of time.
8. The control system of claim 1 wherein the second operating modeFig. 7 ignition switch key in the off. Vehicle key position: accessory; off; on; crank or start. [ignition switch key is user actuated i.e. triggered by user via key i.e. machine-human interface]
9. The control system of claim 1, wherein the ancillary vehicle function comprises a vehicle entertainment function. Col.10 line 15; a disconnect signal is generated which electrically disconnects the battery from the first bank of vehicle accessories [radio].
10. The control system of claim 9, wherein the ancillary vehicle function comprises a loudspeaker function. Col.10 line 15; a disconnect signal is generated which electrically disconnects the battery from the first bank of vehicle accessories [radio]. Also, Turner US 6249106 Col.1 line 20 discharges the battery, leaving the radio on,
15. The control system of claim 1, wherein the battery comprises a starting-lighting-ignition (SLI} battery configured to start an engine of the vehicle. Col.7 line 37; the battery voltage VB is less than the cut off voltage V.sub.CUT, indicative that the battery has just sufficient energy capacity for subsequent engine ignition.
16. The control system of claim 15, wherein the SLI battery comprises a nominal voltage of less than 60V. Col4. Line 60; a digital signal on the port 226 that effectively compares the battery voltage to a very low or high voltage, e.g. nine volts or 13.8 volts, respectively.
18. The vehicle comprising the control system and ancillary vehicle function of claim 1. Fig. 8 and C2L40 circuit diagram of the connect/disconnect device responsive to a switch in the vehicle.
19. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1.
20. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan as applied to claim above, and further in view of Ozawa US 20130200848.
Sloan teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 and 15; but does not explicitly teach the limitations of claims 12 and 17.
However, Ozawa teaches
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order to [112] apply auxiliary changing /discharging and measuring of battery level in vehicle such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
12. The control system of claim 1, configured to cause one or more output devices to output user feedback indicating a closeness of the monitored energy availability is to the depletion limit. Ozawa 112, battery level display, or a control device that conducts information processing associated with the control of the power consumption device on the basis of information about the secondary battery cell.
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order to [112] apply auxiliary changing /discharging and measuring of battery level in vehicle such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
13. The control system of claim 12, wherein the user feedback comprises a visual scale having a minimum set at the depletion limit and/or an alert configured to indicate when the depletion limit is reached. Ozawa 112 battery level display
17. The control system of claim 15, wherein the SLI battery comprises one or more Lithium-ion cells. Ozawa 91, battery cell 12 is made up of a lithium-ion
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order to [112] apply auxiliary changing /discharging and measuring of battery level in vehicle such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan as applied to claim above, and further in view of Rocholl US 20200346547.
Sloan teaches all of the limitations of claim 1; but does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 11.
However, Rocholl teaches
11. The control system of claim 1 wherein the second operating mode requires a rear tailgate of the vehicle to be opened. Rocholl 28; the auxiliary power system 1410 may power one or more electric actuators to open/close the tailgate
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allocate auxiliary power to power electric actuators such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sloan and Rocholl as applied to claim above, and further in view of Lobo US 20220144605.
14. Sloan and Rocholl teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, But to not teach wherein the second operation mode further requires a parking brake being activated.
However; Lobo teaches wherein the second operation mode further requires a parking brake being activated. Lobo 43; The computer system receives a request. The computer system retrieves status information to ensure the vehicle parking brake is on, then the commands open trunk [tailgate Fig.1].
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order to integrate vehicle system to allocate auxiliary power to power electric actuators such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Also, Turner US 6249106 Col.1 line 20 discharges the battery, leaving the radio on,
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIHAR A KARWAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3664