DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abu Antoun et al (US 2023/0012189), hereinafter Abu.
Regarding claim 7, Abu discloses a power supply device (Fig. 3) for coils for a portable electric tool (Fig. 1, item 10), the portable electric tool including a casing (Fig. 1, item 110, item 95) forming a cylinder (Fig. 1, item 95), a piston (Fig. 1, item 80) moveable in the cylinder from a start position (Para. 0029-0032) to an end position (Para. 0029-0032) and back to the start position (Para. 0029-0032), said power supply device comprising:
a first fixed coil (Fig. 3, item 550) located in the cylinder at the start position of the movable piston (Para. 0029-0032);
a second movable coil (Fig. 3, item 540) located facing the first fixed coil and secured to the piston (Para. 0029-0032); and
power supply routing mechanisms (Fig. 3, item 541, 542) secured to the piston (Para. 0029-0032) and configured to channel power supply (Para. 0029-0032) from a battery (Para. 0020, 0029-0032) to supply power to the first fixed coil (Para. 0029-0032) and the second movable coil (Para. 0029-0032),
wherein each power supply routing mechanism is configured to cooperate (Para. 0029-0032) with one of two connectors (Fig. 3, item 572, 572) (Para. 0029-0032), each of which is connected to one and the same terminal (Para. 0029-0032) of the battery (Para. 0029-0032) over at least a displacement distance (Para. 0029-0032) of the piston between the start position (Para. 0029-0032) and the end position of the piston (Para. 0029-0032), the displacement distance being less than or equal to a distance (Para. 0029-0032) corresponding to a maximum distance (Para. 0029-0032) travelled by the piston from the start position to the end position (Para. 0029-0032), and
wherein the second movable coil is supplied with power by a scraper contact (Para. 0029-0032, scraper contact occurs at contact 541) that engages with an internal face of the casing (Para. 0029-0032) (Fig. 3, contact 541 engages with guide cylinder 95 and second movable coil 540, see below annotated drawing of Fig. 3) and the second movable coil (Para. 0029-0032), and
wherein the internal face of the casing is adjacent to the second moveable coil (Fig. 3, casing 95 is adjacent to moveable coil 540 because moveable coil 540 is next to casing 95).
Regarding claim 8, Abu discloses the power supply device of claim 7, wherein the power supply routing mechanisms are in electrical contact (Para. 0029-0032) with the connectors over the displacement distance (Para. 0029-0032) that is equal to a length of the power supply routing mechanisms (Para. 0029-0032).
Regarding claim 10, Abu discloses the power supply device of claim 7, wherein the power supply routing mechanisms are located on either side (Fig. 3) of a longitudinal axis (Fig. 3) of the portable electric tool (Fig. 3, routing mechanisms 541, 542 are located on either side of the longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 11, Abu discloses the power supply device of claim 7, wherein the power supply routing mechanisms (Fig. 3, item 541, 542) are located along a longitudinal axis of the portable electric tool (Fig. 3, routing mechanisms 541, 542 are located along a longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 12, Abu discloses the power supply device of claim 7, wherein the power supply routing mechanisms are configured to channel the power supply (Para. 0033) from the battery to supply power in series (Para. 0033) to the first fixed coil and the second movable coil (Para. 0033).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reason:
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Abu does not teach a piston contact that engages an internal face of the casing, Examiner disagrees. The piston contact 541 of Abu engages with the guide cylinder 95 where the piston 522 is located. See above annotated drawing of Figure 3 of Abu. Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731