DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: it reads “the second ejection angle” however it should be “the first” as set forth in the paragraph 0050 in the specification. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sugimoto (JP 2002203830).
Sugimoto teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus that brings a cleaning tool (41) into sliding contact with a surface of a substrate (W) while rotating the substrate to perform scrub-cleaning, the substrate cleaning apparatus comprising: a cleaning tool drive mechanism (42) configured to retract the cleaning tool from the surface of the substrate after the scrub-cleaning; and a cleaning liquid supply unit (51, 61) configured to eject a cleaning liquid to the surface of the substrate to perform a rinsing process of the substrate after the scrub-cleaning, wherein a temperature of the cleaning liquid in the rinsing process is set to 0 to 20 degree Celsius (the temperature is between 20-28 degrees).
With regards to claim 3, the cleaning liquid supply unit includes a first cleaning liquid supply unit (61) configured to supply the cleaning liquid toward a vicinity of a center of the substrate and a second cleaning liquid supply unit (51) configured to supply the cleaning liquid in a spray form toward a region between the center and an edge of the substrate, and when an ejection angle of the cleaning liquid by the first cleaning liquid supply unit with respect to the surface of the substrate is defined as a first ejection angle, and an ejection angle of the cleaning liquid by the second cleaning liquid supply unit with respect to the surface of the substrate is defined as a second ejection angle, the first ejection angle is smaller than the second ejection angle (figure 8 shows that the first angle is about 90 degrees and the second angle is about 45 degrees).
With regards to claim 7, Sugimoto teaches a substrate cleaning method comprising: bringing a cleaning tool (41) into sliding contact with a surface of a substrate (W) while rotating the substrate to perform scrub-cleaning; retracting the cleaning tool from the surface of the substrate after the scrub-cleaning; and ejecting a cleaning liquid (51, 61) to the surface of the substrate to perform a rinsing process of the substrate after the scrub-cleaning, wherein a temperature of the cleaning liquid in the rinsing process is set to 0 to 20 degrees Celsius (temperature is between 20-28 degrees).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handa (JP 2018056385) in view of Sugimoto (JP ‘830).
Handa teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus that brings a cleaning tool (31, 33a, 33b) into sliding contact with a surface of a substrate (W) while rotating the substrate to perform scrub-cleaning, the substrate cleaning apparatus comprising: a cleaning tool drive mechanism (35) configured to retract the cleaning tool from the surface of the substrate after the scrub-cleaning; and a cleaning liquid supply unit (32a, 32b) configured to eject a cleaning liquid to the surface of the substrate to perform a rinsing process of the substrate after the scrub-cleaning.
With regards to claim 3, the cleaning liquid supply unit includes a first cleaning liquid supply unit (32a) configured to supply the cleaning liquid toward a vicinity of a center of the substrate and a second cleaning liquid supply unit (32b) configured to supply the cleaning liquid in a spray form toward a region between the center and an edge of the substrate, and when an ejection angle of the cleaning liquid by the first cleaning liquid supply unit with respect to the surface of the substrate is defined as a first ejection angle, and an ejection angle of the cleaning liquid by the second cleaning liquid supply unit with respect to the surface of the substrate is defined as a second ejection angle, the first ejection angle is smaller than the second ejection angle (figure 12 shows the different angles).
With regards to claim 4, the first ejection angle is in a range of 5 to 10 degrees (abstract).
With regards to claim 7, Handa teaches a substrate cleaning method comprising: bringing a cleaning tool (31, 33a, 33b) into sliding contact with a surface of a substrate (W) while rotating the substrate to perform scrub-cleaning; retracting the cleaning tool from the surface of the substrate after the scrub-cleaning; and ejecting a cleaning liquid (32c, 32b) to the surface of the substrate to perform a rinsing process of the substrate after the scrub-cleaning.
With regards to claim 8, Handa teaches a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a polishing unit (3) configured to perform a polishing process on the substrate; and the substrate cleaning apparatus according to claim 1 configured to perform a cleaning process on the substrate after the polishing process.
Handa teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the temperature of the cleaning liquid in the rinsing process is set to 0 to 20 degree Celsius (claim 1 and 7). Sugimoto teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus with a liquid supply unit that ejects a cleaning liquid in the rinsing process that is set to 20-28 degrees. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature of the cleaning liquid so that it is 20 degrees as taught by Sugimoto to ensure that proper cleaning is occurring.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugimoto (JP ‘830) or Handa (JP 2018056385) in view of Sugimoto (JP ‘830).
Sugimoto and Handa in view of Sugimoto teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach that the temperature of the cleaning liquid supplied in the rinsing process is lower than a temperature of the cleaning liquid supplied in the scrub-cleaning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature of the cleaning liquid in the rinsing process since it is well know that high temperature liquids are better are removing residue from a surface. Using a different temperatures for each of the cleaning liquids will help to ensure that all the residue is removed.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Handa (JP ‘385) and Sugimoto (JP ‘830) further in view of Hamada (JP 2009260034).
Handa and Sugimoto teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach a rotating mechanism that rotates at two different speeds. Hamada teaches a substrate rotating mechanism configured to rotate the substrate at a predetermined speed, wherein the substrate rotating mechanism is configured to rotate the substrate at a first speed (s2) in a first period (t2) during the rinsing process and rotate the substrate at a second speed (s3) faster than the first speed in a second period (s3) following the first period (claim 5). The first speed in a range of 30 rpm to 150 rpm (10-100 rpm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Handa and Sugimoto so that there are two speeds of rotation as taught by Hamada to optimize the performance of the substate cleaning apparatus to remove all the residue from the surface of the substrate.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723