DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/17/2026 has been considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see the section titled “Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103” starting on page 6 of the reply filed 05/01/2026 in reference to the rejection of claims 1, 4-5, and 8-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1, Applicant argues that none of the cited references, whether taken alone or in proper combination, describes or otherwise renders obvious all of the features of amended independent claim 1. However, the Examiner disagrees.
For example, in the second and third paragraphs of page 7 of the reply filed 05/01/2026, Applicant argues that Izumikawa fails to describe or suggest a processor configured to “determine a virtual rotation axis based on the calculated posture of the attachment, the virtual rotation axis being different from the joint shaft of the tilt rotator” and cites a portion of Izumikawa has a tilt mechanism 60 which rotatably supports the bucket 6 about a pin 62 (tilt axis).
However, it is the Examiner’s opinion that, although Izumikawa does include a mechanical axis along the joint shaft of the tilt rotator, this does not preclude Izumikawa from teaching a virtual rotation axis different from the joint shaft of the tilt rotator in addition to or in support of the axis of the joint shaft. For example, in paragraph [0047], Izumikawa discloses that the tilt angle controller 514 calculates a current angle deviation of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the target excavation surface by using detection signals of the sensor S1-S4, and transmits a control signal to the controller 30 to reduce the calculated angle deviation, and based on this, the controller 30 executes automatic control so that the teeth end line of the bucket 6 is parallel to the target excavation surface. In paragraphs [0017-0018], Izumikawa discloses that the boom angle sensor S1 detects a rotation angle of the boom 4, the arm angle sensor S2 detects a rotation angle of the arm 5, the bucket angle sensor S3 detects a rotation angle of the bucket 6 which may be for example a rotary encoder that detects the rotation angle around a linking pin, and a body inclination sensor S4 is attached to the revolving upper body 3 such as a biaxial acceleration sensor that detects inclination angles in a back-and-forth direction and a right-and-left direction of the revolving upper body 3. The Examiner understands the tilt angle of the bucket to correspond to a virtual rotation axis under its broadest reasonable interpretation, and as the deviation is calculated in multiple dimensions in relation to sensors S1-S4 described above, includes at least a rotation axis different from or in addition to the joint shaft of the tilt rotator.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 1, 4-5, and 8-10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained. See the rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments, see the section titled “Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103” starting on page 6 of the reply filed 05/01/2026 in reference to the rejection of claims 3 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 3 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been withdrawn.
For example, claim 7 recites “determining a virtual rotation axis extending in a direction in which the teeth of the attachment face based on the calculated posture of the attachment, the virtual rotation axis being different from the joint shaft of the tilt rotator”, and as the “virtual rotation axis” cannot be disclosed using the combination of art and interpretation as expressed in reference to claim 1 above in light of the subject matter further included in claim 7 but not in claim 1, the rejection of claim 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been withdrawn. Similar reasoning is applied to dependent claim 3 which contains corresponding subject matter to independent claim 7. See the section on Allowable Subject Matter below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stockhaus (US 10,202,740 B2), in view of Izumikawa (US 2018/0016768 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stockhaus discloses a system for controlling a work machine including a support portion operably supported by a vehicle body, a tilt rotator including a joint shaft that rotatably connects to a tip of the support portion, and an attachment having teeth and supported rotatably around three axes that intersect each other in different planes, by the support portion via the tilt rotator, wherein the support portion includes a boom rotatably supported by the vehicle body and an arm rotatably supported by the boom, and the tilt rotator includes a tilt portion and a rotation portion configured to rotate relative to the tilt portion about an axis that extends in a longitudinal direction of the arm (In column 4 lines 33-51, Stockhaus discloses a construction machine 1 comprising a digging arm 4 and a work tool 5, where the digging arm 4 is made up of an inner link arm 4a with a first and a second inner link arm end 4a1, 4a2 and an outer link arm 4b with a first and a second outer link arm end 4b1, 4b2, and one joint J1 connects the top 3 with the first inner link arm end 4a1 and one joint J2 connects the second inner link arm end 4a2 with the first outer link arm end 4b1, and in the outer link arm 4b of the digging arm, an attachment device 6 for the work tool 5 is attached via an additional joint J4 that enables a rotation about a third substantially horizontal machine axis MA3 that extends through the joint J3, where the attachment device 6 enables controlled rotation and controlled tilting of the tool 5), the system configured to:
acquire measurement values from a plurality of sensors, the plurality of sensors comprising a rotation angle sensor configured to measure an angle of the rotation portion relative to the tilt portion about the axis in the longitudinal direction of the arm (In column 5 lines 30-43, Stockhaus discloses that In the attachment device 6 there is also arranged one or multiple sensors S1, S2, . . . Sn which are arranged to sense for example the relative position between the separate parts of the attachment device and the force acting on or the hydraulic pressure in the control devices V4, V5, and the sensors may thus sense if and how much the tool is angled),
calculate a posture of the attachment with respect to the vehicle body based on the measurement values (In column 5 lines 30-43, Stockhaus discloses that In the attachment device 6 there is also arranged one or multiple sensors S1, S2, . . . Sn which are arranged to sense for example the relative position between the separate parts of the attachment device and the force acting on or the hydraulic pressure in the control devices V4, V5, and the sensors may thus sense if and how much the tool is angled),
generate a control signal for the tilt rotator to rotate the attachment (From column 5 line 50 to column 6 line 24, Stockhaus discloses that the system 10 comprises a first and a second hand operated control means 11a, 11b, where the control means 11a, 11b may for example be a joystick, a three-dimensional computer mouse, or one or multiple touch screens, where the movements of the first and the second control means 11a, 11b are converted by a control system 12 into control signals SS1, SS2, SS3, SS4, SS5 which activate, deactivate and control control devices V1-V5 which control the movements of the first and the second link arm 4a, 4b and the work tool), and
output the generated control signal (From column 5 line 50 to column 6 line 24, Stockhaus discloses that the system 10 comprises a first and a second hand operated control means 11a, 11b, where the control means 11a, 11b may for example be a joystick, a three-dimensional computer mouse, or one or multiple touch screens, where the movements of the first and the second control means 11a, 11b are converted by a control system 12 into control signals SS1, SS2, SS3, SS4, SS5 which activate, deactivate and control control devices V1-V5 which control the movements of the first and the second link arm 4a, 4b and the work tool).
Stockhaus does not explicitly disclose the attachment having teeth,
the system comprising a processor,
determining a virtual rotation axis based on the calculated posture of the attachment, the virtual rotation axis being different from the joint shaft of the tilt rotator, and
generating a control signal for the tilt rotator to rotate the attachment around the virtual rotation axis so that a design surface and the teeth of the attachment are approximately parallel to each other, based on the calculated posture of the attachment.
However, Izumikawa teaches the attachment having teeth (In paragraphs [0014-0016], Izumikawa discloses that a bucket 6 as an end attachment is attached at the tip of the arm 5; see also paragraph [0021] where Izumikawa discloses that the tip position of the bucket is at the teeth end),
the system comprising a processor (In paragraph [0020], Izumikawa discloses that the controller 30 functions as a main controller that executes drive control of the shovel, constituted with an arithmetic processing unit including a CPU and an internal memory, where various functions of the controller 30 are implemented by the CPU that runs a program stored in the internal memory; in paragraph [0021], Izumikawa discloses a machine guidance device 50 that guides operations of the shovel, constituted with an arithmetic processing unit including a CPU and an internal memory, where various functions of the machine guidance device 50 are implemented by the CPU that runs a program stored in the internal memory, and the machine guidance device 50 may be provided as a device separate from the controller 30, or may be built in the controller 30),
determining a virtual rotation axis based on the calculated posture of the attachment, the virtual rotation axis being different from the joint shaft of the tilt rotator (In paragraph [0047], Izumikawa discloses that the tilt angle controller 514 calculates a current angle deviation of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the target excavation surface by using detection signals of the sensor S1-S4, and transmits a control signal to the controller 30 to reduce the calculated angle deviation, and based on this, the controller 30 executes automatic control so that the teeth end line of the bucket 6 is parallel to the target excavation surface; see also paragraphs [0017-0018] where Izumikawa discloses that the boom angle sensor S1 detects a rotation angle of the boom 4, the arm angle sensor S2 detects a rotation angle of the arm 5, the bucket angle sensor S3 detects a rotation angle of the bucket 6 which may be for example a rotary encoder that detects the rotation angle around a linking pin, and a body inclination sensor S4 is attached to the revolving upper body 3 such as a biaxial acceleration sensor that detects inclination angles in a back-and-forth direction and a right-and-left direction of the revolving upper body 3; the Examiner understands the tilt angle of the bucket to correspond to a virtual rotation axis under its broadest reasonable interpretation, and as the deviation is calculated in multiple dimensions in relation to sensors S1-S4 described above, includes at least a rotation axis different from or in addition to the joint shaft of the tilt rotator), and
generating a control signal for the tilt rotator to rotate the attachment around the virtual rotation axis so that a design surface and the teeth of the attachment are approximately parallel to each other, based on the calculated posture of the attachment (In paragraph [0047], Izumikawa discloses that the tilt angle controller 514 calculates a current angle deviation of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the target excavation surface by using detection signals of the sensor S1-S4, and transmits a control signal to the controller 30 to reduce the calculated angle deviation, and based on this, the controller 30 executes automatic control so that the teeth end line of the bucket 6 is parallel to the target excavation surface).
Izumikawa is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention in that they both pertain to controlling tilt of the bucket of an excavator so that the surface and teeth are parallel based on a calculated posture. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Izumikawa with the system as disclosed by Stockhaus, where doing so automatically corrects the tilt angle of the bucket while operating the shovel so that the bucket line is always parallel to the inclined target surface, advantageously raising precision of the excavation surface because the bucket line is always maintained parallel to the slope surface automatically, for example, as suggested by Izumikawa in paragraph [0013].
Regarding claim 4, Izumikawa further teaches wherein the processor is configured to output the control signal for the tilt rotator in a case where a distance between the design surface and the teeth of the attachment is equal to or less than an intervention threshold value (In paragraph [0051], Izumikawa discloses where, in the automatic bucket tilt control, when the bucket 6 is far from the target excavation surface (corresponding to the target line TL in FIG. 4), the automatic control of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 is not executed, and if the bucket 6 approaches the target excavation surface, and the teeth end of the bucket 6 reaches the tilt control start surface (corresponding to the tilt control start line CL in FIG. 4), the automatic control of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 starts, where once the automatic control of the tilt angle has started, the tilt angle is adjusted so that the teeth end line 6a of the bucket 6 is maintained to be parallel to the target line TL).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Stockhaus and Izumikawa further discloses wherein the processor is configured to:
acquire an operation signal for operating the work machine from an operation device (From column 5 line 50 to column 6 line 24, Stockhaus discloses that the system 10 comprises a first and a second hand operated control means 11a, 11b, where the control means 11a, 11b may for example be a joystick, a three-dimensional computer mouse, or one or multiple touch screens, where the movements of the first and the second control means 11a, 11b are converted by a control system 12 into control signals SS1, SS2, SS3, SS4, SS5 which activate, deactivate and control control devices V1-V5 which control the movements of the first and the second link arm 4a, 4b and the work tool), and
generate the control signal for the tilt rotator in a case where only an operation signal for operating the boom is input from the acquired operation signal (From column 5 line 50 to column 6 line 24, Stockhaus discloses that the system 10 comprises a first and a second hand operated control means 11a, 11b, where the control means 11a, 11b may for example be a joystick, a three-dimensional computer mouse, or one or multiple touch screens, where the movements of the first and the second control means 11a, 11b are converted by a control system 12 into control signals SS1, SS2, SS3, SS4, SS5 which activate, deactivate and control control devices V1-V5 which control the movements of the first and the second link arm 4a, 4b and the work tool; in paragraph [0056], Izumikawa discloses that the automatic bucket tilt control may be activated when the operator of the shovel wants to adjust the bucket tilt angle automatically, where the automatic tilt switch 26D may be turned on only when the operator of the shovel wants to execute the automatic bucket tilt control, or in other words, only when there is a command from the operator, a communication command is output to the switching valve D8, to enable the automatic bucket tilt control).
Regarding claim 8, Stockhaus further discloses wherein the three axes include a first axis, a second axis, and a third axis that are orthogonal to one another, the third axis corresponding to the axis in the longitudinal direction of the arm (In column 4 lines 33-51, Stockhaus discloses a construction machine 1 comprising a digging arm 4 and a work tool 5, where the digging arm 4 is made up of an inner link arm 4a with a first and a second inner link arm end 4a1, 4a2 and an outer link arm 4b with a first and a second outer link arm end 4b1, 4b2, and one joint J1 connects the top 3 with the first inner link arm end 4a1 and one joint J2 connects the second inner link arm end 4a2 with the first outer link arm end 4b1, and in the outer link arm 4b of the digging arm, an attachment device 6 for the work tool 5 is attached via an additional joint J4 that enables a rotation about a third substantially horizontal machine axis MA3 that extends through the joint J3, where the attachment device 6 enables controlled rotation and controlled tilting of the tool 5).
Regarding claim 9, Stockhaus further discloses wherein the tilt rotator further includes an attachment portion coupled to an end of the arm and configured to rotate relative to the arm (In column 4 lines 33-51, Stockhaus discloses a construction machine 1 comprising a digging arm 4 and a work tool 5, where the digging arm 4 is made up of an inner link arm 4a with a first and a second inner link arm end 4a1, 4a2 and an outer link arm 4b with a first and a second outer link arm end 4b1, 4b2, and one joint J1 connects the top 3 with the first inner link arm end 4a1 and one joint J2 connects the second inner link arm end 4a2 with the first outer link arm end 4b1, and in the outer link arm 4b of the digging arm, an attachment device 6 for the work tool 5 is attached via an additional joint J4 that enables a rotation about a third substantially horizontal machine axis MA3 that extends through the joint J3, where the attachment device 6 enables controlled rotation and controlled tilting of the tool 5),
wherein the tilt portion is coupled to the attachment portion and configured to rotate about the first axis relative to the attachment portion (In column 5 lines 14-29, Stockhaus discloses that the tiltrotator also comprises a tilting device 6b which makes it possible to angle the tool in relation to a second control means axis IAA2 substantially perpendicular to the first control means axis IAA1),
wherein the attachment portion is configured to rotate about the second axis relative to the arm (In column 4 lines 33-51, Stockhaus discloses that an attachment device 6 for the work tool 5 is attached via an additional joint J4 that enables a rotation about a third substantially horizontal machine axis MA3 that extends through the joint J3, where the attachment device 6 enables controlled rotation and controlled tilting of the tool 5), and
wherein the rotation portion is coupled to the tilt portion and configured to rotate about the third axis relative to the tilt portion (In column 5 lines 14-29, Stockhaus discloses that the tiltrotator comprises a rotor part 6a which makes it possible to, by force, rotate the tool 360 degrees in relation to the outer link arm 4b around a first attachment device axis IAA1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Stockhaus and Izumikawa discloses wherein the work machine further includes:
a bucket cylinder configured to rotate the attachment portion relative to the arm (In column 4 lines 33-51, Stockhaus discloses that the actuators are hydraulic cylinders and the control devices are hydraulic valves);
a tilt cylinder configured to rotate the tilt portion relative to the attachment portion (In column 5 lines 14-29, Stockhaus discloses that the second tilting device 6b may be another rotor member arranged substantially perpendicular to the first rotor member or one or multiple hydraulic cylinders or other actuators, these also being controlled by control devices V5); and
a rotary motor configured to rotate the rotation portion relative to the tilt portion (In column 5 lines 14-29, Stockhaus discloses that the tiltrotator comprises a rotor part 6a which makes it possible to, by force, rotate the tool 360 degrees in relation to the outer link arm 4b around a first attachment device axis IAA1, where the rotation occurs with the help of an actuator that is further controlled by a control device V4 which is arranged in the rotor member 6a; see also from column 2 line 64 to column 3 line 5 where Stockhaus discloses that the actuators that are provided may for example be single or double acting hydraulic cylinders, linear motors, screw lines or other devices that may create a relative movement between two parts connected with a joint), and
wherein the processor is configured to output the generated control signal to the bucket cylinder, the tilt cylinder, and the rotary motor (In column 3 lines 6-12, Stockhaus discloses that the system comprises a control system which converts the movements of the first and the second control means to signals that activate, deactivate and control the control devices that control the movements of the first and the second link arm, as well as the control devices provided in the attachment device that control the movement of the work tool; In paragraph [0020], Izumikawa discloses that the controller 30 functions as a main controller that executes drive control of the shovel, constituted with an arithmetic processing unit including a CPU and an internal memory, where various functions of the controller 30 are implemented by the CPU that runs a program stored in the internal memory; in paragraph [0021], Izumikawa discloses a machine guidance device 50 that guides operations of the shovel, constituted with an arithmetic processing unit including a CPU and an internal memory, where various functions of the machine guidance device 50 are implemented by the CPU that runs a program stored in the internal memory, and the machine guidance device 50 may be provided as a device separate from the controller 30, or may be built in the controller 30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 7 and 11 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 7, the closest prior art of record Stockhaus (US 10,202,740 B2) discloses a method for controlling a work machine including a support portion operably supported by a vehicle body, a tilt rotator including a joint shaft that rotatably connects to a tip of the support portion, and an attachment supported rotatably by the tilt rotator around three axes that intersect each other in different planes, by the support portion, wherein the support portion includes a boom rotatably supported by the vehicle body and an arm rotatably supported by the boom, and the tilt rotator includes a tilt portion and a rotation portion configured to rotate relative to the tilt portion about an axis that extends in a longitudinal direction of the arm (In column 4 lines 33-51, Stockhaus discloses a construction machine 1 comprising a digging arm 4 and a work tool 5, where the digging arm 4 is made up of an inner link arm 4a with a first and a second inner link arm end 4a1, 4a2 and an outer link arm 4b with a first and a second outer link arm end 4b1, 4b2, and one joint J1 connects the top 3 with the first inner link arm end 4a1 and one joint J2 connects the second inner link arm end 4a2 with the first outer link arm end 4b1, and in the outer link arm 4b of the digging arm, an attachment device 6 for the work tool 5 is attached via an additional joint J4 that enables a rotation about a third substantially horizontal machine axis MA3 that extends through the joint J3, where the attachment device 6 enables controlled rotation and controlled tilting of the tool 5), the method comprising:
acquiring measurement values from a plurality of sensors, the plurality of sensors comprising a rotation angle sensor configured to measure an angle of the rotation portion relative to the tilt portion about the axis in the longitudinal direction of the arm (In column 5 lines 30-43, Stockhaus discloses that In the attachment device 6 there is also arranged one or multiple sensors S1, S2, . . . Sn which are arranged to sense for example the relative position between the separate parts of the attachment device and the force acting on or the hydraulic pressure in the control devices V4, V5, and the sensors may thus sense if and how much the tool is angled);
calculating a posture of the attachment with respect to the vehicle body based on the measurement values (In column 5 lines 30-43, Stockhaus discloses that In the attachment device 6 there is also arranged one or multiple sensors S1, S2, . . . Sn which are arranged to sense for example the relative position between the separate parts of the attachment device and the force acting on or the hydraulic pressure in the control devices V4, V5, and the sensors may thus sense if and how much the tool is angled);
generating a control signal for the tilt rotator to rotate the attachment (From column 5 line 50 to column 6 line 24, Stockhaus discloses that the system 10 comprises a first and a second hand operated control means 11a, 11b, where the control means 11a, 11b may for example be a joystick, a three-dimensional computer mouse, or one or multiple touch screens, where the movements of the first and the second control means 11a, 11b are converted by a control system 12 into control signals SS1, SS2, SS3, SS4, SS5 which activate, deactivate and control control devices V1-V5 which control the movements of the first and the second link arm 4a, 4b and the work tool); and
controlling the tilt rotator according to the generated control signal (From column 5 line 50 to column 6 line 24, Stockhaus discloses that the system 10 comprises a first and a second hand operated control means 11a, 11b, where the control means 11a, 11b may for example be a joystick, a three-dimensional computer mouse, or one or multiple touch screens, where the movements of the first and the second control means 11a, 11b are converted by a control system 12 into control signals SS1, SS2, SS3, SS4, SS5 which activate, deactivate and control control devices V1-V5 which control the movements of the first and the second link arm 4a, 4b and the work tool).
However, Izumikawa teaches the attachment having teeth (In paragraphs [0014-0016], Izumikawa discloses that a bucket 6 as an end attachment is attached at the tip of the arm 5; see also paragraph [0021] where Izumikawa discloses that the tip position of the bucket is at the teeth end);
determining a virtual rotation axis extending in a direction in which the teeth of the attachment face based on the calculated posture of the attachment (In paragraph [0047], Izumikawa discloses that the tilt angle controller 514 calculates a current angle deviation of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the target excavation surface by using detection signals of the sensor S1-S4, and transmits a control signal to the controller 30 to reduce the calculated angle deviation, and based on this, the controller 30 executes automatic control so that the teeth end line of the bucket 6 is parallel to the target excavation surface; the Examiner understands the tilt angle of the bucket to correspond to a virtual rotation axis under its broadest reasonable interpretation); and
generating a control signal for the tilt rotator to rotate the attachment around the virtual rotation axis so that a design surface and the teeth of the attachment are approximately parallel to each other, based on the calculated posture of the attachment (In paragraph [0047], Izumikawa discloses that the tilt angle controller 514 calculates a current angle deviation of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the target excavation surface by using detection signals of the sensor S1-S4, and transmits a control signal to the controller 30 to reduce the calculated angle deviation, and based on this, the controller 30 executes automatic control so that the teeth end line of the bucket 6 is parallel to the target excavation surface).
However, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not explicitly disclose determining a virtual rotation axis extending in a direction in which the teeth of the attachment face based on the calculated posture of the attachment, the virtual rotation axis being different from the joint shaft of the tilt rotator. Therefore, independent claim 7 is allowed.
Regarding claim 11, the closest prior art of record Izumikawa (US 2018/0016768 A1) discloses a system for controlling a work machine including a support portion operably supported by a vehicle body, a tilt rotator attached to a tip of the support portion, and an attachment having teeth and supported rotatably around three axes that intersect each other in different planes, by the support portion via the tilt rotator (In paragraphs [0014-0016], Isumikawa discloses that a revolving upper body 3 is mounted on a traveling lower body 1 of the shovel via a revolution mechanism 2, a boom 4 is attached to the revolving upper body 3, an arm 5 is attached at the tip of the boom 4, and a bucket 6 as an end attachment is attached at the tip of the arm 5, and wherein the bucket 6 is what-is-called a tilt bucket, where the bucket 6 is rotatable in a direction perpendicular to the page surface with respect to the arm 5, and specifically, a tilt mechanism 60 is provided at a portion at which the bucket 6 is attached to the arm 5, where the tilt mechanism 60 has a pin 62 (tilt axis) that rotatably supports the bucket 6, and a tilt bucket cylinder 64 for rotating the bucket 6; see also paragraph [0021] where Izumikawa discloses that the tip position of the bucket is at the teeth end), the system comprising:
a processor (In paragraph [0020], Izumikawa discloses that the controller 30 functions as a main controller that executes drive control of the shovel, constituted with an arithmetic processing unit including a CPU and an internal memory, where various functions of the controller 30 are implemented by the CPU that runs a program stored in the internal memory; in paragraph [0021], Izumikawa discloses a machine guidance device 50 that guides operations of the shovel, constituted with an arithmetic processing unit including a CPU and an internal memory, where various functions of the machine guidance device 50 are implemented by the CPU that runs a program stored in the internal memory, and the machine guidance device 50 may be provided as a device separate from the controller 30, or may be built in the controller 30),
wherein the processor is configured to
acquire measurement values from a plurality of sensors (In paragraphs [0016-0018], Izumikawa discloses that the boom angle sensor S1 detects a rotation angle of the boom 4, the arm angle sensor S2 detects a rotation angle of the arm 5, the bucket angle sensor S3 detects a rotation angle of the bucket 6, the body inclination sensor S4 detects inclination of the revolving upper body 3 to the level surface, and the bucket tilt angle sensor S5 detects an angle of rotation of the bucket 6 around the tilt axis; in paragraph [0041], Izumikawa discloses that the machine guidance device 50 receives various signals and data output from the boom angle sensor S1, the arm angle sensor S2, the bucket angle sensor S3, the body inclination sensor S4, the bucket tilt angle sensor S5, the input unit D1, and the controller 30),
calculate a posture of the attachment with respect to the vehicle body based on the measurement values (In paragraph [0047], Izumikawa discloses that the tilt angle controller 514 calculates a current angle deviation of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the target excavation surface by using detection signals of the sensor S1-S4, and transmits a control signal to the controller 30 to reduce the calculated angle deviation, and based on this, the controller 30 executes automatic control so that the teeth end line of the bucket 6 is parallel to the target excavation surface),
determine a virtual rotation axis based on the calculated posture of the attachment (In paragraph [0047], Izumikawa discloses that the tilt angle controller 514 calculates a current angle deviation of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the target excavation surface by using detection signals of the sensor S1-S4, and transmits a control signal to the controller 30 to reduce the calculated angle deviation, and based on this, the controller 30 executes automatic control so that the teeth end line of the bucket 6 is parallel to the target excavation surface; the Examiner understands the tilt angle of the bucket to correspond to a virtual rotation axis under its broadest reasonable interpretation),
generate a control signal for the tilt rotator to rotate the attachment around the virtual rotation axis so that a design surface and the teeth of the attachment are approximately parallel to each other, based on the calculated posture of the attachment (In paragraph [0047], Izumikawa discloses that the tilt angle controller 514 calculates a current angle deviation of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the target excavation surface by using detection signals of the sensor S1-S4, and transmits a control signal to the controller 30 to reduce the calculated angle deviation, and based on this, the controller 30 executes automatic control so that the teeth end line of the bucket 6 is parallel to the target excavation surface), and
output the generated control signal (In paragraph [0047], Izumikawa discloses that the tilt angle controller 514 calculates a current angle deviation of the tilt angle of the bucket 6 with respect to the target excavation surface by using detection signals of the sensor S1-S4, and transmits a control signal to the controller 30 to reduce the calculated angle deviation, and based on this, the controller 30 executes automatic control so that the teeth end line of the bucket 6 is parallel to the target excavation surface).
However, the prior art of record, alone or in combination, does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a target value of an angular velocity around the virtual rotation axis for making the design surface and the teeth of the attachment approximately parallel to each other,
transform the angular velocity around the virtual rotation axis to angular velocities around the three axes, and
generate a control signal for the tilt rotator based on the angular velocities of the three axes.
Therefore, independent claim 11 is allowed.
Conclusion
/HARRISON HEFLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665