Claim Objections
Claims 18-19 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being duplicates of claims 13-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Leonard, US 3,942,337. Leonard discloses a torque limiter which comprises:
a housing comprising an input housing part (1) connected to an output housing part (2);
an input shaft (35) rotatably supported (15) in the input housing:
an output shaft (55) rotatably supported (25) in the output housing; and
a ball detent mechanism which is operatively connected between
the input shaft and the output shaft, the ball detent mechanism comprising:
a detent ring (38) which is connected to one of the input shaft and
the output shaft, the detent ring comprising a plurality of detents (49);
a ball ring (40) which is connected to the other of the input shaft
and the output shaft, the ball ring comprising a plurality of ball members (7)
which are each configured to be received in the detents;
wherein in an engaged condition (Fig. 2) of the ball detent mechanism, the ball members are maintained in position in the detents, thereby rotatably coupling the input shaft to the output shaft, and in a disengaged condition (Col. 1, lines 54-61) of the ball detent mechanism, the ball members are displaceable from the detents, thereby rotatably decoupling the input shaft from the output shaft;
a biasing member (8) which is positioned on a side of the ball ring opposite the detent ring or on a side of the detent ring opposite the ball ring, the biasing member being designed to generate a force sufficient to maintain the ball detent mechanism in the engaged condition when a torque less than a predetermined torque is applied to the input shaft;
whereby when the torque applied to the input shaft reaches the predetermine torque, the ball detent mechanism will switch to the disengaged condition and rotatably decouple the input shaft from the output shaft,
wherein Fig. 2 shows the input shaft and the output shaft are positioned coaxially end to end and the ball detent mechanism is connected between adjacent ends of the input and output shafts.
As to claim 21, the input housing part (1) comprises an axial receptacle (see Fig. 2), wherein the input shaft (35) is rotationally supported in a bearing arrangement (15, see also “permitting easy rotation” at col. 2, line 52) positioned in the receptacle, and wherein the bearing arrangement is retained in the receptacle by a retainer ring (15, see also “prevents axial movement) at col. 2, line 53) to thereby secure the input shaft to the input housing part.
Claims 1, 13 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vamvakas, US 4,463,930. Figs. 2-6 show a torque limiter which comprises:
a housing comprising an input housing part (see just below letter G in Fig. 2) connected to an output housing part (see just below numeral 46in Fig. 2);
an input shaft (emanating from gearing G) rotatably supported in the input housing:
an output shaft (36) rotatably supported in the output housing; and
a ball detent mechanism which is operatively connected between
the input shaft and the output shaft, the ball detent mechanism comprising:
a detent ring (40) which is connected to one of the input shaft and
the output shaft, the detent ring comprising a plurality of detents (48);
a ball ring (42) which is connected to the other of the input shaft
and the output shaft, the ball ring comprising a plurality of ball members (55)
which are each configured to be received in the detents;
wherein in an engaged condition (Fig. 2) of the ball detent mechanism, the ball members are maintained in position in the detents, thereby rotatably coupling the input shaft to the output shaft, and in a disengaged condition (col. 3, lines 5-6) of the ball detent mechanism, the ball members are displaceable from the detents, thereby rotatably decoupling the input shaft from the output shaft;
a biasing member (44) which is positioned on a side of the ball ring opposite the detent ring or on a side of the detent ring opposite the ball ring, the biasing member being designed to generate a force sufficient to maintain the ball detent mechanism in the engaged condition when a torque less than a predetermined torque is applied to the input shaft;
whereby when the torque applied to the input shaft reaches the predetermine torque, the ball detent mechanism will switch to the disengaged condition and rotatably decouple the input shaft from the output shaft,
wherein Fig. 2 shows the input shaft and the output shaft are positioned coaxially end to end and the ball detent mechanism is connected between adjacent ends of the input and output shafts.
As to claims 13 & 18, the torque limiter further comprises means (56) for pressure compensating the ball detent mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 & 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leonard in view of Weasler, US 3,252,303.
Claims 2 & 15: As noted above, Leonard discloses a torque limiter that comprises every limitation of the claims including pockets (47) in the ball ring (40). Leonard does not expressly disclose the pockets (47) are through holes. Weasler teaches at col. 3, lines 65-66 that pockets (32) and through holes (321) are art recognized equivalents. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the torque limiter of Leaonard by using through holes instead of pockets because both are art recognized equivalents as taught by Weasler.
As to claim 3, Fig. 2 of Leonard shows the biasing member (8) is positioned on a side of the ball ring (40) opposite the detent ring (38) and is operatively engaged with the ball members (7) so as to bias the ball members in a direction toward the detent ring.
As to claims, 4 & 17, At Figs. 2 & 5-6, Leaonard shows a thrust ring (10) is positioned between the biasing member (8) and the ball members (7).
As to claims 5 & 16, Fig. 2 of Leonard shows the biasing member (8) is positioned between the ball members (7) and an annular shoulder formed in the output housing part (2).
Claims 2-3, 6, 15 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vamvakas in view of Weasler.
Claims 2 & 15: As noted above, Vamvakas discloses a torque limiter that comprises every limitation of the claims including pockets (52) in the ball ring (42). Vamvakas does not expressly disclose the pockets (52) are through holes. Weasler teaches at col. 3, lines 65-66 that pockets (32) and through holes (321) are art recognized equivalents. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the torque limiter of Vamvakas by using through holes instead of pockets because both are art recognized equivalents as taught by Weasler.
As to claim 3, Fig. 2 of Vamvakas shows the biasing member (44) is positioned on a side of the ball ring (42) opposite the detent ring (40) and is operatively engaged with the ball members (55) so as to bias the ball members in a direction toward the detent ring.
As to claim 6, Fig. 2 of Vamvakas shows the biasing member (44) is positioned between the ball members (55) and a seat ring (46) which is connected to said other of the input shaft and the output shaft.
As to claim 20, Fig. 1 of Vamvakas shows the housing is configured to be mounted to a valve (V) operator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12, 14 & 22-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. At Figs. 11-13, Banemann shows a torque limiter comprising an integral ball and ball ring.
/Greg Binda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679