DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taro et al. (herein after will be referred to as Taro) (JP2020041840A) in view of Bourely (US 20080302707) and in further view of Tadhashi et al. (herein after will be referred to as Tadhashi) (JP 2017067549A).
Regarding claim 1, Taro discloses an image acquisition apparatus, comprising:
a light emitter to emit light to a sealing portion of a package including a light energy absorbing material, the light having a wavelength absorbed by the light absorbing material; [See Taro [0026] Far infrared radiation device is utilized as a heat application device.]
a light receiver to receive thermal radiation from the sealing portion as thermal information; and [See Taro [0006] Infrared camera for detecting defects in the seal.]
two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry configured to acquire the thermal information on the sealing portion as a two-dimensional image through the light receiver; and [See Taro [0006] Infrared camera for generating a thermographic image for detecting defects in the seal.]
a conveyor to convey a package to be placed thereon, [See Taro [Fig. 2]
Taro does not explicitly disclose
wherein the light receiver is disposed opposite the light emitter across the conveyor,
wherein the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry acquires at least one two-dimensional image at a time t satisfying a condition below: 0<t<T, where 0 is a time when the light emitter emits the light to one side of the sealing portion and T is a time when surface temperature of another side of the sealing portion reaches peak temperature.
However, Bourely does disclose
wherein the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry acquires at least one two-dimensional image at a time t satisfying a condition below: 0<t<T, where 0 is a time when the light emitter emits the light to one side of the sealing portion and T is a time when surface temperature of another side of the sealing portion reaches peak temperature. [See Bourely [0047] The length of time that elapses between the application of radiation and the thermal imaging is 50ms and 600ms and/or 250 and 400ms. (Applicant’s published specification states that the time to reach peak temperature is about 480ms, is about several hundred milliseconds to 1 second or less, and/or 580ms). For example, imaging in Bourely is done before 480ms and/or 580ms.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Taro to add the teachings of Bourely, in order to visible show defects due to a short window of time between the arrival of heat on it and its complete bypass [See Bourely [0016]].
Taro (modified by Bourely) do not explicitly disclose
wherein the light receiver is disposed opposite the light emitter across the conveyor,
However, Tadhashi does disclose
wherein the light receiver is disposed opposite the light emitter across the conveyor, [See Tadhashi [Figs. 1-2]]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Taro (modified by Bourely) to add the teachings of Tadhashi, in order to increase the accuracy of inspection [See Tadhashi [0010]].
Regarding claim 2, Taro (modified by Bourely) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Taro discloses
wherein: the light receiver does not directly receive the light emitted from the light emitter and passed through the sealing portion and the light receiver does not directly receive the light emitted from the light emitter and reflected by the sealing portion. [See Taro [Fig. 2] Heating device (60) is tilted with respect to the infrared camera.]
Regarding claim 3, Taro (modified by Bourely) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Taro does not explicitly disclose
wherein: the light emitter emits light to the sealing portion as one shot, and the light receiver receives thermal radiation from the sealing portion as one shot.
However, Tadashi does disclose
wherein: the light emitter emits light to the sealing portion as one shot, and the light receiver receives thermal radiation from the sealing portion as one shot. [See Tadashi [Fig. 2] Area light source with camera.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus by Taro (modified by Bourely) to add the teachings of Tadhashi, in order to perform a simple substitution of light sources. This will improve upon the amount of time required for illuminating an area.
Regarding claim 4, Taro (modified by Bourely and Tadhashi) disclose the apparatus of claim 3. Furthermore, Taro does not explicitly disclose
wherein: the light emitter is an area light source in which point light sources are in vertical and horizontal directions.
However, Tadhashi does disclose
wherein: the light emitter is an area light source in which point light sources are in vertical and horizontal directions. [See Tadashi [Fig. 2] Area light source.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 3.
Regarding claim 5, Taro (modified by Bourely) disclose the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, Taro discloses
pass-or-fail determination circuitry configured to determine whether the sealing portion is pass or fail using the two-dimensional image acquired by the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry. [See Taro [0006] Detecting defects in the seal based on the thermographic image.]
Regarding claim 6, Taro (modified by Bourely) disclose the apparatus of claim 5. Furthermore, Taro does not explicitly disclose
wherein: the two-dimensional image includes multiple two-dimensional images.
However, Bourely does disclose
wherein: the two-dimensional image includes multiple two-dimensional images. [See Bourely [0029] Classify or categorize each passing object based on thermal images.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Taro (modified by Bourely) disclose the apparatus of claim 5. Furthermore, Taro does not explicitly disclose
wherein: the multiple two-dimensional images are consecutive multiple two-dimensional images acquired by the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry at a predetermined interval.
However, Bourely does disclose
wherein: the multiple two-dimensional images are consecutive multiple two-dimensional images acquired by the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry at a predetermined interval. [See Bourely [0029] Thermal images. Also see 0047, thermal imaging timing.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Taro (modified by Bourely) disclose the apparatus of claim 5. Furthermore, Taro does not explicitly disclose
wherein: the pass-or-fail determination circuitry controls the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry to acquire at least one two-dimensional image at a time t satisfying a condition below: 0<t<T/2.
However, Bourely does disclose
wherein: the pass-or-fail determination circuitry controls the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry to acquire at least one two-dimensional image at a time t satisfying a condition below: 0<t<T/2. [See Bourely [0047] The length of time that elapses between the application of radiation and the thermal imaging is 50ms and 600ms and/or 250 and 400ms. (Applicant’s published specification states that the time to reach peak temperature is about 480ms, is about several hundred milliseconds to 1 second or less, and/or 580ms). For example, imaging in Bourely is done before 480/2 ms and/or 580/2 ms.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Taro (modified by Bourely) disclose the apparatus of claim 5. Furthermore, Taro does not explicitly disclose
wherein: the pass-or-fail determination circuitry controls the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry to acquire multiple two-dimensional images at a time t satisfying a condition below: t<T/2.
However, Bourely does disclose
wherein: the pass-or-fail determination circuitry controls the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry to acquire multiple two-dimensional images at a time t satisfying a condition below: t<T/2. [See Bourely [0047] The length of time that elapses between the application of radiation and the thermal imaging is 50ms and 600ms and/or 250 and 400ms. (Applicant’s published specification states that the time to reach peak temperature is about 480ms, is about several hundred milliseconds to 1 second or less, and/or 580ms). For example, imaging in Bourely is done before 480/2 ms and/or 580/2 ms.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Taro (modified by Bourely) disclose the apparatus of claim 5. Furthermore, Taro does not explicitly disclose
wherein: the pass-or-fail determination circuitry controls the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry to acquire at least one two-dimensional image at a time t satisfying a condition below: t<0, and executes a noise removing process on the at least one two-dimensional image acquired at the time t.
However, Bourely does disclose
wherein: the pass-or-fail determination circuitry controls the two-dimensional image acquisition circuitry to acquire at least one two-dimensional image at a time t satisfying a condition below: t<0, and executes a noise removing process on the at least one two-dimensional image acquired at the time t. [See Bourely [0044] Differential exploitation of data by using thermal images taken before and after application of radiation.]
Applying the same motivation as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, see examiners rejection for claim 2 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, see examiners rejection for claim 3 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, see examiners rejection for claim 4 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, see examiners rejection for claim 5 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, see examiners rejection for claim 6 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, see examiners rejection for claim 7 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, see examiners rejection for claim 8 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 18.
Regarding claim 19, see examiners rejection for claim 9 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, see examiners rejection for claim 10 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486