DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: communication manager configured to receive, claim 11, see paragraph 0014, Fig 1, it’s interpreted that communication manager receive data via receiver.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Lynch et al. GB2536663 (hereinafter Lynch).
Regarding claim 1, Lynch discloses a method (Page 13, lines 22-27, system and method) for determining the co-location of electronic devices (pg. Page 7, lines 5-28, i.e. determining the close proximity [co-location] of user mobile devices [electronic devices), the method comprising: receiving a communication from a primary electronic device, wherein the communication provides a current location of the primary electronic device, and wherein the primary electronic device is associated with a group (Page 9, lines 8-22 and Page 12, lines 4-14 first mobile device [primary electronic device], within a group of user devices, sends location and identifier data to a server), responsive to receiving the communication from the primary electronic device, sending to at least one secondary electronic device an
instruction instructing the at least one secondary electronic device to provide a current location of the at least one secondary electronic device, wherein the at least one secondary electronic device is associated with the group (Page 9, lines 8-22, Page 11, lines 1-23 and Page 12, lines 1-14, a first mobile device can periodically scan for other devices within a group after sending its location data to a server [responsive to receiving from primary device), wherein the first
mobile device requests [instruction] to identify the location data of the other devices; Page 9, lines 8-22, Page 11, lines 1-23 and Page 12, lines 1-14), and wherein the instruction is sent to the at least one secondary electronic device within a predefined amount of time after the communication is received from the primary electronic device (Page 12, lines 1-14, Page 16, lines 21-29 and Page 17, lines 1-10, a first mobile device can periodically scan for other devices within a group after sending its location data to a server, wherein the periodic scanning can be configured with a predetermined amount of time to prevent fraudulent use of the application); receiving a communication from the at least one secondary electronic device, wherein the communication from the at least one secondary electronic device provides the current location of the at least one secondary electronic device (Page 9, lines 8-22, Page 11, lines 1-23 and Page 12, lines 1-14, a first mobile device can periodically scan for other devices within a group after sending its location data to a server, wherein the first mobile device requests to identify the current location data of the other devices within the group;); and determining that the electronic devices meet a
predefined co-location condition by determining that the current location of the primary electronic device is within a predefined minimum distance from the current location of the at least one secondary electronic device (Page 15, lines 5-17, the location data received from all of the mobile devices
within the group is used to determine whether the users are in close proximity [co-location], such as being in the same vehicle to verify access of HOV lanes; of the location data regarding all of the mobile devices), and determining that the communications from the primary electronic device and the at least one secondary electronic device are received within a predefined time
window (Page 11, lines 11-12, Page 12, lines 8-14, Page 14, lines 26-27, Page 16, lines 21-29 and Page 17, lines 1-10, a predetermined time is set to request location data of devices within a group to make sure proximity data is not fraudulent ).
Per Claim 2, Lynch discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the primary electronic device and the at least one secondary electronic device are configured to determine their current location (Page 8, lines 13-21 each of the devices within the group are able to determine location at of the associated mobile device).
Per Claim 3, Lynch discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the primary electronic device and the at least one secondary electronic device are cellular telephones (Page 7, lines 5-10, the mobile devices can be smart phones)
Per Claim 5,Lynch discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the at least one secondary electronic device includes multiple electronic devices (Page 7, lines 17-28, the user devices within the group may include multiple electronic devices such as smart phones and tablet computers).
Per Claim 6, Lynch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving, sending, and determining are performed multiple times in association with a moving vehicle transporting the electronic devices along a route (Page 14, lines 12-29, during the duration of a car ride, location data is communicated a plurality of times in a periodic manner).
Per Claim 7, Lynch discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the primary electronic device is configured to determine its current location in accordance with a power-saving mode of an operating system with which the electronic device is configured (Page 12, lines15-18, the mobile devices are configured to determine and send location data by a pairing process to conserve heavy use of battery supply).
Per Claim 8, Lynch discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the electronic devices are associated with any of a vehicle and occupants of the vehicle traveling along a high-occupancy vehicle (HOV) lane or a high-occupancy toll (HOT) lane (Page 15, lines 5-9, groups of electronic devices within a vehicle are verified as being proximate to each other to access HOV lanes).
Per Claim 9, Lynch discloses the method according to claim I wherein the electronic devices are associated with any of a vehicle and occupants of the vehicle, wherein the occupants are traveling in association with a carpooling service (Page 14, lines 12-29, the electronic devices are determined as sharing the same vehicle [carpooling] traveling along a route).
Per Claim 10,Lynch discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the receiving, sending, and determining are implemented in any of a) computer hardware, and b) computer software embodied in a non-transitory, computer-readable medium (Page 5 lines 4-11, computer readable medium storing instruction)
Per claim 11, refer to the same rationale as explained as in claim 1.
Per claim 12, refer to the same rationale as explained as in claim 2.
Per claim 13, refer to the same rationale as explained as in claim 3.
Per claim 15, refer to the same rationale as explained as in claim 5.
Per claim 16, refer to the same rationale as explained as in claim 6.
Per claim 17, refer to the same rationale as explained as in claim 7.
Per claim 18, refer to the same rationale as explained as in claim 8.
Per claim 19, refer to the same rationale as explained as in claim 9.
Per claim 20, refer to the same rationale as explained as in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynch in view of Davis et al. (US20110137773) (hereinafter Davis).
Lynch discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the primary electronic device is with a vehicle (a first mobile device within a vehicle; Page 14, lines 12-29), and wherein the at least one secondary electronic device is a cellular telephone (the plurality of mobile devices can be configured as smart phones; Page 7, lines 5-10) but fails to explicitly disclose the primary electronic device is installed in or assembled with a vehicle and the secondary device is a cellular telephone.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Davis discloses the primary electronic device is installed in or assembled with a vehicle and the secondary device is a cellular telephone (paragraph 0027 and 0028, a first device is configured as a smart vehicle and a second device is a wireless phone of the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Davis into the invention Lynch, where Lynch provides A method of determining that two or more mobile electronic devices are in close proximity to each other. The method comprises the steps of enabling a mobile electronic device of at least one member of a group to use a short range wireless communication module to detect other mobile electronic devices belonging to members of the group and store a unique identifier for each detected mobile electronic device and Davis provides devices, systems, and methods are disclosed for identifying a driver versus a passenger within a smart vehicle. This involves a determination of the relative positions of the wireless communication devices within the smart vehicle using near-field communication (NFC) or GPS, AGPS, etc. in order to modify the passenger verification system of Lynch by configuring communication between a smart vehicle and a mobile device, as taught by Davis, in order to enhance user experience by
integrating systems to enable easy to use billing systems that do not require user intervention and distraction, see Davis, paragraphs 0004, 00027 and 0028.
Per claim 14, refer to the same rationale as explained in claim 4.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH E DEAN, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647