DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on January 13, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed February 17, 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
Figure 2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 16 and claim 9 line 21, “of discharge” would be clearer if written as --of the discharge--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9, 10, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U. S. Patent Publication 2009/0180874 to Gutierrez
Referring to claim 1, Gutierrez discloses a discharge head for vertical pump systems, the discharge head. comprising:
a mounting interface (102) to place a motor (200) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated below; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]);
a central plate positioned substantially centrally between the mounting interface (102) and a bottom plate (104) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated below; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]);
a discharge pipe (106) to provide an elbow transition from below-surface piping (portion of 300 connected to 104) to above-surface piping (connected to 106a), the discharge pipe (106) comprising a vertical portion that couples to the central plate (and a horizontal portion coupled to a discharge flange (106a) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated below; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]);
a plurality of supporting legs (110) to couple the mounting interface (102) to the bottom plate (104), wherein each supporting leg (110) has an inward bent shape (each bends radially inward from bottom plate 104 to mounting interface 102) and the supporting legs (110) are distributed substantially equally around a perimeter of the mounting interface (102) and the bottom plate (104) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated below; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]);
a plurality of stabilizers (112), wherein
each stabilizer (112) is horizontally coupled between the central plate and each supporting leg (110) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated below; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]), and
the inward bent shape of the plurality of supporting legs (110) and the plurality of stabilizers (112) allow a substantially reduced footprint (“smaller base plate area”) and weight (at least because of the smaller base/bottom plate) of discharge head while preserving structural resonance (the design can be set to maintain a similar natural frequency and harmonics thereof) and torsional rigidity performance (FEA is used to “prevent lateral and torsional movement”) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]); and
the bottom plate (104) to couple the vertical portion of the discharge pipe with the below-surface piping (300 connected to 104) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated below; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Horizontal Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Vertical Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Central Plate)]
Annotation of Gutierrez Figure 3.
Referring to claim 5, Gutierrez discloses a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and further discloses a pump wherein:
the plurality of supporting legs (110) includes four supporting legs, and the plurality of stabilizers (112) includes four stabilizers (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]).
Referring to claim 7, Gutierrez discloses a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Gutierrez further discloses a support wherein:
one or more of the supporting legs (110) or the stabilizers (112) are solid or hollow (both the supporting legs and the stabilizers must be one or the other of solid or hollow since there is no third possibility for any structure).
Referring to claim 9, Gutierrez discloses a vertical pump system comprising:
a motor (200) to drive impellers (Fig. 5A; paragraphs [0003] [0004] and [0033], claim 5, wherein pump 300 has multiple stages and therefore multiple impellers);
below-surface piping (portion of 300 connected to 104) that contains one or more impellers (Fig. 5A; paragraphs [0003] [0004] and [0033], claim 5, wherein pump 300 has multiple stages and therefore multiple impellers);
above-surface piping (connected to 106a) to receive pumped liquids from the below-surface piping (portion of 300 connected to 104); and
a discharge head to provide the pumped liquids from the below-surface piping (portion of 300 connected to 104) to the above-surface piping (connected to 106a), the discharge head comprising:
a mounting interface (102) to place a motor (200) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]);
a central plate positioned substantially centrally between the mounting interface (102) and a bottom plate (104) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]);
a discharge pipe (106) to provide an elbow transition from the below-surface piping (portion of 300 connected to 104) to the above-surface piping (connected to 106a), the discharge pipe (106) comprising a vertical portion that couples to the central plate (and a horizontal portion coupled to a discharge flange (106a) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]);
a plurality of supporting legs (110) to couple the mounting interface (102) to the bottom plate (104), wherein each supporting leg (110) has an inward bent shape (each bends radially inward from bottom plate 104 to mounting interface 102) and the supporting legs (110) are distributed substantially equally around a perimeter of the mounting interface (102) and the bottom plate (104) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]);
a plurality of stabilizers (112), wherein
each stabilizer (112) is horizontally coupled between the central plate and each supporting leg (110) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]), and
the inward bent shape of the plurality of supporting legs (110) and the plurality of stabilizers (112) allow a substantially reduced footprint (“smaller base plate area”) and weight (at least because of the smaller base/bottom plate) of discharge head while preserving structural resonance (the design can be set to maintain a similar natural frequency and harmonics thereof) and torsional rigidity performance (FEA is used to “prevent lateral and torsional movement”) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]); and
the bottom plate (104) to couple the vertical portion of the discharge pipe with the below-surface piping (300 connected to 104) (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]).
Referring to claim 10, Gutierrez discloses a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and Gutierrez further discloses a support wherein:
the below-surface piping contains multiple stages of impellers (Fig. 5A; paragraphs [0003] [0004] and [0033], claim 5, wherein pump 300 has multiple stages and therefore multiple impellers).
Referring to claim 14, Gutierrez discloses a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and further discloses a pump wherein:
the plurality of supporting legs (110) includes four supporting legs, and the plurality of stabilizers (112) includes four stabilizers (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]).
Referring to claim 16, Gutierrez discloses a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and Gutierrez further discloses a support wherein:
one or more of the supporting legs (110) or the stabilizers (112) are solid or hollow (both the supporting legs and the stabilizers must be one or the other of solid or hollow since there is no third possibility for any structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2009/0180874 to Gutierrez in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2002/0036008 to Hickam.
Referring to claim 2, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and while each of the support legs 110 of Gutierrez has an inward bent shape, they do not contain first and second straight portions coupled to a bent portion. Hickam teaches a support wherein:
each supporting leg has a first straight portion coupled to a mounting interface, a second straight portion coupled to a bottom plate, and a bend portion coupling the first straight portion and the second straight portion, and each stabilizer is coupled to a corresponding supporting leg at the bend portion (Fig. 2, annotated below; paragraphs [0024]-[0026]).
[AltContent: textbox (Bend Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Stabilizer)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bottom Plate)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Straight Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Mounting Interface)][AltContent: textbox (Second Straight Portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Support Leg)]
Annotation of Hickam Figure 2.
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Gutierrez with the support legs having straight and bend portions taught by Hickam in order to provide greater access to the space between the bottom plate and the mounting interface.
Referring to claim 3, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but Gutierrez does not specifically discuss how a length, a thickness, or a bend angle of each supporting leg is determined. However, it would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, that one or more of a length, a thickness, or a bend angle of each supporting leg is determined based on one or more of a size of the mounting interface, a weight of the motor, or a reduction of a size of the bottom plate and a length of the horizontal portion of the discharge pipe, since the length and bend angle are inherently designed to connect the mounting interface to the bottom plate while also providing space for the discharge pipe, as determined by at least one or more of, among other things, a size of the mounting interface, a size of the bottom plate and a length of the horizontal portion of the discharge pipe, and further at least the size of the mounting interface, and weight of the motor will inherently determine the thickness of each supporting leg to provide at least the necessary strength for the desired, base plate area, pipe support deflection, and natural frequency.
Referring to claim 4, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 3, as detailed above, and while each of the support legs 110 of Gutierrez has an inward bent shape, they do not contain first and second straight portions coupled to a bent portion, and Hickam does not specifically discuss how a location of the bend portion of each supporting leg is determined. However, it would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, that in the combination of Gutierrez and Hickam above that a location of the bend portion of each supporting leg is determined based on, among other things, the size of the bottom plate and a length of the horizontal portion of the discharge pipe in order to support the motor and have space for the horizontal pipe and since these sizes are inherently design considerations for supporting the motor while also providing room for the horizontal pipe.
Referring to claim 6, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and Gutierrez further teaches a support wherein:
one or more of the mounting interface or the bottom plate have an "O" ring shape, a square shape, a rectangular shape, a solid circle shape, or an elliptical shape (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]).
Gutierrez is silent as to how the one or more of the mounting interface, the supporting legs, the central plate, the bottom plate, the stabilizers, or the discharge pipe are coupled together, however, Gutierrez teaches the use of welding for at least the discharge flange (paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make one or more of the mounting interface, the supporting legs, the central plate, the bottom plate, the stabilizers, or the discharge pipe are coupled together welding, as taught by Gutierrez for the discharge flange, because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the welding disclosed for the discharge flange, for another, the undisclosed connection means otherwise taught for the discharge head, to obtain predictable results, assembling the discharge head, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Referring to claim 11, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and while each of the support legs 110 of Gutierrez has an inward bent shape, they do not contain first and second straight portions coupled to a bent portion. Hickam teaches a support wherein:
each supporting leg has a first straight portion coupled to a mounting interface, a second straight portion coupled to the bottom plate, and a bend portion coupling the first straight portion and the second straight portion, and each stabilizer is coupled to a corresponding supporting leg at the bend portion (Fig. 2, annotated above; paragraphs [0024]-[0026]).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the pump taught by Gutierrez with the support legs having straight and bend portions taught by Hickam in order to provide greater access to the space between the bottom plate and the mounting interface.
Referring to claim 12, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and while each of the support legs 110 of Gutierrez has an inward bent shape, they do not contain first and second straight portions coupled to a bent portion, and Hickam does not specifically discuss how a location of the bend portion of each supporting leg is determined. However, it would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, that in the combination of Gutierrez and Hickam above that a location of the bend portion of each supporting leg is determined based on, among other things, the size of the bottom plate and a length of the horizontal portion of the discharge pipe in order to support the motor and have space for the horizontal pipe and since these sizes are inherently design considerations for supporting the motor while also providing room for the horizontal pipe.
Referring to claim 13, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 12, as detailed above, and while each of the support legs 110 of Gutierrez has an inward bent shape, they do not contain first and second straight portions coupled to a bent portion, and Hickam does not specifically discuss how a location of the bend portion of each supporting leg is determined. However, it would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, that in the combination of Gutierrez and Hickam above that a location of the bend portion of each supporting leg is determined based on, among other things, the size of the bottom plate and a length of the horizontal portion of the discharge pipe in order to support the motor and have space for the horizontal pipe and since these sizes are inherently design considerations for supporting the motor while also providing room for the horizontal pipe
Referring to claim 15, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and Gutierrez further teaches a support wherein:
one or more of the mounting interface or the bottom plate have an "O" ring shape, a square shape, a rectangular shape, a solid circle shape, or an elliptical shape (Figures 3-5d, Fig. 3 annotated above; paragraphs [0032]-[0046]).
Gutierrez is silent as to how the one or more of the mounting interface, the supporting legs, the central plate, the bottom plate, the stabilizers, or the discharge pipe are coupled together, however, Gutierrez teaches the use of welding for at least the discharge flange (paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make one or more of the mounting interface, the supporting legs, the central plate, the bottom plate, the stabilizers, or the discharge pipe are coupled together welding, as taught by Gutierrez for the discharge flange, because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the welding disclosed for the discharge flange, for another, the undisclosed connection means otherwise taught for the discharge head, to obtain predictable results, assembling the discharge head, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Publication 2009/0180874 to Gutierrez in view of U. S. Patent Publication 2002/0036008 to Hickam and U. S. Patent 4,224,363 to Veronesi.
Referring to claim 8, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, but is silent as to the material used for the discharge head. Veronesi teaches a head wherein one or more of the mounting interface, the supporting legs, the central plate, the bottom plate, the stabilizers, or the discharge pipe are made from metal or metal allow alloy materials (col. 3 lines 28-31).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make one or more of the mounting interface, the supporting legs, the central plate, the bottom plate, the stabilizers, or the discharge pipe from metal or metal allow alloy materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Referring to claim 17, Gutierrez teaches a pump comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, but is silent as to the material used for the discharge head. Veronesi teaches a head wherein one or more of the mounting interface, the supporting legs, the central plate, the bottom plate, the stabilizers, or the discharge pipe are made from metal or metal allow alloy materials (col. 3 lines 28-31).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make one or more of the mounting interface, the supporting legs, the central plate, the bottom plate, the stabilizers, or the discharge pipe from metal or metal allow alloy materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Behnke teaches a similar discharge head as claimed.
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746