DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” (or nonce term) but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
sorption-desorption concentrating module in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 2 line(s) 2 sets forth the limitation “the stage of washing the lithium saturated sorbent”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Applicant is advised to amend “stage” to - - step - -.
Claim 3 line(s) 1 sets forth the limitation “the washing stage”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Applicant is advised to amend “stage” to - - step - -.
Claim 4 line(s) 3 sets forth the limitation “the desorption stage”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Applicant is advised to amend “stage” to - - step - -.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAKHABUTDINOV (RU 2688593) in view of HUGHES (US 20100300977) and HOLDERNESS (US 5180526).
Regarding claim 1, SAKHABUTDINOV teaches a method of sorption extraction of lithium from lithium-containing chloride brines (title) including:
introducing a feed lithium-containing brine to a sorption-desorption concentrating module for obtaining a lithium saturated sorbent (abstract, L95),
wherein the sorption-desorption concentrating module is a vertically mounted column filled with an inorganic granulated sorbent (L95-96),
wherein the inorganic granulated sorbent is a chlorine-containing lithium aluminum double hydroxide (L96-97);
washing the lithium saturated sorbent (L83);
lithium desorption from the sorbent with desalinated water to obtain a lithium enriched solution (L83-84); and
wherein the lithium saturated sorbent is washed at in the amount of e.g. 90-130% of the sorbent volume present in the column (which is outside the claimed range of 150-250% sorbent volume), in the opposite direction as the direction of the feed lithium-containing brine flow (L87-89); and,
wherein lithium desorption from the sorbent is conducted in the same direction as the direction of the feed lithium-containing brine flow (L105-106; see also the example of L165-174).
SAKHABUTDINOV does not teach washing the sorbent in the same direction as the direction of the feed brine flow. However, HUGHES teaches operations of selenium removal sorbent beds (title) including washing a sorbent reactor in either a backward or forward direction relative to a feed flow direction (par. [0020]).
It is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try different wash directions (e.g. the same direction as suggested by HUGHES) in SAKHABUTDINOV’s method as such by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (e.g. a same direction or opposite direction) with a reasonable expectation of success by reaching a workable solution in order to sufficiently wash the sorbent as is known in the art. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
SAKHABUTDINOV does not teach the washing flow rate. However, HOLDERNESS teaches cleaning of solutions of alkylphosphates (title) including that contact time is important in ion-exchange processes including a contact time of e.g. between 0.1-20 bed volumes per hour, which overlaps the claimed range of at least 6 column volumes per hour and therefore establishes a case of prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05 I. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the instantly claimed range from the prior art range because prior art teaches the same utility over the selected range.
HOLDERNESS teaches the washing rate is a results-effective variable that affects the ion exchange structure and properties (e.g. contaminants). Therefore, at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed washing rate range because HOLDERNESS teaches the washing rate is a results-effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05 II, A & B.
It is further obvious that wash volume (wash volume and wash rate are two ways of describing how much solution is used) is a results-effective variable that affects the ion exchange structure and properties (e.g. contaminants; see also SAKHABUTDINOV L176-184). Therefore, at the time the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the claimed wash volume range because it is a results-effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05 II, A & B.
Regarding claim 2, SAKHABUTDINOV teaches a solution obtained from the step of washing the lithium saturated sorbent in the column is recirculated by directing to the feed lithium-containing brine flow (L89-90).
Regarding claim 4, SAKHABUTDINOV teaches concentrating the lithium enriched solution obtained from the desorption stage and containing almost pure lithium chloride (by deeper purification; abstract; L106-110).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAKHABUTDINOV (RU 2688593) in view of HUGHES (US 20100300977), HOLDERNESS (US 5180526), and WIEWIOROWSKI (US 4384889).
Regarding claim 3, SAKHABUTDINOV does not teach prior to the washing step residual brine is drained from the column. However, WIEWIOROWSKI teaches simultaneous leaching and cementation of precious metals (title) including prior to the washing step residual material is drained from the column (C5/L55-61).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of SAKHABUTDINOV to including a drain step prior to washing in order to more effectively wash the column as is known in the art. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Telephonic Inquiries
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1777
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777