DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12-16 and 19-24 are pending.
Claims 2-4, 6-10 and 19-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/3/26. Applicant's election with traverse is acknowledged. The traversal is not provided with any additional arguments or reasoning and as such is found not persuasive. Additionally, Applicant’s claim election is not entirely commensurate with the preliminary amendments to claims. Examiner left a voicemail with Applicant’s representative, Darrell Hollis, on 8/19/26, but no response has been received. As such, claims 1, 5 and 12-16 will be examined based on the elected Species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the second moving mechanism comprising a second guide rail and the flap comprising a second lug of claim 15 and the ball joint enabling the flap to be moved only over an angle of 0-30 degrees must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumiya (US 5628547). Matsumiya discloses a passenger seat for a transport vehicle, which seat comprises a vertical portion (fig. 9: 42) and a horizontal portion (fig. 9: 46) mounted on a support frame (fig. 9: 10), which horizontal portion comprises a rear edge located at the edge of the vertical portion and a front edge located on the opposite side to that of the rear edge (shown in fig. 9), which support frame delimits a free space under the horizontal portion, the horizontal portion is mounted on a first moving mechanism (at least element 48) arranged to enable the whole of the horizontal portion to be tilted such that a front edge that the front edge descends relative to the vertical portion (fig. 11), wherein said first moving mechanism comprises a locking device to prevent unwanted horizontal movement (Col. 5, lines 10-15).
As concerns claim 5, Matsumiya discloses wherein the locking device can be unlocked via direct manual action (Col. 5, lines 10-15), remotely, and/or via computer means.
As concerns claim 12, Matsumiya discloses wherein the passenger seat comprises a flap (fig. 10: 50) which is mounted on a second moving mechanism (as shown in figs. 1 and 2) arranged to enable the flap to be moved between a first storage position (fig. 1) and a second storage position where the flap extends as a continuation of the front edge so as to support the lower legs of a passenger sitting on the seat (fig. 3).
As concerns claim 13, Matsumiya discloses wherein the first storage position corresponds to a position where the flap is located under the horizontal portion of the seat (fig. 1).
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kan-chee (US 5058954). Kan-chee discloses a passenger seat for a transport vehicle, which seat comprises a vertical portion (fig. 1: 3) and a horizontal portion (fig. 1: 2) mounted on a support frame (fig. 1:1), which horizontal portion comprises a rear edge located at the edge of the vertical portion and a front edge located on the opposite side to that of the rear edge (shown in figs. 1-3), which support frame delimits a free space under the horizontal portion, the horizontal portion is mounted on a first moving mechanism (at least elements 7, 8 , 11, 12) arranged to enable the whole of the horizontal portion to be tilted such that a front edge that the front edge descends relative to the vertical portion (figs. 1-3), wherein said first moving mechanism comprises a locking device (fig. 1: 12) to prevent unwanted horizontal movement
As concerns claim 5, Kan-chee discloses wherein the locking device can be unlocked via direct manual action (Col. 4, lines 13-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kan-chee (US 5058954) in view of Cordes et al. (WO 2018/172045) (“Cordes”). Kan-chee does not teach wherein the passenger seat includes a flap mounted on a second moving mechanism. However, Cordes teaches a flap (fig. 3: 20b) which is mounted on a second moving mechanism (at least portion 22 on axis S1) arranged to enable the flap to be moved between a first storage position (fig. 2: dark line) and a second storage position where the flap extends as a continuation of the front edge (fig. 2: shaded line) so as to support the lower legs of a passenger sitting on the seat. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a flap in order to provide additional comfort to the user in the tilted position.
As concerns claim 14, Kan-chee, as modified, teaches wherein the first storage position corresponds to a position where the flap is located under the front edge and forms an angle of between 45 and 90 degrees with the horizontal position (as shown in fig. 3).
As concerns claim 16, Kan-chee, as modified, teaches wherein the second moving mechanism is a pivot joint, but does not teach wherein the second moving mechanism is a self-locking ball joint. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try a locking ball joint, as is considered old and well known in the art, as a simple substitution of known parts in order to provide the desired movement.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumiya in view of Kufel. Matsumiya does not teach wherein the second moving mechanism comprises a second guide rail and in that the flap comprises a second lug which extends into the second guide rail. However, Kufel teaches a flap/footrest (fig. 1: 17) which slides into and out from underneath the seat having a second moving mechanism which comprises a guide rail and lug (fig. 5: 19 and 20 have lug projections which slide along rails 26, 27). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a rail/lug moving mechanism for the flap in order to provide an economical movement means for the flap.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636