DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Applicant’s amendment submitted on 8/5/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 9, 21, 34, 39, 41, 46-47, 52, 88, 91, 92, 96, and 104 are pending. Claims 2, 74, 80, 81, 83, and 84 are canceled. Claims 1, 9, 21, 34, 39, 41, 46-47, 52, 88, 91, 92, 96, and 104 are under examination on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on 8/5/2026 is in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the references listed in the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Rejections
The following rejections are hereby withdrawn, due to Applicant’s amendment submitted on 8/5/2026:
35 U.S.C. §112(b)—claims 1 and 96.
Maintained Rejections
(Previous Rejection Maintained) Claims 1, 9, 21, 34, 39, 41, 46-47, 52, 88, 91, 92, 96, and 104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camacho, et al. (Bionatura. Vol 4 No 4 2019. Doi. 10.21931/rb/2019.04.01.4), Wang, et al. (Mol Ther Methods Clin Dev. 2019 Sep 26; 15:257-263. PMID: 31720304) and Khatwani, et al. (Mol Ther Methods Clin Dev. 2021 Apr 9;21:548-558. Doi: 10.1016/j.omtm.2021.04.003. PMID: 339710).
The rejection of claims 74, 80, 81, 83, and 84 is withdrawn due to cancellation of those claims.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but are found to be unpersuasive
Applicant presents the following arguments:
No prima facie case of obviousness because the combined teachings of Camacho, Wang, and Khatwani do not disclose a constant concentration of quaternary ammonium salt or one or more salts. Applicant submits that none of the cited references, alone or in combination, disclose or suggest all the elements of amended claim 1 including at least the following: (i) "passing at least one volume of a first wash solution comprising a constant concentration
of quaternary ammonium salt through the anion exchange medium to obtain a wash fraction
comprising the empty capsid particles"; (ii) "passing at least one volume of a second wash solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt through the anion exchange medium to obtain a second wash fraction comprising the quaternary ammonium salt"; and (iii) "passing at least one volume of an elution solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt through the anion exchange medium to elute the full capsid particles" as recited in amended claim 1 steps (b), (c), and (d).
The Office appears to be mapping Camacho's alleged three-step protocol (ii) onto the claimed three-step method purely by numerical correspondence (three steps in each),
without accounting for the critical qualitative differences. Camacho's first step uses NH4Ac and not a quaternary ammonium salt so it does not satisfy the claimed step (b); Camacho's second step is a linear gradient of NH4Ac, in stark contrast to a second wash solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) SO it cannot satisfy the claimed step (c); and Camacho uses the same salt (NH4Ac) in both the first and second steps, whereas step (b)
of amended claim 1 requires that the second wash solution comprises a constant
concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt present in the
first wash solution. Wang does not cure the deficiencies of Camacho. The Office appears to rely on Wang for teaching the use of mobile phase conditions comprising quaternary alkyl ammonium salts for purifying an AAV preparation using AEX chromatography. In contrast to the present claims, Wang describes using a mobile phase buffer containing quaternary alkyl ammonium salts in a linear gradient (i.e., not a constant concentration) through an AEX chromatography medium to improve separation of full and empty capsids. Wang's method is a continuous linear gradient of tetramethylammonium chloride (TMAC) throughout the entire separation and there is no step at which the concentration of the quaternary ammonium salt is held constant, as recited in step (b) of claim 1.
Further, Wang’s entire method is premised on the use of TMAC throughout the gradient to achieve separation, including during the elution of full capsids. This is opposite of what is recited in step (d) of amended claim 1: Wang requires the elution solution to comprise a linear gradient of quaternary ammonium salt (e.g., TMAC) versus step (d) of amended claim 1 that recites "an elution solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt". Wang's method is an analytical assay designed for quantification of empty and full capsid percentages and not a preparative purification method employing a multi-step wash/elution scheme. The method resolves two peaks (empty and full capsids) within a single continuous gradient run. There is no structural analog in Wang to the three-step scheme of claim 1 let alone a three-step scheme that utilizes a constant concentration of quaternary ammonium salt as recited in step (b) of amended claim 1 or a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) as recited in steps (c) and (d) of amended claim 1.
Khatwani does not cure the deficiencies of Camacho. Khatwani describes a method for separation of empty and full AAV capsids from a rAAV preparation by AEX chromatography using a mobile phase comprising a discontinuous salt gradient comprising an isocratic hold step flanked by modular linear salt gradients. In other words, Khatwani discloses a method of using a mobile phase comprising a gradient salt concentration with an isocratic hold followed by elution of the full capsids using an elution buffer with linear salt concentration gradient. Khatwani's own description confirms this: "The AEX-HPLC analytical approach described in this
manuscript utilizes two short linear gradients flanking either side of an isocratic elution step using an optimally selected eluant, TMAC. The use of an isocratic hold was critical for a full separation of empty capsids while full capsids were still bound to the column. Khatwani's preferred elution buffer is a TMAC-based elution buffer and not "an elution solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt" as recited by claim 1(d).
In view of the foregoing, Applicant submits that the none of the cited references alone or in combination describe each and every element of steps (b), (c), and (d) of amended claim 1 including first wash solution comprising a constant concentration of quaternary ammonium salt followed by a second wash solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt, and an elution solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt.
The presently claimed subject matter is also not obvious because the Office has failed to
properly demonstrate that a skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the cited reference. The Office has not demonstrated why a skilled artisan would take Camacho's two step NH4Ac (not a quaternary ammonium salt) wash plus NaCl elution and substitute the NH4Ac wash with a quaternary ammonium salt from Wang/Khatwani, add a separate second wash solution free of quaternary ammonium salt, and use an elution step also free of quaternary ammonium salt. And even if a skilled artisan was incentivized to make substitutions to Camacho's method based on teachings of Khatwani and/or Wang, which Applicant disputes, then Applicant submits that the skilled artisan would have selected Khatwani's "optimal" elution buffer, which is a TMAC-based elution buffer or Wang's linear gradient of TMAC, as opposed to what is recited in step (d) of amended claim 1.
Indeed, Khatwani elutes full capsids with increasing TMAC and Wang elutes with a TMAC gradient. The claimed method does the opposite: it confines the quaternary salt to the first wash and removes it before a non-quaternary elution. So the very references cited for the teachings of use of a quaternary ammonium salt teach against removing it before elution, which defeats the motivation to combine and negates a reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2141.02.
Even if a prima facie case of obviousness could be made against the claims, and Applicant does not concede that it could, the unexpected benefits achieved by Applicant's claimed method would be sufficient to rebut the prima facie case.
The presence of empty AAV particles in a gene therapy product may increase the overall dose required to achieve therapeutic efficacy and may promote an immune response (e.g., development of neutralizing antibodies or T-cell activation) upon administration to a patient. Applicant's claimed method provides a solution for separating full AAV particles from empty AAV particles in rAAV preparations.
Example 17 of the as-filed application evaluates the trade-offs between the percentage of full capsid particles eluted and the step yield (genome recovery %), comparing methods that use a constant concentration of a quaternary ammonium salt (TEA-Ac) against methods that use NaCl in process buffers, with both constant and gradient elution variants tested in parallel for each process. FIG. 23 depicts a plot of step yield (genome recovery %) on the y-axis against percentages of full capsid particles on the x-axis, wherein open markers denote data from anion exchange chromatography runs using NaCl process buffers, closed markers denote data from runs using a constant concentration of TEA-Ac wash, circles denote runs using constant concentration of elution solution, and squares denote runs using gradient elution. While a general trade-off trend between full capsid percentage and step yield was observed for both the NaCl process and the isocratic TEA-Ac wash process, both the step yield and the percentages of full capsid particles in eluates were better for the runs that used a constant concentration of TEA-Ac wash, as evidenced by the rightward shift of the trend line for the solid markers relative to the trend line for the open markers in FIG. 23 (figure re-produced below for convenience).
Critically, this rightward shift of the entire TEA-Ac trend line demonstrates that the claimed method does not merely trade yield for purity but rather, it achieves a simultaneous improvement in both full capsid purity and genome recovery relative to the NaCl process across all conditions tested. Applicant submits that the presently disclosed methods represent an improvement over previously disclosed methods of separating empty capsid particles from full capsid particles. This simultaneous improvement in both metrics is unexpected and unpredictable from the teachings of the cited prior art, none of which discloses or suggests that the selective use of a wash step using a constant concentration of quaternary ammonium salt followed by a second wash and elution using a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt would shift the entire purity-yield trade-off curve in a favorable direction, rather than simply moving along it.
Example 13 of the as-filed application tests the effects of combining the use of divalent ions and elution using a constant concentration of an elution solution "isocratic elution" on the separation of full and empty capsid particles, using samples of AAV8.1 material run on CIMmultus® QA columns under one of three conditions: (1) NaCl with gradient elution; (2) tetraethylammonium chloride (TEAC) gradient and 2 mM MgCl₂ with gradient elution; and (3) TEAC and 2 mM MgCl₂ with isocratic elution. As shown in FIG. 18A, using TEAC and MgCl₂ in a gradient elution method improved the step yield by 2.3-fold; however, using TEAC and MgCl₂ in an isocratic elution method improved the percentage of full capsid particles by 1.8-fold, while maintaining a step yield comparable to that of the step yield obtained with the NaCl gradient.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive because:
The examiner notes that claim 1’s limitations in steps (c) and (d) do not require absence of a quaternary ammonium salt in the second wash solution and elution solution, but merely that one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt is at a constant concentration.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that none of the cited references, alone or in combination, disclose or suggest all the elements of amended claim 1 including: (i) "passing at least one volume of a first wash solution comprising a constant concentration of quaternary ammonium salt through the anion exchange medium to obtain a wash fraction comprising the empty capsid particles", that is not the case, as Khatwani discloses use of isocratic holds within a gradient at preselected ionic strengths, and that an isocratic hold at 19% TMAC proved optimal for complete isolation of an empty AAV 6 peak (p. 550, bridging para.). Accordingly, use of an isocratic hold with buffer components, such as quaternary ammonium salts, known to allow for separation of empty and full AAV capsids would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the cited references alone or in combination fail to disclose or suggest (ii) "passing at least one volume of a second wash solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt through the anion exchange medium to obtain a second wash fraction comprising the quaternary ammonium salt", Wang discloses mobile phase conditions of 20 mM Tris (pH 9.0, 2 mM MgCl2), and MgCl2 is another salt. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the steps and buffer conditions to obtain the best separation of empty vs full AAV capsid particles.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the cited references alone or in combination fail to disclose or suggest (iii) "passing at least one volume of an elution solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt through the anion exchange medium to elute the full capsid particles", the cited references, including Camacho, disclose elution of full AAV capsids with NaCl buffer at a constant concentration, and NaCl is not a quaternary ammonium salt.
Regarding Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The skill in the art is high, and one of ordinary skill in the art is capable of reading, understanding, and optimizing different experimental conditions to separate empty and full AAV capsid particles. Each of Camacho, Wang, and Khatwani are concerned with AAV purification by anion-exchange chromatography, and disclose a number of wash and elution buffers and strategies capable of separating empty from full AAV capsids.
The cited references disclose wash solutions with constant concentrations, and isocratic holds of salts. The cited references also disclose elution solutions with constant concentrations of salts. Accordingly, in determining that the claimed method is obvious, the examiner relies on the combination of references and the high skill of a practitioner in the art and his or her capacity to routinely optimize methods of full AAV purification, rather than any single reference.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that the combination of references fails to provide a reasonable expectation of success, or specifically that the skilled artisan would have selected Khatwani’s “optimal” elution buffer, which is TMAC-based elution buffer or Wang’s linear gradient of TMAC, as opposed to what is recited in step (d) of amended, claim 1, and that Khatwani elutes full capsids with increasing TMAC, Wang elutes with a TMAC gradient, while the claimed method does the opposite, Khatwani also discloses isocratic holds of TMAC to get rid of empty capsid particles, prior to further elution of full capsids, as discussed above. Applicant is reminded that preferred embodiments are not the only teaching of a reference.
“The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). See also > Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005)(reference disclosing optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component); < Celeritas Technologies Ltd. v. Rockwell International Corp., 150 F.3d 1354, 1361, 47 USPQ2d 1516, 1522-23 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (The court held that the prior art anticipated the claims even though it taught away from the claimed invention. “The fact that a modem with a single carrier data signal is shown to be less than optimal does not vitiate the fact that it is disclosed.”).
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). “A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.” In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994). Furthermore, “[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed….” In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Additionally, the claims do not exclude a quaternary ammonium salt being present in the elution solution, rather, step (d) of claim 1 merely requires a constant concentration of one or more salts that is not a quaternary ammonium salt.
Regarding the asserted unexpected benefits achieved by Applicant's claimed method, the claims are not commensurate in scope with the unexpected benefits. For example, Figure 23’s regression plots utilize an isocratic TEA-Ac wash, whereas the claims encompass any solution with a quaternary ammonium salt in the first wash buffer. As for Applicant’s Example 13 and Figure 18A, which use TEAC and 2 mM MgCl2 in an isocratic elution method, the claims are not limited to those components, and their use is obvious for reasons described in the previous Office action’s rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103 and herein.
(Previous Rejection Maintained) Claims 39 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Camacho, et al. (Bionatura. Vol 4 No 4 2019. Doi. 10.21931/rb/2019.04.01.4), Wang, et al. (Mol Ther Methods Clin Dev. 2019 Sep 26; 15:257-263. PMID: 31720304) and Khatwani, et al. (Mol Ther Methods Clin Dev. 2021 Apr 9;21:548-558. Doi: 10.1016/j.omtm.2021.04.003. PMID: 339710), as applied above, in view of Nielsen et al. (Analytical Biochemistry 313 (2003) 128-132).
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but are found to be unpersuasive
Applicant presents the following arguments:
Nielsen provides no teaching whatsoever about how to design a method for separating empty and full AAV capsids, let alone a scheme involving a first wash with a constant concentration of quaternary ammonium salt followed by a second wash and elution with a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that are not quaternary ammonium salt.
Claims 39 and 41, depend directly or indirectly from amended claim 1, and are therefore allowable for at least the same reasons as claim 1. Nielsen does not remedy the deficiencies of Camacho, Wang, and Khatwani, and the § 103 rejection of claims 39 and 41 should be withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive because:
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Nielsen is related to the field of liquid column chromatography, and demonstrates that tetraethylammonium acetate is known as a quaternary ammonium salt that can be used in mobile phase solutions in said field.
As described above, claim 1 is rendered obvious by the claimed references.
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 9, 21, 34, 39, 41, 46-47, 52, 88, 91, 92, 96, and 104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a New Matter rejection.
Claim 1 recites “(d) passing at least one volume of an elution solution comprising a constant concentration of one or more salt(s) that is not a quaternary ammonium salt through the anion exchange medium to elute the full capsid particles, wherein the elution solution comprises at least one salt in common with the second wash solution at a different concentration than the second wash solution” on lines 10-14. Accordingly, amended claim 1 encompasses embodiments where the elution solution comprises a gradient of a quaternary ammonium salt.
Applicant’s amendment filed 8/5/2026 directs support to throughout the claims and specification as originally filed including at least at paragraphs [0007], [0012], [0096], [0117], [0132], [0138], [0141], and [0154].
Notably, the claims and specification, as filed, or originally, do not provide for an elution buffer with a quaternary ammonium salt, in which the ammonium salt concentration does not stay constant.
Such limitation recited in the present claims, which did not appear in the specification, as filed, introduces new concepts and violates the description requirement of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. §112. Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in response to this Office Action. Alternatively, Applicant is invited to provide sufficient written support for the “limitation” indicated above. See MPEP §714.02, §2163.05-06, and §2173.05(i).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
No claim is allowed.
/JEFFREY MARK SIFFORD/Examiner, Art Unit 1671 /Michael Allen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1671