DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/5/24 has/have been acknowledged and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 12 and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Valen et al. (U.S. Pub. 2013/0085484 hereinafter “Van Valen”).
Regarding claims 1 and 27, Van Valen discloses a device and method for performing treatment of biological tissue, comprising: a laser system configured to provide a laser beam having a wavelength within a range of 3.0 microns (pm) to 3.25 pm inclusive (e.g. ¶49) and a spot size within a range of 10 microns to 45 microns inclusive (e.g. ¶48); and a controller coupled to the laser system and configured to scan the laser beam over the biological tissue in an injury pattern, the injury pattern having a pitch that is sized to be in a range of 0.1 mm to 1 mm inclusive (e.g. ¶95; [0.1-1mm pattern distance]).
Regarding claims 2 and 28, Van Valen further discloses wherein the spot size is within a range of 30 micron to 45 micron inclusive (e.g. ¶48).
Regarding claim 5, Van Valen further discloses wherein the injury pattern is an array of spots or lines (e.g. ¶31).
Regarding claim 12, Van Valen further discloses wherein each spot in the array of spots and each line in the array of lines has an ablation depth within a range of 25 micron to 3000 micron inclusive (e.g. ¶45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Valen as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 12 and 27-28 above, and further in view of Fried et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,221,068 hereinafter “Fried”).
Regarding claims 3-4, Van Valen discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly disclosing the radiant exposure of the laser system. However, Fried teaches that it is known to use a laser system with similar parameters and a radiant exposure between 30 and 4000J as set forth in Column 23, lines 49-53 to provide radiant exposure that is enough to provide therapy but not enough to cause injury. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Van Valen, with the radiant exposure as taught by Fried, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using known values that are enough to provide therapy but not enough to cause injury.
Regarding claim 13, Van Valen discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly disclosing the intensity profile being a quasi-gaussian/flat top profile. However, Fried teaches that it is known to use a laser system with similar parameters and a gaussian profile as set forth in Column 23, lines 49-53 to provide targeted exposure while minimizing exposure on the edges of the beam. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Van Valen, with the gaussian profile as taught by Fried, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of targeted exposure while minimizing exposure on the edges of the beam.
Claim(s) 6-8, 10-11 and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Valen as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 12 and 27-28 above, and further in view of Sercel et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0179523 hereinafter “Sercel”).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 29-31, Van Valen discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly disclosing the density and depth of the spots and lines. However, Sercel teaches that it is known to use a laser system with similar that provides for spots with a density in the range of 100-10000 spots per centimeter a depth of 25-3000 microns as set forth in Figure 18A and Paragraphs 53, 95-97 to provide a density and depth that provides effective ablation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Van Valen, with the density and depth as taught by Sercel, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a density and depth that provides effective ablation.
Regarding claims 10-11, Van Valen discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly disclosing the density and depth of the spots and lines. However, Sercel teaches that it is known to use a laser system with similar that provides for spots decreased spots near the array edge as set forth in Paragraph 62 to provide reduced energy at the edges to provide separation and reduced cracking of the tissue. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Van Valen, with the reduced density of spots at the edges as taught by Sercel, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing reduced energy at the edges to provide separation and reduced cracking of the tissue.
Claim(s) 19-20 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Valen as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 12 and 27-28 above, and further in view of Lin (U.S. Pat. 6,258,082) and Borguet et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0321767 hereinafter “Borguet”).
Regarding claims 19-20 and 23, Van Valen discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly disclosing the how the handpiece of figure 12 is constructed. However, Lin teaches a laser system with similar construction and parameters that teaches a laser source(s) (e.g. 19, 20), a wavelength conversion (e.g. 3), a scanner (e.g. 4), a optical focusing system (e.g. 5), and an optical fiber(s) (e.g. 21, 22) to supply the laser energy. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Van Valen, with laser handle construction as taught by Lin, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using well-known laser delivery handle construction to provide laser therapy. Van Valen in view of Lin teaches the claimed device, but fails to explicitly state that the generator is a difference frequency generator that comprises a optical parametric oscillator. However, Borguet teaches that it is known to use OPO to provide exact frequency mixing to provide mid-IR frequencies for treatment as taught in Paragraphs 33 and 77. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Van Valen in view of Lin, with OPO difference frequency generators as taught by Borguet, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using well-known frequency mixing to provide mid-IR frequencies for treatment.
Regarding claim 24, meeting the limitations of claim 19 above, Lin further discloses wherein the laser module comprises two diode pumped fiber laser sources (e.g. Abstract, Column 9, lines 32-42).
Regarding claims 25-26, meeting the limitations of claim 19 above, Borguet further teaches wherein laser radiation emitted from each of the two diode pumped fiber laser sources is mixed and delivered to the difference frequency generator by the optical fiber (e.g. ¶¶33, 77).
Conclusion
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796