Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 15-24, in the reply filed on July 22nd, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jo (US 2018/0097229 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Jo discloses an anode material comprising silicon-based nanoparticles [0071] that combine with a carbonaceous material [0072] to form a primary particle [0060]. Another porous carbonaceous material surrounds the primary particles to form secondary particles [0086]. These secondary particles may be further enclosed by a protective layer [0094] that is able to conduct lithium ions [0094].
Regarding claim 21, the porous carbonaceous material may be amorphous carbon [0089].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 22, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo.
Regarding claim 20, Jo teaches that the thickness of the coating layer may be in the range of 1 nm – 20 nm [0098], overlapping with the claimed range of 1 nm – 500 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 22, Jo teaches that the porosity of the secondary particles may be in the range of 20% - 50% [0091]. Jo continues to teach that when the porosity is in that range, the particles may have the space to withstand the expansion of the primary particles [0091], implying that the secondary particles have this porosity before said expansion. In other words, the particles would have this porosity in an uncharged state. The range of 20% - 50% overlaps with the claimed range of 20% - 70%. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 23, Jo teaches that the primary particles may have a diameter in the range of 100 nm – 15 µm [0084], overlapping with the claimed range of 10 nm – 500 nm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 24, Jo teaches that the secondary particles may have a diameter in the range of 5 µm – 25 µm [0093], overlapping with the claimed range of 0.5 µm – 20 µm. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo as applied to claim 15 and further in view of Matsumoto (US 2019/0027742 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Jo teaches an ionically conductive protective layer but does not explicitly teach the claimed solid electrolyte. Matsumoto is analogous art because both Jo and Matsumoto discuss batteries (Jo, title; Matsumoto, title). Matsumoto teaches that solid electrolytes may be used in layers around negative active material [0017]. Therefore, Matsumoto’s solid electrolyte is suitable to be used in Jo’s protective layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use Matsumoto’s solid electrolyte as a protective layer for Jo’s secondary particles. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claims 17 – 19, Matsumoto teaches that the solid electrolyte may be Li7La3Zr2O12 (as required by claim 19; [0023]). This garnet compound satisfies the general formula of claim 18 when the value of “x” is 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shin (US 2021/0111395 A1) teaches a negative active material comprised of secondary particles comprising silicon-based primary particles encased by a carbon layer (abstract).
/R.B.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722