DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed 7/21/2026.
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 11, 15-16, 30, 32, 34, 38-39, 46, 49, 57, 59-62 are pending.
Claims 3-4, 8-10, 12-14, 17 29, 31, 33, 35-37, 40-45, 47-48, 50-56, and 58 have been cancelled.
The following rejections are modified as necessitated by amendment with response to arguments following.
This action is FINAL.
Withdrawn Objections and Rejections
The objection to the claims made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
The 35 USC 112b rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims and cancellation of claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,5,6,7,11,15,16,30,32,34,46,49,57, 59-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konstantinidis et al (RBMO April 2020 Vol 40 p. 479-493) in view of Jasper et al. (WO 2020/077400 April 23, 2020).
With regard to claim 1, Konstantinidis et al teaches isolating nucleic acids from an embryonic cell (p. 480 last paragraph). Konstantinidis et al teaches detection of SNP analysis using nucleic acid isolated (p. 481). Konstantinidis et al teaches copy number variation and single nucleic variation (p. 481-482). However, Konstantinidis does not teach use of terminated nucleic acid replication (e.g. LAMP) and sequencing.
With regard to claim 2, Konstantinidis et al teaches trophectoderm cells (p. 480 last paragraphs).
With regard to claims 5, Konstantinidis et al teaches aneuploidy analysis (p. 481).
With regard to claim 7, Konstantinidis et al teaches detection of trisomy 21 (p. 483 middle column).
With regard to claim 15, Konstantinidis et al teaches detection of cell from a 5-day old blastocyte (p. 483 1st column last parpaghra).
With regard to claim 16, Konstantinidis et al teaches 3 to 10 cells were used (p. 480 last parpaghra).
With regard to claim 34, Konstantinidis et al teaches trophectoderm cells (p. 480 last paragraphs).
With regard to claim 46, Konstantinidis et al. teaches isolating cells from a pregnant woman within early states (less than 5 weeks) (p. 488 middle column).
With regard to claim 57, and 60-62, Konstantinidis et al. teaches obtaining isolating nucleic acids from an embryonic cell (p. 480 last paragraph). Konstantinidis et al teaches detection of SNP analysis using nucleic acid isolated (p. 481). Konstantinidis et al teaches determining copy number variation and single nucleic variation (p. 481-482). Konstantinidis et al teaches 3 to 10 cells were used (p. 480 last parpaghra). However, Konstantinidis does not teach use of terminated nucleic acid replication (e.g. LAMP).
However, Konstantinidis et al does not teach PGT testing or specific methods of detection of primers and sequencing.
With regard to claim 1, although Konstantinidis et al. does not teach the particular workflow for detecting of abnormalities in the sample, Jasper et al. teaches using primer, polymerase, and the use of LAMP assay and sequencing (para 9, 14, and 68-76). LAMP assay involves the use of a termination nucleotide (para 68).
With regard to claim 6, Jasper et al teaches that sequencing was used to determine nucleic acids in embryo cells (p. 5). Jasper et al. teaches that the first step before sequencing is to prepare the cells using PGT-A (para 5).
With regard to claim 11, Jasper et al. teaches that one can screen deletion, duplication (para 37) that would include whole duplication of a chromosome.
With regard to claims 30, Jasper et al. teaches whole genome sequencing that can include all exons (para 5 and 60).
With regard to claim 32, and 57 although Konstantinidis et al. does not teach the particular workflow for detecting of abnormalities in the sample, Jasper et al. teaches using primer, polymerase, and the use of LAMP assay (para 9, 14, and 68-76). LAMP assay involves the use of a termination nucleotide (para 68).
With regard to claim 49, and 59, Konstantinidis et al. teaches that the termination is a locked nucleic acid (para 68-76).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Konstantinidis et al. to use known methods of detecting variants in an embryonic cell sample including the method of Jasper et al. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to use the methods of Jasper et al as Jasper et al taches sequencing and LAMP assays that are known methods of detecting variants. Further Jasper et al teaches that this methodology can be used to detect embryonic cells.
Response to Arguments
The reply traverses the rejection. A summary of the arguments is provided below with response to arguments following. The reply asserts that Konstantinidis does not provide the steps of terminator (p. 9). The reply asserts that Jasper only describes the use of a reversible terminator-based sequencing in the context of NGS and not strand displacement (p. 10). These arguments have been reviewed but have not been found persuasive. Although Jasper et al. does teach NGS (which would encompass sequencing), the combination of Konstantinidis et al. and Jasper suggests the combination of steps that includes LAMP, which encompasses terminators in strand displacement. As such the combination of claims encompass the required steps of the claim.
Claim(s) 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konstantinidis et al (RBMO April 2020 Vol 40 p. 479-493) and Jasper et al. (WO 2020/077400 April 23, 2020) as applied to claims 6,11,28,30,31,32,34,46,49,57, 59-62 in view of Becherer et al. (Anal Methods Jan 2020 Vol 12 p. 717).
Konstantinidis et al teaches isolating nucleic acids from an embryonic cell (p. 480 last paragraph). Konstantinidis et al teaches detection of SNP analysis using nucleic acid isolated (p. 481). As such Konstantinidis et al teaches a sample workflow. Konstantinidis et al teaches determining copy number variation and single nucleic variation (p. 481-482). Jasper et al. teaches using primer, polymerase, and the use of LAMP assay (para 9, 14, and 68-76). LAMP assay involves the use of a termination nucleotide (para 68).
However, Konstantinidis et al and Jasper et al do not teach labeling with an antibody.
With regard to claims 38-39, Becherer et al. teaches LAMP assays for sequence specific detection (abstract). Becherer et al. teaches the use of antibody attached for LAMP assay (p. 730).
Therefore it would be prima facie to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to use one of the finite known labeling methods for LAMP assays as taught by Becherer et al. The ordinary artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success as Becherer et al teaches use of the label for sequence specific detection.
Response to Arguments
The reply traverses the rejection. A summary of the arguments is provided below with response to arguments following. The reply does not provide any other arguments other than what is addressed above (p. 10).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed,
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682