Detailed Action
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 02/15/2024 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 02/15/2024. Claims 21-38 are now pending in the present application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 01/10/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 21-22, 24-26, 30-31 and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Applicant provided documents Xiaofei (IEEE 802.11-20/551r5, Power efficient Broadcasting, March 2020, hereinafter Xiaofei), in view of, Hitoshi (IEEE 802.11-21/0239r2, Resolutions for Clause 11.100.2, May 2021, hereinafter Hitoshi).
Regarding Claim 21, Xiaofei disclose, a station (STA) (see e.g., “AP advertises a schedule for broadcast service”, page 7, line 5, method 3) comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a fast initial link setup (FILS) discovery frame, from an access point (AP) that the STA is not associated with, the FILS discovery frame including an enhanced broadcast services (EBCS) information frame transmission countdown field (see e.g., “AP schedules broadcast for certain duration of time at periodic intervals…the AP would provide the broadcast service (i.e., broadcast the stream). This schedule information is broadcasted advertised by an eBCS capable AP. E.g., broadcast Probe Response frame, FILS Discovery frame or a new frame…Beacons may include some indicators on where schedule information can be found. Interested STA(s) would know when to expect the broadcast and for how long. STAs can tuned to the channel or wake-up during that time to receive the service”, page 7, lines 6-14);
Xiaofei fails to explicitly disclose the receiver configured to receive an EBCS information frame from the AP that the STA is not associated with based on the received EBCS information frame transmission countdown field.
In the same field of endeavor, Hitoshi disclose the receiver configured to receive an EBCS information frame from the AP that the STA is not associated with based on the received EBCS information frame transmission countdown field (see e.g., “The EBCS provides the service that an EBCS AP distributes multicast contents to both associated and unassociated EBCS receivers…An EBCS AP shall advertise the capabilities of the EBCS in the EBCS support field in the extended capabilities element in Beacon frames and Probe Response frames…The EBCS Info frame shall be transmitted immediately after the indicated Beacon frame”, sec. 11.100.2.1, Page 9, lines 4-13 and/or “An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frame…An EBCS receiver shall authenticate all EBCS info frames and EBCS data frames by the authentication…”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5 and Page 11, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order to meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 22, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined discloses, wherein the EBCS information frame transmission countdown field indicates a number of target beacon transmission time (TBTT) until a transmission of a next EBCS information frame by the AP that the STA is not associated with (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS AP shall advertise the next EBCS info frame transmission timing in the EBCS info frame TX countdown field in the EBCS parameters element”, page 9, sec. 11.100.2.2, lines 4-6 and/or “an EBCS AP distributes multicast contents to both associated and unassociated EBCS receivers…”, page 9, sec. 11.100.2.1, lines 1-2; Examiner’s note: advertising the next EBCS info frame transmission timing corresponds to TBTT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 24, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined discloses, wherein the EBCS information frame transmission countdown field is included in an EBCS parameters element (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS AP shall advertise the next EBCS info frame transmission timing in the EBCS info frame TX countdown field in the EBCS parameters element”, page 9, sec. 11.100.2.2, lines 4-6 and/or “An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frame…An EBCS receiver shall authenticate all EBCS info frames and EBCS data frames by the authentication…”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5 and Page 11, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 25, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined discloses, wherein the received EBCS information frame includes information on available EBCS traffic streams (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS receiver finds an EBCS capable AP by receiving Beacon Probe Response or EBCS info frame. An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 26, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined discloses, a processor configured to select an available EBCS traffic stream based on the received EBCS information frame (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS receiver finds an EBCS capable AP by receiving Beacon Probe Response or EBCS info frame. An EBCS is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-6);
wherein the receiver is configured to receive the selected EBCS traffic stream based on the received EBCS information frame (see Hitoshi e.g., “…An EBCS is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 30, Xiaofei disclose, a method for use in a station (STA) (see e.g., “AP advertises a schedule for broadcast service”, page 7, line 5, method 3), the method comprising:
receiving a fast initial link setup (FILS) discovery frame, from an access point (AP) that the STA is not associated with, the FILS discovery frame including an enhanced broadcast services (EBCS) information frame transmission countdown field (see e.g., “AP schedules broadcast for certain duration of time at periodic intervals…the AP would provide the broadcast service (i.e., broadcast the stream). This schedule information is broadcasted advertised by an eBCS capable AP. E.g., broadcast Probe Response frame, FILS Discovery frame or a new frame…Beacons may include some indicators on where schedule information can be found. Interested STA(s) would know when to expect the broadcast and for how long. STAs can tuned to the channel or wake-up during that time to receive the service”, page 7, lines 6-14);
Xiaofei fails to explicitly disclose receiving an EBCS information frame from the AP that the STA is not associated with based on the received EBCS information frame transmission countdown field.
In the same field of endeavor, Hitoshi disclose receiving an EBCS information frame from the AP that the STA is not associated with based on the received EBCS information frame transmission countdown field (see e.g., “The EBCS provides the service that an EBCS AP distributes multicast contents to both associated and unassociated EBCS receivers…An EBCS AP shall advertise the capabilities of the EBCS in the EBCS support field in the extended capabilities element in Beacon frames and Probe Response frames…The EBCS Info frame shall be transmitted immediately after the indicated Beacon frame”, sec. 11.100.2.1, Page 9, lines 4-13 and/or “An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frame…An EBCS receiver shall authenticate all EBCS info frames and EBCS data frames by the authentication…”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5 and Page 11, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 31, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined discloses, wherein the EBCS information frame transmission countdown field indicates a number of target beacon transmission time (TBTT) until a transmission of a next EBCS information frame by the AP that the STA is not associated with (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS AP shall advertise the next EBCS info frame transmission timing in the EBCS info frame TX countdown field in the EBCS parameters element”, page 9, sec. 11.100.2.2, lines 4-6 and/or “an EBCS AP distributes multicast contents to both associated and unassociated EBCS receivers…”, page 9, sec. 11.100.2.1, lines 1-2; Examiner’s note: advertising the next EBCS info frame transmission timing corresponds to TBTT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 33, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined discloses, wherein the EBCS information frame transmission countdown field is included in an EBCS parameters element (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS AP shall advertise the next EBCS info frame transmission timing in the EBCS info frame TX countdown field in the EBCS parameters element”, page 9, sec. 11.100.2.2, lines 4-6 and/or “An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frame…An EBCS receiver shall authenticate all EBCS info frames and EBCS data frames by the authentication…”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5 and Page 11, lines 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 34, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined discloses, wherein the received EBCS information frame includes information on available EBCS traffic streams (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS receiver finds an EBCS capable AP by receiving Beacon Probe Response or EBCS info frame. An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 35, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined discloses, selecting an available EBCS traffic stream based on the received EBCS information frame (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS receiver finds an EBCS capable AP by receiving Beacon Probe Response or EBCS info frame. An EBCS is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-6);
receiving the selected EBCS traffic stream based on the received EBCS information frame (see Hitoshi e.g., “…An EBCS is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 2-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Claims 23 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Applicant provided documents Xiaofei, in view of, Hitoshi, and further in view of QUE et al. (CN 115209353 A, hereinafter Que).
Regarding Claim 23, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined fails to explicitly disclose , wherein the EBCS information frame transmission countdown field is two bytes in length.
In the same field of endeavor, Que discloses wherein the EBCS information frame transmission countdown field is two bytes in length (see e.g., “the switching time information field includes eBCS SP duration (occupying 0 or 2 bits), eBCSSP interval (occupying 0 or 2 bits), and the start time of the next eBCS service (occupying 0 or 2 bits)”, [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Hitoshi with Que, in order to use information fields occupying 2 bits for transition from source to target access point (see Que, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding Claim 32, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined fails to explicitly disclose , wherein the EBCS information frame transmission countdown field is two bytes in length.
In the same field of endeavor, Que discloses wherein the EBCS information frame transmission countdown field is two bytes in length (see e.g., “the switching time information field includes eBCS SP duration (occupying 0 or 2 bits), eBCSSP interval (occupying 0 or 2 bits), and the start time of the next eBCS service (occupying 0 or 2 bits)”, [0134]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Hitoshi with Que, in order to use information fields occupying 2 bits for transition from source to target access point (see Que, paragraph [0007]).
Claims 27-29 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Applicant provided documents Xiaofei, in view of, Hitoshi, and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2013/0283346 A1, hereinafter Sun).
Regarding Claim 27, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined fails to explicitly disclose , wherein the FILS discovery frame includes robust secure network (RSN) information when the AP that the STA is not associated with is transmitting an EBCS traffic stream that requires association.
In the same field of endeavor, Sun discloses wherein the FILS discovery frame includes robust secure network (RSN) information when the AP that the STA is not associated with is transmitting an EBCS traffic stream that requires association (see e.g., “the AP may transmit an 802.11 medium access control (MAC) frame (e.g., a beacon) message containing a robust security network (RSN) information element (IE) with FILS authentication information. Upon encountering the medium access control frame message, the client initiates a FILS authentication request and response protocol where the client requests FILS authentication and the AP responds with the RSN IE with FILS authentication information. If FILS authentication is unsuccessful due to, for example, an elapsed timer, FILS Deauthentication 302 occurs…”, [0024] and/or “the AP transmits a probe response with FILS information to a client in response to a probe request from that client. In other words, the AP participates with the client in a request/response procedure for FILS authentication”, [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Hitoshi with Sun, in order to facilitate rapid authentication in wireless communications (see Sun, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding Claim 28, Xiaofei, Hitoshi and Sun combined discloses the processor configured to select an EBCS traffic stream that requires association (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS receiver finds an EBCS capable AP by receiving Beacon Probe Response or EBCS info frame. An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-6 and/or “An EBCS receiver shall authenticate all EBCS Info frames and EBCS Data frames by the authentication mechanism specified in the EBCS info Authentication algorithm subfiled…”, page 11, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Sun with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Sun discloses, a transmitter and the processor configured to perform FILS authentication with the AP that the STA is not associated with using the RSN information (see Sun e.g., “the AP may transmit an 802.11 medium access control (MAC) frame (e.g., a beacon) message containing a robust security network (RSN) information element (IE) with FILS authentication information. Upon encountering the medium access control frame message, the client initiates a FILS authentication request and response protocol where the client requests FILS authentication and the AP responds with the RSN IE with FILS authentication information. If FILS authentication is unsuccessful due to, for example, an elapsed timer, FILS Deauthentication 302 occurs…”, [0024] and/or “the AP transmits a probe response with FILS information to a client in response to a probe request from that client. In other words, the AP participates with the client in a request/response procedure for FILS authentication”, [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Hitoshi with Sun, in order to facilitate rapid authentication in wireless communications (see Sun, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding Claim 29, Xiaofei, Hitoshi and Sun combined discloses wherein the receiver is configured to receive the selected EBCS traffic stream that requires association subsequent to the performance of FILS authentication (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS receiver shall authenticate all EBCS Info frames and EBCS Data frames by the authentication mechanism specified in the EBCS info Authentication algorithm subfiled…”, page 11, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5 and/or “An EBCS receiver finds an EBCS capable AP by receiving Beacon Probe Response or EBCS info frame. An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Sun with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Regarding Claim 36, Xiaofei and Hitoshi combined fails to explicitly disclose , wherein the FILS discovery frame includes robust secure network (RSN) information when the AP that the STA is not associated with is transmitting an EBCS traffic stream that requires association.
In the same field of endeavor, Sun discloses wherein the FILS discovery frame includes robust secure network (RSN) information when the AP that the STA is not associated with is transmitting an EBCS traffic stream that requires association (see e.g., “the AP may transmit an 802.11 medium access control (MAC) frame (e.g., a beacon) message containing a robust security network (RSN) information element (IE) with FILS authentication information. Upon encountering the medium access control frame message, the client initiates a FILS authentication request and response protocol where the client requests FILS authentication and the AP responds with the RSN IE with FILS authentication information. If FILS authentication is unsuccessful due to, for example, an elapsed timer, FILS Deauthentication 302 occurs…”, [0024] and/or “the AP transmits a probe response with FILS information to a client in response to a probe request from that client. In other words, the AP participates with the client in a request/response procedure for FILS authentication”, [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Hitoshi with Sun, in order to facilitate rapid authentication in wireless communications (see Sun, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding Claim 37, Xiaofei, Hitoshi and Sun combined discloses selecting an EBCS traffic stream that requires association (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS receiver finds an EBCS capable AP by receiving Beacon Probe Response or EBCS info frame. An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-6 and/or “An EBCS receiver shall authenticate all EBCS Info frames and EBCS Data frames by the authentication mechanism specified in the EBCS info Authentication algorithm subfiled…”, page 11, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Sun with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Sun discloses, performing FILS authentication with the AP that the STA is not associated with using the RSN information (see Sun e.g., “the AP may transmit an 802.11 medium access control (MAC) frame (e.g., a beacon) message containing a robust security network (RSN) information element (IE) with FILS authentication information. Upon encountering the medium access control frame message, the client initiates a FILS authentication request and response protocol where the client requests FILS authentication and the AP responds with the RSN IE with FILS authentication information. If FILS authentication is unsuccessful due to, for example, an elapsed timer, FILS Deauthentication 302 occurs…”, [0024] and/or “the AP transmits a probe response with FILS information to a client in response to a probe request from that client. In other words, the AP participates with the client in a request/response procedure for FILS authentication”, [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Hitoshi with Sun, in order to facilitate rapid authentication in wireless communications (see Sun, paragraph [0001]).
Regarding Claim 38, Xiaofei, Hitoshi and Sun combined discloses receiving the selected EBCS traffic stream that requires association subsequent to the performance of FILS authentication (see Hitoshi e.g., “An EBCS receiver shall authenticate all EBCS Info frames and EBCS Data frames by the authentication mechanism specified in the EBCS info Authentication algorithm subfiled…”, page 11, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5 and/or “An EBCS receiver finds an EBCS capable AP by receiving Beacon Probe Response or EBCS info frame. An EBCS receiver is able to know when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted by the EBCS parameters element in Beacon frames and probe response frames. An EBCS receiver may select the EBCS traffic stream to receive and consume”, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Xiaofei and Sun with Hitoshi, in order meet IEEE standards, by receiver of the EBCS knowing when the next EBCS info frame is transmitted (see Hitoshi, page 10, sec. 11.100.2.3, lines 1-5).
Conclusion
/FARID SEYEDVOSOGHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645