DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on April 30, 2026 has been entered and considered and an action on the merits follows.
Specification
The proposed amendment to the abstract and the specification filed on April 30, 2026 has been acknowledged and approved. The amendment sufficiently overcomes the disclosure informalities noted in the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bosga et al. (hereinafter “Bosga”) (EP 1981701 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Bosga discloses a material processing machine comprising:
an upper processing tool (23) and a lower processing tool (see claim 1), the upper processing tool and the lower processing tool being configured for interacting with each other in order to process a material (see claim 1),
a drive unit (fig. 1) comprising an electric machine (20) and a flywheel (35), wherein at least one of the upper processing tool (23) and the lower processing tool is coupled to the electric machine (20) via the flywheel (35) (fig. 1) such that the at least one of the upper processing tool and the lower processing tool is movable in a reciprocating manner with respect to the other one of the upper processing tool and the lower processing tool, wherein the flywheel (35) is between the electric machine (20) and the at least one of the upper processing tool (23) and the lower processing tool,
an electrical supply unit (see para. 69) being electrically connected to the electric machine such that the electric machine is operable as an electric motor, and
an electrical energy recovery unit (see para. 69) being electrically connected (see fig. 1) to the electric machine (20) such that the energy recovery unit is able to store or transfer electrical energy provided by the electric machine operating as an electric generator (para. 69 and claims 12-13), the flywheel (35) being rigidly connected to a shaft of the electric machine (20) (fig. 1).
As to the processing machine is used to process a packaging material, as recited in the preamble, said recitation is used to describe an intended use of the processing device. Recitations of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art teaches the structures of the claimed invention, then the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, therefore, the prior art meets the claimed limitation. See In Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2111.02 and 2114(11).
Regarding claim 2, the material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the energy recovery unit comprises an electric storage means (see claim 13).
Regarding claim 3, the material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the energy recovery unit is connected to a direct current line of the electrical supply unit (see fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, the packaging material processing machine according to claim 3, wherein the energy recovery unit comprises an alternating-current converter (see “converter” in para. 68).
Regarding claim 5, the packaging material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the energy recovery unit comprises a frequency converter (see “a frequency converter” in para. 54).
Regarding claim 6, the material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the energy recovery unit comprises a connection means (fig. 1) for electrically connecting the energy recovery unit to an electricity supply grid. Bosga discloses the processing machine includes an electrical drive system (i.e. electric motors (20 and 22), it is well known in the mechanical art that all machines that have access to electricity are connected to the electricity supply grid in order to receive electricity (Also see “a grid or power network” in col. 11, line 11).
Regarding claim 8, the material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the upper processing tool and the lower processing tool are hot foil stamping tools (see specification col. 16, line 4).
Regarding claim 11, the material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the drive unit further comprises a clutch means (30), and wherein the flywheel (35) is arranged between the electric machine (20) and the clutch means (30) (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, the material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the flywheel is configured for suppressing vibrations within the drive unit (see “reduce audible noise, vibration” in the specification col. 8, lines 54-44).
Regarding claim 13, the material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the electric machine is an AC machine (see “AC supply” in the specification, col. 11, lines 18-19), and wherein the electrical supply unit comprises a variable-frequency converter (see “a frequency converter” in the specification col. 11, line 20) for operating the electric machine (20) at varying speed (see “First drive motor 20, which may… be a servo motor”” in the specification col. 11, lines 9-10, in which servo motor is arranged for variable speed).
Regarding claim 14, the material processing machine according to claim 3, wherein the direct current line is a direct current bus of the electrical supply unit, and wherein the energy recovery unit is connected to the direct current bus (see “fieldbus” in the specification, col. 20, line 4).
Regarding claim 15, the material processing machine according to claim 2, wherein the electric storage means comprises a capacitor and/or a battery (see para. 69, line 14).
Regarding claim 16, the material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the lower processing tool is fixed and the upper processing tool (23) is coupled to a vertical guiding means (25, 27) such that the upper processing tool is vertically movable with respect to the lower processing tool (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, the packaging material processing machine according to claim 6, wherein the energy recovery unit is configured to transfer electrical energy provided by the electric machine operating as an electric generator to the electricity supply grid via the connection means (see para. 69 and 83).
Regarding claim 18, the material processing machine according to claim 11, wherein the flywheel is arranged such that an effect of the flywheel is available regardless of an operating state of the material processing machine (para. 42 and 45-46).
Regarding claim 19, the material processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the electric machine has sufficient power to operate the at least one of the upper processing tool and the lower processing tool (see “connected to a grid or power network” in col. 11, line 11, which provides sufficient power to the electric machine 20), and wherein the flywheel is used only to suppress vibrations (see “reduce audible noise, vibration” in the specification col. 8, lines 54-44) and not to store kinetic energy for operating the at least one of the upper processing tool and the lower processing tool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosga in view of Huang (CN 204480833 U).
Regarding claim 7, Bosga discloses the invention substantially as claimed as set forth above. Bosga does not expressly disclose two or more drive units each comprising an electric machine and a flywheel, wherein the drive units are connected in parallel to the electrical energy recovery unit.
Huang discloses a stamping press having two drive units (5,7) and (8,9), each comprising an electric motor (5, 9) and a flywheel (7,8). (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine of Bosga to include two drive units each comprising an electric machine and a flywheel, as taught by Huang and connected in parallel to the electrical energy recovery unit, for precise control of power output in a pressing operation.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bosga in view of Liao (CN 108527907 A).
Regarding claim 10, the material processing machine according to claim 1, Bosga discloses the drive unit comprising an eccentric (27) connected to the upper processing tool (23) via a lever (25) (fig. 1) for converting a rotational driving motion of the electric machine (20) into a reciprocating movement of the upper processing tool. Bosga does not expressly disclose the lever is a toggle lever.
Liao discloses a press comprising a drive unit including an eccentric drive (7, 13) connected to the upper processing tool (15) via a toggle lever mechanism (18 and 20 (fig. 3) for converting a rotational driving motion of an electric machine (4) into a reciprocating movement of the upper processing tool (15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to drive unit of Bosga to include a toggle mechanism, as taught by Liao, in order to enable heavy clamping or forming without requiring massive motor by multiplying small input forces into large output forces at the upper processing tool.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725