DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on January 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract is objected to because it includes the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,”. Therefore, the phrase, “comprises” should be changed to “includes”. Additionally, the reference numbers and “Figure 1 (last line)” should be deleted.
The disclosure is objected to because it fails to include section headings.
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A COMPACT DISC.
(f) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(g) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(h) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(i) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(j) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(k) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) SEQUENCE LISTING (See MPEP § 2424 and 37 CFR 1.821-1.825. A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document on compact disc).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, last line, the limitation, “the flywheel being rigidly connected to the drive unit” is indefinite because the flywheel is part of the drive unit (see line 6). The flywheel must connect to a part that make up the drive unit and cannot connect to the overall drive unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tado (DE 10 2012 217629 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tado discloses a processing machine comprising:
an upper processing tool (Cu) and a lower processing tool (Cl), the upper processing tool (Cu) and the lower processing tool (Cl) being configured for interacting with each other in order to process a material (fig. 1),
a drive unit (figs. 1 and 3) comprising an electric machine (a motor 40) and a flywheel (30), wherein at least one of the upper processing tool (Cu) and the lower processing tool (Cl) is coupled to the electric machine (40) via the flywheel (30) such that the at least one of the upper processing tool (Cu) and the lower processing tool (Cl) is movable in a reciprocating manner with respect to the other one of the upper processing tool and the lower processing tool (see page 5, paragraphs 5-7 of the English translation).
an electrical supply unit (51) being electrically connected to the electric machine (40) (fig. 1) such that the electric machine is operable as an electric motor (40) (see page 5, second paragraph of the English translation), and
an electrical energy recovery unit (52-55) being electrically connected to the electric machine (40) such that the energy recovery unit is able to store or transfer electrical energy provided by the electric machine operating as an electric generator, the flywheel (30) being rigidly connected to a part of the drive unit (fig. 1).
As to the processing machine is used to process a packaging material, as recited in the preamble, said recitation is used to describe an intended use of the processing device. Recitations of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art teaches the structures of the claimed invention, then the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, therefore, the prior art meets the claimed limitation. See In Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2111.02 and 2114(11).
Regarding claim 2, the processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the energy recovery unit comprises an electric storage means (see “a rechargeable battery may be used as the electricity storage part” on page 5, second paragraph of the English translation).
Regarding claim 3, the processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the energy recovery unit (52-55) is connected to a direct current line of the electrical supply unit (51) (see fig. 1 and see “direct current” on page 5, first paragraph of the English translation).
Regarding claim 4, the processing machine according to claim 3, wherein the energy recovery unit (52-55) comprises an alternating-current converter (a converter 52, see page 5, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 5, the processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the energy recovery unit (52-55) comprises a frequency converter (a converter 55, see page 5, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, the processing machine according to claim 1, wherein the energy recovery unit (52-55) comprises a connection means for electrically connecting the energy recovery unit (52-55) to an electricity supply grid (Masashi discloses the processing machine includes the electrical supply unit (51), it is well known in the mechanical art that all machines that have access to electricity are connected to the electricity supply grid in order to receive electricity).
Regarding claim 8, the packaging material processing machine, according to claim 1, wherein the upper processing tool (Cu)and the lower processing tool (Cl) are hot foil stamping tools (see “stamp” on page 3, paragraph 8 of the English translation and “hot” on page 6, paragraph 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tado in view of Huang (CN 204480833 U).
Regarding claim 7, Tado discloses the invention substantially as claimed as set forth above. Tado does not expressly disclose two or more drive units each comprising an electric machine and a flywheel, wherein the drive units are connected in parallel to the electrical energy recovery unit.
Huang discloses a stamping press having two drive units (5,7) and (8,9), each comprising an electric motor (5, 9) and a flywheel (7,8). (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine of Tado to include two drive units each comprising an electric machine and a flywheel, as taught by Huang and connected in parallel to the electrical energy recovery unit, for precise control of power output in a pressing operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed on the attached PTO 892 is cited to show:
US 7,805,973 discloses a processing machine comprising a flywheel (35) and an electric motor (20), and connection means for electrically connecting an energy recovery unit to an electricity supply grid (col. 6, lines 42-54).
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725