DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 6 May 2024 has been considered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because "AID" should read "ALD". A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7, line 1, recites “the conductive polymers comprise…”. It is unclear if the conductive polymers are required, as claim 6 does not require the conductive substrate comprise conductive polymers. This limitation is interpreted as requiring the conductive substrate comprises conductive polymers.
Claim 18, line 1, recites “the conductive polymers comprise…”. It is unclear if the conductive polymers are required, as claim 6 does not require the conductive substrate comprise conductive polymers. This limitation is interpreted as requiring the conductive substrate comprises conductive polymers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11-13, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hards (US 2015/0086902) in view of Sathasivam (“Tungsten Doped TiO2 with Enhanced Photocatalytic and Optoelectrical Properties via Aerosol Assisted Chemical Vapor Deposition”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hards discloses a method of applying a thin film catalyst coating (applying a thin film catalyst coating meets the limitation of depositing an active catalyst composition) on a support [0036], the method comprising: providing a support material (support material meets the limitation of a supporting substrate) comprising a fibre, wherein the fibre comprises doped titanium oxide [0044]. Hards further discloses the fibres may be produced by electrospinning [0044], and the greatest cross-sectional dimension of the fibre support material is in the range of 30 to 500 nm [0044], such that the electrospun fibres of Hards meet the limitation of electrospun fibrous nanowires. Hards further discloses applying the thin film catalyst coating onto a surface of the support via atomic layer deposition [0036]-[0037]. Hards further discloses the thin film catalyst coating comprises iridium oxide [0015].
Hards is silent to the electrospun fibrous nanowire comprising tungsten doped titanium dioxide.
Hards, however, discloses the support material comprises doped titanium oxide [0044].
Sathasivam discloses tungsten (W) is an ideal dopant that is soluble in a TiO2 matrix because it commonly occurs in the 6+ oxidation state and in that state has a smaller ionic radius than Ti4+; hence, there is potential to obtain better conductivity and transparency compared to Nb and Ta (pg. 2 par. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hards to incorporate the teachings of Sathasivam wherein the doped titanium oxide is tungsten doped, because tungsten is an ideal dopant that is soluble in a TiO2 matrix because it commonly occurs in the 6+ oxidation state and in that state has a smaller ionic radius than Ti4+; hence, there is potential to obtain better conductivity and transparency compared to Nb and Ta, as recognized by Sathasivam (pg. 2 par. 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Hards discloses the support material is a fibre comprising a conductive metal oxide [0044], such that the supporting substrate of Hards is a conductive substrate.
Regarding Claim 11, Hards discloses the thin film catalyst coating exists as elements that may be of various different geometries, wherein the elements may be discrete, with no contact between neighbouring elements [0040], such that the active catalyst composition of Hards is deposited in islands comprising separate catalyst locations on the surface of the supporting substrate.
Regarding Claim 12, Hards discloses the thin film catalyst coating has a mean thickness of ≤ 8 nm [0013], which overlaps the claimed range of 0.1-100 nm such that the range taught by Hards obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding Claim 13, Hards discloses a catalytic material (a catalytic material meets the limitation of a catalyst composition) comprising a support material (support material meets the limitation of a substrate) comprising a fibre, wherein the fibre comprises a conductive metal oxide such as doped titanium oxide [0044], such that the supporting substrate of Hards is a conductive substrate. Hards further discloses the fibres may be produced by electrospinning [0044], and the greatest cross-sectional dimension of the fibre support material is in the range of 30 to 500 nm [0044], such that the electrospun fibres of Hards meet the limitation of electrospun fibrous nanowires. Hards further discloses applying the thin film catalyst coating (thin film catalyst coating meets the limitation of an active catalyst) onto a surface of the support [0036]. Hards further discloses the thin film catalyst coating comprises iridium oxide [0015].
Hards is silent to the electrospun fibrous nanowire comprising tungsten doped titanium dioxide.
Hards, however, discloses the support material comprises doped titanium oxide [0044].
Sathasivam discloses tungsten (W) is an ideal dopant that is soluble in a TiO2 matrix because it commonly occurs in the 6+ oxidation state and in that state has a smaller ionic radius than Ti4+; hence, there is potential to obtain better conductivity and transparency compared to Nb and Ta (pg. 2 par. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hards to incorporate the teachings of Sathasivam wherein the doped titanium oxide is tungsten doped, because tungsten is an ideal dopant that is soluble in a TiO2 matrix because it commonly occurs in the 6+ oxidation state and in that state has a smaller ionic radius than Ti4+; hence, there is potential to obtain better conductivity and transparency compared to Nb and Ta, as recognized by Sathasivam (pg. 2 par. 1).
Regarding Claim 22, Hards discloses the thin film catalyst coating exists as elements that may be of various different geometries, wherein the elements may be discrete, with no contact between neighbouring elements [0040], such that the active catalyst composition of Hards is deposited in islands comprising separate catalyst locations on the surface of the supporting substrate.
Regarding Claim 23, Hards discloses the thin film catalyst coating has a mean thickness of ≤ 8 nm [0013], which overlaps the claimed range of 0.1-100 nm such that the range taught by Hards obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claims 6-7 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hards (US 2015/0086902) in view of Sathasivam (“Tungsten Doped TiO2 with Enhanced Photocatalytic and Optoelectrical Properties via Aerosol Assisted Chemical Vapor Deposition”) and Yang (CN 108193500).
Regarding Claim 6, Hards and Sathasivam teach the elements as described above with regards to claim 2.
Hards discloses carbon nanofibres produced by the carbonisation of electrospun polymer nanofibres are used as the support material [0082].
Hards is silent to the conductive substrate comprising the doped titanium oxide and carbon nanotubes, silicon nanowires, nanofibers of conductive polymers, or combinations thereof.
Hards, however, discloses the catalytic material is used as an electrode of a fuel cell [0059].
Yang discloses a composite fiber electrocatalyst for fuel cells [0002], wherein the catalyst uses a composite nanofiber as a carrier (carrier meets the limitation of substrate; [0007]). Yang further discloses the composite nanofiber is a metal oxide nanofiber with a conductive polymer deposited on its surface (metal oxide-conductive polymer composite nanofibers meets the limitation of nanofibers of conductive polymers; [0008], [0022], [0032]), wherein the conductive polymer is polyaniline and the metal oxide is TiO2 [0009]. Yang further discloses the electrocatalyst for fuel cells overcomes the insufficient conductivity of metal oxide supports [0032], and improved performance of the electrocatalyst with a polymer-modified TiO2 nanosupport due to the increased conductivity of the support [0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hards to incorporate the teachings of Yang, wherein the conductive substrate further comprises nanofibers of conductive polymers, because polymer-modified TiO2 nanosupport have an improved electrocatalyst performance for fuel cells and overcome the insufficient conductivity of metal oxide supports due to the increased conductivity of the support, as recognized by Yang ([0032], [0049]).
Regarding Claim 7, Yang discloses the conductive polymer is polyaniline [0009].
Regarding Claim 17, Hards and Sathasivam teach the elements as described above with regards to claim 13.
Hards discloses carbon nanofibres produced by the carbonisation of electrospun polymer nanofibres are used as the support material [0082].
Hards is silent to the conductive substrate comprising the doped titanium oxide and carbon nanotubes, silicon nanowires, nanofibers of conductive polymers, or combinations thereof.
Hards, however, discloses the catalytic material is used as an electrode of a fuel cell [0059].
Yang discloses a composite fiber electrocatalyst for fuel cells [0002], wherein the catalyst uses a composite nanofiber as a carrier (carrier meets the limitation of substrate; [0007]). Yang further discloses the composite nanofiber is a metal oxide nanofiber with a conductive polymer deposited on its surface (metal oxide-conductive polymer composite nanofibers meets the limitation of nanofibers of conductive polymers; [0008], [0022], [0032]), wherein the conductive polymer is polyaniline and the metal oxide is TiO2 [0009]. Yang further discloses the electrocatalyst for fuel cells overcomes the insufficient conductivity of metal oxide supports [0032], and improved performance of the electrocatalyst with a polymer-modified TiO2 nanosupport due to the increased conductivity of the support [0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hards to incorporate the teachings of Yang, wherein the conductive substrate further comprises nanofibers of conductive polymers, because polymer-modified TiO2 nanosupport have an improved electrocatalyst performance for fuel cells and overcome the insufficient conductivity of metal oxide supports due to the increased conductivity of the support, as recognized by Yang ([0032], [0049]).
Regarding Claim 18, Yang discloses the conductive polymer is polyaniline [0009].
Conclusion
/S.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735