Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, corresponding to claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 8/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/12/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “S506” in Fig. 5. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words in length. See 37 CFR 1.72(b). Further, in the last sentence, “the at least one observable event” lacks antecedent basis, as the preceding sentence recites “an observable event”; “in other one” should read “in the other one”; and “switching element elements” appears to be a typographical error. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The incorporation by reference of the international patent application PCT/EP2022/073668 and of the European patent application EP21194064.8 is ineffective as it was added on the date of entry into the national phase, which is after the filing date of the instant application. The filing date of this national stage application is the filing date of associated PCT, in this case 8/25/2022, see MPEP 1893.03(b). Therefore, the specification amendment of 2/15/2024 to include the incorporation by reference is new matter, per MPEP 608.01(p).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 13, lines 23-24, “the electrical components 110 to 150 ... have already been described in connection with Figure 2” should read “... in connection with Figure 1”; and
On page 14, line 1, “the controller 10” should read “the controller 100.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “and other one of the first switching element” in line 9, which should read “and the other one of the first switching element”;
Claim 1 recites “wherein a fault is detected” in line 14, which should read “wherein the fault is detected”;
Claim 3 recites “upon detecting a fault” in line 2, which should read “upon detecting the fault”; and
Claim 6 recites “comprises detecting an electrical current flowing” in line 2, which should read “comprises an electrical current flowing,” since the observable event is the current flow itself, not the act of detecting it, consistent with claim 4 which recites the event as “an increase of a temperature.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “heating arrangement” in claim 1.
Regarding the term “heating arrangement” in claim 1, the recited function is heating an aerosol substrate. The corresponding structure disclosed in the specification is a heater (e.g., a coil, a coil-and-wick combination) described on page 6, lines 24-30, and equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, it is noted that the contingent limitation of “disabling the heating arrangement upon detecting a fault” may never occur (MPEP 2111.04). In particular, the claim does not positively recite the condition precedent, for example, that the at least one observable event is determined to occur during the first time period, such that a fault is detected, as recited in claim 1. Since the recited “if the at least one observable event is determined to occur during the first time period” condition need not be satisfied to meet the requirements of the claim, the follow-on recited step of “disabling the heating arrangement” need not occur in order to satisfy the claim. As such, the examiner does not need to present evidence establishing the obviousness of the conditional “disabling” step, because it is not required to be performed under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. As a result of the contingent limitation, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Recommend positively reciting this contingent limitation.
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that the contingent limitation of “performing the detecting if the measured temperature is below a predetermined threshold” may never occur (MPEP 2111.04). In particular, the claim does not positively recite the condition precedent, for example, that the measured temperature is below the predetermined threshold. Since the recited “if the measured temperature is below a predetermined threshold” condition need not be satisfied to meet the requirements of the claim, the follow-on recited step of “performing the detecting” need not occur in order to satisfy the claim. As such, the examiner does not need to present evidence establishing the obviousness of the conditional “performing the detecting” step, because it is not required to be performed under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. As a result of the contingent limitation, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Recommend positively reciting this contingent limitation.
Claim 7 recites “an electrical power supply” in line 2, while claim 1, from which claim 7 depends, recites “an electrical power source” in line 2. It is unclear whether the “electrical power supply” is the same as, part of, or separate from the “electrical power source.” In particular, the specification discloses that the electrical power source may itself be a connector couplable to an electrical power source external to the device (p. 5, lns. 10-19), such that the device would always be coupled to an external power supply during operation. Thus, it is unclear what coupling event triggers performance of the method, and the scope of the claim cannot be determined. For purposes of examination, “an electrical power supply” is interpreted as a power supply external to the aerosol generation device, such as an external power supply coupled to the charging arrangement, consistent with the specification on page 16, lines 16-20.
Claims 7-9 each recite that “the method is performed upon” a detection, namely, “detecting that the device is coupled to an electrical power supply” in claim 7, “detecting a decrease in a temperature of the heating arrangement indicating an end of a use of the device” in claim 8, and “detecting a start of a use of the device” in claim 9. It is unclear whether each recited detection can be included within the method of claim 1. Rather, it appears that each detection must occur outside the method of claim 1, since the method of claim 1 is performed upon the detection. As a result, it is unclear whether claims 7-9 are directed to the method for an aerosol generation device according to claim 1, or to something more than this method, and the metes and bounds of claims 7-9 are unclear. For purposes of examination, each recited detection is interpreted as a step of the method of claim 1. Recommend including the conditions of claims 7-9 within the metes and bounds of the method according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bernauer et al. (US 20170303595 A1) hereinafter Bernauer.
Regarding claim 1, Bernauer discloses, in Figs. 1 and 3, a method for an aerosol generation device (100, “electrically heated aerosol-generating device”) ([0005]: “a method of controlling an electric heater in an electrically heated smoking system”), wherein the device (100) comprises
a heating arrangement (14, “heating element”) for heating an aerosol substrate (12, “aerosol-forming substrate”) ([0052]: “The aerosol-forming substrate 12 is pushed inside the housing 10 to come into thermal proximity with the heating element 14”; [0054]: “the heating element 14 is an electrically resistive track or tracks deposited on a ceramic substrate,” which is a heater, i.e., the structure corresponding to the claimed “heating arrangement” under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), or an equivalent thereof),
an electrical power source (16, “electrical energy supply”) ([0053]: “Within the housing 10 there is an electrical energy supply 16, for example a rechargeable lithium ion battery”),
a first switching element (32, “first switch”) for controlling a supply of electrical power from the electrical power source (16) to the heating arrangement (14) ([0016]: “The first switch may be operated by the control circuitry to provide power to the heating element as pulses of electric current”), and
a second switching element (34, “second switch”) for decoupling the heating arrangement (14) from the electrical power source (16) ([0007]: “the step of stopping further supply of electrical power to the heater may comprise switching a second switch”),
wherein the heating arrangement (14), the first switching element (32) and the second switching element (34) are arranged in series between terminals of the electrical power source (16) (Fig. 3 shows the configuration of the first switch 32 and the second switch 34 satisfying the claimed limitation; [0055]: “the heater 14 is connected to electrical ground through a low side switch 32... The heater 14 is connected to the battery voltage through a high side switch 34),
the method comprising detecting a fault in the device (100) ([0057]: “To detect a fault with the first switch a monitoring system is provided”) by:
controlling, during a first time period, one of the first switching element (32) and the second switching element (34) to be on and other one of the first switching element (32) and the second switching element (34) to be off ([0056]: “During normal operation of the system, the second MOSFET 34 is maintained on... The first MOSFET 32 is switched on and off by the controller 18 in accordance with a particular duty cycle”; [0005]: “during inactive periods power is not supplied to the heater”; the inactive period, during which the second switch 34 is on and the first switch 32 is controlled to be off, is interpreted as the claimed first time period, the second switch 34 being the claimed “one of” and the first switch 32 being the claimed “other one”), and
determining whether at least one observable event occurs during the first time period ([0058]: “The trigger component 38 receives the discharge voltage of the RC circuit and is configured to switch second switch off when the discharge voltage falls below a predetermined threshold”), the at least one observable event indicating that an amount of power is transferred to the heating arrangement (14) ([0058]: “When the first switch 32 is on, the voltage at the low side switch is very close to ground and the RC circuit discharges”; [0056]: “Almost all of the battery voltage is then dropped across the heater and the heater heats up as a result of the Joule effect”; the discharge voltage of the RC circuit 36 falling below the threshold is interpreted as the claimed observable event),
wherein a fault is detected in the other one (32) of the first switching element (32) and the second switching element (34) if the at least one observable event is determined to occur during the first time period ([0057]: “If there is a fault with the first switch and it stays on allowing current to flow through the heater continuously the temperature of the heater will rise in an uncontrolled manner”; [0060]: “If the discharge voltage of the RC circuit falls below the triggering threshold of the trigger component, the second switch is switched to an off state and so power to the heater is stopped”; [0008]: “The time constant of the RC circuit may be greater than twice the duration of the pulses of electrical power provided to the heater”; because normal on-periods cannot trigger the threshold, when the first switch 32 stays on the discharge voltage necessarily falls below the threshold after the commanded on-period has ended, i.e., while the first switch 32 is controlled to be off and the second switch 34 is on, such that the observable event necessarily occurs during the first time period; See MPEP 2112.02(I): “if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device”).
Fig. 1 of Bernauer
Fig. 3 of Bernauer
Regarding claim 3, Bernauer discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising disabling the heating arrangement (14) upon detecting a fault ([0005]: “if the discharge voltage of the capacitor drops below a threshold voltage level, then stopping further supply of electrical power to the heater”; [0061]: “this arrangement can be used to ensure that the second switch is always turned off before the heater is able to reach a dangerous or even undesirable temperature”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernauer et al. (US 20170303595 A1) hereinafter Bernauer, in view of Imura et al. (US 20190271743 A1) hereinafter Imura.
Regarding claim 2, Bernauer discloses the method of claim 1, the second switch (34) being the claimed “one of” and the first switch (32) being the claimed “other one.”
Bernauer does not explicitly disclose wherein the detecting comprises: controlling, during a second time period different from the first time period, the one of the first switching element and the second switching element to be off and the other one of the first switching element and the second switching element to be on, and determining whether the at least one observable event occurs during the second time period, wherein a fault is detected in the one of the first switching element and the second switching element if the at least one observable event is determined to occur during the second time period.
However, Imura teaches, in Figs. 8-9 and 12, a power supply protective device (abstract) and a switch failure diagnosing method ([0134]: “the CPU 2400 diagnoses switch failures of the first switch 2310 and the second switch 2350”) wherein the detecting comprises:
controlling, during a second time period different from the first time period, the one of (2350, “second switch,” being the “one of”) the first switching element (2310, “first switch”) and the second switching element (2350) to be off and the other one (2310, being the “other one”) of the first switching element (2310) and the second switching element (2350) to be on (the second switch failure diagnosing processing is performed after the first switch failure diagnosing processing; [0174]: “the CPU 2400 subsequently executes second switch failure diagnosing processing of diagnosing a switch failure of the second switch 2350 (S2160)”; [0176]: “the CPU 2400 transmits the open instruction signal to the second switch 2350 and transmits the close instruction signal to the third switch 2360 while maintaining transmission of the close instruction signal to the first switch 2310 (S2710)”; the examiner construes Imura’s “closed state” as corresponding to “on” and “open state” as corresponding to “off”), and
determining whether the at least one observable event occurs during the second time period ([0177]: “The CPU 2400 compares the intermediate voltage VC obtained at S2730 and the threshold voltage VT (S2750)”; [0178]: “when the first switch 2310 has no closed failure and the second switch 2350 has a closed failure, the intermediate voltage VC becomes approximately equal to the power supply side voltage VB”; the examiner construes the intermediate voltage VC not less than the threshold voltage VT, indicating conduction through the second switch 2350 controlled to be off, as corresponding to the observable event), wherein a fault is detected in the one (2350) of the first switching element (2310) and the second switching element (2350) if the at least one observable event is determined to occur during the second time period ([0178]: “When the intermediate voltage VC is not less than the threshold voltage VT (S2750: NO), the CPU 2400 determines that the second switch 2350 has a closed failure (S2760)”; [0136]: “”a closed failure” represents a failure in which a switch fails to enter the open state and remains in the closed state even when given an open instruction”).
Bernauer is analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, aerosol generation devices. Imura is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, namely detecting a failure of a switch that controls the supply of power from a power source to a load (Imura, [0006], [0214]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Bernauer to further control, during a second time period different from the first time period, the second switch 34 to be off and the first switch 32 to be on, and to detect a fault in the second switch 34 if conduction through the second switch 34 is observed, as taught by Imura, in order to diagnose “switch failures of the first switch [] and the second switch []” (Imura, [0134]), thereby verifying that the second switch 34 can stop the power supply to the heater 14 (Bernauer, [0060]). Since the heater 14 and the switches 32, 34 are in series (Bernauer, [0055]), such conduction through the second switch 34 results in current through the heater 14, i.e., an amount of power transferred to the heating arrangement.
Fig. 8 of Imura
Fig. 9 of Imura
Fig. 12 of Imura
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernauer et al. (US 20170303595 A1) hereinafter Bernauer, in view of Lee (US 20210007404 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Bernauer discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one observable event comprises an increase of a temperature of the heating arrangement.
However, Lee teaches, in Fig. 6, an aerosol-generating device (abstract) wherein the at least one observable event comprises an increase of a temperature of the heating arrangement (45, “heater”) ([0077]: “due to a malfunction of a processor, the heater may generate heat when it is not supposed to do so, or may generate excessive heat against a temperature profile”; [0097]: “the first processor 43 may receive the temperature value of the heater 45 measured by a temperature sensor”; [0098]: “when the received temperature value is out of a safe heating temperature range or not consistent with the temperature profile, the first processor 43 may output the first control signal to open the first switch 41”; the examiner construes the heater generating heat when it is not supposed to, as detected from the received temperature value, as corresponding to the increase of a temperature of the heating arrangement).
Bernauer and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of aerosol generation devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Bernauer such that the observable event comprises an increase of a temperature of the heater 14, as taught by Lee, in order to “determine that the aerosol-generating device is malfunctioning” (Lee, [0098]), thereby detecting the failure of the first switch 32 in which “the temperature of the heater will rise in an uncontrolled manner” (Bernauer, [0057]).
Fig. 6 of Lee
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernauer et al. (US 20170303595 A1) hereinafter Bernauer, in view of Lee (US 20210007404 A1), and further in view of Lin et al. (US 20170164658 A1) hereinafter Lin.
Regarding claim 5, Bernauer in view of Lee teaches the method of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach measuring, prior to the first time period, the temperature of the heating arrangement, and performing the detecting if the measured temperature is below a predetermined threshold.
However, Lin teaches, in Figs. 4 and 9, an electronic cigarette capable of temperature control ([0004]), comprising
measuring, prior to the first time period , the temperature of the heating arrangement (R, “heating coil”) ([0049]: “starting to read electronic signals about temperature at an end FB by the chip U1”; [0052]: “cutting off the power supply immediately... before the temperature of the heating coil R goes down below a preset threshold temperature 210° C”; the examiner construes the reading of the temperature signal at the end FB before power is restored to the heating coil R as corresponding to measuring, prior to the first time period, the temperature of the heating arrangement), and
performing the detecting if the measured temperature is below a predetermined threshold ([0053]: “supplying power to the heating coil R to atomizes the e-liquid normally... till the temperature of the heating coil R goes down below the preset threshold temperature 210° C... continuing supplying power to the heating coil R if the chip U1 detects the electronic signal about temperature at the end FB is normal”; the examiner construes the preset threshold temperature 210 °C as corresponding to the predetermined threshold, and the restoring of power, and thus of the heating operation with its temperature monitoring, only when the measured temperature is below the threshold as corresponding to performing the detecting if the measured temperature is below the predetermined threshold).
Lin is analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endeavor, aerosol generation devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Bernauer in view of Lee to measure the temperature of the heater 14 before supplying power and to perform the heating operation only if the measured temperature is below a predetermined threshold, as taught by Lin, in order that the method “limits the temperature of the heating unit to under the threshold temperature, so that the problem of over-temperature of the heating unit can be avoid[ed]” (Lin, [0029]), thereby preventing “excessive temperatures being reached” (Bernauer, [0002]). Since Bernauer’s detecting is performed during the heating operation (Bernauer, [0056] and [0059]), the detecting in the modified method is performed only if the measured temperature is below the predetermined threshold.
Fig. 4 of Lin
Fig. 9 of Lin
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernauer et al. (US 20170303595 A1) hereinafter Bernauer, in view of Fisher et al. (US 20190387795 A1) hereinafter Fisher.
Regarding claim 6, Bernauer discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one observable event comprises detecting an electrical current flowing from the electrical power source to the heating arrangement.
However, Fisher teaches, in Figs. 3 and 5-6, a vaporizer device (300)
wherein the at least one observable event comprises detecting an electrical current flowing from the electrical power source (350, “power source”) ([0039]: “a power source 350 (such as a lithium battery)”) to the heating arrangement (480, “pod heating element”) ([0048]: “Heater control 405 can provide an integrated heat path and current source for heating of the pod heating element 480”; [0050]: “The integrated current monitor 540 can include an ADC 542, analog front end 543, and switch 544 coupled to the drive line (out+) to measure current through the drive line (out+)”; [0058]: “current draw can increase and a short can be detected by a protection comparator 605”; the examiner construes the current measured through the drive line to the pod heating element 480 as corresponding to the detected electrical current flowing from the electrical power source to the heating arrangement).
Bernauer and Fisher are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of aerosol generation devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Bernauer such that the at least one observable event comprises detecting an electrical current flowing from the electrical energy supply 16 to the heater 14, as taught by Fisher, in order to provide “circuitry that enables improved vaporizer operation including improved heater performance and failsafe features” (Fisher, [0036]), thereby providing “consistent and reliable detection of a switch failure” (Bernauer, [0006]).
Fig. 3 of Fisher
Fig. 5 of Fisher
Fig. 6 of Fisher
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernauer et al. (US 20170303595 A1) hereinafter Bernauer, in view of Hoffman et al. (US 20180020727 A1) hereinafter Hoffman.
Regarding claim 7, Bernauer discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the method is performed upon detecting that the device is coupled to an electrical power supply.
However, Hoffman teaches, in Figs. 2-4, an electronic smoking device (10, “e-cigarette”) wherein the method is performed upon detecting that the device (10) is coupled to an electrical power supply (46, “charger”) ([0058]: “The communication mode 64 can be triggered by, for example, connecting the e-cigarette 10 to a charger 46 (represented by connector link 80). While in the communication mode 64, the e-cigarette 10 can detect the charger 46 and announce itself by sending a first signal or message to the charger 46”; [0062]: “the e-cigarette 10 can wake to run a diagnostic operation in the diagnostic sub-mode of the communication mode 64. The periodicity of the waking can be controlled by a timer or triggered by some other event (e.g., connecting the e-cigarette 10 to the charger 46, the atomizer/liquid reservoir 16, a carry case, etc.)”; [0063]: “one more tests can be run on the constituent systems of the e-cigarette 10 (e.g., the control electronics 24, the battery 22, the atomizer/liquid reservoir portion 16, etc.)”; the examiner construes the charger 46, which supplies current to the e-cigarette 10 “from an external power source” ([0032]), as corresponding to the electrical power supply, and the diagnostic operation run upon the e-cigarette 10 detecting the charger 46 as corresponding to performing the method upon detecting that the device is coupled to the electrical power supply).
Bernauer and Hoffman are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of aerosol generation devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Bernauer to be performed, as a diagnostic operation, upon detecting that the device is coupled to an external power supply, as taught by Hoffman, in order to “diagnose various parts of the e-cigarette” (Hoffman, [0063]), thereby providing “consistent and reliable detection of a switch failure” (Bernauer, [0006]). Since Bernauer’s detecting requires only that the second switch 34 be on and the first switch 32 be controlled to be off (Bernauer, [0056]-[0058]), such control can be performed as part of the diagnostic operation run upon detection of the charger.
Fig. 2 of Hoffman
Figs. 3A-3C of Hoffman
Fig. 4 of Hoffman
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernauer et al. (US 20170303595 A1) hereinafter Bernauer, in view of Bilat et al. (US 20180020735 A1) hereinafter Bilat.
Regarding claim 8, Bernauer discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the method is performed upon detecting a decrease in a temperature of the heating arrangement indicating an end of a use of the device.
However, Bilat teaches, in Figs. 1a and 2, an electrically heated aerosol-generating system (abstract; Figs. 1a-1d: 10, “aerosol-generating device”) wherein the method is performed upon detecting a decrease in a temperature of the heating arrangement (36, “heater filaments”) indicating an end of a use of the device (10) ([0149]: “as the temperature of the heater filaments rises so does their electrical resistance”; [0158]: “The difference between R.sub.1ref and R.sub.2 may be continually monitored to determine if the heater is cooling sufficiently between puffs. If the difference does not go below a cooling threshold between puffs because puffing is occurring very frequently, the electric circuitry may prevent or limit the supply of power to the heater until the difference falls below the cooling threshold”; the examiner construes the decrease of the resistance difference below the cooling threshold subsequent to a puff as corresponding to detecting a decrease in a temperature of the heating arrangement indicating an end of a use, a puff being a use of the device, and the supply of power to the heater upon that detection as corresponding to performing the method upon the detection).
Bernauer and Bilat are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of aerosol generation devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Bernauer to supply power to the heater 14 upon detecting a decrease in the temperature of the heater 14 after a puff, as taught by Bilat, in order to “slow the undesirable rise in the temperature of the heater from puff to puff” (Bilat, [0096]), thereby helping to “prevent excessive heater temperature” (Bernauer, [0004]). Since Bernauer’s detecting is performed during the heating operation (Bernauer, [0056] and [0059]), the method in the modified method is performed upon detecting a decrease in the temperature of the heater 14 indicating an end of a use of the device.
Figs. 1a and 2 of Bilat
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernauer et al. (US 20170303595 A1) hereinafter Bernauer, in view of Lin et al. (US 20170164658 A1) hereinafter Lin.
Regarding claim 9, Bernauer discloses the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the method is performed upon detecting a start of a use of the device.
However, Lin teaches, in Figs. 4 and 9, an electronic cigarette capable of temperature control ([0004]) wherein the method is performed upon detecting a start of a use of the device ([0049]: “turning on the smoking switch SW when the user begins to smoke, sending a control signal via the end HOT according to a signal at an end KEY1 by a chip U1, connecting a heating coil R to the power supply via a metal oxide semi-conductor field effect transistor M1, starting to read electronic signals about temperature at an end FB by the chip U1”; [0057]: “the smoking switch SW is turned on or off automatically according to the change of pressure in the electronic cigarette detected by the pressure sensor”; the examiner construes the signal at the end KEY1 generated when the user begins to smoke as corresponding to detecting a start of a use of the device).
Bernauer and Lin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of aerosol generation devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Bernauer to start the heating operation upon detecting a start of a use of the device, as taught by Lin, in order to keep the circuit control board disconnected “from a power supply when the electronic cigarette is not in service” (Lin, [0048]), thereby supplying power to the heater 14 only during use. Since Bernauer’s detecting is performed during the heating operation (Bernauer, [0056] and [0059]), the method in the modified method is performed upon detecting a start of a use of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Akao et al. (US 20210161211 A1), Novak et al. (US 20200154779 A1).
/J.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761