DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant an RCE on 04/14/2026. Claims 1 and 6 are amended. Claims 2-3 are cancelled. Claims 1 and 4-13 are presented and pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 103: Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 with respect to Ikeda (US20210086831A1) in view of Andre et al. (US10856465B2) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonny (US10414436B1) in view of Berger et al. (US6735889B1), hereinafter referred to as Bonny and Berger respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Bonny discloses a rolling vehicle comprising; a chassis equipped with at least one pair of drive wheels and a system controlling the rotational driving of the drive wheels of the or of at least one of the pairs of drive wheels, said control system having at least two motors and a control device for each motor, said motors being capable of allowing, for one, the rotational driving of one of the drive wheels, and for the other, the rotational driving of the other of the drive wheels of the pair of drive wheels (“The various speed controls disclosed herein may be used in vehicles such as zero turn lawn and garden tractors, and exemplary vehicles using different types of drive members are depicted herein in FIGS. 17-19. FIG. 17 depicts an exemplary hybrid vehicle 790 on which the control assembly disclosed herein may be used. Vehicle frame 792 supports an optional mowing deck 798 and a pair of front casters 795, along with battery 775 and internal combustion engine 791. Engine 791 drives generator 787 and a standard belt and pulley system 797. A pair of electric transaxles 776L, 776R, each having an electric motor 777, is disposed on opposite sides of vehicle frame 792 and each electric motor 777 drives a gear reduction 778 and an output axle 779 to power a driven wheel 793.” See at least [Col.2-3 ln 57-67 & 1-3] and “a rotation of the pivot bar 116 about a first axis of rotation corresponds to forward and reverse movement of the vehicle, and a neutral position is provided. As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, pivot bar 116 is in its operative position, where it may be rotated about a first axis of rotation, i.e., the axis of shaft 112, to a plurality of forward positions and a plurality of reverse positions. Pivot bar 116 is depicted in these FIGS. 1 and 2 as being in a neutral position. It is also understood that when pivot bar 116 is in this neutral position, it may be pivoted about a second axis of rotation to a position where it engages a switch 150” See at least [Col.3 ln 46-56]).
each control device having a lever controlling the direction of rotation and the speed of rotation of the motor associated with said control device and a first sensor (“pivot bar 116 engages a switch 150” See at least [Col.4 ln 9-10] and “a position sensor engaged to the bracket to sense the position of the shaft” See at least [Col.9 ln 14-15]),
said lever being a pivoting lever with an active state and an inactive state, said lever being, in the so-called active state, mounted, from a so-called neutral position, to be mobile by pivoting about a first pivot axis in a first, so-called forward direction, for a forward drive control at a variable speed of the associated motor, and in a second, so-called reverse direction, opposite the first direction, for a reverse drive control at a variable speed of the associated motor (“a rotation of the pivot bar 116 about a first axis of rotation corresponds to forward and reverse movement of the vehicle, and a neutral position is provided. As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, pivot bar 116 is in its operative position, where it may be rotated about a first axis of rotation, i.e., the axis of shaft 112, to a plurality of forward positions and a plurality of reverse positions. Pivot bar 116 is depicted in these FIGS. 1 and 2 as being in a neutral position.” See at least [Col.3 ln 46-54]),
this lever being, in the active state and in neutral position, further mounted to be mobile by pivoting about a second pivot axis within a range of displacement, in a way that is guided in displacement over a part of this range of displacement, for the switching of said lever from an active state to an inactive state in which any pivoting displacement of the lever about the first pivot axis is prevented (“It is also understood that when pivot bar 116 is in this neutral position, it may be pivoted about a second axis of rotation to a position where it engages a switch 150.”See at least [Col.3 ln 54-56] and “pivot bar 116 is rotatable about a second axis of rotation, namely the axis of rotation of fastener 117, to move from the operative position of FIGS. 1 and 2 to a neutral stop position (or stopped position), wherein pivot bar 116 engages a switch 150.”See at least [Col.4 ln 6-10]),
the first sensor being a sensor for detecting at least one position or range of positions of the associated lever within this range of displacement, this position or range of positions forming a position zone of the lever in which any pivoting displacement about the first pivot axis of the lever, which is guided in displacement, is prevented (“When pivot bar 116 is moved into the neutral stop position, a pair of neutral range stays 110 g restricts forward and reverse rotation of pivot bar 116 and a neutral switch stop 110 f is provided to limit movement of pivot bar 116 toward neutral switch 150 to prevent damage to neutral switch 150 during activation.” See at least [Col.4 ln 43-48] and “when pivot bar 116 is in this neutral position, it may be pivoted about a second axis of rotation to a position where it engages a switch 150.”See at least [Col.3 ln 54-56]),
wherein each control device has a second sensor for detecting the angular position of said associated lever about said first pivot axis, a memory for storing the neutral position of said lever and a control unit configured to acquire the data from said second sensor and to, in the active state of the lever, control the speed and the direction of rotation of the associated motor as a function of the data from the second sensor and of the stored neutral position (“a position sensor engaged to the bracket to sense the position of the shaft, the position sensor comprising a magnet attached to one end of the shaft, a circuit board having a magnetic field sensor chip and a microprocessor chip having CAN bus communication capability” See at least [Col.7 ln 35-40] and “to provide sensor data to … controllers” See at least [Col.4 ln 56-57]),
Bonny does not explicitly teach and in that the vehicle has at least one operating mode, called calibration, in which the control unit is configured to order a storage of the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor, related the angular position of said associated lever about said first pivot axis, at least as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, said data from said first sensor being either one of the lever being in the position zone or the lever being displaced in the direction of an exit from and/or entry into the position zone, as detected by the first sensor
However, Berger does teach and in that the vehicle has at least one operating mode, called calibration, in which the control unit is configured to order a storage of the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor, related the angular position of said associated lever about said first pivot axis, at least as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, said data from said first sensor being either one of the lever being in the position zone or the lever being displaced in the direction of an exit from and/or entry into the position zone, as detected by the first sensor (Fig.4 “The present invention relates to the calibration of a neutral position for hand or foot manual controls such as would be used in a work vehicle “ See at least [Col.1 ln1-2] and “In step 202, controller 110 receives a new set of control and position sensor input data from each control and position sensor 122, 124, 126, and 128. … The new set of control and position sensor input data should correspond to, or be approximately representing, the biased neutral control position for the four manual controls and are referred to as the ‘new neutral sensor values’ (NNU).In step 204, controller 110 then retrieves the four memorized and stored ‘average neutral values’ (PNA) … from the memory storage device 111.In step 206, controller 110 calculates the updated or new ‘moving average’ (NNA) of the neutral sensor value as follows: NNA_i = See at least [(PNA_{i-1}) * (n - 1) + NNU_i] / n …In step 208, the newly calculated NNA is stored in the non-volatile memory storage device 111 as the PNA_i, and the previous PNA_{i-1} is discarded.” See at least [Col.13-14 ln 26-67 & 1-14]).Both Bonny and Berger teach methods for controlling an mowing vehicle during different modes of operation. However, Berger explicitly teaches and in that the vehicle has at least one operating mode, called calibration, in which the control unit is configured to order a storage of the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor, related the angular position of said associated lever about said first pivot axis, at least as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, said data from said first sensor being either one of the lever being in the position zone or the lever being displaced in the direction of an exit from and/or entry into the position zone, as detected by the first sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control method of Bonny to also include and in that the vehicle has at least one operating mode, called calibration, in which the control unit is configured to order a storage of the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor, related the angular position of said associated lever about said first pivot axis, at least as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, said data from said first sensor being either one of the lever being in the position zone or the lever being displaced in the direction of an exit from and/or entry into the position zone, as detected by the first sensor, as taught by Berger, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the method of vehicle control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least See at least [Berger, Col.1 & 13-14]).
Regarding claim 4,
Bonny does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit which is configured to, in the so-called calibration operating mode, order a storage of the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor at least as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, is configured to order said storage if the datum supplied by the second sensor corresponds to an angular position value of the lever that is different from the value of the neutral position previously stored.
However, Berger does teach wherein the control unit which is configured to, in the so-called calibration operating mode, order a storage of the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor at least as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, is configured to order said storage if the datum supplied by the second sensor corresponds to an angular position value of the lever that is different from the value of the neutral position previously stored (“controller 110 then retrieves the four memorized and stored ‘average neutral values’ (PNA) …controller 110 calculates the updated or new ‘moving average’ (NNA) of the neutral sensor value …the newly calculated NNA is stored in the non-volatile memory storage device 111 as the PNA_i, and the previous PNA_{i-1} is discarded.” See at least [Col.13-14 ln 44-67 and ln 1-14]). Both Bonny and Berger teach methods for controlling an mowing vehicle during different modes of operation. However, Berger explicitly teaches wherein the control unit which is configured to, in the so-called calibration operating mode, order a storage of the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor at least as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, is configured to order said storage if the datum supplied by the second sensor corresponds to an angular position value of the lever that is different from the value of the neutral position previously stored.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control method of Bonny to also include wherein the control unit which is configured to, in the so-called calibration operating mode, order a storage of the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor at least as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, is configured to order said storage if the datum supplied by the second sensor corresponds to an angular position value of the lever that is different from the value of the neutral position previously stored, as taught by Berger, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the method of vehicle control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least See at least [Berger, Col.13-14]).
Regarding claim 5,
Bonny does not explicitly teach wherein the so-called calibration operating mode is an activatable/deactivatable mode.
However, Berger does teach wherein the so-called calibration operating mode is an activatable/deactivatable mode (Fig.4 “The present invention relates to the calibration of a neutral position for hand or foot manual controls such as would be used in a work vehicle “ See at least [Col.1 ln1-2] and “In step 202, controller 110 receives a new set of control and position sensor input data from each control and position sensor 122, 124, 126, and 128. …In step 208, the newly calculated NNA is stored in the non-volatile memory storage device 111” See at least [Col.13-14 ln 26-67 and ln 1-14]). Both Bonny and Berger teach methods for controlling an mowing vehicle during different modes of operation. However, Berger explicitly teaches wherein the so-called calibration operating mode is an activatable/deactivatable mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control method of Bonny to also include wherein the so-called calibration operating mode is an activatable/deactivatable mode, as taught by Berger, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the method of vehicle control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least See at least [Berger, Col.13-14]).
Regarding claim 6,
Bonny does not explicitly teach wherein the control unit is configured to, following a start- up of the vehicle and when the calibration operating mode is in the activated state: detect, as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, the position of the lever with respect to the position zone, store, when the lever is in the position zone or is displaced in the direction of an exit from and/or of an entry into the position zone, the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor at least if the datum supplied by the second sensor corresponds to a value of the angular position of the lever that is different from the stored neutral position, deactivate said calibration operating mode.
However, Berger does teach wherein the control unit is configured to, following a start- up of the vehicle and when the calibration operating mode is in the activated state: detect, as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, the position of the lever with respect to the position zone, store, when the lever is in the position zone or is displaced in the direction of an exit from and/or of an entry into the position zone, the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor at least if the datum supplied by the second sensor corresponds to a value of the angular position of the lever that is different from the stored neutral position, deactivate said calibration operating mode (Fig.4 “The present invention relates to the calibration of a neutral position for hand or foot manual controls such as would be used in a work vehicle “ See at least [Col.1 ln1-2] and “In step 202, controller 110 receives a new set of control and position sensor input data from each control and position sensor 122, 124, 126, and 128. … The new set of control and position sensor input data should correspond to, or be approximately representing, the biased neutral control position for the four manual controls and are referred to as the ‘new neutral sensor values’ (NNU).In step 204, controller 110 then retrieves the four memorized and stored ‘average neutral values’ (PNA) … from the memory storage device 111.In step 206, controller 110 calculates the updated or new ‘moving average’ (NNA) of the neutral sensor value as follows: NNA_i = See at least [(PNA_{i-1}) * (n - 1) + NNU_i] / n …In step 208, the newly calculated NNA is stored in the non-volatile memory storage device 111 as the PNA_i, and the previous PNA_{i-1} is discarded.” See at least [Col.13-14 ln 26-67 & 1-14]). Both Bonny and Berger teach methods for controlling an mowing vehicle during different modes of operation. However, Berger explicitly teaches wherein the control unit is configured to, following a start- up of the vehicle and when the calibration operating mode is in the activated state: detect, as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, the position of the lever with respect to the position zone, store, when the lever is in the position zone or is displaced in the direction of an exit from and/or of an entry into the position zone, the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor at least if the datum supplied by the second sensor corresponds to a value of the angular position of the lever that is different from the stored neutral position, deactivate said calibration operating mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control method of Bonny to also include wherein the control unit is configured to, following a start- up of the vehicle and when the calibration operating mode is in the activated state: detect, as a function of the data supplied by the first sensor, the position of the lever with respect to the position zone, store, when the lever is in the position zone or is displaced in the direction of an exit from and/or of an entry into the position zone, the neutral position corresponding to a datum supplied by the second sensor at least if the datum supplied by the second sensor corresponds to a value of the angular position of the lever that is different from the stored neutral position, deactivate said calibration operating mode, as taught by Berger, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the method of vehicle control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least See at least [Berger, Col.13-14]).
Regarding claim 7, Bonny discloses The rolling vehicle according to Claim 1, wherein, the lever being, in the active state, mounted from a neutral position to be movable by pivoting about the first pivot axis in a first direction, called forward, to a forward end-of-travel position for a forward driving control at a variable speed of the associated motor as a function of the angular position of the lever with respect to the neutral position and in a second direction, called reverse, opposite the first direction, to a reverse end-of-travel position for a reverse driving control at a variable speed of the associated motor as a function of the angular position of the lever with respect to the neutral position (“pivot bar 116 is in its operative position, where it may be rotated about a first axis of rotation, i.e., the axis of shaft 112, to a plurality of forward positions and a plurality of reverse positions.” See at least [Col.3 ln 49-52]),
Bonny does not explicitly teach the vehicle has at least one memory for storing the forward end-of-travel position of the lever and a memory for storing the reverse end-of-travel position of the lever and in that the control unit is configured to, as a function of the neutral position and of the stored forward and reverse end-of-travel positions, establish a curve of the speed of rotation of the motor as a function of the angular position of the lever.
However, Berger does teach the vehicle has at least one memory for storing the forward end-of-travel position of the lever and a memory for storing the reverse end-of-travel position of the lever and in that the control unit is configured to, as a function of the neutral position and of the stored forward and reverse end-of-travel positions, establish a curve of the speed of rotation of the motor as a function of the angular position of the lever (“The new set of control and position sensor input data should correspond to, or be approximately representing, the biased neutral control position for the four manual controls and are referred to as the “new neutral sensor values” (NNU). The new neutral sensor values (NNU) are sensor input data signals and there are four of them in a set. In the next step 204, controller 110 then retrieves the four memorized and stored “average neutral values” (PNA), which are averaged manual control neutral position values, from the memory storage device 111, where there is a PNA value stored in the memory storage device corresponding to each one of the control and position sensors 122, 124, 126, and 128.” See at least [Col.13 ln 37-49]). Both Bonny and Berger teach methods for controlling an mowing vehicle during different modes of operation. However, Berger explicitly teaches the vehicle has at least one memory for storing the forward end-of-travel position of the lever and a memory for storing the reverse end-of-travel position of the lever and in that the control unit is configured to, as a function of the neutral position and of the stored forward and reverse end-of-travel positions, establish a curve of the speed of rotation of the motor as a function of the angular position of the lever.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control method of Bonny to also include the vehicle has at least one memory for storing the forward end-of-travel position of the lever and a memory for storing the reverse end-of-travel position of the lever and in that the control unit is configured to, as a function of the neutral position and of the stored forward and reverse end-of-travel positions, establish a curve of the speed of rotation of the motor as a function of the angular position of the lever, as taught by Berger, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the method of vehicle control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least See at least [Berger, Col.13-14]).
Regarding claim 8, Bonny discloses wherein the neutral position, which is arranged on the trajectory followed by the lever, in the state driven in displacement by pivoting of said lever about the second pivot axis for the switch from the active state to the inactive state, corresponds to the end-of-travel position of the lever in the state of the lever driven in displacement by pivoting about the second pivot axis for the switch from the inactive state to the active state (“when pivot bar 116 is in this neutral position, it may be pivoted about a second axis of rotation to a position where it engages a switch 150.”See at least [Col.3 ln54-56] and “pivot bar 116 is rotatable about a second axis of rotation, namely the axis of rotation of fastener 117, to move from the operative position of FIGS. 1 and 2 to a neutral stop position (or stopped position)”See at least [Col.4 ln6-9]).
Regarding claim 10, Bonny discloses wherein the chassis further comprises a front end and a rear end and a longitudinal axis extending from the front end towards the rear end, in that the first pivot axis of the lever of each control device extends transversely to the longitudinal axis of the chassis and the second pivot axis of the lever of each control device extends parallel to the longitudinal axis of the chassis (“a rotation of the pivot bar 116 about a first axis of rotation corresponds to forward and reverse movement of the vehicle” See at least [Col.3 ln 46-48] and “pivot bar 116 is rotatable about a second axis of rotation, namely the axis of rotation of fastener 117” See at least [Col.4 ln6-9]).
Regarding claim 11, Bonny discloses wherein, for each control device, the first and second pivot axes of the lever of the control device are substantially orthogonal to one another (“pivot bar 116 is rotatable about a second axis of rotation, namely the axis of rotation of fastener 117” See at least [Col.4 ln6-9]).
Regarding claim 12, Bonny discloses wherein the first and second pivot axes of the lever of one of the control devices are respectively substantially parallel to the first and second pivot axes of the lever of the other of the control devices (“a rotation of the pivot bar 116 about a first axis of rotation corresponds to forward and reverse movement of the vehicle, and a neutral position is provided. As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, pivot bar 116 is in its operative position, where it may be rotated about a first axis of rotation, i.e., the axis of shaft 112, to a plurality of forward positions and a plurality of reverse positions. Pivot bar 116 is depicted in these FIGS. 1 and 2 as being in a neutral position. It is also understood that when pivot bar 116 is in this neutral position, it may be pivoted about a second axis of rotation to a position where it engages a switch 150, as described in more detail below.” See at least [Col.3 ln 45-57] see also Fig.17-19).
Regarding claim 13,
Bonny does not explicitly teach wherein, for at least one of the control devices, the first sensor is a proximity sensor with which the lever is, in the inactive state, in bearing contact in the end-of-travel position within the range of displacement and in that the second sensor is a potentiometer.
However, Berger does teach wherein, for at least one of the control devices, the first sensor is a proximity sensor with which the lever is, in the inactive state, in bearing contact in the end-of-travel position within the range of displacement and in that the second sensor is a potentiometer (“the electrohydraulic valves 74 and 76 are solenoid operated hydraulic spool valves or digital coil operated hydraulic cartridge valves. When solenoid operated hydraulic spool valves are used, control and position sensors 122, 124, 126 and 128 are potentiometers or resistive strip-type position sensors that generate analog output signals ranging from +0.5 to +4.5V.” See at least [Col.11 ln 11-18]). Both Bonny and Berger teach methods for controlling an mowing vehicle during different modes of operation. However, Berger explicitly teaches wherein, for at least one of the control devices, the first sensor is a proximity sensor with which the lever is, in the inactive state, in bearing contact in the end-of-travel position within the range of displacement and in that the second sensor is a potentiometer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control method of Bonny to also include wherein, for at least one of the control devices, the first sensor is a proximity sensor with which the lever is, in the inactive state, in bearing contact in the end-of-travel position within the range of displacement and in that the second sensor is a potentiometer, as taught by Berger, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the method of vehicle control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least See at least [Berger, Col.11]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonny in view of Berger and further in view of Mayer er al. (US7458432B2), hereinafter referred to as Bonny, Berger and Mayer respectively.
Regarding claim 9,
Bonny in view of Berger does not explicitly teach wherein each control device further comprises a partial protection casing of the associated lever in which there are formed two paths for guiding the lever, these guiding paths forming a T between them with one of the branches, called first branch of the T, forming the path for guiding the lever corresponding to the part of the range of displacement of the lever at which the lever is guided in displacement in the state of the lever driven about the second pivot axis and the other branch of the T forming the path for guiding the lever in the state of the lever driven about the first pivot axis, said guiding paths (16, 17) being configured such that any displacement by pivoting of the lever about the first pivot axis is prevented in the state of the lever positioned in the guiding path formed by the first branch of the T, said lever being in the inactive state arranged in this first guiding path.
However, Mayer does teach wherein each control device further comprises a partial protection casing of the associated lever in which there are formed two paths for guiding the lever, these guiding paths forming a T between them with one of the branches, called first branch of the T, forming the path for guiding the lever corresponding to the part of the range of displacement of the lever at which the lever is guided in displacement in the state of the lever driven about the second pivot axis and the other branch of the T forming the path for guiding the lever in the state of the lever driven about the first pivot axis, said guiding paths (16, 17) being configured such that any displacement by pivoting of the lever about the first pivot axis is prevented in the state of the lever positioned in the guiding path formed by the first branch of the T, said lever being in the inactive state arranged in this first guiding path (“The operator can pivot the control lever or stick outwardly to a parked position. This can be done only if the forward/reverse lever is at the neutral position. Pivoting the control lever or stick outwardly causes neutral position lever 25 to pivot on the second pivot axis, so that its lower part enters slot 38 in the upper housing.” See at least [Col.3 ln 61-66]). Both Bonny in view of Berger and Mayer teach methods for controlling an mowing vehicle during different modes of operation. However, Mayer explicitly teaches wherein, for at least one of the control devices, the first sensor is a proximity sensor with which the lever is, in the inactive state, in bearing contact in the end-of-travel position within the range of displacement and in that the second sensor is a potentiometer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control method of Bonny in view of Berger to also include wherein, for at least one of the control devices, the first sensor is a proximity sensor with which the lever is, in the inactive state, in bearing contact in the end-of-travel position within the range of displacement and in that the second sensor is a potentiometer, as taught by Mayer, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so improves the method of vehicle control (With regard to this reasoning, see at least See at least [Mayer, Col.3]).
Conclusion
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668