DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10, 18, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al. (“Dong”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0020744) in view of Wei et al. (“Wei”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0069628).
Regarding claim 1, Dong discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a photo detector or an image sensor, and a transceiver (fig. 3 UE and paragraphs 0052 and 0061, bidirectional communication reads on UE transceiver, and the VLC reception by the UE inherently involves a photo detector of some kind); a memory and one or more processors, coupled to the memory (fig. 12 and paragraphs 0143-1049 in light of paragraph 0083), configured to: receive, from a base station via the photo detector or the image sensor, a downlink visible light communication (VLC) transmission (fig. 3 Downlink VLC link and paragraph 0061); receive, from the base station via the transceiver, a downlink radio frequency (RF)-based communication (RFC) transmission (fig. 3, Bidirectional Wi-Fi link and paragraph 0061), and transmit, to the base station via the transceiver and via an uplink RF transmission based at least in part on a lack of support for an uplink VLC transmission at the UE (paragraph 0061 in light of 0006), acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback associated with one or more of the downlink VLC transmission or the downlink RFC transmission (paragraph 0070 in light of paragraph 0083). Dong does not disclose that a frame structure associated with the downlink VLC transmission is asynchronous with a frame structure associated with the downlink RFC transmission. However, Dong discloses the VLC downlink and Wi-Fi downlink as options (fig. 3 and paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use asynchronous frames from the respective VLC and Wi-Fi transmissions, since the protocols are not dependent on each other, are using different transmission media and different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, and synchronizing them would require unnecessary coordination of the two protocols.
Also, Dong discloses the RF link as LTE (4G) (paragraph 0076), but not as NR (5G). However, NR is the progression of LTE to the next generation, and applicable for the dual VLC and RF communication environment, as taught by Wei (fig. 1 and paragraph 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use NR for the RF protocol, since it is the next generation after the disclosed LTE protocol of Dong.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Dong and Wei discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured for an NR-VLC carrier aggregation or an NR-VLC dual connectivity (Dong: fig. 3, dual RF and VLC connectivity, as applicable for the combination in light of Wei).
Regarding claim 10, Dong discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a light emitting diode or a laser diode (fig. 3 and paragraphs 0052 and 0061); a transceiver (fig. 3 VLC APn and paragraph 0061), a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory (fig. 12 and paragraphs 0143-1049 in light of paragraph 0083) configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE) via the light emitting diode or the laser diode, a downlink visible light communication (VLC) transmission (fig. 3 Downlink VLC link and paragraph 0061); transmit, to the UE via the transceiver, a downlink radio frequency (RF)-based communication (RFC) transmission (fig. 3, Bidirectional Wi-Fi link and paragraph 0061); and receive, from the UE via the transceiver and via an uplink RF transmission based at least in part on a lack of support for an uplink VLC transmission at the UE (paragraph 0061 in light of 0006), acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback associated with one or more of the downlink VLC transmission or the downlink RFC transmission (paragraph 0070 in light of paragraph 0083). Dong does not disclose that a frame structure associated with the downlink VLC transmission is asynchronous with a frame structure associated with the downlink RFC transmission. However, Dong discloses the VLC downlink and Wi-Fi downlink as options (fig. 3 and paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use asynchronous frames from the respective VLC and Wi-Fi transmissions, since the protocols are not dependent on each other, are using different transmission media and different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, and synchronizing them would require unnecessary coordination of the two protocols.
Also, Dong discloses the RF link as LTE (4G) (paragraph 0076), but not as NR (5G). However, NR is the progression of LTE to the next generation, and applicable for the dual VLC and RF communication environment, as taught by Wei (fig. 1 and paragraph 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use NR for the RF protocol, since it is the next generation after the disclosed LTE protocol of Dong.
Regarding claim 18, Dong discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a base station, a downlink visible light communication (VLC) transmission (fig. 3 Downlink VLC link and paragraphs 0052 and 0061); receiving, from the base station, a downlink radio frequency (RF)-based communication (RFC) transmission, wherein a frame structure associated with the downlink VLC transmission is asynchronous with a frame structure associated with the downlink NR RFC transmission (fig. 3, Bidirectional Wi-Fi link and paragraph 0061); and transmitting, to the base station via an uplink RF transmission based at least in part on a lack of support for an uplink VLC transmission at the UE (paragraph 0061 in light of 0006), acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback associated with one or more of the downlink VLC transmission or the downlink RFC transmission (paragraph 0070 in light of paragraph 0083). Dong does not disclose that a frame structure associated with the downlink VLC transmission is asynchronous with a frame structure associated with the downlink RFC transmission. However, Dong discloses the VLC downlink and Wi-Fi downlink as options (fig. 3 and paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use asynchronous frames from the respective VLC and Wi-Fi transmissions, since the protocols are not dependent on each other, are using different transmission media and different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, and synchronizing them would require unnecessary coordination of the two protocols.
Also, Dong discloses the RF link as LTE (4G) (paragraph 0076), but not as NR (5G). However, NR is the progression of LTE to the next generation, and applicable for the dual VLC and RF communication environment, as taught by Wei (fig. 1 and paragraph 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use NR for the RF protocol, since it is the next generation after the disclosed LTE protocol of Dong.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Dong and Wei discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the UE is configured for an NR-VLC carrier aggregation or an NR-VLC dual connectivity (Dong: fig. 3, dual RF and VLC connectivity, as applicable for the combination in light of Wei).
Regarding claim 25, Dong discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a base station, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a downlink visible light communication (VLC) transmission; transmitting, to the UE, a downlink radio frequency (RF)- based communication (RFC) transmission (fig. 3, Bidirectional Wi-Fi link and paragraph 0061), and receiving, from the UE via an uplink RF transmission based at least in part on a lack of support for an uplink VLC transmission at the UE (paragraph 0061 in light of 0006), acknowledgement or negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedback associated with one or more of the downlink VLC transmission or the downlink RFC transmission (paragraph 0070 in light of paragraph 0083). Dong does not disclose that a frame structure associated with the downlink VLC transmission is asynchronous with a frame structure associated with the downlink RFC transmission. However, Dong discloses the VLC downlink and Wi-Fi downlink as options (fig. 3 and paragraph 0061). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use asynchronous frames from the respective VLC and Wi-Fi transmissions, since the protocols are not dependent on each other, are using different transmission media and different portions of the electromagnetic spectrum, and synchronizing them would require unnecessary coordination of the two protocols.
Also, Dong discloses the RF link as LTE (4G) (paragraph 0076), but not as NR (5G). However, NR is the progression of LTE to the next generation, and applicable for the dual VLC and RF communication environment, as taught by Wei (fig. 1 and paragraph 0023). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use NR for the RF protocol, since it is the next generation after the disclosed LTE protocol of Dong.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 11-17, 19-23 and 26-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent Application Publication Nos. 2015/0223277, 2014/0226977, 2014/0153923, 2014/0126911.
M. Goldwater et al., "An 802.11 Compatible Asymmetric Hybrid Visible-Light and Radio-Frequency Communications System," 2020 IEEE 31st Annual International Symposium on Personal, Indoor and Mobile Radio Communications, London, UK, 2020, pp. 1-7, doi: 10.1109/PIMRC48278.2020.9217371.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634