DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-5 and 10-15, and methacryloylated PVA117 (MA-PVA117) in the reply filed on 13 March 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
During a telephone conversation with Ken Salen on 11 May 2026, a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the species collagen and spherical particles.
Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending in the instant Office Action.
Claims 6-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13 March 2026, and the telephone conversation on 11 May 2026.
Claims 1-5 and 10-15 are under consideration in the instant Office Action, to the extent of the following elected species:
the specific crosslinked product of PVA is MA-PVA117;
the specific bioactive substance is collagen;
the specific form of the dry hydrogel-forming article is spherical particles; and
the specific form of the hydrogel is spherical particles.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copies of parent Japanese Application Nos. JP 2021-133384, filed on 18 August 2021, and JP 2021-133378, filed on 18 August 2021, have been received from the International Bureau.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 15 February 2024, and 15 March 2024, were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 recite “[t]he dry hydrogel-forming article” in line 1 of each claim, and claims 2-4 also recite the limitation in line 2. This limitation lacks antecedent basis because claim 1, from which claims 2-5 depend, recites a “sterilized dry hydrogel-forming article”. Applicant may overcome this rejection by amending claims 2-5 to recite the “sterilized dry hydrogel-forming article” (bold added for emphasis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuraray Co Ltd. (WIPO International Patent Publication No. WO 2020/153382 A1, published on 30 July 2020, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 15 February 2024, references to English translation, hereafter referred to as Kuraray) in view of Unitika Ltd. (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. JP H7-163860 A, published on 27 June 1995, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 15 February 2024, references to English translation, hereafter referred to as Unitika).
Kuraray teaches a hydrogel forming composition comprising a vinyl alcohol polymer which produces a sterilized hydrogel (Abstract). Kuraray teaches that the hydrogel of their invention is capable of being molded into various shapes and has applications in contact lens design, organ modeling, drug delivery, and encapsulation of cells or microorganisms (pg. 1, final para.). The vinyl alcohol polymer (PVA) forming the hydrogel is taught to have an “ethylenically unsaturated group” which may be a (meth)acryloyloxy group or (meth)acryloylamino group, with the former being preferred (pg. 2, final para. - pg. 3, para. 2). In Synthesis Example 1, Kuraray teaches the use of PVA117, a polyvinyl alcohol with a degree of polymerization of 1700 and a degree of saponification of 98-99 mol% (pg. 8, Materials used), and vinyl methacrylate to create a methacryloylated PVA117 (MA-PVA117). Kuraray teaches that the introduction rate of the ethylenically unsaturated group is 0.01-10 mol% (pg. 4, Introduction rate of ethylenically unsaturated group) and in the case of MA-PVA117, introduction rates of 1.2, 1.3, and 12 are taught in Comparative Synthesis Examples 1 and 2 (pg. 9).
Kuraray additionally teaches that their hydrogel-forming composition may contain “cells, physiologically active substances and enzymes”, which in one embodiment is collagen (pg. 6, Cells, physiologically active substances, enzymes and pg. 7, para. 4). The hydrogel-forming composition is taught to be sterilized, with methods including autoclave, ethylene oxide gas, and radiation sterilization (pg. 4, Method for producing hydrogel-forming composition, para. 1-3). Finally, Kuraray teaches that the PVA in their composition may be copolymerized with monomers containing carboxy groups, such as (meth)acrylic acid and methyl(meth)acrylate (pg. 4, para. 4-5). Kuraray does not teach the specific introduction rate of the carboxy group; however, they do state that the polymer of the composition “contains more than 50 mol% of structural units derived from vinyl alcohol”, indicating that the carboxy group above must be present in the polymer <50 mol%, which significantly overlaps with the range recited in instant claim 14.
Guidelines on the obviousness of similar and overlapping ranges, amounts, and proportions are provided in MPEP § 2144.05. With respect to claimed ranges which “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). These guidelines apply to the introduction rates of ethylenically unsaturated and carboxy groups taught by Kuraray. In each instance, the ranges taught are identical to or significantly overlap with the ranges recited in instant claims 13-14 and are therefore prima facie obvious. Kuraray does not teach the method of connecting the physiologically active substance to the polymer. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Unitika.
Unitika teaches a sterile gel formed from gelatin that has been crosslinked to a polymer by a carbodiimide (Abstract). The gelatin of their invention is taught to be derived from collagen and the polymer is taught to be biocompatible and containing a carboxyl functional group (pg. 2, para. 5-6). Unitika teaches that by “simply adding the [polymer] and carbodiimide to gelatin at an appropriate concentration”, an amide bond may be formed between a carboxyl group of the polymer and an amino group in the collagen-derived gelatin (pg. 2, para. 10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, in view of the teachings of Unitika to conjugate the physiologically active substance to the modified PVA polymer in the invention of Kuraray via an amide bond because applying a known technique in one invention to improve a related invention produces predictable results. Kuraray teaches a sterile hydrogel-forming composition comprising PVA117 with (meth)acryloyl and carboxy groups, with introduction rates of the groups that are identical to or significantly overlap with the ranges recited in instant claims 13-14, and collagen. Kuraray does not teach a method of conjugating collagen to MA-PVA117, but in view of the teachings of Unitika an ordinary artisan would be motivated to conjugate the two via a covalent amide bond formed via reacting an amino and carboxy group because Unitika teaches the method to be appropriate for collagen-related materials and simple. In addition, the teachings of Unitika provide information that is missing from the teachings of Kuraray and would be needed for an ordinary artisan to complete the invention.
The limitation of instant claim 10 is interpreted as an intended use of the hydrogel-forming article of claim 1. The use of a material “based upon its suitability for its intended use” has previously supported a rejection as being prima facie obvious. See MPEP § 2144.07 and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The hydrogel-forming article of instant claim 1 has been rendered obvious in view of the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika, therefore the intended use recited in instant claim 10 is also obvious. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 1-2 and 10-14 in view of the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuraray (WIPO International Patent Publication No. WO 2020/153382 A1, published on 30 July 2020, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 15 February 2024, references to English translation) in view of Unitika (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. JP H7-163860 A, published on 27 June 1995, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 15 February 2024, references to English translation) as applied to claims 1-2 and 10-14 above, and further in view of Maa et al. (Pharm. Res. 1998, 15, 768., hereafter referred to as Maa).
Kuraray and Unitika have been described above, and particularly relevant to claim 3, Kuraray teaches that the hydrogel of their invention may be produced via spray drying (pg. 8, para. 1).
Kuraray and Unitika do not teach the water content of their composition. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Maa.
Maa teaches the effect of spray drying and processing conditions on the residual moisture content and stability of dried protein powders (pg. 768, Purpose). Maa teaches that solid state protein stability typically decreases as moisture content increases which subsequently impacts long-term storage capability (pg. 768, Introduction, para. 1). Solid state recombinant human deoxyribonuclease (rhDNase) and recombinant human anti-IgE monoclonal antibodies (anti-IgE) were used as models for the effect of spray drying conditions and environmental conditions (pg. 768, Introduction, para. 3-4). Maa found that typical water content of spray dried powders was 7-8% w/w (Table 1), was influenced by drying and storage conditions (Fig. 3 and Tables 2-3), and could range from 4.1-9% w/w as a result of varying relative humidity (pg. 772, right col., para. 1). Maa concluded that optimal manufacturing conditions required relative humidity to be <50%, which would produce powders with water content of ~4-9% w/w, and that storage conditions should be lower than 20% relative humidity for the benefit of “long-term biochemical stability” (pg. 774, Conclusions).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to combine the teachings of Maa with the invention rendered obvious by the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika because applying a known technique in a related field to impart a known benefit to an invention produces predictable results. Kuraray and Unitika rendered obvious a hydrogel-forming composition and hydrogel that are sterilized, made from MA-PVA117 with carboxy groups that are bound to collagen via an amide bond, with functional group introduction rates that are identical to or significantly overlap with the ranges recited in instant claims 13-14. Additionally, Kuraray taught that their hydrogels could be formed via spray drying, but did not teach the water content of the hydrogels following spray drying. In view of the teachings of Maa, a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to produce the hydrogel rendered obvious by the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika with a water content of ~4-9% w/w because Maa teaches this range to be typical in optimal manufacturing conditions and to be useable for stable long-term storage. The person of ordinary skill would desire their production conditions to be long-term stable for proteins because the hydrogel rendered obvious above comprises the protein collagen. Finally, the ordinary artisan would be motivated to use the teachings of Maa in the hydrogel rendered obvious by Kuraray and Unitika because neither taught spray drying conditions and Maa teaches information that would be required for the ordinary artisan to complete their invention. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claim 3 in view of the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika and further in view of the teachings of Maa.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuraray (WIPO International Patent Publication No. WO 2020/153382 A1, published on 30 July 2020, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 15 February 2024, references to English translation) in view of Unitika (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. JP H7-163860 A, published on 27 June 1995, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 15 February 2024, references to English translation) as applied to claims 1-2 and 10-14 above, and further in view of Fujii et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,139,963, published on 31 October 2000, hereafter referred to as Fujii).
Kuraray and Unitika have been described above.
Kuraray and Unitika do not teach the shape of the gel. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of Fujii.
Fujii teaches a hydrogel formed from polyvinyl alcohol and processes for its manufacture (Abstract). The hydrogel is taught to be capable of having various shapes, including spherical, cubic, cylindrical, and others (col. 5, lines 41-44). When the PVA hydrogel is used as a carrier, Fujii teaches that a spherical shape is preferable due to its durability, packing efficiency, flowability, and ease of handling (col. 5, lines 44-46).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to combine the teachings of Fujii with the invention rendered obvious by the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika because applying a known technique in a related field to impart a known benefit to an invention produces predictable results. Kuraray and Unitika rendered obvious a hydrogel-forming composition and hydrogel that are sterilized, made from MA-PVA117 with carboxy groups that are bound to collagen via an amide bond, with functional group introduction rates that are identical to or significantly overlap with the ranges recited in instant claims 13-14. In view of the teachings of Fujii, a person of ordinary skill would be motivated to shape the hydrogel rendered obvious by the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika in a spherical shape because Fujii teaches the shape to be suitable for hydrogels made from PVA and to impart benefits including durability and flowability, which the ordinary artisan would recognize as desirable. In addition, the teachings of Fujii provide information that is missing from the teachings of Kuraray and would be desired by an ordinary artisan to complete the invention. As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claims 4 and 15 in view of the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika and further in view of the teachings of Fujii.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuraray (WIPO International Patent Publication No. WO 2020/153382 A1, published on 30 July 2020, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 15 February 2024, references to English translation) in view of Unitika (Japanese Patent Application Publication No. JP H7-163860 A, published on 27 June 1995, provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 15 February 2024, references to English translation) as applied to claims 1-2 and 10-14 above, and further in view of von Woedtke et al. (GMS Krankenhhyg Interdiszip. 2008, 3 (3), 1., hereafter referred to as von Woedtke).
Kuraray and Unitika have been described above.
Kuraray and Unitika do not teach the sterility assurance level of the hydrogel or hydrogel-forming composition. This deficiency is offset by the teachings of von Woedtke.
Von Woedtke teaches an overview of sterility assurance levels and suggestions for suitable tasks at each level (Abstract). The sterility assurance level (SAL) is taught to be the probability that one viable microorganism will be present on a surface that has been sterilized, for example a SAL of 10-6 indicating that the chances of finding a viable microorganism is one in a million (pg. 3, left col., para. 1). However, von Woedtke teaches that the detection levels of experiments are not sensitive enough to detect an SAL of 10-6 and that test conditions often require longer time periods of treatment, making the SAL inherently difficult to demonstrate (pg. 3, left col., para. 2-4). Von Woedtke teaches their own method of proving sterilization assurance (pg. 4-5, Concept for proving sterilization assurance for heat-sensitive medical devices) and proposes tiered SAL values “adjusted to correspond to the respective sterilization task”:
SAL 10-6 for heat-resistant pharmaceutical preparations, suggested term: “Pharmaceutical sterilization”
SAL10–4 for heat-resistant medical devices, suggested term: “High-level sterilization”
SAL10–3 for heat-sensitive re-usable medical devices on the condition of prior validated cleaning efficacy >4 lg increments, suggested term: “Low-level sterilization” (pg. 7, left col., para. 2)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to combine the teachings of von Woedtke with the invention rendered obvious by the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika because applying a known technique in a related field to impart a known benefit to an invention produces predictable results. Kuraray and Unitika rendered obvious a hydrogel-forming composition and hydrogel that are sterilized, made from MA-PVA117 with carboxy groups that are bound to collagen via an amide bond, with functional group introduction rates that are identical to or significantly overlap with the ranges recited in instant claims 13-14. Kuraray additionally teaches that their invention is sterilized, but does not provide a quantified level of sterilization. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to sterilize the invention rendered obvious by the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika to a SAL of at least 10-3 because von Woedtke teaches that this is “low-level” sterilization suitable for medical devices and teaches a method to assess the SAL. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to further sterilize their invention to 10-6, lower than a SAL of 10-3, in applications that require the use of the hydrogel in vitro as taught by Kuraray (pg. 1, final para.). As a result, there is a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the invention of claim 5 in view of the teachings of Kuraray and Unitika and further in view of the teachings of von Woedtke.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/S.J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619