DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The claims being considered in this application are those submitted on 02/15/2024. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Priority
The applicant’s claim to priority of CN202110939268.1 on 08/16/2021 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on 02/15/2024 has been annotated and considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 8-9 are fuzzy/blurry which makes the text difficult to read. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5, and 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-2 and 7-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12/522,030. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the table below:
Claim #
Instant Application 18/684,126
Claim #
Reference Patent Publication US12/522,030
1
A tire self-positioning method, comprising:
1
A tire self-positioning method, comprising steps:
1
S1, data acquisition, obtaining a first signal and a second signal of the tire,
the first signal at least comprising acceleration information of the tire, and
the second signal at least comprising rotation angle information of the tire;
S2, data transmission, obtaining a wireless signal and a wired signal of the tire, wherein the wireless signal can be indexed to corresponding time when the first signal arrives at a reference point, and the wired signal comprises the second signal and corresponding position information of the tire;
1
S1: data acquisition: acquiring a wireless signal and a wired signal of a tire
wherein the wireless signal can index a corresponding time when a first signal reaches a reference point, the first signal comprises at least acceleration information of the tire,
the wired signal comprises a second signal and corresponding position information of the tire, and the second signal comprises at least rotation angle information of the tire
1
S3, data conversion, comprising:
S31, calculating index time, the index time being a span from a current time that the wired signal is received to when the first signal arrives at the reference point;
S32, calculating, according to the index time, reference rotation angle information of the first signal arriving at the reference point, and recording the reference rotation angle information as a reference coded value;
1
…wherein the wireless signal can index a corresponding time…
S2: data conversion: calculating corresponding reference rotation angle information of the tire when the first signal reaches the reference point according to the wireless signal and the wired signal that are currently received;
7
S2 comprises: S21, recording a time interval T1 of the currently received wireless signal and wired signal;
S22, obtaining a backtracking time T2 from a time when the first signal reaches the reference point to the time when the wireless signal is received;
S23, index time T3 = backtracking time T2 - time interval T1;
2
…calculating the reference rotation angle information of the tire corresponding to the time when the first signal reaches a reference point based on the currently received wireless signal and wired signal, recording as a reference coded value…
1
S4, repeatedly executing steps SS3 to obtain a sequence of the reference coded value;
S5, data statistics, performing deviation degree statistics on the obtained sequence of the reference coded value;
S6, determining, according to a statistical result, position information of the tire corresponding to the first signal.
1
S4: data statistics: repeating steps S1 to S3 and performing deviation degree statistics on acquired queue of the reference rotation angle information; S5: determining a specific position of the tire corresponding to the first signal according to statistical result.
2
wherein, the rotation angle information of the tire comprises an ABS teeth number rotated by the tire,
obtaining the wired signal in S2, saving the ABS teeth number, and generating a coded value,
a plurality of the coded values forming a sequence of the coded value;
in step S5, performing deviation degree statistics on obtained sequence of the reference coded value.
2
a rotation angle information of the tire comprises an ABS teeth number rotated by the tire,
obtaining the wired signal in S1, saving the ABS teeth number, and generating coded value,
a plurality of the coded values forming a queue of the coded value;
1
performing deviation degree statistics on acquired queue of the reference rotation angle information
3
wherein, S31 comprises: S311, recording a time interval T1 of the currently received wireless signal and wired signal;
S312, obtaining a backtracking time T2 from the corresponding time when the first signal arrives at the reference point to receiving the wireless signal;
S313, index time T3 = backtracking time T2 - time interval T1.
7
step S2 comprises: S21, recording a time interval T1 of the currently received wireless signal and wired signal;
S22, obtaining a backtracking time T2 from a time when the first signal reaches the reference point to the time when the wireless signal is received;
S23, index time T3 = backtracking time T2 - time interval T1;
5
wherein, step S32 comprises: S321', calculating number m of coded values which need to be backward indexed, and number m is the index time T3/the period ABS_period of the second signal rounded;
S322', according to the number m backward indexed, recording the coded value ABS_search[n-m] indexed in the sequence of the coded value;
S323', correcting the coded value ABS_search and obtaining reference coded value ABS_ref.
7
S24, calculating a number of coded values that need to be indexed back, which is the index time T3/the period of the second signal ABSperiod rounded;
S25, recording the coded value ABS_search indexed in the queue of coded values according to number of backward indexes;
S26. modifying the coded value ABS_search and obtaining the reference coded value ABS_ref.
7
wherein, the backtracking time T2 is a set fixed value, or a specific value calculated by a specific algorithm.
8
the backtracking time T2 is a set fixed value, or a specific value calculated by a specific algorithm
8
wherein, the tire self-positioning system comprises: a tire;
a tire condition detection device, provided on the tire, configured to collect the first signal and pressure, temperature and identification code of the tire, and
generating the wireless signal; a second signal sensor, provided on the tire and configured to collect the second signal;
a second signal controller, electrically connected to the second signal sensor, the second signal controller receiving the second signal and generating a wired signal, wherein the wired signal includes a coded value corresponding to the second signal and position information of the tire where the second signal sensor is located;
a communication bus and a signal receiving processor, the signal receiving processor receiving the wired signal through the communication bus, the signal receiving processor receiving the wireless signal, the signal receiving processor performing steps S3 to S6 according to the wireless signal and the wired signal.
9
characterized in that, the tire self-positioning system comprises: a tire;
A tire condition detection device, provided on the tire, configured to collect the first signal and pressure, temperature and identification code of the tire, and
generating the wireless signal; a second signal sensor, provided on the tire and configured to collect the second signal;
a second signal controller, electrically connected to the second signal sensor, the second signal controller receiving the second signal and generating a wired signal, the wired signal including a coded value corresponding to the second signal and position information of the tire where the second signal sensor is located;
a communication bus and a signal receiving processor, the signal receiving processor receives the wired signal through the communication bus, the signal receiving processor receiving the wireless signal, the signal receiving processor performing steps S3 to S6 according to the wireless signal and the wired signal.
9
wherein, the signal receiving processor records the time interval T1 of the currently received wireless signal and wired signal;
the signal receiving processor obtains the backtracking time T2 from the corresponding time when the first signal arriving at the reference point to receiving the wireless signal;
the signal receiving processor calculates index time T3 = backtracking time T2 - time interval T1.
7
step S2 comprises: S21, recording a time interval T1 of the currently received wireless signal and wired signal;
S22, obtaining a backtracking time T2 from a time when the first signal reaches the reference point to the time when the wireless signal is received;
S23, index time T3 = backtracking time T2 - time interval T1;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et. al. (CN 108909378 A, IDS, Translation Attached) in view of Liu (US 20200116469 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Guan discloses:
A tire self-positioning method, comprising: (See at least ¶0002 via "a vehicle tire positioning method and system")
S1, data acquisition, obtaining a first signal and a second signal of the tire, the first signal at least comprising acceleration information of the tire, and the second signal at least comprising rotation angle information of the tire; (See at least ¶0009 via "The central control module acquires the rolling status signal of the target vehicle's tires and the gear rotation data of the target vehicle's tires collected by the signal acquisition module" and ¶0059 via " the acceleration sensor is used to collect the rotation information of the vehicle's tires and the wheel speed sensor is used to collect the gear rotation information of the vehicle's tires")
S2, data transmission, obtaining a wireless signal and a wired signal of the tire, wherein the wireless signal can be position information of the tire; (See at least ¶0071 via "The signal acquisition module 110 can send radio frequency (RF) information to the central control module 120 after a preset time. The preset time is a known time period. The RF information includes a rolling status signal, phase P1 at time T1, phase P2 at time T2, and the TPMS identification code UID" which corresponds to a wireless signal. Additionally see at least ¶0061 via "The wheel speed sensor in the signal acquisition module 110 is used to collect gear rotation data of the target vehicle's tires. This data can be transmitted to the central control module 120 for storage via the data bus" and ¶0062 via "…The difference in rotation angle of each tire within time T1 can be obtained based on the gear rotation data" and ¶0067 via " If the difference between the phase difference and the angle difference is within a preset range, it determines that the signal acquisition module 110 is installed on the tire of the target vehicle")
S3, data conversion, comprising: S31, calculating (See at least ¶0010 via "Step S120: The central control module 120 obtains the phase difference of the rolling state signal within a specific time period based on the rolling state signal, and obtains the number of gears rotated by the target vehicle tire within the specific time period based on the target vehicle tire gear rotation data" and ¶0064 via "If a continuous rolling state signal, i.e. a continuous sine wave signal, is obtained, the central control module 120 can obtain the phase difference of the rolling state signal within a specific time period after receiving the rolling state signal, such as the phase difference between time T1 and time T2, and obtain the number of gears that the target vehicle tire rotates during the time period from time T1 to time T2 from the obtained target vehicle tire rotation data." as well as ¶0060 via "…When the TPMS rotates to point C, the value detected by the accelerometer is the black dot on C', which is the positive maximum amplitude." **Wherein the phase difference between tire signals is determined)
S32, calculating, coded value; (See at least ¶0065 via "Step S130: The central control module 120 obtains the angle difference of the target vehicle tire rotation during the specific time period based on the number of gears rotated by the target vehicle tire during the specific time period." **Wherein the stored gear rotation and phase data correspond to the reference coded value)
S4, repeatedly executing steps SS3 to obtain a sequence of the reference coded value; (See at least ¶0072 via "The central control module 120 can read the gear data corresponding to each vehicle tire at these times, store these data, and accumulate them over a period of time to obtain a set of valid data.")
S5, data statistics, performing deviation degree statistics on the obtained sequence of the reference coded value; (See at least ¶0081 via "The TPMS chip can be determined by calculating the standard deviation of each tire gear data. The one with the smallest standard deviation corresponds to the TPMS chip")
S6, determining, according to a statistical result, position information of the tire corresponding to the first signal (See at least ¶0067 via " If the difference between the phase difference and the angle difference is within a preset range, it determines that the signal acquisition module 110 is installed on the tire of the target vehicle.").
However, Guan does not explicitly disclose, but Liu--who is directed towards a sensing method for wheel rotation and wheel localization--discloses: signal can be indexed to corresponding time when the first signal arrives at a reference point (See at least ¶0019 via "hen, the electronic control unit can obtain angle information related to the rotation angle of the wheel between a first and second time points according to the change amount of the relative magnetic force information between the first and second time points" **Wherein, the wheel sensor signals being associated with specific time points corresponds to the indexing)
the index time being a span from a current time that the wired signal is received to when the first signal arrives at the reference point; (See at least ¶0022 via " the rotation angle of the wheel during this period can be accurately obtained according to the change amount of the relative magnetic force information between the first and second time points" **Wherein the relationship of the wheel rotation is determined based on two different signal times. As well as ¶0026 via " Time points T1 and T2 can be the “first” group of the first and second time points, where time point T1 is the “first” time point, and time point T2 is the “second” time point. At time point T1, the wheel may rotate to a first position, at which time the magnetometer fixedly installed in the wheel can be located directly above the wheel, and the corresponding magnitude of the relative magnetic force information may be 1.3. At second time point T2, the magnetometer can rotate to the middle position of the wheel with the rotation of the wheel, and the corresponding magnitude of the relative magnetic force information may be 0.8." and also ¶0027 via " it can be seen that from time point T1 to time point T2, the change amount of the relative magnetic force information is 0.5, and the corresponding rotation angle of the wheel is 90°. For the “second” group of the first and second time points, time point T2 is the “first” time point, and time point T3 is the “second” time point. In this particular example, from time point T2 to time point T3, the change amount of the relative magnetic force information is 0.5, and the corresponding rotation angle of the wheel is 90°. Therefore, any two time points during the rotation of the wheel can form a group of the first and second time points, and the angle information of the wheel rotation between the two time points can be obtained according to the change information of the relative magnetic force between the first and second time points." **Wherein the time span between the two signals corresponds to the index time)
according to the index time…arriving at the reference point (See at least ¶0022 via " the rotation angle of the wheel during this period can be accurately obtained according to the change amount of the relative magnetic force information between the first and second time points" and ¶0026 via " At time point T1, the wheel may rotate to a first position…").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Guan in view of the determination of wheel rotation angle using the wheel rotational angle derived from signals/measurements at different time points (corresponding to index time) such as disclosed by Liu in ¶0019 and ¶0022 in order to provide a predictable method to obtain the rotational angle information from signal timing, such as already required by Guan as Guan determines tire position by analyzing the phase difference and angle difference between signals: "The central control module 120 compares the phase difference with the angle difference. If the difference between the phase difference and the angle difference is within a preset range, it determines that the signal acquisition module 110 is installed on the tire of the target vehicle." [Guan ¶0067]. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to determine the rotation angle based on the time span between signals in order to determine the rotational relationship between the sensor signals of the tire.
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Guan discloses the tire self-positioning method according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Guan discloses: wherein, the rotation angle information of the tire comprises an ABS teeth number rotated by the tire, (See at least ¶0061 via "The wheel speed sensor in the signal acquisition module 110 is used to collect gear rotation data of the target vehicle's tires. This data can be transmitted to the central control module 120 for storage via the data bus. The central control module 120 can be the vehicle's ECU, as shown in Figure 5. The black solid line in Figure 5 represents the starting point of the gear rotation data. The next black solid line represents one revolution of the tire. That is, the tire rotates one revolution within one cycle of the rolling state signal collected by the signal acquisition module 110." and ¶0062 via "Each tire has the same number of gears, but due to uneven roads or vehicle turns, the number of gears rotated by each vehicle's tires may differ within the same time period.")
obtaining the wired signal in S2, saving the ABS teeth number, and generating a coded value, (See at least ¶0065 via "Step S130: The central control module 120 obtains the angle difference of the target vehicle tire rotation during the specific time period based on the number of gears rotated by the target vehicle tire during the specific time period.")
a plurality of the coded values forming a sequence of the coded value; (See at least ¶0072 via "The central control module 120 can read the gear data corresponding to each vehicle tire at these times, store these data, and accumulate them over a period of time to obtain a set of valid data")
in step S5, performing deviation degree statistics on obtained sequence of the reference coded value (See at least ¶0081 via "The TPMS chip can be determined by calculating the standard deviation of each tire gear data. The one with the smallest standard deviation corresponds to the TPMS chip").
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guan et. al. (CN 108909378 A, IDS, Translation Attached) and Liu (US 20200116469 A1) in view of Sekizawa (US 20210122197 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Guan discloses A tire self-positioning system, performing the tire self-positioning method according to Claim 1.
Furthermore, Guan discloses: wherein, the tire self-positioning system comprises: a tire; (See at least ¶0028 via "…the vehicle tire positioning system…" and also ¶0031 via "The central control module is used to obtain the phase difference of the rolling state signal within a specific time period based on the rolling state signal, and to obtain the number of gears rotated by the target vehicle tire within the specific time period based on the target vehicle tire gear rotation data.")
a tire condition detection device, provided on the tire, configured to collect the first signal and pressure, temperature and identification code of the tire, and generating the wireless signal; (See at least ¶0058 via " In order to monitor the status information of the vehicle tires, such as temperature, tire pressure, and rolling information, a tire pressure monitoring chip (TPMS) and a signal acquisition module 110 are installed on each tire of the vehicle during vehicle operation...each tire is equipped with a tire pressure monitoring chip, the tire pressure monitoring chip needs to be located in order to identify which tire the information collected by the chip belongs to" and ¶0071 via "The signal acquisition module 110 can send radio frequency (RF) information to the central control module 120 after a preset time. The preset time is a known time period. The RF information includes a rolling status signal, phase P1 at time T1, phase P2 at time T2, and the TPMS identification code UID")
a second signal sensor, provided on the tire and configured to collect the second signal; (See at least ¶0061 via "wheel speed sensor in the signal acquisition module 110 is used to collect gear rotation data of the target vehicle's tires")
a (See at least ¶0061 via "The wheel speed sensor in the signal acquisition module 110 is used to collect gear rotation data of the target vehicle's tires. This data can be transmitted to the central control module 120 for storage via the data bus" and ¶0067 via "The central control module 120 compares the phase difference with the angle difference. If the difference between the phase difference and the angle difference is within a preset range, it determines that the signal acquisition module 110 is installed on the tire of the target vehicle." **Wherein the sensor is mounted on each respective specific wheel and thus communication from that sensor includes the position information)
a communication bus and a signal receiving processor, the signal receiving processor receiving the wired signal through the communication bus, the signal receiving processor receiving the wireless signal, the signal receiving processor performing steps S3 to S6 according to the wireless signal and the wired signal (See at least ¶0061 via "The wheel speed sensor in the signal acquisition module 110 is used to collect gear rotation data of the target vehicle's tires. This data can be transmitted to the central control module 120 for storage via the data bus" and ¶0071 via "The signal acquisition module 110 can send radio frequency (RF) information to the central control module 120 after a preset time. The preset time is a known time period. The RF information includes a rolling status signal, phase P1 at time T1, phase P2 at time T2, and the TPMS identification code UID" and ¶0067 via "The central control module 120 compares the phase difference with the angle difference. If the difference between the phase difference and the angle difference is within a preset range, it determines that the signal acquisition module 110 is installed on the tire of the target vehicle." as well as ¶0081 via "The TPMS chip can be determined by calculating the standard deviation of each tire gear data. The one with the smallest standard deviation corresponds to the TPMS chip")
However, Guan does not explicitly disclose the second signal controller.
Nevertheless, Sekizawa--who is directed towards wheel position detection--discloses: second signal controller (See at least ¶0027 via "The second controller further acquires an edge number of a gear or a tooth number of the gear based on a detection signal of a wheel velocity sensor for detecting a passage of teeth of the gear rotating in coordination with the corresponding travelling wheel")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Modified Guan in view of Sekizawa's second controller to provide another controller to perform different tasks in order to divide the computational load and make the system more efficient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 9-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the double patenting rejection is overcome, and if they are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et. al. (US 20150377740 A1)
Watabe et. al. (US 20130222128 A1)
Guinart et. al. (US 20200180369 A1)
Araya (US 20170259627 A1)
/K.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ABBY LIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657