DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 14 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/037246.
With respect to claim 14, WO ‘246 discloses an electrochemically active charge storage material (see paragraph [0061]), comprising: an active material comprising a fused aromatic system comprising carbon atoms, hydrogen atoms, and a plurality of heteroatoms each replacing a carbon atom (see paragraph [0082]), wherein: the ratio of carbon atoms to heteroatoms is between greater than 1 and less than 2 (see paragraph [0082]), wherein the plurality of heteroatoms comprise N, O, S, and/or Se (see paragraph [0082]).
With respect to claim 25, WO ‘246 discloses a charge storage device, comprising: the electrochemically active charge storage material of claim 14. See the abstract, noting an electrochemical cell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, a bis-tetraamino-benzoquinone molecule as recited in independent claims 1 and 2. Claims 3-13 are allowed by virtue of their dependency from claim 2.
Claims 24 and 26-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claims 24-32, the prior art fails to teach, or fairly suggest, the details associated with claims 24-32, when taken in conjunction with the limitations of claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CA 3160705 and CA 3115290 discloses aromatic fused compound including substituted heteroatoms. The Office further notes that references marked as “x” references on search reports for associated patent applications from foreign patent offices have publication dates that are after the PCT filing date and the provisional priority date for the instant application.
/DION R. FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848