DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 07/01/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Examiner failed to “sufficiently establish how the identified species lack the required technical relationship or fail to share the same or corresponding special technical features”. This is not found persuasive because for the following reasons.
As mentioned in Applicant’s remarks, Unity of Invention is governed by 37 CFR 1.475(a), which describes the group of inventions/species which may be restricted via unity of invention is the claimed inventions. The 05/07/2026 Requirement for Restriction relies on the shared structure between each of independent Claims 1, 13 & 19 to determine the shared technical relationship between each of the claimed inventions/species. Since the cited Martilla reference teaches each of the limitations of Claim 1, there is no claimed shared special technical feature among the claimed inventions/species. As Applicant points out, the particular structure of each of the claimed embedded components is only differentiated in dependent claims. Once the structure of the embedded components is described, the respective structure is no longer considered a shared technical relationship.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 3-10 & 13-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/01/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows.
“component” in Claim 1, where the generic placeholder is “component”, the functional language is “configured for use in detecting one or more of…”, and sufficient modifying structure is not provided; instant application Paragraphs 0008-0016 list multiple structure for the component, providing sufficient modifying structure
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 & 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to Claim 1, applicant has failed to show possession of the claimed invention by failing to provide sufficient detail needed to understand what the invention is and how it works. Applicant claims the dressing layer comprises at least one embedded component configured for use in detecting…fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter…catheter dislodgement…presence of microbes at the IV access site. This raises questions to what applicant had possession of, in that neither the specification nor the drawings, or a combination thereof, adequately explain how the at least one embedded component is capable of detecting fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter, catheter dislodgement, or the presence of microbes at the IV access site.
The original disclosure only broadly describes the embedded components as detecting fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter, catheter dislodgement, or the presence of microbes at the IV access site, but the original disclosure “does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved.” None of an “algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function [are] described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed.” As such, sufficient written description is not provided for the claimed limitation.
Instant application Paragraph 0079 describes how the conductive traces are capable of detecting fluid buildup (infiltration) below the patient’s skin, but makes no effort to distinguish how the conductive traces are capable of determining the buildup is from the catheter specifically. Paragraph 0079 makes no attempt to describe how the traces are capable of detecting extravasation.
See MPEP 2161.01(I).
As to Claim 2, applicant has failed to show possession of the claimed invention by failing to provide sufficient detail needed to understand what the invention is and how it works. Applicant claims the dressing layer comprises at least one embedded component configured for use in detecting one or more of swelling of the IV access site…fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter…catheter dislodgement…color changes of the patient’s skin at the IV access site…presence of microbes at the IV access site, and degradation of the dressing layer…wherein the at least one embedded component comprises a plurality of conductive traces. This raises questions to what applicant had possession of, in that neither the specification nor the drawings, or a combination thereof, adequately explain how the at least one embedded component is capable of detecting swelling of the IV access site, fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter, catheter dislodgement, color changes of the patient’s skin at the IV access site, presence of microbes at the IV access site, or degradation of the dressing layer.
As described in the Claim 1 rejection above, the original disclosure does not provide sufficient support for the embedded component detecting fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter, catheter dislodgement, or the presence of microbes at the IV access site, but the original disclosure “does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved.”
Instant application Paragraph 0093 describes how unelected Species V –shown in Figures 5A/5B—is capable of detecting swelling of the IV access site. However, the original disclosure does not provide sufficient written description for how the conductive traces are capable of detecting swelling of the IV access site.
Instant application Paragraphs 0092/00123/00124 describes how unelected species are capable of detecting color changes of the patient’s skin at the IV access site. However, the original disclosure does not provide sufficient written description for how the conductive traces are capable of detecting color changes of the patient’s skin at the IV access site.
Instant application Paragraphs 00102/00116/00127 describes how unelected species are capable of detecting degradation of the dressing layer. However, the original disclosure does not provide sufficient written description for how the conductive traces are capable of detecting degradation of the dressing layer.
None of an “algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function [are] described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed.” As such, sufficient written description is not provided for the claimed limitation.
See MPEP 2161.01(I).
As to Claim 12, applicant has failed to show possession of the claimed invention by failing to provide sufficient detail needed to understand what the invention is and how it works. Applicant claims sending at least one of an audible or visual alert to a care provider. This raises questions to what applicant had possession of, in that neither the specification nor the drawings, or a combination thereof, adequately explain how an audible or visual alert is sent to a care provider.
The original disclosure only broadly describes sending at least one of an audible or visual alert to a care provider, but the original disclosure “does not sufficiently describe how the function is performed or the result is achieved.” None of an “algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function [are] described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed.” As such, sufficient written description is not provided for the claimed limitation.
Claims 1-2 & 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, the limitation “the dressing layer comprises at least one embedded component configured for use in detecting…fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter…catheter dislodgement…presence of microbes at the IV access site”, in Lines 4-8, is indefinite. As described in the 112(a) rejection above, sufficient written description was not provided for the functions. As such, it is not clear how the claimed component is capable of detecting catheter dislodgement or the presence of microbes at the IV access site, rendering the claim indefinite.
The phrase “fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter”, in Line 6, should read --fluid infiltration/extravasation from a catheter. Although a catheter insertion was described in the preamble, the catheter itself was not positively claimed until Line 6.
As to Claim 2, the limitation “the at least one embedded component comprises a plurality of conductive traces”, in combination with Claim 1, Lines 4-8, is indefinite. As described in the 112(a) rejection above, sufficient written description was not provided for the functions. As such, it is not clear how the claimed component is capable of detecting swelling of the IV access site, fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter, catheter dislodgement, color changes of the patient’s skin at the IV access site, presence of microbes at the IV access site, or degradation of the dressing layer, rendering the claim indefinite.
As to Claim 12, the limitation “sending at least one of an audible or visual alert to a care provider”, in Line 7, is indefinite. As described in the 112(a) rejection above, sufficient written description was not provided for the functions. As such, it is not clear how an audible or visual alert is sent to a care provider, rendering the claim indefinite.
The phrase “fluid detection on top of the patient's skin at a skin piercing location”, in Lines 3-4, should read --fluid detection on top of the patient's skin at [[a]]the skin piercing location.
The term “the shutdown”, in Line 6, should read –a
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 & 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Padmanathan (U.S. PGPub 2023/0052494).
As to Claim 1, Padmanathan teaches a system (2/10) for monitoring an intravenous (IV) access site (Paragraph 0020) for catheter (12) insertion (Paragraph 0020) into (as shown in Figure 1) a patient's skin (Paragraph 0020), the system (2/10) comprising:
a dressing layer (10) configured to cover (as shown in Figure 1) at least a portion of the IV access site (Paragraph 0020),
wherein the dressing layer (10) comprises at least one embedded component (14/16/19) configured for use in detecting one or more of swelling of the IV access site (Paragraph 0028), temperature changes at the IV access site (Paragraph 0026), fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter, fluid detection on top of the patient's skin at a skin piercing location, catheter dislodgement, color changes of the patient's skin at the IV access site, presence of microbes at the IV access site, and degradation of the dressing layer. Note – since Padmanathan teaches at least one of the options, the remaining options do not need to be taught.
As to Claim 2, Padmanathan teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach the at least one embedded component (14/16/19) comprises a plurality of conductive traces (as shown in Figure 1 and described in at least Paragraphs 0022/0026/0028).
As to Claim 11, Padmanathan teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach the dressing layer (10) further comprises an integrated power source (Paragraph 0021) and communication electronics (17; Paragraph 0021).
As to Claim 12, Padmanathan teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, and continues to teach based upon the detection of one or more of swelling of the IV access site (Paragraph 0028), temperature changes at the IV access site (Paragraph 0026), fluid infiltration/extravasation from the catheter, fluid detection on top of the patient's skin at a skin piercing location, catheter dislodgement, color changes of the patient's skin at the IV access site, presence of microbes at the IV access site, and degradation of the dressing layer, the system is further configured to initiate at least one of the shutdown of an infusion pump fluidly coupled the catheter and send at least one of an audible or visual alert to a care provider (Paragraph 0037).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Inoue (2020/0324045 – see Figure 1) and Shaltis (2018/0266973 – see Figure 1) teach similar catheter insertion site monitoring systems.
/DAVID N BRANDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783