DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
(Claim 1 and 9) “a means to establish fluid communication between the at least one sensor and the sample of interstitial fluid, blood or both”
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
(Claim 1 and 9) “a means to establish fluid communication between the at least one sensor and the sample of interstitial fluid, blood or both”: As identified by the Claims, the following is recognized as the corresponding structure to the means: “wherein the means to establish fluid communication comprises at least one needle.” Or equivalents thereof.
Of note claims 2-4 no longer invoke 112f as the functional language recites definite structure.
If applicant wishes to provide explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 12 and claims dependent thereon rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, the term “applying a device for measuring one or more analytes from interstitial fluid, blood, or both of the subject;" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the term “applying” is being used to refer to the action of placing an object on a surface or if the term “applying” is being to refer to the action of making use of something. In this manner, an activation of the device could be considered “applying” the device. Appropriate changes would include -- applying a device for measuring one or more analytes from interstitial fluid, blood, or both of the subject by placing the device partially in-vivo into the skin of the subject;-- and Examiner will be interpreting the claim as such.
Regarding Claim 12, the term “further comprising taking at least one measurement of progesterone by a device containing a sensor for progesterone" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this refers to a second device, separate from the device introduced in claim 9 or if this device is the same device as the device introduced in claim 9. Appropriate changes would include -- further comprising taking at least one measurement of progesterone by a sensor for progesterone contained by the device -- and Examiner will be interpreting the claim as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heikenfeld (US 2020/0138347) (“Heikenfeld 347”).
Regarding Claim 1, Heikenfeld 347 teaches a device for measuring one or more analytes in a sample of interstitial fluid, blood or both (Abstract, [0004], [0059]-[0061] various embodiments are understood as descriptions of subcomponents of a single biofluid sample collecting device, with example biofluids being blood and interstitial fluid), comprising:
at least one electrochemical aptamer-based (EAB) sensor comprising one or more attached redox couples that measure at least one of said analytes (Fig. 9 [0078] collection device 900 comprising electrochemical aptamer-based sensors 920 for estrogen and 922 for progesterone, [0089] where electrochemical aptamer-based sensors measure by attached redox couples);
a means to establish fluid communication between the at least one sensor and the sample of interstitial fluid, blood or both (Fig. 17, [0104]-[0105] microneedles 1782 act as means to establish fluid communication between the skin surface / sample of interstitial fluid and the at least one sensor. Further, device 1700 for extracting interstitial fluid to sense one or more analytes utilizing an array of microneedles to penetrate the skin surface and extract fluid can be provided with Fig. 9’s device for collection to jointly teach a particular configuration of the internal components for enabling device 1700 where the opening 1755 corresponds to the opening channel 980, the pump 1730 corresponds to pump 930, the one or more sensors 1720 correspond to sensors 920, 922, and 926, the sample concentrator 1795 corresponds to membrane 995, and the sensors may be electrochemical aptamer-based sensors
);
wherein the one or more analytes are selected from the group consisting of progesterone, luteinizing hormone (LH), estrogen, follicle stimulating hormone (FSH), their metabolites, and combinations thereof ([0078]).
Regarding Claim 2, Heikenfeld 347 teaches the device of claim 1, and Heikenfeld 347 further teaches wherein the means to establish fluid communication comprises at least one needle (See Claim 1 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 5, Heikenfeld 347 teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the device is capable of measurement of one or more analytes for at least 6 hours ([0078] device is worn for 24 hours and is capable of measurement of one or more analytes while worn) and the measurement may be continuous ([0077] continuous measuring achieved by measuring repeatedly, based on when a new fluid sample has entered the collection environment and replaced the previous fluid sample).
Regarding Claim 6, Heikenfeld 347 teaches the device of claim 1, wherein the device is capable of measurement of one or more analytes for at least 24 hours ([0078] device is worn for 24 hours and is capable of measurement of one or more analytes while worn) and the measurement may be continuous ([0077] continuous measuring achieved by measuring repeatedly, based on when a new fluid sample has entered the collection environment and replaced the previous fluid sample).
Regarding Claim 7, Heikenfeld 347 teaches the device of claim 1 wherein the device is capable of taking a single measurement (See Claim 1 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 8, Heikenfeld 347 teaches the device of claim 1, comprising a first EAB sensor and a second EAB sensor ([0078]), wherein the first EAB sensor measures LH and the second EAB sensor measures progesterone ([0078], [0081] where the sensor 926 for luteinizing hormone could also be an electrochemical aptamer-based sensor; EAB sensor 922 for progesterone).
Regarding Claim 9, Heikenfeld 347 teaches a method of predicting and/or confirming ovulation of a subject (Abstract, [0004], [0059]-[0061] various embodiments are understood as descriptions of subcomponents of a single biofluid sample collecting device, with example biofluids being blood and interstitial fluid), comprising:
applying a device for measuring one or more analytes from interstitial fluid, blood or both of the subject (Abstract, [0004], [0059]-[0063]); and
measuring a concentration change of luteinizing hormone (LH), progesterone or both in the subject (Fig. 9, [0078] collection device 900 comprising electrochemical aptamer-based sensors 920 for estrogen and 922 for progesterone for measuring concentration of these analytes, [0079] where estrogen and progesterone concentration changes are measured over time, and may provide the basis for when the luteinizing hormone is measured, rather than a scheduled time);
wherein the one or more analytes are selected from the group consisting of progesterone, luteinizing hormone (LH), estrogen, follicle stimulating hormone (FSH), their metabolites, and combinations thereof ([0078]); and
further, wherein the device comprises:
a) at least one electrochemical aptamer-based (EAB) sensor comprising one or more attached redox couples that measure at least one of said analytes (Fig. 9 [0078], [0089] where electrochemical aptamer-based sensors measure by attached redox couples); and
b) a means to establish fluid communication between the at least one sensor to interstitial fluid, blood or both (Fig. 17, [0104]-[0105] microneedles 1782 act as means to establish fluid communication between the skin surface / sample of interstitial fluid and the at least one sensor. Further, device 1700 for extracting interstitial fluid to sense one or more analytes utilizing an array of microneedles to penetrate the skin surface and extract fluid can be provided with Fig. 9’s device for collection to jointly teach a particular configuration of the internal components for enabling device 1700 where the opening 1755 corresponds to the opening channel 980, the pump 1730 corresponds to pump 930, the one or more sensors 1720 correspond to sensors 920, 922, and 926, the sample concentrator 1795 corresponds to membrane 995, and the sensors may be electrochemical aptamer-based sensors).
Regarding Claim 12, Heikenfeld 347 teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising taking at least one measurement of progesterone by a device containing a sensor for progesterone (See Claim 9 Rejection).
Regarding Claim 14, Heikenfeld 347 teaches the method of claim 9 wherein the device provides data selected from the group consisting of continuous concentration data of at least one of said analytes, a predicted time of ovulation, a predicted time of peak fertility, a confirmation that ovulation has occurred, and combinations thereof ([0078] device is worn for 24 hours and is capable of measurement of one or more analytes of estrogen and progesterone, [0077] continuous measuring achieved by measuring repeatedly, based on when a new fluid sample has entered the collection environment and replaced the previous fluid sample).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld 347 as evidenced by Glazer.
Regarding Claim 3, Heikenfeld 347 teaches the device of claim 2, wherein the at least one needle is hollow and it establishes fluid communication of the sample of interstitial fluid or blood to the at least one sensor (See Claim 2 Rejection) and where fluid communication can be facilitated by diffusion ([0104]-[0105] fluid extracted by microneedles is captured by biofluid collector 1734, [0055] biofluid collection can be facilitated by diffusion coupling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to facilitate the biofluid collection from the microneedles at 1734 by providing biodfluid collector 1734 with diffusion capability as a way to promote the transport of interstitial fluid from the microneedles.
Regarding Claim 4, Heikenfeld 347 teaches the device of claim 2 wherein the at least one needle is hollow and it establishes fluid communication of the sample of interstitial fluid or blood to the at least one sensor (See Claim 2 Rejection) and where fluid communication can be facilitated by advection ([0104]-[0105] fluid extracted by microneedles is captured by biofluid collector 1734, [0055] biofluid collection can be facilitated by advective coupling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to facilitate the biofluid collection from the microneedles at 1734 by providing biodfluid collector 1734 with advective capability as a way to promote the transport of interstitial fluid from the microneedles.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld 347 in view of Lakdawala (US 2016/0139156) and further in view of Martinez Hurtado (US 2019/0307432) as noted in Applicant IDS dated 3/18/2024 and further in view of Heikenfeld et al (US 2018/0353748) (“Heikenfeld 748”).
Regarding Claim 10, while Heikenfeld 347 teaches the method of claim 9 wherein said device continuously measures analytes for at least 6 hours ([0077] continuous analyte measurements, [0078] analytes measured during operation for 24 hours), their combined efforts fail to teach the method further comprising the use of at least two urine-based LH test strips to indicate a time for use of the device, and wherein said device continuously measures at least LH for at least 6 hours.
However Lakdawala teaches a fertility monitoring apparatus (Abstract) and teaches that a method for fertility monitoring comprises receiving initial patient fertility data determining a day for a user to perform LH monitoring based on the initial patient fertility data ([0106]) where the LH monitoring comprises urine-based LH strips ([0103], [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize initial monitoring of fertility related data from Heikenfeld 347 to identify the optimal day of LH monitoring as taught by Lakdawala as a means to ensure that the system of Heikenfeld 347 is only utilized at necessary time, saving device battery.
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach the use of at least two urine-based LH test strips to indicate a time for use of the device.
However Martinez Hurtado teaches an estimation of ovulation date (Abstract) and teaches that hormone monitoring strips may be measured multiple times as a confirmation of identified ovulation date ([0025], [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform the urinary-based strip testing of Lakdawala twice as taught by Martinez Hurtado to ensure the fertility window of the user is correctly identified, ensuring the best possible chance for a user to get pregnant.
Yet their combined efforts fail to teach wherein said device continuously measures at least LH.
However Heikenfeld 748 teaches a biosensing fluid monitoring (Abstract) comprising measuring luteinizing hormone for fertility monitoring and further teaches that prolonged monitoring of luteinizing hormone may be facilitated at optimal times by applying continuous reverse iontophoresis for a patient intending to get pregnant ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to enable continuous monitoring of LH in Heikenfeld 347 with the reverse iontophoresis steps of Heikenfeld 748 to ensure that continuous monitoring of LH occurs at an appropriate time, enabling a user to identify their optimal fertility window.
Regarding Claim 11, Heikenfeld 347, Lakdawala, Martinez Hurtado, and Heikenfeld 748 teach the method of claim 10 wherein said device continuously measures analytes for at least 24 hours (See Claim 10 Rejection), their combined efforts fail to teach the continuously monitored analyte is LH.
However Heikenfeld 748 teaches a biosensing fluid monitoring (Abstract) comprising measuring luteinizing hormone for fertility monitoring and further teaches that prolonged monitoring of luteinizing hormone may be facilitated at optimal times by applying continuous reverse iontophoresis for a patient intending to get pregnant ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to enable continuous monitoring of LH in Heikenfeld 347 with the reverse iontophoresis steps of Heikenfeld 748 to ensure that continuous monitoring of LH occurs at an appropriate time, enabling a user to identify their optimal fertility window.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikenfeld 347 in view of Heikenfeld 748.
Regarding Claim 13, while Heikenfeld 347 teaches the method of claim 9 wherein the device contains sensors for both LH and progesterone ([0078]) and measures progesterone continuously for at least 6 hours ([0077] continuous analyte measurements, [0078] analytes measured during operation for 24 hours), their combined efforts fail to teach the continuously monitored analyte is LH.
However Heikenfeld 748 teaches a biosensing fluid monitoring (Abstract) comprising measuring luteinizing hormone for fertility monitoring and further teaches that prolonged monitoring of luteinizing hormone may be facilitated at optimal times by applying continuous reverse iontophoresis for a patient intending to get pregnant ([0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to enable continuous monitoring of LH in Heikenfeld 347 with the reverse iontophoresis steps of Heikenfeld 748 to ensure that continuous monitoring of LH occurs at an appropriate time, enabling a user to identify their optimal fertility window.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 17/822,773 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both comprise an EAB sensor with a redox coupled thereto that measures analytes, a needle that is connected to the EAB and to a device and a method of using the EAB sensor for detecting a hormone.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JAIRO H. PORTILLO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791