DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 3-9 and 14are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 3-9 recite “the bearing chamber” for which there is no antecedent basis. Claim 14 recites “The method” and “the containers”; neither has antecedent basis in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4,050,888 A to Pfister et al. (Pfister).
In reference to independent claim 1, Pfister discloses:
A pin oven (21, 29, 30, 31) for producing containers (C), the pin oven comprising:
a drying chamber (21) for drying the containers with a temperature-controlled process fluid (air, see col. 1 at lines 46-51);
at least one axle (P) for supporting a bearing element (13, 26) arranged inside the drying chamber (see Figs. 4 and 5); and
at least one axle bearing (14, 32) arranged outside the drying chamber (21) (see Figs. 2 and 5), with which the axle is supported,
wherein the axle bearing is arranged in a heat-insulating fashion relative to the surroundings of the pin oven (see Fig. 5).
In reference to independent claim 11, the claimed method is disclosed in Pfister (see the rejection of claim 1).
In reference to dependent claims 2 and 12, Pfister further discloses: a bearing chamber (see Fig. 5) arranged adjacent to the drying chamber (21) and into which the axle protrudes (P) and inside which the axle bearing (32) is arranged, the bearing chamber being designed to be arranged in a heat-insulating fashion, in particular fluid-tight, relative to the surroundings (see Fig. 5).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Pfister further discloses: a connecting space (see Fig. 5) extending between the drying chamber (21) and a bearing chamber, through which the axle (P) extends.
In reference to dependent claim 5, Pfister further discloses: a bearing chamber is formed by or comprises a chamber wall (see Fig. 5).
In reference to dependent claim 8, Pfister further discloses: a bearing chamber is formed by a cover element with a cavity (see Fig. 5).
In reference to dependent claim 9, Pfister further discloses: a fluid channel (see Fig. 5) fluidically coupled to the bearing chamber for providing a pressurized fluid to reduce or prevent an escape of the process fluid from the drying chamber into the bearing chamber. It is noted that the limitations “for providing a pressurized fluid to reduce or prevent an escape of the process fluid from the drying chamber into the bearing chamber” have been considered but are deemed not patentably distinguishable over the prior art Pfister because they merely states Applicant’s intended use of the fluid channel. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Thus, a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Pfister discloses all of the structural elements required by claim 9 and, therefore, would be capable of being used as intended by Applicant. See MPEP 2114(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6, 7, 10, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfister.
In reference to dependent claims 4, 6, 7, and 13, Pfister is silent regarding details of the bearing chamber. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at such details as needed or desired as they only require routine skill in the art.
In reference dependent claim 10, Pfister is silent regarding the axle bearing being a high-temperature bearing. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a bearing that is capable of withstanding high temperatures given the location and nature of their usage, i.e. the cans are exposed to heat in the oven and drying process.
In reference to independent claim 14, Pfister discloses:
A method for increasing the energy efficiency of a pin oven (21, 29, 30, 31), the pin oven comprising a drying chamber (21) for drying containers (C) with a temperature-controlled process fluid (air), at least one axle (P) for supporting a support element arranged inside the drying chamber, and a stock bearing with which the axle is supported, the method comprising:
replacing the stock bearing by removing the stock bearing and arranging an axle bearing (14, 32) to support the axle (P) (see Figs. 2 and 5).
Pfister is silent regarding arranging a cover element with a cavity in such a way that the axle bearing is arranged in a heat-insulating fashion relative to the surroundings.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Pfister to include arranging a cover element with a cavity so that the axle bearing is arranged in a heat-insulating fashion relative to the surroundings as needed or desired doing so would only require routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799