DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 24 recites the broad recitation “the oven has an external height of between 50 and 90 mm and internal height of the insert in the range of 66 to 28 mm”, and the claim also recites “preferably 51 and 88 mm and particularly preferably 55 and 56 mm” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-19 and 28-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumgartner (US 10,036,058).
Regarding claim 17, Baumgartner teaches a testing device comprising a housing (100), an insulation system (120, 114 and 112) and an insert (224) for a sample vessel (140), the insulation system (120, 114 and 112) is arranged at least partially around the insert (224), wherein at least one heating element (190) is arranged between the insulation system (120, 114 and 112) and the insert (224) and at least partially surrounding the insert (224). (Refer to Figure 4A)
Regarding claim 18, the at least one heating element (196) is a tubular cartridge. (Refer to Figure 6B)
Regarding claim 19, the tubular cartridge (190) is arranged in a spiral around the insert (224).
Regarding claim 28, the insert (224) is made of a thermally conductive material.
Regarding claim 29, the thermal conductive material has a thermal conductivity higher than 10 W/(m*K). (Refer to Col. 11, Lines 43-48)
Regarding claim 30, the insert (224) has a wall thickness of 1 to 3 mm.
Regarding claim 31, the insert comprises a temperature sensor (422).
Regarding claim 32, the temperature sensor (422) is arranged in a wall of the insert (224).
Regarding claim 33, the oven has a temperature protection switch (126).
Regarding claim 34, the temperature protection switch (126) is arranged below the insert.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner.
Refer above for the teachings of Baumgartner.
Baumgartner fails to teach the insert has an inner diameter of between 16 mm and 31 mm and the insert has an inner diameter of between 22 to 24 mm. Baumgartner further fails to teach the oven has an outer diameter of between 60 and 62 mm and the oven has an outer diameter of 61 mm. Baumgartner further fails to teach the oven has an external height of between 50 and 90 mm, preferably 51 and 88 mm and particularly preferably 55 and 56 mm, and an internal height of the insert in the range of 66 to 28 mm and preferably 33 mm and the oven has an external height of between 51 and 88 mm.
Standard laboratory vials diameters range from 10 mm to 42 mm and approximate heights range from 35 mm to 75 mm depending on the volume of the vials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a insert that has a an inner diameter of between 16 mm and 31 mm and the insert has an inner diameter of between 22 to 24 mm in order to accommodate standard laboratory vials depending on the desired volume to be tested.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a oven that has an external height of between 50 and 90 mm, preferably 51 and 88 mm and particularly preferably 55 and 56 mm, and an internal height of the insert in the range of 66 to 28 mm and preferably 33 mm and the oven has an external height of between 51 and 88 mm in order to ensure the vials/tubes are fully enclosed in the system.
Claim(s) 35-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner in view of Gruenke (US 7416894).
Refer above for the teachings of Baumgartner.
Baumgartner fails to teach a fully automated titration system wherein the titration system is a Karl-Fischer-titration system. Baumgartner fails to teach titrating the sample.
Gruenke teaches a Karl Fischer (KF) oven technique, the sample is firstly heated by a freely programmable temperature profile. An inert and dry carrier gas flowing through the sample space takes up the liberated water and transports it into the connected titration cell. The water is determined in the cell filled with Karl Fischer reagent. The determination can be carried out both volumetrically and also coulometrically by the Karl Fischer method.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the oven technique of Baumgartner in combination with the Karl Fischer titration technique disclosed in Gruenke in order to improve stability of the sample.
Conclusion
/JYOTI Mutreja/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798