Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2016-108575A cited by applicant. Regarding claims 1 and 9, JP2016-108575A discloses an electric arc furnace (1) comprising a furnace vessel (Figure 1), with at least one electrode (4); and a voltage supply (Figure 1) connected to the at least one electrode (4), wherein the furnace vessel (Figure 1) has a lower vessel (Figure 1), wherein the lower vessel for receptacle of a melt (13) and a cover (Figure 1) for placement on the lower vessel (Figure 1), wherein the lower vessel has a tapping channel (14), and wherein the cover has a holding means (Figure 1) for fastening the at least one electrode (4), wherein the electric arc furnace is configured for determining a nitrogen content in the melt (13), wherein the electric arc furnace has a means for determining the nitrogen content in the melt and wherein the electric arc furnace is configured to reduce the nitrogen content in the melt (13) to less than or equal to 70ppm, wherein the electric arc furnace (1) has an apparatus for the insertion of oxygen into the melt (13). Regarding claims 2-5, JP2016-108575A discloses the electric arc furnace has a conveyor system for conveying a carbon carrier (par. 0020), wherein the electric arc furnace and/or the conveyor system is configured to convey the carbon carrier at a temperature of the carbon carrier of more than or equal to 500°C (par. 0048). Regarding claim 6, JP2016-108575A discloses the electric arc furnace and/or the conveyor system is controlled in such a way that the melt has a carbon content of less than or equal to 2.06 wt.% (par. 0030-par. 0035, claims 1-3). Regarding claims 7 and 10, JP2016-108575A discloses the electric arc furnace is configured to remove nitrogen in a gas phase (par. 0033). Regarding claim 8, JP2016-108575A discloses the voltage supply has a control which is operatively connected to the temperature of the melt (Figure 1, par. 0036). Regarding claim 11, JP2016-108575A implicit discloses from the ,measured value.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kleinschmidt et al (US 2014/0355642) discloses electric arc furnace and method of operating same.
/QUANG T VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 August 18, 2026