DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9-14, 16-17, 19 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US20230051778A1, Pro 63233155 Priority Date: Aug 13, 2021).
Regarding claim 1 (Original), Lee’778 discloses a terminal energy saving method (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the method comprises:
receiving first information from a network device, wherein the first information is used for determining a first CDRX cycle (CDRX (connected DRX) cycle can be equated to first CDRX cycle, par 0069) corresponding to a terminal device (see, Fig. 9 905, UE receives from network node the configuration parameters including DRX cycle periodicity for CDRX, par 0069, 0095-0096); and
determining, according to the first CDRX cycle (CDRX (connected DRX) cycle can be equated to first CDRX cycle, par 0069) and a first calculation rule (DRX formula for determining a DRX cycle periodicity using a non-integer number as a start offset can be equated to first calculation rule, par 0099), a moment (UE wakes up and starts a DRX ON-duration timer after a DRX start offset, par 0090) at which the terminal device enters activation duration (see, UE determine cDRX start offset of a DRX cycle periodicity according to formula with modulo and floor / ceiling operation, par 0092), wherein the first calculation rule (formula for determining reception occasions associated with the DRX cycle periodicity, par 0092) is used for controlling the moment at which the terminal device enters the activation duration (UE wakes up start a DRX ON-duration timer after a DRX start offset can be equated to the moment at which the terminal device enters the activation duration, par 0090) to match a moment ( (start of) received traffic periodicity of the UE can be equated to moment at which the network device sends a downlink frame of a first service according to a service cycle, par 0090) at which the network device sends a downlink frame of a first service (downlink traffic (video frames) can be equated to downlink frame of a first service, par 0068) according to a service cycle (see, formula for determining reception occasions for downlink traffic associated with the DRX cycle periodicity to align the DRX cycle and the traffic period by determining/adjusting DRX start offset, par 0090, 0092).
Regarding claim 6 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the first CDRX cycle corresponding to the terminal device is a first CDRX cycle obtained by adjusting, according to the first information, a CDRX cycle (CDRX (connected DRX) cycle can be equated to first CDRX cycle, par 0069) configured for the terminal device (see, Fig. 9, UE determines DRX cycle periodicity by adjusting DRX cycle periodicity according to DRX formula and supporting for selectively using a non-integer number for a DRX cycle periodicity, par 0096, 0100).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 6 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the first information is carried in a media access control control element MAC CE message (see, DRX configuration configured through MAC CEs, par 0067).
Regarding claim 10 (Original), Lee’778 discloses a terminal energy saving method (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the method comprises:
receiving second information from a network device (see, Fig. 7 715, UE receives DRX configuration with DRX cycle duration and ON-duration, par 0081), wherein the second information (DRX configuration can be equated to second information, par 0081) is used for determining one or more CDRX cycles (CDRX (connected DRX) cycle can be equated to first CDRX cycle, par 0069) in a plurality of CDRX cycles (CDRX cycle durations, par 0069, 0080-0081) configured by the network device for a terminal device (see, Fig. 7, UE dynamically adjusts DRX ON-duration start offset for each CDRX cycle duration of DRX cycle durations according to DRX configuration, par 0081), and the one or more CDRX cycles are used for controlling a moment at which the terminal device enters activation duration to match (align can be equated to match, par 0081) a moment at which the network device sends a downlink frame of a first service according to a service cycle (see, Fig. 7, UE dynamically adjusts start offset for each CDRX cycle duration to align downlink traffic bursts in periodic pattern with corresponding ON-durations, par 0081); and
determining, according to the one or more CDRX cycles (CDRX cycle durations, par 0069, 0081), the moment (starting offset of an ON-duration of a DRX cycle, par 0081) at which the terminal device enters the activation duration (see, UE dynamically adjusts start offset for each CDRX cycle duration of CDRX cycle durations, par 0081).
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 10 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the one or more CDRX cycles are a plurality of cyclic CDRX cycles (see, CDRX cycle durations, par 0069, 0080-0081); and the plurality of cyclic CDRX cycles (see, CDRX cycle durations, par 0069, 0080-0081) are used for controlling (adjustment can be equated to control, par 0081) the moment that corresponds to each CDRX cycle in the plurality of cyclic CDRX cycles and at which the terminal device enters the activation duration (ON-duration in each of CDRX cycle durations can be equated to moment that corresponds to each CDRX cycle in the plurality of cyclic CDRX cycles and at which the terminal device enters the activation duration, par 0081) to match (align can be equated to match, par 0081) the moment ((start of) downlink traffic burst can be equated to moment at which the network device sends a downlink frame of the first service according to a service cycle, par 0081) at which the network device sends the downlink frame of the first service (downlink traffic (video frames) can be equated to downlink frame of first service, par 0068) according to the service cycle (see, UE adjusts DRX ON-duration start offset to align each adjusted/non-adjusted DRX ON-duration with (start of) each downlink traffic burst in periodic pattern, par 0081).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 11 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the second information (DRX configuration can be equated to second information, par 0077) comprises identification information (position can be equated to identification information, par 0077) corresponding to each CDRX cycle in the plurality of cyclic CDRX cycles, and a sequence of the identification information (see, DRX configuration of anchor cycle including DRX cycles and leap cycle with their position in order, par 0077. Noted, positions of DRX cycles and leap cycle in order can be equated to sequence of the identification information), wherein the sequence of the identification information corresponds to a cyclic sequence of the plurality of cyclic CDRX cycles (see, DRX configuration of anchor cycle including DRX cycles and leap cycle with their position in order and anchor cycle would be cyclic (due to alignment), par 0074, 0077).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 11 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the second information is carried in a radio resource control RRC message (see, DRX configuration information configured with RRC, par 0094-0095); or
the second information is carried in a media access control control element MAC CE message (see, DRX configuration information configured with MAC CE, par 0094-0095).
Regarding claim 14 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 10 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the one or more CDRX cycles are first CDRX cycles (see, 8 ms DRX cycle duration for each of first 3 CDRX cycles, par 0069, 0081); and the first CDRX cycles are used for controlling (adjustment or non-adjustment can be equated to control, par 0081) the moment at which the terminal device enters the activation duration (ON-duration in each of CDRX cycle durations can be equated to moment at which the terminal device enters the activation duration, par 0081) to match (align can be equated to match, par 0081) the moment ((start of) downlink traffic burst can be equated to moment at which the network device sends the downlink frame of the first service according to the service cycle, par 0081) at which the network device sends the downlink frame of the first service (downlink traffic (video frames) can be equated to downlink frame of first service, par 0068) according to the service cycle (see, UE aligns each adjusted/non-adjusted DRX ON-duration with (start of) each downlink traffic burst in periodic pattern without adjustment to ON-duration start offset for the first 3 CDRX cycles, par 0069, 0081).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 14 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the second information is carried in an RRC message (see, DRX configuration information configured with RRC, par 0094-0095); or
the second information is carried in a MAC CE message (see, DRX configuration information configured with MAC CE, par 0094-0095).
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 14 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the method further comprises:
receiving third information from the network device (see, CDRX configuration from network node, par 0069, 0078), wherein the third information is used by the network device to configure the plurality of CDRX cycles for the terminal device, and the plurality of CDRX cycles comprise the one or more CDRX cycles (see, UE configured with anchor cycle duration with a number of DRX cycles within the anchor cycle, par 0078).
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 17 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the third information is carried in an RRC message (see, DRX configuration information for anchor cycle with a number of DRX cycles within anchor cycle configured through RRC, par 0078).
Regarding claim 47 (Currently Amended) Lee’778 discloses a communication apparatus (see, Fig. 2 and 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0051, 0094), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2, controller/processor, par 0053), a memory (Fig. 2, memory, par 0056), and a transceiver (Fig. 2, antennas, par 0053), wherein the memory is configured to store computer executable instructions (see, Fig. 2, memory used to store instructions executable by processors, par 0058);
the processor is configured to execute the instructions stored in the memory (see, Fig. 2, processors executes instructions stored in memory, par 0058);
the transceiver (Fig. 2, antennas, par 0053) is configured for communicate between the communication apparatus and another device in a communication network (see, Fig. 2, UE communicates with network node through antennas in wireless network, par 0051, 0053, 0055-0056); and
when the communication apparatus runs, the processor executes the instructions, and the transceiver communicates with another device in the communication network, so that the communication apparatus performs the terminal energy saving method according claim 1 (see, Fig. 2 and 9, UE communicates with network node through antennas according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network when processor executes instructions stored in memory, par 0051, 0053, 0058, 0094).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’778 in view of Takano et al (US20230337016A1, Priority Date: Aug. 3, 2021).
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 1 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094).
Lee’778 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first CDRX cycle corresponding to the terminal device is a first CDRX cycle configured by the network device for the terminal device, and the first CDRX cycle is the same as the service cycle.
However Takano’016 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 9, suppress power consumption of the terminal device by DRX in a radio access network , par 0173) discloses:
wherein the first CDRX cycle corresponding to the terminal device is a first CDRX cycle (CDRX cycle, par 0194) configured by the network device for the terminal device (see, setting value of CDRX (CDRX cycle) for terminal by base station, par 0193-0194), and the first CDRX cycle is the same as the service cycle (see, CDRX cycle coincides with the cycle of pushing the AR/VR video image of the game to terminal, par 0194).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Takano’016 into that of Lee’778. The motivation would have been to suppress fluctuation in delay in a case where a plurality of terminal devices communicates with a server in synchronization (par 0006).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 2 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the first calculation rule (DRX formula ca be equated to first calculation rule, par 0103) satisfies the following relationship:
└ [(SFN x 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-cycle) ┘ = drx-StartOffset (DRX formula can be floor{[(SFN×10)+subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle)}=drx-StartOffset, par 0105); or
└ [(SFN x 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-cycle) ┘ = (drx- StartOffset) modulo (drx-cycle) (Note, the examiner picks an option to reject), wherein
SFN represents a system frame number when the terminal device enters the activation duration (see, UE wake up system frame number (SFN), par 0086); subframe number represents a subframe number in a system frame corresponding to the system frame number (see, UE wake up at subframe with subframe identifier n=[(SFN*10)+subframe number], par 0086); drx-cycle represents the first CDRX cycle (drx-LongCycle indicates long DRX cycle for CDRX, par 0069, 0102); and drx-StartOffset represents a subframe offset before the terminal device enters the activation duration (see, UE wakes up start a DRX ON-duration timer after a DRX start offset (drx-StartOffset), par 0105, 0090).
Regarding claim 4 (Currently Amended), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 2 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the first information comprises the service cycle of the first service; or
the first information comprises a value of the first CDRX cycle (see, configuration of DRX cycles configured for CDRX, par 0069, 0077); or
the first information comprises a frequency of the first CDRX cycle; or
the first information comprises a preset integer value (see, configuration includes indication of a rational number for a DRX cycle periodicity, par 0092), and the preset integer value is used by the terminal device to determine the first CDRX cycle according to a preset relationship (see, UE determines a DRX cycle periodicity using configured formula and non-integer rational number for the DRX cycle periodicity, par 0096).
Regarding claim 5 (Currently Amended), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 2 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094), wherein the first information is carried in a radio resource control RRC message (see, DRX configuration configured through RRC, par 0078).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’778 in view of Murray et al (US20220191793A1, Priority Date: Mar 27, 2020).
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 6 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094).
Lee’778 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first calculation rule satisfies the following relationship:
[(SFN x 10) + subframe number modulo (drx-Cycle + cycle-adjust) = drx- StartOffset; or
[(SFN x 10) + subframe number modulo (drx-cycle + cycle-adjust) = (drx- StartOffset) modulo (drx-cycle + cycle-adjust), wherein
SFN represents a frame number when the terminal device enters the activation duration; subframe number represents a subframe number in a system frame corresponding to the system frame number; drx-cycle represents a CDRX cycle configured by the network device for the terminal device; cycle-adjust represents a cycle offset value determined by the terminal device according to the first information; (drx-cycle + cycle-adjust) represents the first CDRX cycle corresponding to the terminal device; and drx-StartOffset represents a subframe offset before the terminal device enters the activation duration.
However Murray’793 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A, WTRUs communicates with RAN in communication system including WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0031) discloses:
wherein the first calculation rule (see, rules configured into the UE, par 0174) satisfies the following relationship:
[(SFN x 10) + subframe number modulo (drx-Cycle + cycle-adjust) = drx- StartOffset; or
[(SFN x 10) + subframe number modulo (drx-cycle + cycle-adjust) = (drx- StartOffset) modulo (drx-cycle + cycle-adjust) (see, , [(SFN × 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle) = (drx-StartOffset) modulo (drx-ShortCycle) if the Short DRX Cycle is used, and [(SFN × 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle) = drx-StartOffset if the Long DRX Cycle is used when DRX Adaption configured, par 0280, 0282. Noted, adapting and switching between a plurality of DRX cycle autonomously, and thus difference between drx-ShortCycle and drx-LongCycle can be equated to cycle-adjust, par 0171), wherein
SFN represents a frame number when the terminal device enters the activation duration (SFN: System Frame Number (when UE enters the activation duration by considering, abbreviation, par 0282); subframe number represents a subframe number in a system frame corresponding to the system frame number (see, subframe number with corresponding SFN, par 0282); drx-cycle represents a CDRX cycle configured by the network device for the terminal device (see, drx-ShortCycle or drx-LongCycle configured for UE by network, par 0171); cycle-adjust represents a cycle offset value determined by the terminal device according to the first information (see, adapting and switching between a plurality of DRX cycle autonomously, and thus difference between drx-ShortCycle and drx-LongCycle in single complete DRX configuration can be equated to cycle-adjust, par 0171); (drx-cycle + cycle-adjust) represents the first CDRX cycle corresponding to the terminal device (see, adapting and switching between a plurality of DRX cycle autonomously, and thus difference between drx-ShortCycle and drx-LongCycle plus drx-cycle switching from represents C-DRX cycle used, par 0127, 0171); and drx-StartOffset represents a subframe offset before the terminal device enters the activation duration (see, drx-StartOffset indicates the subframe where the Long and Short DRX Cycle starts, table 4, par 0180).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Murray’793 into that of Lee’778. The motivation would have been to autonomously decide when to enter DRX and how long to remain in DRX, and effectively adapt drx-ShortCycle, drx-LongCycle and/or drx-StartOffset parameters (par 0171).
Regarding claim 8 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 6 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094).
Lee’778 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the first calculation rule satisfies the following relationship:
[(SFN x 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-cycleN) = drx-StartOffset; or
[(SFN x 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-cycleN) = (drx- StartOffset) modulo (drx-cycleN), wherein
SFN represents a frame number when the terminal device enters the activation duration; subframe number represents a subframe number in a system frame corresponding to the system frame number; drx-cycleN represents the first CDRX cycle corresponding to the terminal device; and drx-StartOffset represents a subframe offset before the terminal device enters the activation duration, wherein
drx-cycleN satisfies the following relationship: drx-cycleN = drx-cycle (N-1) + cycle-adjust, wherein drx-cycle (N-1) represents a CDRX cycle configured before the terminal device enters the activation duration; when drx-cycle (N-1) = drx-cycle0,drx-cycle0 represents a CDRX cycle configured by the network device for the terminal device; and cycle-adjust represents a cycle offset value determined by the terminal device according to the first information.
However Murray’793 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1A, WTRUs communicates with RAN in communication system including WTRUs, RAN, CN, PSTN, internet and other networks, par 0031) discloses:
wherein the first calculation rule (see, rules configured into the UE, par 0174) satisfies the following relationship:
[(SFN x 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-cycleN) = drx-StartOffset; or
[(SFN x 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-cycleN) = (drx- StartOffset) modulo (drx-cycleN) (see, , [(SFN × 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-ShortCycle) = (drx-StartOffset) modulo (drx-ShortCycle) if the Short DRX Cycle is used, and [(SFN × 10) + subframe number] modulo (drx-LongCycle) = drx-StartOffset if the Long DRX Cycle is used when DRX Adaption configured, par 0280, 0282. Noted, autonomously adapting and switching between a plurality of DRX cycle, and thus drx-cycleN corresponding to drx-cycle to be adapted to, par 0171), wherein
SFN represents a frame number when the terminal device enters the activation duration (SFN: System Frame Number (when UE enters the activation duration by considering, abbreviation, par 0282); subframe number represents a subframe number in a system frame corresponding to the system frame number (see, subframe number with corresponding SFN, par 0282); drx-cycleN represents the first CDRX cycle corresponding to the terminal device (see, drx-ShortCycle or drx-LongCycle configured for UE by network to be adapted to, par 0171); and drx-StartOffset represents a subframe offset before the terminal device enters the activation duration (see, drx-StartOffset indicates the subframe where the Long and Short DRX Cycle starts, table 4, par 0180), wherein
drx-cycleN satisfies the following relationship: drx-cycleN = drx-cycle (N-1) + cycle-adjust, wherein drx-cycle (N-1) represents a CDRX cycle configured before the terminal device enters the activation duration (see, UE autonomously adapts and switches between drx-ShortCycle and drx-LongCycle in single complete DRX configuration, and thus drx-cycleN and drx-cycle (N-1) corresponding to drx-cycle to be adapted to and from respectively, par 0171); when drx-cycle (N-1) = drx-cycle0, drx-cycle0 represents a CDRX cycle configured by the network device for the terminal device (see, UE autonomously adapts and switches between drx-ShortCycle and drx-LongCycle in single complete DRX configuration, and thus drx-cycle (N-1) corresponding to drx-cycle to be adapted from in C-DRX, par 0128, 0171); and cycle-adjust represents a cycle offset value determined by the terminal device according to the first information (see, autonomously adapting and switching between drx-ShortCycle and drx-LongCycle, and thus difference between drx-ShortCycle and drx-LongCycle in single complete DRX configuration can be equated to cycle-adjust for cycle offset value, par 0171).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Murray’793 into that of Lee’778. The motivation would have been to autonomously decide when to enter DRX and how long to remain in DRX, and effectively adapt drx-ShortCycle, drx-LongCycle and/or drx-StartOffset parameters (par 0171).
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee’778 in view of Ly et al (US 20230020254 A1, Priority Date: Jul 19, 2021).
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 14 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094).
Lee’778 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the second information comprises identification information corresponding to the first CDRX cycle.
However Ly’254 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 2, dynamic C-DRX configuration supporting network power modes in wireless communications system, par 0096) discloses: wherein the second information (C-DRX configuration can be equated to second information, par 0120) comprises identification information corresponding to the first CDRX cycle (see, Fig. 4 430, UE receives C-DRX configuration identifier indicating C-DRX configuration including cycle durations, par 0109, 0120).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Ly’254 into that of Lee’778. The motivation would have been to support dynamic C-DRX configuration supporting network power modes (par 0003).
Regarding claim 18 (Original), Lee’778 discloses the method according to claim 17 (see, Fig. 9, UE communicates with network node according to DRX-based communication parameters in wireless network, par 0094).
Lee’778 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: wherein the third information comprises identification information corresponding to each CDRX cycle in the plurality of CDRX cycles, and configuration information of the CDRX cycle corresponding to the identification information.
However Ly’254 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 2, dynamic C-DRX configuration supporting network power modes in wireless communications system, par 0096) discloses: wherein the third information (C-DRX configurations can be equated to third information, par 0049) comprises identification information corresponding to each CDRX cycle in the plurality of CDRX cycles (see, UE receives a subset of the C-DRX configurations along with a set of identifiers mapping each C-DRX configuration of the subset of C-DRX configurations to a respective bit value, par 0049), and configuration information of the CDRX cycle corresponding to the identification information (see, each identifier of C-DRX configuration identifiers indicating a C-DRX configuration including cycle durations with corresponding active duration, inactivity timer and timing offset, par 0049, 0109).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Ly’254 into that of Lee’778. The motivation would have been to support dynamic C-DRX configuration supporting network power modes (par 0003).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tabet et al (US 20150365995 A1) discloses: C-DRX cycle characteristics (e.g., C-DRX cycle length, on-duration length, and/or inactivity timer length, among various possibilities) for the UE 106 may be selected by the base station 102 based on latency considerations and/or a typical traffic periodicity of the primary application (e.g., such that the C-DRX cycle length matches the traffic periodicity of the primary application) (par 0093).
Wu et al (US 20220386330 A1, Priority Date: Aug 04, 2021) discloses: UE is configured with two or more C-DRX on one serving cell, and each C-DRX may be configured using respective C-DRX parameters. For example, each C-DRX may use some of respective parameters, such as a DRX duration timer drx-onDurationTimer (par 0139); each C-DRX configuration corresponds to a different C-RNTI value, that is, according to a C-RNTI value of the transmission, the parameter configuration of the corresponding C-DRX is used when starting the DRX timer (par 0140). This applies to claim 15 and 18.
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473