DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim has a second “a second electrode” and it is unclear if this second electrode is the same or a new electrode, it is believed that this is referring to the same second electrode and will be treated as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Six et al (US 2020/0406526).
Regarding claim 11, Six discloses a capacitor (Fig. 7), having a first electrode (Fig. 7, 3) and a second electrode (Fig. 7, 4), both the first electrode and the second electrode are directly attached to a dielectric layer (Fig. 7, 2), the dielectric layer having a polymer material ([0014-15]) in which polymer main chains or different sections of a polymer main chain are covalently linked to one another via bridging linker molecules (chemical formula 1 [0047-0048]).
Regarding claim 16, Six discloses a multilayer capacitor (Fig. 3, 1) comprising: electrodes (Fig. 3, 3/ 4); and dielectric layers (Fig. 3, 2) alternatingly stacked with the electrodes, the dielectric layers having a polymer material in which polymer main chains or different sections of a polymer main chain are covalently linked to one another via bridging linker molecules (chemical formula 1 [0047-0048]), and wherein the electrodes are contacted via external contacts (Fig. 3, 5/6).
Regarding claim 17, Six discloses a wound capacitor (Fig. 7, 1) comprising: a dielectric layer (Fig. 7, 2); a first electrode (Fig. 7, 3) is arranged on one side of the dielectric layer (Fig. 7); and a second electrode (Fig. 7, 4) arranged on an opposite side of the dielectric layer (Fig. 7), wherein the dielectric layer and the first and second electrodes are wound into a capacitor roll (Fig. 7), and in the dielectric layer, polymer main chains or different sections of a polymer main chain are covalently linked to one another via bridging linker molecules (chemical formula 1 [0047-0048]).
Regarding claim 19, Six further discloses that also the second electrode is arranged on another side of the dielectric layer (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, the examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bd Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP §2114. The recitation of “wherein the covalently linking in the dielectric layer allows for use of the capacitor at operating temperatures of 150°C or above” does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art of “Six* who teaches the structure as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Six et al (US 2020/0406526).
Regarding claim 12, Six fails to teach the claim limitations.
However, the examiner notes that the limitation of wherein the a proportion of repeating units to which a linker molecule is covalently bonded is between 5% and 99% is considered to be a result effective variable, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention to include the limitation of wherein the a proportion of repeating units to which a linker molecule is covalently bonded is between 5% and 99% as this limitation would be easily reached by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to construct the devices using understood variable specifications and designs in the art to best meet user needs based on known design possibilities.
Regarding claim 14, Six fails to teach the claim limitations.
However, the examiner notes that the limitation of wherein the a proportion of repeating units which are covalently linked to a linker molecule via a functional group is between 25% and 99% relative to the sum of these repeating units and the repeating units with a functional group which is suitable for covalent linkage to a linker molecule is considered to be a result effective variable, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention to include the limitation of wherein the a proportion of repeating units which are covalently linked to a linker molecule via a functional group is between 25% and 99% relative to the sum of these repeating units and the repeating units with a functional group which is suitable for covalent linkage to a linker molecule as this limitation would be easily reached by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to construct the devices using understood variable specifications and designs in the art to best meet user needs based on known design possibilities.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Six et al (US 2020/0406526) in view of Muramoto et al (US 2007/0040145).
Regarding claim 13, Six fails to teach the claim limitations.
Muramoto teaches the polymer main chains contain acrylate repeating units and wherein functional groups which are covalently bonded to a linker molecule or are suitable for such a bond are attached via the a carboxylate group of the respective acrylate repeating unit in the form of an ester bond ([0002]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Muramoto to the invention of Six, in order to construct the devices using known materials in the art to meet user needs based on known material properties and availability of those materials. The use of conventional materials/components to perform their known function is obvious. MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Six et al (US 2020/0406526) in view of Cui et al (US 2003/0171532).
Regarding claim 15, Six fails to teach the claim limitations.
Cui teaches that wherein the covalent compound link is selected from an ether bridge, an ester bridge, an amine bridge, an amide bridge and a thioether bridge ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the invention of Six, in order to construct the devices using known materials in the art to meet user needs based on known material properties and availability of those materials. The use of conventional materials/components to perform their known function is obvious. MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Six et al (US 2020/0406526) in view of Miura et al (US 2002/0012849).
Regarding claim 21, Six fails to teach the claim limitations.
Miura teaches that wherein the polymer main chains comprise glycidyl methacrylate as repeating units as homo- or copolymers ([0054]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Miura to the invention of Six, in order to construct the devices using known materials in the art to meet user needs based on known material properties and availability of those materials. The use of conventional materials/components to perform their known function is obvious. MPEP 2144.06.
Additional Relevant Prior Art:
RHODES et al (US 2019/0157558) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1.
Shukia et al (US 2015/0364688) teaches relevant art in Fig. 1-2.
Yan et al (US 2011/0266534) teaches relevant art in [0009 and 0074-0099].
Edder et al (US 2019/0189347) teaches relevant art in Fig. 2 and Table 1-2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848