DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 03/10/2026 has been considered and entered. The response was found to be persuasive over the rejections in view of Steigelmann (US 4,014,665) for failing to teach the silver bis(trifluoromethanesulfonyl)imide component of the claim. Brennecke et al. (US 2021/0246089) fails to teach the non-porous membrane of the claims. Therefore, the previous rejections are withdrawn and new grounds of rejections are maintained.
The replacement drawings dated 03/10/2026 has been considered and entered. Therefore, the previous objections to the drawings are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 47 recites the limitation "the stream of hydrogen gas" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 15, 20, 42, 48, 50, 55, 60, 83, 87, 88, 90, 91, 94 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Gorke et al. (CN102574060A) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gorke et al. (CN 102574060A)
In regards to claim 1, Gorke recites membrane comprising ionic liquid having metals such as silver, copper, gold etc., for separation of olefins from paraffins (abstract). The ionic liquid can comprise Tf2N [0031]. The membrane can comprise a polymer carrier such as cellulose [0040]. The membrane has reverse selectivity performance [0071, Example 8].
There is no teaching that the membrane is porous, which makes the claimed limitation quickly envisaged or obvious. Thus, Gorke provides the method for separating mixtures comprising olefins from non-olefins using a non-porous membrane having metal ion and Tf2N which mediate the transport of the olefin by selectively and reversibly coupling with the olefins as claimed.
In regards to claim 2, Gorke provides the method and teaches membranes for selectively separating olefins from paraffins but does not particularly recite the step of hydrogenation as claimed. However, in view of Brennecke et al. (US 2021/0246089) which is similarly drawn to separation of olefins from alkanes, and which recites that the mixture of olefins and alkanes can undergo dehydrogenation which generates hydrogen gas and removal of the gas prior to adding to the membrane, the step of increasing the olefin content prior to membrane separation would be obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed [0004].
In regards to claim 6, Gorke provides the method for separation olefins from paraffins which makes the claim obvious.
In regards to claims 15, 20, Gorke provides the method having the claimed limitations as previously discussed.
In regards to claim 42, Gorke provides the method and the membrane having the claimed ingredients and thus would be expected to have the claimed properties.
In regards to claim 48, Gorke provides the method and membrane having the claimed ingredients and which would be expected to have similar properties.
In regards to claim 50, Gorke teaches the membrane having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regards to claims 55, 60, 83, 88, 94, Gorke teaches the membrane having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regards to claim 87, Gorke teaches the membrane. The product-by-process limitation does not carry patentable weight, or is met as long as the membrane itself is taught.
In regards to claims 90, 91, Gorke teaches the membrane having the claimed ionic liquid and metals and would be expected to have similar properties such as the metals not being dissolved in the ionic liquid.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 27, 35 – 37, 41, 52, 67, 75, 76, 82, 92, 93 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Gorke teaches the membrane for separating olefins but fails to recite a porous support, types of polymers or the molecular weight of the polymers, amount of metal ions, or cross-linked polymer as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771