Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the details of the system including the user terminal and non-terrestrial base station as described in the specification. The drawing of Figure 1 fails to show any details, only a “black box” with no information. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-5 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims refer to specification and drawing reference numbers in the claim language. This should be removed to prevent confusion in reading the claims. Furthermore, claim 1 refers to “the hand-in and hand-out” transactions which lack antecedent basis– for the purpose of examination the examiner assumes these are handover processes in a mobile network. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (EP37878348) in view of Atsungsiri (2021/0119698).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a system for receiving GNSS data in a 5g new radio network, and realizing data handover between terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks (Figure 2) in accordance with level and quality of signal by processing the received data (para 05-06, 51), characterized in at least one user device (Figure 3) which is configured to enable users to get telecommunications service from a 5G network; to receive the data of signal level, quality and if available, the GNSS and ephemeris data of the base station where they are connected; to select a method for cell reselection according to the available data types, by classifying the received data (para 16-19, connecting to a new cell by determining the suitable cell); to connect to a new cell by determining the suitable cell according to the selected method for cell reselection (para 50-53); and- at least one non-terrestrial base station (NTN cell f3) which is configured to provide telecommunications service to the user devices (Figure 2); to share the data of signal level, quality and if available, the GNSS and ephemeris data with the user device; to complete the hand-in and hand-out transactions of the user devices that switch from a terrestrial network and are transferred to a terrestrial network (para 50-54). Cheng fails to disclose the use of GNSS and ephemeris data if available in the handoff procedure,
However, Autogiro disclose a handoff process in which a user terminal (208) can communicate with both terrestrial (101) and non-terrestrial (308) networks. Atungsiri also teaches that the GNSS and ephemeris data is used in the control process (para 81). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include ephemeris data in order to correctly locate the user terminal before performing a handover.
Regarding claim 2, Cheng further discloses characterized by the user device which is configured to carry out transactions of cell reselection wherein signal levels and qualities of candidate cells are used in cases where only the data of signal level and quality are accessible (para 38).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng discloses all the particulars of the claim except for the non-terrestrial base station transmit GNSS and ephemeris data of the satellite to the user devices sending the data request for hand-in transactions. Atungsiri teaches that the satellite sends GNSS and ephemeris data to the user terminal (para 81, GNSS assistance information is send to user device 208 to aid in the handover process, also para 145 308 may page the terminal device to change cells). Thus claim 4 is rejected for the same reasoning as given in claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of 3gpp TR 38.821.
Regarding claim 5, A method for receiving GNSS and ephemeris data in a 5G new radio network, and realizing data handover between terrestrial networks and non-terrestrial networks (Figure 2) in accordance with the level and quality of signal by processing the received data (para 05-06, 51); characterized by the steps of; - the user device carrying out the transactions of cell reselection wherein signal levels and qualities of candidate cells are used in cases where only the data of signal level and quality are accessible;( para 38 - the user device controlling the ephemeris data of candidate cells in cases where GNSS and ephemeris data are accessible in addition to the data of signal level and quality(para 51-53); - the user device controlling the GNSS data of candidate cells in cases where GNSS and ephemeris data are accessible in addition to the data of signal level and quality (Para 50-53); - the user device controlling the signal levels and qualities received from candidate cells (para 16-19); -, the user device determines the new cell according to the data of signal level, quality, GNSS and ephemeris data sent by all candidate cells (para 50-53).
Cheng does not disclose the user device getting the data of signal level quality and if available, the GNSS and ephemeris data of from the base station within the cell where it is connected or the user device controlling the time trigger that is identified for transition from non-terrestrial networks to terrestrial networks; However, 3gPP teaches the user device getting the data of signal level, quality, and if available, the gnss and ephemeris data from the base station within the cell where it is connected (pages 81-83) and the user device controlling the time trigger that is identified for transition between non-terrestrial to terrestrial networks (pages 91-93, ue based mobility triggers for tracking). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include ephemeris and control data as taught by 3gpp in order to accurately control the handover process.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng and Atungsiri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of 3gpp.
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses characterized by the user device which is configured to ensure that GNSS and ephemeris data of candidate cells are controlled( Cheng para 50-53); signal levels and qualities are controlled in the event that GNSS and ephemeris data are accessible in addition to the data of signal level and quality(Atungsiri para 81 and 145). The combination fails to disclose the user terminal to control the time trigger that is identified for transition from non-terrestrial networks to terrestrial networks; to determine the new cell according to the data of signal level, quality, GNSS and ephemeris data sent by all candidate cells.
3gpp teaches in an analogous art, the user device getting the data of signal level, quality, and if available, the gnss and ephemeris data from the base station within the cell where it is connected (pages 81-83) and the user device controlling the time trigger that is identified for transition between non-terrestrial to terrestrial networks (pages 91-93, ue based mobility triggers for tracking). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include ephemeris and control data as taught by 3gpp in order to accurately control the handover process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kovacs (12075290) discloses handover in 5g networks between terrestrial and non-terrestrial networks that use satellite configuration/ephemeris data.
Cheng (11528644) discloses handover/cell search between land based and satellite networks
Roy (2021/0136641) disclose LEO satellite networks that use GNN and ephemeris data in handover processes.
WILLIAM GEORGE TROST IV
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/WILLIAM G TROST IV/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641