DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 14, the current first two lines recite: “An insertion aid system comprising: a manual insertion aid including;”. The current formatting/indentation that follows makes it seem as if the cannula assembly is part of the manual insertion aid, which the examiner does not believe to be intended. It is recommended that applicant start the wording of “a manual insertion aid including:” on a new line and provide further indentations for the corresponding parts of the manual insertion aid.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, the wording of “two jaws projecting linearly from the handle and including planar sideward contact surfaces extending parallel to each other and forming a receiving opening” is ambiguous as to whether “forming a receiving opening” corresponds to the planar sideward contact surfaces or the two jaws.
Claims 2-12 are rejected as they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feller et al. (US 4,362,156), cited previously and hereafter “Feller”.
As to claim 1, Feller discloses a manual insertion aid (needle assembly 12; see Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a handle (20); and
two jaws (50) projecting linearly from the handle (arms 50 include hinges 52 which project linearly from 20) and including planar sideward contact surfaces (two inner surfaces of 50 annotated below) extending parallel to each other (whether or not they extend parallel to each other is dependent on a an amount of pivoting of the hinges 52) and forming a receiving opening that is configured for engaging part of a cannula hub of with a cannula unit through an opening of a casing of a cannula assembly (see Figs. 1-4);
wherein the two jaws are configured to temporarily engage an engagement portion of the cannula hub so as to move the cannula hub (para beginning line 22 col. 4, para beginning line 9 col. 5).
Feller does not expressly recite wherein the minimum clearance between the two jaws is greater than or equal to 1.5 mm and smaller than or equal to 7 mm; and wherein the maximum projecting length of each of the two jaws from the handle is greater than or equal to 4 mm and smaller than or equal to 18 mm. However, as MPEP 2144.05 states, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. Since Feller discloses the claimed structure, albeit except for the specific dimensions of minimum clearance between the two jaws being greater than or equal to 1.5 mm and smaller than or equal to 7 mm; and the maximum projecting length of each of the two jaws from the handle being greater than or equal to 4 mm and smaller than or equal to 18 mm, and the instant disclosure does not teach the claimed ranges as being critical, than it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have decided on the appropriate ranges as claimed, based on a size of the cannula unit and/or the procedure being performed (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 2, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1 as described above, and further teaches wherein each of the two jaws comprises a planar sideward contact surface (interior surfaces of hooks 54), the sideward contact surfaces are facing towards each other thereby delimiting the minimum clearance between the two jaws (see Fig. 1).
As to claim 3, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1, and further teaches wherein each of the two jaws comprises a planar lower contact surface (opposite from upper; see annotated Figs. 1 & 3 below), the lower contact surfaces are arranged within a single common imaginary lower plane (compare annotated with Figs. 1-4), and/or each of the two jaws comprises a planar upper contact surface (see annotated Figs. 1 & 3 below), the upper contact surfaces are arranged within a single common imaginary upper plane (compare with Figs. 1-4).
As to claim 4, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1 as described above, and further teaches wherein each of the two jaws has a maximum height wherein the respective maximum height is measured in a direction perpendicular to the minimum clearance between the two jaws (see Figs. 1-4).
Feller does not expressly recite the maximum height being larger than or equal to 1 mm and smaller than or equal to 5 mm. However, as MPEP 2144.05 states, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. Since Feller discloses the claimed structure, albeit except for the specific dimensions of the maximum height being larger than or equal to 1 mm and smaller than or equal to 5 mm, it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feller as a manner or routine optimization, depending on a size of the cannula unit and/or the procedure being performed (see MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 5, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1 as described above, and further shows wherein the manual insertion aid is mirrored symmetrical relative to a first mirror plane extending along the maximum projecting length of the two jaws and along the minimum clearance between the two jaws (see Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 6, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1, and further shows wherein the manual insertion aid is mirrored symmetrical relative to a second mirror plane extending along the maximum projecting length of the two jaws and perpendicular to the minimum clearance between the two jaws (see Figs. 1-3).
As to claim 8, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1 as described above, and further shows wherein each of the two jaws has a free front tip with a chamfer (see Figs. 1-4).
As to claim 9, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1 as described above, and further teaches wherein each of the two jaws are angled relative to a plane extending perpendicular to the thickness of the handle (see Figs. 1-4). Feller does not expressly recite wherein a thickness of the handle is smaller than a length of the handle and smaller than or equal to a width of the handle. However, it is possible to arbitrarily interpret these dimensions in a manner that reads on the claims (e.g. by interpreting “a thickness” as a thickness of a particular portion of the handle). Additionally, it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” (see MPEP 2144.04 IV).
As to claim 11, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1 as described, and further shows wherein the handle comprises a compartment (interior of 44) that is configured for temporarily holding a token (the examiner notes that no size is claimed whatsoever for the compartment or the token; since 44 has an interior volume it is interpreted to be capable of holding a token of smaller size therein).
As to claim 12, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1 as described, and further shows wherein the handle comprises a filing aid portion (needle 16) that is configured for engaging a piston rod that is movably inserted into an insulin reservoir (the examiner notes that the claim recites no structure whatsoever for the filling aid portion and is also silent as to how the piston rod is engaged; as such the needle 16 of Feller is fully capable of being engaging a piston as claimed).
As to claim 13, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1, wherein the handle comprises an at least partially circular outer edge (rear portion of 20 having a curved/tapered edge which at least partially forms a circle), wherein the at least partially circular edge and free front tips of the two jaws are forming an imaginary circle (see annotated Fig. 1 of Feller below).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feller in view of Loper et al. (US 3,589,361), cited previously and hereafter “Loper”.
As to claim 7, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1 as described above, but does not expressly recite wherein the handle (20) comprises a pattern configured for increasing a slip resistance, the pattern comprises repetitive projections and/or depressions.
Loper discloses a handle (needle hub 5) wherein the handle comprises a pattern (ribs) configured for increasing a slip resistance, the pattern comprises repetitive projections and/or depressions (see para beginning line 38 col. 4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feller such that the handle comprises a pattern configured for increasing the slip resistance, such as ribs. One would have been motivated to do so based off of Loper, for the purpose of facilitating grasping (see para beginning line 38 col. 4).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feller, or alternatively over Feller in view of Jessen (US 4,291,690).
As to claim 10, Feller makes obvious the manual insertion aid according to claim 1 as described above. Since claim 10 does not recite any actual structure for the connector portion, and merely states that the connector portion must be configured for attaching the manual insertion aid to a key ring or zipper, the examiner is currently of the stance that Feller would satisfy the limitations of claim 10 as and part of the insertion aid (12) could be attached to a key ring, zipper, etc… via means such as an adhesive. However, there is also prior art that is more explicit to a connector portion configured for attaching to a key ring or zipper
Jessen discloses a handle 24 (see Figs. 1-3, 7-9) wherein “A hole 40 is formed through the top of the handle 24 to enable the device to be carried on a key ring, lanyard, or the like” (see para beginning line 37 col. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Feller to include a connector portion (in the form of a hole) configured for attaching the manual insertion aid to a key ring. One would have been motivated to do so to enable the device to be carried on a key ring or the like (see para beginning line 37 col. 3 of Jessen).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 14, it was noted in the previous office action that Feller is silent to wherein the cannula assembly comprises a casing accommodating the cannula hub, wherein the cannula hub is movable within the casing along a predetermined path in combination as claimed in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 14 (see 5/7/26 Non-Final Rejection). Claim 14 has been rewritten into independent form and is therefore now considered allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Remarks submitted 8/28/26 have been considered.
With regard to the arguments concerning the previous claim objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the examiner agrees that the amendments have obviated the previous issues and thus the previous objections and rejections are withdrawn.
With regard to the arguments concerning the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the arguments are not persuasive. While the claim amendments do further limit claim 1, there still appears to be a way of interpreting Feller that reads on claim 1 (see rejection above). The examiner notes that claim 14 has been indicated allowable in part because it positively recites both the insertion aid and the cannula assembly. Claim 1, by contrast, recites only a manual insertion aid and does not positively require any type of cannula or cannula assembly. This means that structures which are not even necessarily intended for use with a cannula assembly could potentially read on claim 1. In order to potentially allow claim 1 moving forward, the examiner recommends positively reciting a cannula assembly and reciting structure for such that is not reflected in Feller, or further limiting the structure of the insertion aid.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/James D Ponton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783