2. It would be of great assistance to the office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
i. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
ii. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
iii. Filing date.
iv. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
v. Title of invention.
vi. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
5. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
6. Claim interpretation: When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations doesn’t have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejection- 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 12, 13, 22 & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Pub No. US 2017/0317731) and further in view of Beak et al (2022/0365163).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al discloses a user equipment comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor (Para. 5: Terminal having processor & transceiver & Para. 53: Storage), communicatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver (Para. 15 & 145), configured to: obtain a plurality of assistance data sets each indicating a respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources (Para. 43 & 67: Downlink measurement reference signals) & (Para. 4 & 22 & 31: positioning reference signal resources); and select a desired assistance data set from the plurality of assistance data sets based on positioning performance information (Para. 43 & 67: selecting information for reference signals. Selection information for transmitting the uplink measurement reference signa-select data based on measured performance) & (Para. 31-33: Measure the reference signals- performance information and position); wherein the processor is: configured to transmit, via the transceiver, a first positioning reference signal in accordance with the desired assistance data set (Para. 129: transmitting positioning reference signal) & (Fig. 4) & (Para. 22 & 31: positioning reference signal resources & desired data-selection information).
Chen does not explicitly disclose the positioning performance information corresponding to the respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources indicated by each of the plurality of assistance data sets.
In a similar field of endeavor, Beak et al discloses the positioning performance information corresponding to the respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources indicated by each of the plurality of assistance data sets (Para. 181: & Fig. 11a-b: PRS-n resources indicated data sets) & (Para. 29 & 186, 212: plurality of positioning reference signal resources & Para. 254 & 257: positioning performance) & (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device position system of Beak’s disclosure with terminal configuring system, as taught by Chen. Doing so would have resulted in effectively determine the device location information based on the resources information.
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 21, Claim 21 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Claims 1, 4-8, 11, 14-18, 21, 23-25 & 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al (Pub No. US 2014/0092844) and further in view of Beak et al (2022/0365163).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao et al discloses a user equipment comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and a processor (Para. 74: Processor and storage), communicatively coupled to the memory and the transceiver (Fig. 6: terminal device), configured to: obtain a plurality of assistance data sets each indicating a respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources (Para. 77-78 & 81: terminal performs positioning measurement) & (Para. 3: positioning reference signal for a base station and a terminal, the base station sends a PRS in the downlink and the terminal performs positioning measurement & Fig. 1); and select a desired assistance data set from the plurality of assistance data sets based on positioning performance information (Para. 78 & 83: Selecting support data); wherein the processor is: configured to transmit, via the transceiver, a first positioning reference signal in accordance with the desired assistance data set (Para. 82 & 90: Transmit positioning reference) & (Also see Para. 3).
Xiao does not explicitly disclose the positioning performance information corresponding to the respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources indicated by each of the plurality of assistance data sets.
In a similar field of endeavor, Beak et al discloses the positioning performance information corresponding to the respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources indicated by each of the plurality of assistance data sets (Para. 181: & Fig. 11a-b: PRS-n resources indicated data sets) & (Para. 29 & 186, 212: plurality of positioning reference signal resources & Para. 254 & 257: positioning performance) & (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device position system of Beak’s disclosure with device locating position measurement system, as taught by Xiao. Doing so would have resulted in effectively determine the device location information based on the resources information.
Regarding claim 4 & 14 & 23 & 27, Xiao et al discloses the positioning performance information comprises a positioning accuracy (Para. 21: positioning accuracy).
Regarding claim 5 & 15, Xiao et al discloses the processor is further configured to transmit, via the transceiver to a network entity, a capability message indicating independent capabilities of the user equipment to process and store assistance data, and wherein to obtain the plurality of assistance data sets, the processor is configured to receive the plurality of assistance data sets via the transceiver from the network entity in response to the capability message (Para. 21 & 77-80) & (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 6 & 16, Xiao et al discloses the positioning performance information comprises a plurality of positioning reference signal resource quantities each indicating a quantity of the respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources of a respective one of the plurality of assistance data sets (Para. 21 & 77-80) & (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 7 & 17, Xiao et al discloses the user equipment is a first user equipment, and wherein the positioning performance information comprises a quantity of second user equipments within range of the first user equipment (Abstract & Para. 77-78).
Regarding claim 8 & 18, Xiao et al discloses the user equipment is a first user equipment, and wherein the positioning performance information comprises relative alignment between the respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources in each of the plurality of assistance data sets and ON times of a discontinuous reception pattern of a second user equipment within range of the first user equipment (Abstract & Para. 3 & 36 & 77-78).
Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 21, Claim 21 corresponds to claim 1 and is analyzed accordingly.
Regarding claim 24 & 28, Xiao et al discloses the processor is configured to identify one or more first assistance data sets of the plurality of assistance data sets for a first positioning technique, to identify one or more second assistance data sets of the plurality of assistance data sets for a second positioning technique that is different from the first positioning technique (Para. 42 & 48: Various position measuring), wherein the indication is a first indication for the one or more first assistance data sets to be used for positioning reference signal transfer by the user equipment for the first positioning technique, and wherein the processor is configured to transmit, via the transceiver, a second indication for the one or more second assistance data sets to be used for positioning reference signal transfer by the user equipment for the second positioning technique (Para. 21 & 77-80) & (Fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 25, Xiao et al discloses an assistance data indicating method comprising: receiving, at a server from a user equipment, positioning reference signal measurement information for a plurality of assistance data sets each corresponding to a respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources (Para. 11 & 77-78 & 81: terminal performs positioning measurement) & (Fig. 3); identifying, at the server, one or more of the plurality of assistance data sets based on the positioning reference signal measurement information and one or more positioning performance criteria (Para. 12: position server select optimal carrier support based on communication criterion & 78 & 83: Selecting support data); and transmitting, from the server, an indication for the one or more of the plurality of assistance data sets to be used for positioning reference signal transfer by the user equipment (Para. 82 & 90 & 93: Transmit positioning reference) & (Also see Para. 3) (Para. 43 & 67: selecting information for reference signals. Selection information for transmitting the uplink measurement reference signa-select data based on measured performance).
Xiao does not explicitly disclose the positioning performance information corresponding to the respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources indicated by each of the plurality of assistance data sets.
In a similar field of endeavor, Beak et al discloses the positioning performance information corresponding to the respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources indicated by each of the plurality of assistance data sets (Para. 181: & Fig. 11a-b: PRS-n resources indicated data sets) & (Para. 29 & 186, 212: plurality of positioning reference signal resources & Para. 254 & 257: positioning performance) & (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the device position system of Beak’s disclosure with device locating position measurement system, as taught by Xiao. Doing so would have resulted in effectively determine the device location information based on the resources information.
Claims 2, 3, 12, 13, 22 & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al (Pub No. US 2014/0092844), in view of Beak et al (2022/0365163) and further in view of Li et al (Pub No. 2022/0182864).
Regarding claim 2 & 12, Xiao et al is silent regarding the positioning performance information comprises a latency threshold.
Li et al discloses the positioning performance information comprises a latency threshold (Para. 125: latency threshold).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use latency threshold information to provide better communication between wireless devices.
Regarding claim 3 & 13 & 22 & 26, Xiao et al discloses positioning performance information comprises a plurality of measurement times each corresponding to an estimated amount of time for the user equipment to measure the respective plurality of positioning reference signal resources of a respective one of the plurality of assistance data sets (Para. 77-78 & 81).
Claims 9 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al (Pub No. US 2014/0092844), in view of Beak et al (2022/0365163) and further in view of Takeda et al (Pub No. 2022/0240221).
Regarding claim 9 & 19, Xiao et al is silent regarding the positioning performance information comprises a measurement gap configuration, a carrier-specific scaling factor, frequency range corresponding to each of the plurality of assistance data sets, an in-device co-existence consideration, a multi-SIM (subscriber identity module) use consideration, an idle mode paging and measurement occasion collision consideration, or any combination of two or more thereof.
Takeda et al discloses the positioning performance information comprises a measurement gap configuration, a carrier-specific scaling factor, frequency range corresponding to each of the plurality of assistance data sets, an idle mode paging and measurement occasion collision consideration, or any combination of two or more thereof (Para 119: Frequency position wake up signals & time interval between the wake-up signal and the first associated paging occasion in the configuration of the first wake-up signal).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use frequency position information to provide better communication between wireless devices.
Claims 10 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al (Pub No. US 2014/0092844), in view of Beak et al (2022/0365163) and further in view of Cao et al (Pub No. 2023/0354246).
Regarding claim 10 & 20, Xiao et al is silent regarding select a plurality of desired assistance data sets from the plurality of assistance data sets based on the positioning performance information and to determine a priority order of the plurality of desired assistance data sets.
Cao et al discloses select a plurality of desired assistance data sets from the plurality of assistance data sets based on the positioning performance information and to determine a priority order of the plurality of desired assistance data sets (Para. 32: Positioning performance information and a priority order).
At the time of filling, it would have been obvious to use position reference information to provide better communication between wireless devices.
Another Prior Art
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Another prior art, Chio et al (US 2021/0306979) discloses sidelink positioning determination and communication techniques including obtaining, at a first sidelink-enabled device, data from one or more data sources indicative of one or more criteria for using either round-trip time (RTT)-based positioning of a target node or single-sided (SS)-based positioning of the target node. Selecting, with the first sidelink-enabled device, a positioning type from the group may comprise of RTT-based positioning and SS-based positioning, based on the data.
Conclusion
/MD K TALUKDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648