Applicant’s amendments and arguments of July 1, 2026, are entered.
Claims 55-56, 58, and 60 have been amended.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 13, 19,20-21, 29-30, 36, 38, 42, and 45 have been canceled.
Claims 63-67 have been newly added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on July 1, 2026, was filed before the mailing of the Final Office Action on September 19, 2026. The Non-Patent Literature is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Considering Applicant’s amendments to claims 55 and 56, the §112(a) rejection for failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Considering Applicant’s canceling claims 21, 38, and 53, and amending claim 60, the §112(b) rejection for being indefinite is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Considering Applicant’s canceling of claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 13, 19-21, 29-30, 36, 38, 42, 45, and 53, the §102 rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Considering Applicant’s amendments to claims 55-56, 58, and 60, the §103 rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner’s Note: the examiner interprets the claim language “comprises a nucleotide sequence” under the broadest reasonable interpretation to encompass any nucleotide sequence containing the recited sequence, including a sequence consisting of 5-7 nucleotides.
Claims 55-56, 58, 60, and 63-67 are newly rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Cardinal et al. [WO 2020 023612 A1], in view of Ciani and Laccone (Hereinafter Ciani) [US 2015 247134 A1], in view of Clark et al. [WO 2018 005617 A2], in view of Gao et al [Gene replacement ameliorates deficits in mouse and human models of cycling-dependent kinase-like 5 disorder, Brain, 2020].
Regarding claim 55, Cardinal et al. teaches every element of claim 55 [¶ 0027, 0036, 0024] except the vector genome comprises a partial or complete coding sequence for CDKL5.
For claim 55’s limitation where the vector genome comprises a partial or complete CDKL5 coding sequence, Gao et al, discussing a CDKL5 disease modifying therapy involving adeno-associated virus serotype 9 as a means of transgene delivery to the central nervous system, teaches an AAV vector, specifically an AAV9 vector, capable of CDKL5 expression being administered to CDKL5 knockout mouse [Abstract, in vivo AAV delivery ¶ 1]. However, Gao et al. does not disclose the specific SEQ ID NO claimed by Applicant.
For this limitation, Ciani teaches a nucleic sequence that is 99.9% identical [SEQ ID NO: 13] to Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 12. Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person skilled in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Cardinal et al. that discloses a recombinant adeno-associated vector capable of delivering a packaged vector genome with the teachings of Gao et al. that discloses a viral vector construct that is specifically capable of expressing CDKL5 with the additional teachings of Ciani where the authors disclose a CDKL5 nucleic acid sequence that is 99.9% identical to Applicant’ claimed sequence. Given this, there is a reasonable expectation of success that a person of ordinary skill would combine the teachings of Cardinal et al. that discloses a general rAAV viral vector capable packaging a gene construct for expression in target cells with the teachings of both Gao et al. and Ciani that disclose the CDKL5 was packaged in an viral vector for the purpose of gene therapy and that a person of ordinary skill would know that the nucleic sequence taught by Ciani which discloses a nucleic acid sequence for CDKL5 could be used as the CDKL5 nucleic acid sequence that is packaged in the viral vector for expression.
For claim 56 where the vector genome comprises a nucleotide sequence of SEQ ID NO: 20 or a sequence at least 95% identical thereto, Clark et al. discloses a nucleic acid sequence, i.e. SEQ ID NO: 13, that is at least 75% identical to Applicant’s claimed SEQ ID NO: 20. Additionally, Clark et al. further teaches that the claimed sequence can be incorporated into a viral particle [Para starting with “As used herein, “transduced” refers to the direct introduction”].
For claim 58 where a method for treating a CDKL5-deficiency disorder involves intrathecal administration of a pharmaceutical composition, Clark et al. teaches that pharmaceutical formulations of the CDKL5 fusion protein variant that can be incorporated into a viral vector can be combined into a pharmaceutical composition to be administered via intrathecal route [Para starting with “In some embodiments, the pharmaceutical formulations described herein”].
For claim the claim limitation where the AAV capsid and a vector genome is packaged where the nucleic acid sequence is selected from SEQ ID NOs 12-19, Cardinal et al. teaches every element of claim 55 [¶ 0027, 0036, 0024] except the vector genome comprises a partial or complete coding sequence for CDKL5.
For claim 55’s limitation where the vector genome comprises a partial or complete CDKL5 coding sequence, Gao et al, discussing a CDKL5 disease modifying therapy involving adeno-associated virus serotype 9 as a means of transgene delivery to the central nervous system, teaches an AAV vector, specifically an AAV9 vector, capable of CDKL5 expression being administered to CDKL5 knockout mouse [Abstract, in vivo AAV delivery ¶ 1]. However, Gao et al. does not disclose the specific SEQ ID NO claimed by Applicant.
For this limitation, Ciani teaches a nucleic sequence that is 99.9% identical [SEQ ID NO: 13] to Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 12.
For the limitation (b) where the limitation includes a phosphate or a Tris buffer at a concentration between 5 mM and 30 mM, Cardinal et al. discloses the use of both within the claimed range [¶ 0027, 0022].
For the limitation (c), Cardinal et al. teaches both NaCl and KCl within the desired concentration ranges [¶ 0027].
For the limitation (d), Cardinal et al. teaches sorbitol at a specified concentration, Cardinal teaches the use of sorbitol within the claimed range [¶ 0036].
For the limitation (e), Cardinal et a. teaches a poloxamer surfactant can be incorporated with the claimed range [¶ 0024].
Here, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the systems and methods of Cardinal et al. that discloses an AAV viral vector composition that can be administered in gene therapy with the additional teachings of both Gao et al. and Ciani where Gao et al. discloses packaging a CDKL5 nucleic acid construct with a AAV vector for expression in targeted cells with the further teaching of Ciani that discloses a specific CDKL5 nucleic acid sequence with the additional teachings of Cardinal et al. teaching the presence of certain components that are used for such purposes as maintaining pH and/or stabilize active ingredients. Based on this, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success combining the teachings of Cardinal et al. where it was taught a pharmaceutical composition comprising a viral vector that contained a nucleic acid for purposes of being expressed in a target cell with the teachings of Gao et al. that disclosed an AAV packaged with a CDKL5 nucleic acid sequence for expression in target cells with the additional teachings of Ciani that disclosed a nucleic acid sequence similar to the claimed CDKL5 nucleic acid sequence claimed by Applicant. Furthermore, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) [See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)]. Here, the selection and inclusion of conventional formulation components, such as buffers, sugars, sugar substitutes, salts, and other known excipients, would have been within the routine skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. The prior art, see Cardinal et al., expressly identifies such components as suitable alternatives, the selection of these components would have amounted to the routine use of known formulation components for their known purposes with the reasonable expectation of obtaining a suitable and stable formulation.
For claim 60 where the intrathecal administration comprises lumbar-intrathecal, Cardinal et al. discloses that intrathecal includes administration into the spinal canal which would include the lumbar region administration [IV. Administration ¶ 0735].
For claim 63 where the pharmaceutical composition has a pH of 7.0 to 7.4, Cardinal et al. teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising AAV viral vectors having a pH of 7.5 +/1 0.2 at 5˚ C [¶ 0982].
For claim 64 where the pharmaceutical composition also comprises MgCl2 and CaCl2 at a concentration of 0.5 mM to 5 mM, Cardinal et al. teaches that addition of both MgCl2 and CaCl2 as known excipients that can be included in the pharmaceutical composition [¶ 0420, 0417]. Additionally, selection of suitable concentrations of MgCl2 and CaCl2 within a pharmaceutical formulation would have been a matter of routine optimization, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have adjusted the amounts of these known formulation components to obtain desired composition properties and stability through ordinary experimentation. Also, MPEP 2144.05 states “… differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
For claim 65 where the pharmaceutical composition comprises a specified concentration of vector genome copies per milliliter and the rAAV particle can comprise certain AAV serotypes, Cardinal et al. discloses that generally the viral vector concentration falls within Applicant’s claimed range [¶ 0017]. Furthermore, Cardinal et al. lists numerous serotypes of AAVs that can be used as a transport vector for engineered nucleic acids that include AAV9, AAV1, AAV2, AAV4, AAV5, etc. [¶ 0044].
For claims 66, Cardinal teaches every element except the CDKL5 nucleic acid sequence [Please see claim 55]. Additionally, Cardinal et al. further teaches the use of either a phosphate buffer or a Tris buffer within the Applicant’s claimed range [¶ 0022, 0027]. Cardinal et al. also teaches to maintain the pharmaceutical composition at pH 7.5 +/- 0.2 [¶ 0024], which is within Applicant’s claimed range.
For claim 67, Cardinal teaches every element except the CDKL5 [Please see claim 55]. Additionally, Cardinal et al. teaches the use of Tris buffer [¶ 0027], NaCl and KCl [¶ 0027, 0036], the addition of MgCl2 and CaCl2 [¶ 0420, 0417], sorbitol within Applicant’s claimed range [¶ 0036], poloxamer surfactant within Applicant’s claimed range and a pH range of 7.0 to 7.4 [¶ 0024, 0982].
Here, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Cardinal et al. that discloses an AAV viral vector composition that can be administered in gene therapy with the additional teachings of both Gao et al. and Ciani where Gao et al. discloses packaging a CDKL5 nucleic acid construct with a AAV vector for expression in targeted cells with the further teaching of Ciani that discloses a specific CDKL5 nucleic acid sequence with the additional teachings of Cardinal et al. teaching the presence of certain components that are used for such purposes as maintaining pH and/or stabilize active ingredients. The inclusion of such components that include Tris buffer and/or phosphate buffer, NaCl, KCl, MgCl2, CaCl2, sorbitol, and poloxamer surfactant in an AAV pharmaceutical composition would have been within the ordinary skill of an artisan given that such components were known for their conventional functions as buffers, salts, stabilizers/tonicity agents, and surfactants. Furthermore, given what the prior art teaches, more specifically Cardinal et al., selecting these components as suitable for AAV formulations would have involved routine optimization in order to obtain suitable stability and pharmaceutical properties. Because of this, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success combining the teachings of Cardinal et al. with the teachings of Gao et al. and Ciani with the further teachings of Clark et al. to develop a AAV viral vector that contains a specified CDKL5 nucleic acid for expression in targeted cells combined into a pharmaceutical formulation that includes the use of known buffers, salts, stabilizers/tonicity agents for the purpose of maintaining pH and stability.
The Supreme court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable varition..103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions…
…the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) emphasis added.
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court reaffirmed "the conclusion that when a patent 'simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform' and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious." Id. at 417 (quoting Sakraida v. Ag Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273,282 (1976)). The Supreme Court also emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments have been considered. However, the examiner does not find Applicant’s arguments persuasive. To start, Applicant argues that Cardinal et al. does not disclose or teach a composition comprising an rAAV encoding a CDKL5 coding sequence in combination with sorbitol at the concentrations recited in claims 55 and 58. However, Cardinal et al. expressly teaches formulation concentrations ranging from 1-10% w/v [¶ 0036] which corresponds to the presently claimed range of 1% w/v to 10% w/v, and further expressly identifies sorbitol as a suitable sugar substitute [¶ 0512]. Thus, Applicant’s argument that sorbitol is merely one of numerous sugar substitutes is not persuasive given that Cardinal et al. specifically directs one of ordinary skill in the art to sorbitol as an expressly disclose alternative. Selection of an expressly taught formulation alternative to a concentration already taught by Cardinal et al. would have been within the ordinary skill of an artisan and would have involved predictable use of known formulation components for its intended purpose.
Applicant further argues that Cardinal et al. is directed to administration of AAV formulations directly to brain tissue. This argument is not persuasive given that Cardinal et al. is not limited to direct brain administration and expressly teaches multiple routes of administration, including intrathecal administration to the spinal cord. Again, Cardinal et al. expressly teaches intrathecal administration that is relevant to the presently claimed “lumbar-intrathecal” route.
Applicant also argues that Cardinal et al. provides no experimental data, comparative analysis, or technical reasoning demonstrating that sorbitol could be substituted for sucrose while maintaining stability or minimizing aggregation. Again, Cardinal et al. expressly identifies sorbitol as a sugar substitute [¶ 0512], thereby providing an affirmative teaching to employ sorbitol as an alternative formulation component. For a finding of obviousness under §103, the prior art is not required to provide comparative experimental data demonstrating that an expressly taught alternative will provide identical performance to another disclosed excipient before a person of ordinary skill would have reason to make the substitution. Furthermore, the claimed invention does not require reduced or minimized aggregation. Given this, Applicant’s argument concerning the absence of evidence demonstrating reduced aggregation is not supported by the claimed invention. The express teaching of sorbitol as a sugar substitute together with Cardinal et al.’s disclosed concentration ranges would have provided one of ordinary skill in the art both a reason and a reasonable expectation of substituting sorbitol for obtaining a suitable rAAV formulation.
Lastly, Applicant argues that the combined teachings of Cardinal et al., Gao et al, and Ciani fail to provide a rationale for combining Huntington’s disease HTT-silencing formulation with a CDKL5 gene replacement therapy. This argument is not persuasive given that the presently claimed subject matter is not directed to combining treatment of Huntington’s disease with treatment of CDKL5 deficiency disorder, nor do the claims require the formulation to be used for either therapeutic purpose. Instead, the claims are directed to the recited composition and structural features of the rAAV formulation. Here, the relevant inquiry is whether the combined teachings of the cited references would have provided one of ordinary skill in the art with a reason to arrive at the claimed rAAV composition and formulation features, and not whether one would have combined the disease indications or therapeutic objectives associated with the respective references. Because of this and the reasons listed above, claims 55-56, 58, 60, and 63-67 are newly rejected under §103.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN DAVID MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/JAMES D SCHULTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631