DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashkenazi (2009/0147331).
Regarding claim 14, Ashkenazi discloses a prismatic collimating device to collimate image bearing light (at least Figures 3 and 5), the prismatic collimating device comprising: a first prism (Figure 5, 142, first prism) and a second prism arranged to receive and collimate a light beam (152, second prism; [0061] teaches 158, surface, allows the light beam to exit at a substantially perpendicular direction to 156, surface, thus interpreted as collimated light), wherein the first prism comprises an output surface (148, surface) adjacent to an input surface of the second prism (158, surface), and the first prism and second prism are arranged such that the light beam undergoes total internal reflection and refraction at both the output surface of the first prism and the input surface of the second prism ([0061]), and each of the first prism and second prism comprises at least three optically powered surfaces (142, first prism, includes 144, 146, and 148, surfaces; 152, second prism, includes 154, 156, and 158, surfaces; [0061]).
Regarding claim 17, Ashkenazi discloses a prismatic collimating device to collimate image bearing light (at least Figures 3 and 5), the prismatic collimating device comprising: a first prism (Figure 5, 142, first prism) and a second prism arranged to receive and collimate a light beam (152, second prism; [0061] teaches 158, surface, allows the light beam to exit at a substantially perpendicular direction to 156, surface, thus interpreted as collimated light), wherein the first prism comprises an output surface (148, surface) adjacent to an input surface of the second prism (158, surface), and an air gap is provided between the output surface and the input surface (160, gap), and the first prism and second prism are arranged such that the light beam undergoes total internal reflection and refraction at both the output surface of the first prism and the input surface of the second prism ([0061]), and each of the first prism and second prism comprises at least three optically powered surfaces (142, first prism, includes 144, 146, and 148, surfaces; 152, second prism, includes 154, 156, and 158, surfaces; [0061]).
Regarding claim 18, Ashkenazi discloses the prismatic collimating device according to claim 17, wherein the first prism and the second prism have a substantially triangular cross-section (Figure 5), and the air gap size is less than 1 mm ([0061] teaches 160, gap, is infinitesimal, and furthermore must be larger than the size of the smallest wavelength in the display image; since visible light is in the range of 380-750 nm, Examiner interprets the gap to be less than 1 mm).
Regarding claim 19, Ashkenazi discloses the prismatic collimating device according to claim 17, wherein: the output surface is configured to reflect light received from a first range of angles (Figure 5 depicts 148, surface, reflects light on 150A, path), and transmit light received from a second range of angles (Figure 5 depicts 148, surface, transmits light on 150D, path); and the input surface is configured to reflect light received from a third range of angles (Figure 5 depicts 158, surface, reflects light on 150F, path), and transmit light received from a fourth range of angles (Figure 5 depicts 158, surface, transmits light on 150D, path).
Regarding claim 20, Ashkenazi discloses the prismatic collimating device according to claim 19, wherein the first range of angles and the second range of angles have zero overlap (Figure 5 depicts 150A, path, and 150D, path, do not overlap in angle), and wherein the third range of angles and the fourth range of angles have zero overlap (Figure 5 depicts 150F, path, and 150D, path, do not overlap in angle).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or suggest the third surface configured to reflect light received, from the second surface, towards the second surface; and the fifth surface configured to receive light, from the fourth surface, and reflect towards the fourth surface, along with the structural limitations positively recited in claims 1 and 15. Claims 2-13 are dependent on claim 1, and are therefore allowable. Claim 16 is dependent on claim 15, and is therefore objected to for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cheng (2019/0377185), Morant (2017/0285453), and Liao (8,104,898) disclose relevant prismatic devices.
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872