DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, filed with the RCE, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Van Wageningen US 2015/0155918 and 2019/0334388. The ‘918 publication teaches that a wireless power receiver negotiates a power request (prior to a power transfer phase; fig 6) and then can request less power (during the power transfer phase; par 204). The ‘388 publication teaches that the original power request is a function of receiver power losses (par 133).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Wageningen (“VW1”; US 2015/0155918) in view of Van Wageningen (“VW2”; US 2019/0334388).
With respect to claim 12, VW1 discloses a method performed by a Power Receiver of a wireless power system (fig 1, 5-7; all text), comprising:
prior to a power transfer phase (shown in more detail in fig 6; fig 6 takes place within the negotiation phase, which is prior to the power transfer phase):
determining, at the Power Receiver, a power negotiation value (PRx-nego) (obvious for step 601 to occur) through a power rating associated with a load of the Power Receiver (par 147, 155),
communicating the PRx-nego to a Power Transmitter (step 601; par 155), and
receiving a Negotiated Power (P-nego) from the Power Transmitter based on the PRx-nego, wherein the P-nego represents an amount of power that the Power Transmitter reserves to supply PRx-nego to the Power Receiver (step 605; par 156-157); and
during the power transfer phase (see fig 7; power transfer phase occurs after the negotiation phase):
communicating a power request (P-request) to the Power Transmitter, the P-request indicating a Requested Power that is less than or equal to the PRx-nego (par 200, 204), and
receiving a transmission of wireless power from the Power Transmitter based, at least in part, on the P-request (par 204).
VW1 discloses a wireless power receiver that completes two method functions. First, in a negotiation phase, it communicates a PRx-nego to the transmitter (step 601). This request can include “a specific value of a parameter (such as a power level)” (par 155) that is a load power rating. If the transmitter can accommodate this request, it replies with P-nego (step 605), which “represents” the amount of power that the transmitter can reserve to supply. If the receiver requests 10W and the transmitter can comply, its acceptance (step 605) “represents” that it has set aside 10W for the receiver.
Second, in a subsequent power phase, VW1 discloses that the receiver can request a renegotiation for more or less power. In the case of less power, the request is made and the transmitter complies by changing its outgoing power level (par 204).
VW1 discloses the PRx-nego communication, but does not expressly disclose it is determined by combining the power rating with power reception losses. VW2 discloses a receiver that determines its power consumption by including power reception losses of the receiver (par 11, 133). When combined, the VW1 PRx-nego will be determined by combining the VW1 power rating and the VW2 power losses. The result will allow the receiver to request slightly more power so that, after power losses, the receiver will actually have the power level it requested.
VW1 and VW2 are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely wireless power receivers. At the time of the Applicants’ effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify VW1’s PRx-nego to include the power losses taught by VW2. The motivation for doing so would have been to produce a more accurate request. By adding the predetermined receiver losses to the request, the combination will request a slightly higher PRx-nego (than VW1 alone) so that the receiver will, after losses, actually received the power level it requested.
With respect to claim 13, VW1 discloses the PRx-nego from the Power Receiver does not account for power transmission losses (PTx-loss) of the Power Transmitter. No part of VW1 mentions that the receiver “accounts for” the PTx-loss (or any transmitter losses).
With respect to claim 23, VW1 discloses receiving a message from the Power Transmitter rejecting the power negotiation value if the Power Transmitter cannot reserve an amount of power that corresponds to a sum of the power negotiation value and an estimated PTx-loss (fig 6, step 609; par 158). How the transmitter determines to reject the power negotiation value does not further limit the structure or functionality of the claimed receiver. In other words, the recitation of “corresponds to a sum of the power negotiation value and an estimated PTx-loss” is not given patentable weight. This phrase describes a method/function within the unclaimed transmitter – the receiver is only receiving the rejection (it is not affected by how the transmitter made its determination).
With respect to claim 24, VW1 discloses:
communicating a subsequent power negotiation value to the Power Transmitter (par 200 – “renegotiation”; see also par 172); and
determining whether the Power Transmitter accepts the subsequent power negotiation value (par 172, 204).
It appears that claim 24 is a restatement of the amended method steps from claim 12 (everything after “during the power transfer phase”).
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VW1 in view of VW2 and Park (US 11,289,954).
VW1 does not expressly disclose the recited steps of claim 25. Park (fig 20; col. 22-23) discloses a wireless power receiver that completes the method steps of:
receiving a message from the Power Transmitter (“packet (new GP = 10W)”; col. 23, lines 27-28) indicating an alternative power negotiation value that is based on Available Power minus an estimated PTx-loss (what the transmitter “indicates” in its message does not further limit the structure or the method of the receiver); and
communicating an acknowledgement to the Power Transmitter to indicate acceptance of the alternative power negotiation value as the P-nego (“ACK”; col. 23, lines 28-32).
VW1 and Park are analogous to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely wireless power receivers with power level negotiations. At the time of the Applicant’s effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify VW1 to include the transmitter-initiated power adjustments, as taught by Park. The motivation for doing so would have been to make the system more robust by adapting to changes at the transmitter side.
VW1 discloses the receiver is the master and it is responsible for starting all power negotiations. Park teaches that a transmitter can be the master to request power changes for reasons that the receiver may not be aware of. Thus, the references combine to teach a system that can react to both receiver demand and transmitter changes.
/ADI AMRANY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836