DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abraham (US-9845181-B2).
Abraham discloses a laminate/vented sealing member for sealing to a rim of a container (Fig. 13), the vented sealing member comprising: a support member (68) having at least one layer, the support member defining a vent opening (32b) extending from a lower surface to an upper surface through the support member; a sealant layer (64) positioned on the lower surface of the support member for securing the vented sealing member to the rim of the container; an upper laminate (64, the claims do not define what it is upper to) partially coupled to the support member and defining a tab (72), and a vent layer (70) that is a partial layer positioned over the vent opening and coupled to the upper surface of the support member about the vent opening (Fig. 13; col. 13, lines 6-13), wherein the vented sealing member does not include vent layer positioned on the lower surface of the support member (col. 13, lines 6-7, the location of the lower vent layer can be changed), wherein the vent layer is welded to the upper surface of the support member (col. 12, lines 9-13; col. 13, lines 6-13), wherein the support member is a laminate comprising a plurality of layers (col. 13, lines 8-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 10, 11, 13, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (US-9845181-B2) in view of Fisch (US-10351320-B2).
Abraham disclose all the claimed limitations as shown above but fails to teach wherein he vent opening has a diameter of about 0.005 to 0.060 inches.
Fisch teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a support member (12) with vent openings (34) that can have diameters of about 0.005 to 0.060 inches (col. 3. Ll. 61 – col. 4, ll. 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufacture the vent opening with the claimed sizes, in order to adjust what could pass through the opening, and since such a modification would be using known vent opening size on a support member. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. ). The method claimed is present in the modified structure taught by Abraham.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 8, 14-17 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham (US-9845181-B2) in view of Bourgeois (US-20180186122-A1).
Abraham fails to teach the support member comprises at least one of a polymer film, a polymer foam, a metal foil, a pulp material, paper, and combinations thereof, and wherein the vent opening is positioned below the tab or not below the tab.
Bourgeois teaches that it is known in the art to manufacture a support member as a laminate comprising a plurality of layers (Abstract), wherein the support member comprises at least one of a polymer film, a polymer foam, a metal foil, a pulp material, paper, and combinations thereof (pars. 0025-0027), and further comprising an upper laminate partially coupled to the support member and defining a tab (par. 0145), wherein tab only covers apportion of the support member (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the support member as a laminate with the claimed materials, in order to adjust the properties of the member and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the sealing member with a tab, in order to make it easier to remove the sealing member. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have located the vent opening beneath or not beneath, in order to adjust how long the vent path was and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The applicant’s remaining arguments have been addressed in the modified rejection above.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733