DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 26 requires components from claim 16 which apparently is a depend claim of claim 16, but it fails to include all the limitation of claim 16; thus claim 26 is deemed to be in an improper dependent form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 23 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when the claim recites “a (meth)acrylate monomer represented by following chemical formula (I):
However, when X1 and X2 each is an alkyl, aryl or an alkoxy group, and R1 and R2 each is a hydrogen, halogen, methyl, alkyl, aryl, alkoxy or carboxylic acid group, the formula does represent a (meth)acrylate monomer. The claim should be re-written to clearly define a (meth)acrylate monomer.
Claim 23 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when the claim recites "preferably…” to further limit a range or a species, which render more than one range in the same claim. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claim 23 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when the claim recites R9, R10 and R11 being represented by formulae (IV), (V) and (VI), and the claim also recites that at least one of R9, R10 and R11 is a (meth)acryl group, which include any (meth)acryl groups instead of being one of the (meth)acryl group represented by formulae (IV), (V) and (VI); thus render more than one range in the same claim. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18 and 20-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miki et al (TW 202124600, of record, ‘600 hereafter).
Regarding claims 16-18, 20-25 and 27, ‘600 discloses a composition and a methos of making the same ([0009]-[0017], [0219]-[0231]) comprising a reactive monomer being one of mono-(meth)acylate or/and di-(meth)acrylate ([0012]-[0013], [0089]-[0101], Examples ); a light emitting moiety being a luminescent nanocrystal ([0028]-[0045], Examples); an antioxidant being one of phenol derivatives or thiols in an amount of 0.01% to 10% by mass based on total composition, specifically 1 to 2 % by mass as in the examples ([0017], [0132]-[0137], Examples ); and polymerization initiator being one of the phosphine oxide or the like as in present claim 21 in an preferred amount range of 0.1 to 10 per 100 parts of reactive monomer ([0105]-[0109]); wherein the di-(meth)acrylate can be HDDMA or HDDA (Examples, Tables 1 and 3), satisfying chemical formula (I) or formula (III) as in present claim 23 and the viscosity of the composition is less than 20 cP at room temperature without solvent added satisfying present claims 24 and 25 ([0141]-[0142], it is also noted that adding a certain amount of solvent to adjust viscosity is a common practice in the art).
Regarding claims 26 and 28-29, ‘600 also discloses a layer and a method of making the same comprising a polymer derived from the reactive monomers and other components as claimed (Examples, [0244]).
Regarding claims 30 and 31, ‘600 also discloses that the composition can be used to make a color filter which satisfying all the limitations of present claims 30 and 31 ([0018]-[0022], [0158]-0170]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki et al (TW 202124600, of record, ‘600 hereafter).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, ‘600 teaches all the limitations of claim 16, .600 also discloses that the amount of the polymerization initiator in the composition generally can be in a preferred range of 0.1 to 10 parts per 100 parts of polymerizable monomers ([0109]), but does not specifically exemplify a composition having initiator being in the range of higher than 0 to less than 1 wt% based on total composition as presently claimed, which render the ratio of antioxidant to initiator being in the range of 1 to 100. However, it is known in the art that the amount of the polymerization initiator in the composition is an effective variable in terms of the polymerization rate of the composition. ‘600 also discloses that lower polymerization rate of the composition as disclosed provides better surface uniformity of the cured composition ([0027]). In view of this, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the amount of polymerization initiator in the lower end of the amount range as generally known in the art, which within the scope of the present claims, so as to produce a cured composition having better surface uniformity. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782